We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent seafood”

Cowrie Cove at Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
Ranked #11 of 139 Restaurants in Lapu Lapu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$100
Cuisines: Seafood, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: At Cowrie Cove, guests can savor fresh seafood under a canopy of stars and with the sound of ocean waves directly below the alfresco deck. The newly renovated Waves Bar is the perfect venue for guests to enjoy signature cocktails at sunset.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Pricey seafood. But it's a 5 star resort but was great in taste and the ambiance was nice too. The beers were not badly priced. The sea food was tasty.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank cdavesta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    77
    39
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Stunning location but food could be better.”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

The location of this restaurant is just amazing and the staff very friendly and attentive. We ate there twice while staying at the resort. The restaurant menu only offers seafood, nothing else. They may offer other dishes on request but we didn't bother as we were happy to eat seafood.
The first night we ordered fresh grouper and a seafood platter. The grouper was fresh and delicious, however, the seafood platter was disappointing. The calamari was rubbery and the rest overcooked.
The second night we ate there the food was a lot better but the prawns on their signature prawn skewer dish were still a bit over cooked. The crab cakes and soup starter were both delicious however.
Our overall experience was still very good due to the staff, service and location.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ros W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Party all the way!”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We had our brazillian churrasco at Ibiza on our first night in Movenpick, love the food, live performances from their inhouse group and pop beats by DJ. We really had a great night at Ibiza, such moment to remember during our trip in Cebu.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MyGillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“cute bar nice view”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

good cocktails, great music... service is very friendly the food not really my taste but thats just me... :-)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank jos_t534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bala, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“a bit disappointing”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

service was good, location ok but the food was the real let down in this place. I expected much better from a Shangri-La

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andrey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cowrie Cove at Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa also viewed

Lapu Lapu, Mactan Island
Lapu Lapu, Mactan Island
 

Been to Cowrie Cove at Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing