We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best location but what do you expect for the price?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cleverlearn Residences
Ranked #46 of 60 Lapu Lapu B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Me and my brother stayed here for 1 week. I am currently on a gap year travelling and he has come to meet me for 3 weeks. We stayed at Cleverlearn for one week and have had a lovely time. The rooms are a great size, get cleaned daily, have a wardrobe, great sized bathroom with good working shower.

The breakfast is included and in the price and is just what I expected, coffee and tea with Rice, Ham, bread, tomatoes, sausage... A real mix, which in my experience you find here and across quiet a lot of SE Asia.

The residence comes with a decent enough sized pool, has a mini shop (which sells beer!) and free wi-fi as well as computers to use free of charge. There is plenty of room to sit outside and socialise and you can also borrow books free of charge and chill on the sofas next to reception.

A great thing about this resort apart from daily too, cleaning is that there are free water dispensers where you can get hot and cold water, and in the hot heat you need a lot of cold drinking water.

The location is a little out of town but if you walk for 5-10 minutes down the road there is a garage with a shop, a bakery (which was so cheap!) and a market selling fresh fruit and hot food. You can also walk into town (it's one lone road) but will take about 45minutes. We walked into town most days and got a Jeepney back each evening which only costs 8peso each and take about 10 minutes. The jeepney a stop right outside wether you are going to town or back to the residences.

Around the pool there are only 2 sun beds with is a bit of a downer but as most of the people staying here are long time students they're normally not occupied. You also get a lovely breeze coming around the pool as its right next to the sea (no beach, most of the beaches on mactan are privately owned by the resorts and are easy to reach from Cleverlearn for a day).

Overall we found the rooms perfect for what we paid, having a pool was a bonus, the staff were friendly and we liked that you could use both the wifi and their computers for free. If you are looking for a typical hotel, this is not for you. These are more like basic apartments and are perfect if you are on a budget and can't afford one of the resorts or your happy just chilling round the pool in the day like we were.

Room Tip: I've only seen the room we stayed in, room 104 and it was great. Go to the shop and buy some bee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (17)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 17 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2013

This place is essentially a dormitory for people studying English at Cleverlearn English Language school. It caters mainly to Koreans, Japanese, Vietnamese and others. The English language school is relatively expensive but delivers a poor result. I have had an employee studying Englsih there for 2 months and wont repeat the mistake. The management is low quality and very weak in professional skills. There are better places to learn English in Cebu. You will not be able to stay here unless you are studying English, which is good news for you!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
5  Thank honolulumark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

I have read RocoOno's review about this hotel and I would say I totally agree with what he said. The staff are not trained really very poor in service.
So this is what happened (2 group of couples), we arrived there from 6 hrs. trip we were very tired and wanted to rest and also we have an early flight to catch the next day. We were given 2 rooms next to each other. ROOMs 105 and 106. After an hour the receptionist knock on our door and asked us if possible we could transfer to another room, cause she thought that the previous guest from our room checked out already (U SEE HOW THE RECEPTIONIST HANDLE THE SITUATION?) but my partner and I said no, we are tired and that our guest staying in 105 cannot speak english, so if possible we want to be near them at all times. The time when we were about to sleep there was a guest who banged the door to our room, wondering who it was, my partner opened the door and suddenly this guest just shouted and ordered us to get out from the room and insisted that its his room.. arguments...lalalaa
After a long argument with the guest and the receptionist, my partner and I just agreed to transfer so we can rest.(ROOM 331, WORST ROOM, NO WATER, SMELLS BAD) But before we went to bed my partner demanded a compensation. In the morning ANOTHER RECEPTIONIST.. we talked about the compensation (i don't know if compensation is the right term) and both agreed that when we go to the airport, they will handle the payment for the taxi driver. Bit happy, thinking atleast they are doing something to compensate what happened lastnight. But when we arrived to the airport the taxi driver asked for payment, since he was not informed and given payment from the hotel. .. so we have no choice but to pay the taxi driver.
IT WAS THE WORST OF ALL THE WORST!!! AND LASTLY WORST BREAKFAST EVER. A HOTDOG AND A SANDWICH NOT TOASTED, EGG, AND A TEASPOON OF JAM AND 3 in one coffee.. what a buffet!?

Room Tip: "Non of the rooms are recommendable"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank trevynoelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

hotel and more dormitory located very close to the airport friendly staff, very clean - This is a plus

Minus is the area where the hotel. There are no restaurants, no shops, the fear out of the hotel.

The price was included breakfast hotel - we got a pseudo English breakfast - not good, no restaurant on site

I recommend for one night before departure, no longer stays

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2010

First of all, I don't think this is even a hotel, based on my unfortunate experiences. I am just very disappointed and frustrated with my stay in Cleverlearn Residences. So, before I list down the ill-fated events that I and my partner went through in this place, I would like to tell you in advance to never-ever consider booking in this hotel!

The BAD:
-the nice pictures you see online are different when you get there
-the place is more of a dormitory than a hotel or a pension house. Yeah, seriously.
-the door knob did not unlock when I first attempted to open the door, it was like "how do you open this piece of crap?". We were not escorted by a bell boy so I had to go down to the lobby to report it and get another key. Our room was at the second floor but there are no elevators available so I had to take the stairs, which was really inconvenient! The receptionist told me she'll have someone from housekeeping follow me to check if the new key will work, but nobody did!
-When we got in, of course I had to check the room. First off, a portion of the sliding glass window is still open so I had to close it to prevent air from coming into the room. This just shows that the housekeepers did not properly prepare the room for us
-there was no rug at the bathroom door (so they were expecting us to walk around the room leaving wet foot prints after using the bathroom???)
-the bathroom did not have free shampoo, soap, toothpaste and toothbrush
-the refrigerator did not turn on during the first attempt
-there were no instructions or whatsoever on how to use the phone inside the room, so again, I had to go down to the receptionist to request some help
-we waited for like 30 mins before a housekeeper came in to bring the rug that we requested and turn the fridge on for us
-when we turned the tv on, it had a scary static sound that I had to turn it off and jokingly saying that it was gonna blow
-there is no restaurant, but a canteen (yeah like the school canteen) where food is only available until 7:30! Good thing we brought food from the outside and we had some leftovers from lunch as well
-in their website there is a picture of a convenience store, but unfortunately, they were just kidding. There was no convenience store at all!
-we actually requested for bathing soap and it was delivered to our room after an hour and a half!!!
-their breakfast buffet was the most awful. That was not even a buffet! I felt like I was in some retreat house that food is so limited and we have to bring our used plates to a tray after eating. That was terrible!
-We decided to check out after breakfast since we were so disappointed
-We headed our way to the receptionist (she was not the same receptionist from the previous day). The room rate when I booked online a week ahead was Php 1, 600. When she informed us of our total bill, it moved up to Php 1,950!!!!!!! In my mind I was like, “what the hell did you say our bill was???” She explained that the rate increased yesterday and that it already includes service charge and tax. I asked, “Wait a minute, I only booked for 1,600 and now you’re gonna let me pay an additional 350? She answered by saying “ Sir, our rates change without prior notice”. Jesus, that was the worst explanation I have ever heard from a hotel receptionist. She apologized on the previous receptionist’s behalf that I was not told of the rate change. God, it was the worst hotel/pension house ever.

I certainly hope this gets to the management of Cleverlearn Residences! I will never recommend this hotel to anyone. The hotel rates are not really worth the stay!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank RocoOno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Donnie1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Thank kimumama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lapu Lapu hotels
1.9 mi away
Express Inn - Mactan Hotel
Express Inn - Mactan Hotel
#26 of 32 in Lapu Lapu
176 reviews
2.2 mi away
Chambre Hotel Mactan
Chambre Hotel Mactan
#11 of 32 in Lapu Lapu
88 reviews
2.9 mi away
Chalet de Mactan
Chalet de Mactan
#23 of 60 in Lapu Lapu
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Hotel San Francisco
Hotel San Francisco
#28 of 60 in Lapu Lapu
5 reviews
2.9 mi away
Park Hill Hotel Mactan
Park Hill Hotel Mactan
#12 of 60 in Lapu Lapu
117 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lapu Lapu Cottages and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cleverlearn Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cleverlearn Residences

Address: 1 Hollywood Boulevard, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Lapu Lapu
Price Range: £11 - £23 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cleverlearn Residences 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cleverlearn Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cleverlearn Residences Hotel Lapu Lapu
Cleverlearn Residences Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing