We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do not even think about it” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lancaster Hotel Cebu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lancaster Hotel Cebu
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Do not even think about it”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2010

We checked in - i noticed that the website is very misleading. The place is in total mess. Halls are bare and you can notice the poor state of building. Neighboring buildings was broken windows, halls are unfurnished, no light on our end of the hallway & we were the only ones on the 2nd floor & they decide to put us the the very end room!

Staff were very rugged looking -not professional at all. They were slack in service, considering it wasn't a cheap motel. The room didn't looked cleaned for a while. Hairs in the bath, stains on the couch & cushions, toothpick on the side table, and dishes weren't properly washed.

The room has a very peculiar noise every night too. Although we know there weren't any other guests on the floor, there's always a banging sound coming from the walls. The music from the bar is too loud & the cable TV stopped working on our last night! I could've sworn someone even entered the room as I have left the TV on & remote on the bed, and came back w/ the TV turned off & the remote left on the couch.

Food is overpriced - so is the items in the mini-bar. The only good thing is the location near the airport & kitchen facilities -but I could've gone somewhere else that's near, and get overall better service.

Surrounding area was very rough as well... not to mention the swamp across the road.

I dont think this is good value for money at all.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Entipatika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    7
    14
    6
    19
See reviews for
10
19
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cebu City, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2010

The only good point about the hotel is its close location to the airport, but all the other aspects of stay are just terrible. The only reason I stayed long-term was the price I was offerred..., but later I found out why the price was so low:

- LOUSY SERVICE
The staff at the front desk is useless and lacks a will to help.
The staff at the bar is slow, messy, and makes far too many mistakes when calculating your bill. They never approach you with your order. You have to let them know that you just entered the restaurant,..., you have to let them know that you finished your drink and may want another, you have to let them know that the table should get cleaned.
Once I pointed to the mistake they made on my bill as I was supposed to pay more..., only in order to get charged more the next day..., but that might be an honest mistake or an order from the hotel manager.

The food is overpriced and of a poor quality (tasteless, cold and takes ages to prepare).
After I made few complaints to the hotel manager, she quit to reply to my greetings, ignored me and seemed to instruct the staff to be even "meaner" towards me (as per what my fiancee understood)..., but all I wanted was to get the proper service each guest deserves.

Instead of a nice bar music, you can hear only the TV to which the staff pays more attention than to the guests.

- NOISE
The rooms are ok, but hard to get a good rest due to constant noise that is made by the staffs' "singing" at the hall ways and constraction work at the empty units.

- POOR INTERNET CONNECTION
The wifi connection was often not available in my room and if so, it was very slow.

- STATE OF THE BUILDING
The condominium should get some paint and the cracks in the walls should get fixed too.

In general, the approach of the both, the hotel staff and hotel manager, is not customer orientated at all. The staff has issues with providing help and service, but they don't mind reminding once there is an unpaid bill of yours at the restaurant. Hotel manager is cold, ignorant and gets upset when faced with legitimate complaint. Once, she said she has no time for me, but few minutes later I saw her at the bar, smoking a cigarette and watching TV..., setting a 'good' example to the hotel staff who do the same - don't care about guests, overcharge foreign guests and watch TV.

If you look for a cheap long-term stay, the Lacaster hotel is the one to go for, but expect the unexpected (in the negative way), expect to feel unwelcome, get very very very patient and always ask for a receipt upon a payment, coz the staff never issues a receipt... only if you specifically ask for one.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarWith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lapu Lapu hotels

Shropshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2010

The exterior:
When you arrive, you will notice that A LOT of the rooms (and there are a lot of rooms) are empty. Families of sparrows and swallows inhabit the empty forgotten rooms, of which they have access to through the windows and doors (the glass is either broken or nonexistent). The place is quite depressing. The walls on the outside and inside need a good lick of paint.

Noise:
The hotel staff sing as they walk through the halls ways and noise travels, normally waking us up. There are always lots of locals visiting some of the old men there and they make a lot of noise at the pool during the night. There's the odd wedding - so don't expect any sleep! The music is just too loud, wedding or no wedding. About twice a week a very noisy truck is parked up in the car park replenishing the water supply to the hotel. VERY NOISY.

Blackouts:
Guaranteed every week. There is an emergency light in the room that stays on for 15 mins, then it turns off and there's complete darkness. They have invested money into lighting up the bar area and pool (and the rest of the building) throughout a blackout so you will go downstairs and spend money at the bar ;o) The television signal fails once a week. Perhaps anther ploy or lucky excuse to get the guests to drink at the bar!

Service:
Overstaffed lobby area. Not all speak good English, so when you call the front desk, they're silenced by your request because they don't understand you. If you ask to borrow a dustpan, expect to receive a bunch of hand towels. ;o) You also have to remind them several times of your requests, because they normally forget within a few minutes of you asking.

Food:
The food is overpriced. The meals take AGES to be served and once, my mashed potatoes were ice cold and my sausage was cold on the inside. I got the plate back after 5 minutes, the sausage had been microwaved, was like rubber....AND THE MASH WAS STILL COLD! Once we ordered toast, jam butter and coffee... After 10 minutes we received cold toast..... 5 mins later the coffee... and then we politely reminded them to bring our damn jam and butter! Small things are hard. We eventually gave up on eating there.
This place would even make honeymooners feel depressed!! Lol Spend your money elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank no29shropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dauin, Philippines
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2010

Stayed here for 7 nights which was far to long, Room was only cleaned twice and I had to ask for it to be cleaned the 2 nd time, they say every 2 days but twice in 7 days would be 3 times. Sheets and towels of poor quality. To many staff hanging around reception instead of doing there jobs which should be trying to clean the place up. Walls could do with a coat of paint. Had a Hamburger in restuarant which was very good. The staff need to get their act together, and the hotel should offer those little extra's like the SDR apartments next door which has cable internet at 4mb. The Internet in Lancaster was slow and the internet wifi in my room never worked properly as to far from router. I did specifically ask for a room with good wifi, so if that was there best I dread to think what the rest of the rooms were like. Would not stay here again, big mistake booking and paying for 7 nights

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adoronron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lapu Lapu hotels
0.6 mi away
Waterfront Airport Hotel and Casino
0.6 mi away
Goldberry Suites & Hotel
Goldberry Suites & Hotel
#10 of 30 in Lapu Lapu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
3.4 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Bellavista Hotel
The Bellavista Hotel
#17 of 30 in Lapu Lapu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
1.9 mi away
Eloisa Royal Suites
Eloisa Royal Suites
#6 of 30 in Lapu Lapu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
1.5 mi away
Chambre Hotel Mactan
Chambre Hotel Mactan
#11 of 30 in Lapu Lapu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster Hotel Cebu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster Hotel Cebu

Property: Lancaster Hotel Cebu
Address: Barangay Pusok, Lapu Lapu 6552 , Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Lapu Lapu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lancaster Hotel Cebu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Lancaster Hotel Cebu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster Hotel Cebu Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing