We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great snorkelling tours”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Lapu Lapu
Certificate of Excellence
Malapascua Island, Philippines
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great snorkelling tours”
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Crimson provides great snorkelling tours for their guests and even a sunset cruise

Room Tip: ask for a special cruise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank funsundivetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCrimsonMactan, General Manager at Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience while staying at Crimson Resort and Spa. We sincerely value your comments in our continuous effort to provide friendly and efficient service.

My team and I are thrilled to read such a wonderful review. Your excellent comments about our services, food and facilities inspired us to continually look for ways to further delight all our guests.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to welcome you again to our resort in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,



James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,561 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,778
    1,221
    388
    98
    76
See reviews for
1,417
1,201
112
248
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

When we arrived, check-in was extremely efficient (however this was quite late) - there was none of the sitting and waiting that nice resorts tend to incorporate into check-in, even though we were still presented with welcome drinks.

The gardens were immaculately landscaped and all communal areas have beautiful decor and are well maintained and clean. All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

The pool area was beautiful and well set-up (the resort seemed quite busy so at times we had trouble finding free loungers). The photos made it seem like there are 2 pools but there is only 1, with 3 different tiers, each different depths, although you could consider 2 of them 'kiddie pools'. It's described as an infinity pool but the edge flows into an unaccessible rocky vestibule and the ocean view is obstructed by a glass barrier. Beyond the glass is a path, the beach and THEN the ocean.

The private beach was small but clean and set up with lounge chairs and umbrellas. The water was sheltered and shallow - really nice for swimming and perfect for young kids.

The Azure pool bar was great, with plenty of day beds overlooking the beach. Alcoholic drinks were around 250-350 pesos and soft drinks around 120. Lunch was around 400.
At night they had club music blasting, which was a bit of a shame because it would be a nice place for a romantic drink under the stars.

The few restaurants seemed to serve mostly the same meals but the food was good and reasonably priced (around 300-500 pesos). The breakfast buffet was varied and good quality.

We stayed in a Deluxe Garden room, which was comfortable but fairly basic. The only window (and the only source of natural light) faced the path so there wasn't any privacy without keeping the curtains closed all the time, and the room was dark even with the curtains open.
We chose Crimson over the Shangri-La because we prefer a resort style room, but we just spent all day at the pool anyway because the room wasn't very pleasant to hang out in. We booked a Deluxe garden because of the bigger, luxurious bathroom, but it was really just a lot of wasted space. The sink was cramped anyway, and the bath was too long to be able to sit comfortably. Also be aware that the garden is a just few ferns outside the bathroom window.
From what we could tell walking around the resort, the regular Deluxe rooms were in 2 storey blocks, but the terraces were either facing gardens (ground floor) or on balconies, so they would have been much nicer to sit out on (we didn't use ours at all because it was along the path).

So if you are staying at Crimson I would say go one extreme or the other - Deluxe or Villa. The pool villas seemed fairly private, and there was no path in front of the Ocean View, but the beach villas were right in the thick of were everyone walked around the pool.

The resort offered a variety of water sports, diving and island hopping trips. There was also a regular free shuttle bus to Cebu city. Airport transfer was 550 (our cab from the airport was about 280 but we heard they're unreliable on the way back).
They also had a spa and offered several treatments/massages at 2 for the price of 1.

If you are staying for more than a few days or have kids I would recommend trying to get to a supermarket beforehand or bringing an array of snacks/drinks with you. There is nothing around. The resort had a small shop with a few toiletries, pool toys and expensive clothes. Also, there was only a 2-in-1 shampoo/conditioner in the bathroom so remember to bring your own.

There was cable TV in the room with a few movie channels and lots of stuff for kids. They also offered free wifi, which is great, but the connection was painfully slow.

Overall it was a really nice resort and well-run — I would recommend it — but the rooms fell a little short.

Room Tip: If you are staying at Crimson I would say go one extreme or the other - Deluxe or Villa. The pool vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TaiTaiTraveller82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan, responded to this review, 14 July 2012
Dear TaiTai Traveller82,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience while staying at Crimson Resort and Spa. We sincerely value your comments in our continuous effort to provide friendly and efficient service.

I am delighted that you enjoyed our pool and beach area. Your excellent comments about the hotel’s food and facilities have been passed on to my colleagues. I have noted your comments regarding the resort’s internet and we are happy to say that we are already in the process of making this better which will be noticeable in the coming weeks.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again to our hotel in the not too distant future.


Sincerely,


JAMES MONTENEGRO
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manila
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Hotel room was great, bed was super comfortable! The bathroom was new, clean & huge with a separate bath tub and shower area.

Breakfast buffet was excellent, lots of good choices. Their chocolate croissants/danish were my favorite. On our 2nd day, however, we were asked to have breakfast on their 2nd floor function room since their main cafe was full. Choices were limited and you had to make special requests for food items that were part of the main buffet. They were accommodating and service in general was good.

Since we stayed during the peak season, the pools were always full. It would have probably have been a better experience during non peak season. Dont expect too much from the beach. The beach front is really small.

If you dont have plans of going to the city, it's fine. Otherwise, resort transpo is expensive.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jhanki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan, responded to this review, 14 July 2012
Dear Jhanki,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience while staying at Crimson Resort and Spa. We sincerely value your comments in our continuous effort to provide friendly and efficient service.

I was delighted to hear that you have enjoyed our breakfast selection. Your excellent comments about the hotel’s food have been passed on to our Executive Chef. I have also noted your comment regarding the transportation. Rest assured that we are looking into this.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again to our hotel in the not too distant future.


Sincerely,


JAMES MONTENEGRO
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makati, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012 via mobile

Overall the resort is good. The rooms are well appointed and fresh. The service is well trained and friendly.  Things to consider is the breakfast buffet is basically the same everyday and gets boring. The beach is rocky in the wter so bring water socks.  The food cost is outragious compared to going on your own to various Cebu restaurants. Make sure you book taxis since the resort transportation is expensive and not on the beat and track.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank smasher1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCrimsonMactan, General Manager at Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience while staying at Crimson Resort and Spa. We sincerely value your comments in our continuous effort to provide friendly and efficient service.

I regret that you experienced dissatisfaction during your stay with us. Rest assured that the prices of our food and services are relatively cheaper compared to other resorts of the same quality.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back to our resort soon.

Sincerely,



James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

The resort is very nice, staff are very courteous and helpful, rooms are large and spacious, swimming pool is very clean and has a great view of the sea and the overall landscaping is excellent. They also have a fitness room complete with the latest exercise equipment and a sports bar that is very cozy. Pastries are also at 50% of every evening starting at 7pm :)

But, the location is far from the main road so it's very hard to get out of the resort. The only way is to call for a taxi. Also, the food choices in the room service and the ala carte menu at the coffee shop is very limited. After a few meals at the resort, there is not much choice left unless you choose the buffet. Prices of food and beverages are also very expensive. Lunch buffet is PHP 998 while dinner buffet is PHP 1,680 :(

Local resident package rates is reasonable but a bit on the high side considering that airport transfers are not included. Taxi rates from airport to the resort via the metered taxi will cost you PHP 250.00, if you choose to go to the arrival area to get a cab, it might be a little cheaper though

Overall, great place to be if you have kids and want to relax.

Room Tip: Get the garden deluxe room if you want a bigger room as compared to a standard hotel room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank misskeyway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan, responded to this review, 14 July 2012
Dear Misskeyway,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience while staying at Crimson Resort and Spa. We sincerely value your comments in our continuous effort to provide friendly and efficient service.

My team and I are delighted that you enjoyed our rooms, gym and swimming pool. Your excellent comments about the hotel’s food, facilities and services have been passed on to my colleagues. I have also noted your comment regarding the prices of our buffet and we will review this for future promotions.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again to our hotel in the not too distant future.


Sincerely,


JAMES MONTENEGRO
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bacolod, Philippines
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Iam glad I choose this hotel n spa to celebrate the bday of my sister. It was a perfect stay for us, the rooms are clean d bed n pillows are great but were not able to get a good view of the garden or the beach from our room :( The food at the Safron cafe are great, a lot of dishes to choose from the " eat all you can" buffet brearfast n dnr. The staff are very accomodating and always have their smile for you :) Facilities are great , all you want to do they almost have it for a price of course. What i mean is that you can stay in the hotel for a day or two without getting bored :) Must try is the SPA treatment a bit expensive but surely you'll love it as much as I did :)

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lifeabliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan, responded to this review, 14 July 2012
Dear Lifeabliss,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience while staying at Crimson Resort and Spa. We sincerely value your comments in our continuous effort to provide friendly and efficient service.

My team and I are delighted that you chose to celebrate your sister’s birthday at our resort. Your excellent comments about the hotel’s food, facilities and services have been passed on to my colleagues.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again to our hotel in the not too distant future.


Sincerely,


JAMES MONTENEGRO
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manila
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 June 2012

My family and I just visited this resort and stayed for 4 days. What an awesome view upon entering the premises! All the staff were so courteous and friendly. Christami's (one of your reviewers) comment on this one is very true! :) I guess, the most courteous staff I've seen so far :)

The resort has great architecture and nice landscapes as well. The room was fine, big enough and most especially the comfort room it's quite big with it's own tv set inside :). Breakfast was great too! My husband and I did enjoy it to the full :). Had fun snorkeling with lots of different fishes all around. Almost a perfect resort, the only downside is the beach area. Just so sad that it wasn't that nice as Shangri-la Mactan's beachfront. It was rocky, good thing we brought our aqua shoes and never removed it while on the beach. If only they could do something about it, what a perfect resort indeed!

One thing I wanna suggest is to include airport transfer to and from the resort. This should be their standard procedure since the resort is far from the main road and it's so pricey to get a taxi when coming from Cebu City or even from the airport because taxi drivers do charged an additional rate going there. Also, hoping they could lower down their food prices, we find it so pricey to charge P100 for a small cup of rice!

But overall, I would recommend this resort. :)

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jadey55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan, responded to this review, 23 June 2012
Dear Jadey55,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience while staying at Crimson Resort and Spa. We sincerely value your comments in our continuous effort to provide friendly and efficient service.

I am pleased that you enjoyed the architecture and landscape of our resort. Your excellent comments about the hotel’s food, facilities and services have been passed on to my colleagues. I have also noted your suggestion regarding the airport transfer and we will review this for future promotions.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again to our hotel in the not too distant future.


Sincerely,


JAMES MONTENEGRO
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lapu Lapu
0.9 mi away
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
1.1 mi away
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 42 in Mactan Island
697 reviews
6.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 90 in Cebu City
3,269 reviews
1.5 mi away
Be Resorts - Mactan
Be Resorts - Mactan
#13 of 31 in Lapu Lapu
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan

Property: Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan
Address: Seascapes Resort Town | Mactan Island, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines
Phone Number:
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#4 Family Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#4 Business Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#4 Spa Hotel in Lapu Lapu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan 5*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Synonymous with luxury and personalized service, Crimson Resort and Spa is the new destination and resort to experience. Nestled in one of the country's most prestigious tourist destinations, this exclusive piece of paradise is just 15 minutes away from the Mactan International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crimson Resort And Spa, Mactan Hotel Lapu Lapu
Crimson Resort And Spa, Mactan Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing