We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm staff, great food and nice accommodation.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Lapu Lapu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 December 2012

This is our 3rd time here, and this place, still never fails to amaze me. From the moment you arrive, the staff makes you feel you're a VIP. The resort still awes me. If a person loves swimming, there's the pool where the view from the main lobby is so magical, you would want to take a dip anytime. Their beach is wide. The food choices, in the dinner and breakfast buffet, were very delicious. I also ordered for a room service, didn't wait too long for it to be delivered. Over-all experience, very satisfactory that I would still love to stay and be back for another retreat.

Room Tip: If you're a local resident, call them directly for the local residents' rates. Personally, I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leilanie_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCrimsonMactan, General Manager at Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2013

Dear Leilanie_12

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience while staying at Crimson Resort and Spa. We sincerely value your comments in our continuous effort to provide friendly and efficient service.

I am pleased that despite having visited us for the third time we still managed to amaze you with our magical lobby, food choices and facilities. This is the type of experience we would like all our guests to have so that you will keep coming back to our resort.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again to our hotel in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,


JAMES MONTENEGRO
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,010)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,115 - 3,121 of 4,010 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2012

Pro
1. Excellent service - Most hotel staff are friendly, accommodating, polite and responsive. We have a 1 year old baby with us and the staff at Saffron purée fruits for our baby daily and were friendly to our family. At Crimzone kid zone where our baby play - the staff were very nice to our baby.
2. For a hotel, though it's very expensive, the food at Saffron and Tempo restaurants were excellent.
3. New hotel with nice relaxing design and it has an Impressive pool.
4. Bed was comfortable and they have nice linens.
5. Free play area for family traveling with kids and it has a clinic in case you get ill during your vacation.
6. Hotel security is very good. Someone patrols the area and if you take a cab, the TAG/plate number is written so the hotel can track it when needed.


Cons
1. Expensive in comparable to other hotels in Cebu-Mactan area. Examples: Breakfast buffet is priced at 30 US Dollar per person before tax & service charge and 1 hour massage is priced at approximately 100 USD.
2. The beach portion of this hotel is a DISAPPOINTMENT. It's a very nice hotel but don't book here if you are looking to spend your vacation on a nice tropical beach. The beach portion is very small, very rocky and the water is nowhere close to Boracay and definitely not Palawan.
3. Not walking distance to any mall, restaurants or tourist attractions which means you either have to eat in the restaurants within the hotel or take a taxi/shuttle to eat out. Note also, if the concierge personnel see you bring food inside, they can charge you a "corking" fee. This was not disclosed to us during check in so be aware.
4. Not handicap friendly hotel - if you are in a wheelchair- don't book here. The architectural design is not handicap friendly. For one, all rooms I saw have steps and no ramps, not every stairs has ramps next to it and if there is a ramp, it is not within the building, it is outdoor without awning/roof so when it rains, the poor person in the wheelchair will be soaking wet.
5. No free breakfast given to us but they gave a free breakfast to the friend that we referred to the hotel. We booked for 7 nights and we were told it doesn't come with complimentary breakfast but when our friend checked in for just 1 night we heard they were offered a free breakfast. We complained about this but no one wants to offer the same deal for us knowing we stayed longer than our friend and we are the one who referred this hotel. Because of this, I am passionate to write a review at every website about this unfair treatment and warn everyone to ask for complimentary breakfast! If you are traveling with Filipino citizen, book the reservation under that person as local rates may save you money.

Room Tip: Crimson Resort, complimentary breakfast, free breakfast, beach, Cebu, Mactan, Tropical, pool, baby...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AtCrimsonNov2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCrimsonMactan, General Manager at Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2013

Dear AtCrimsonNov2012,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience while staying at Crimson Resort and Spa. We sincerely value your comments in our continuous effort to provide friendly and efficient service.

After reading your comments we’d like to assure you that our rates for spa services and breakfast are still relatively cheaper compared to services offered in other resorts with spas of similar quality and category. Furthermore, we have rooms available for guests with disabilities which are easily accessible and are close to the ramp. Lastly, we have different packages available however not all of our packages include breakfast. In this case, the package that your friend availed included breakfast, while yours didn’t.

In general, the resorts in Cebu are located approximately 45mins. away from the city proper where the major malls are.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again to our hotel in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,


JAMES MONTENEGRO
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

I've been seeing a lot of beautiful publicity photos of Crimson plus positive reviews so it was enough to convince me and my friend to finally book a room here;And we're so glad we did!its an hour trip from the city and 15-20 mins if coming from the airport.it depends on the traffic.we loved the resort!actually when we first got to the lobby,it somewhat reminded me of shangri-la boracay.They gave us welcome drinks which delighted us because some resorts,although its written in their brochures that they will give you a drink, but upon arriving,they forgot(?) unless you remind them.The staff was so helpful and really courteous! its so commendable.they're truly the asset of the resort.the gardens are beautiful!its peaceful.not so crowded probably because we booked our stay during weekdays.the room is charming.it looks more cozy when you open the lamps.our beds are two single.for us it's not the usual single beds because it's quite narrow but its so comfortable!however,the reading lights in our headboards doesn't work.The bathroom is spacious!what I love about it is that it has a bath tub and a flat screen that you're entertained while you're soaked in the tub.i just don't like the lotions,soaps and gel..it smells weird.We also used their gym.the trainers was so helpful,accommodating and gave us tips about fitness.The breakfast here is just average for us but the ala carte menu is good! We love the pools!i just don't think tall people will truly enjoy them since its just 4'.but we loved it anyway.The beach part is not that big and rocky but plenty of big fish(es)that aren't afraid of people;water is clear too.Shopping outside is not a problem coz they have free shuttles but you have to go with their schedules which is totally understandable;also they have golf carts which can assist you if you want to roam the resort.Overall this place is recommendable.not much people knows about it...yet coz they're so used to the more popular ones but once they tried it here ,they'll get the same service from the more upscale resorts minus the absurd amounts that they charge.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lyka J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCrimsonMactan, General Manager at Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2012

Dear Lyka J,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience while staying at Crimson Resort and Spa. We sincerely value your comments in our continuous effort to provide friendly and efficient service.

I am glad that you and your friends have decided to visit our resort. It gives us great pleasure knowing that you have enjoyed your stay with us. I have noted your comments with regards to the headboard lights, breakfast and beach. While we have already made improvements to our beach area since your stay rest assured that we will look into your other concerns to ensure total guest satisfaction.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again to our hotel in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,


JAMES MONTENEGRO
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

i fell in love with the infinity pool i saw through internet that made me decide to book at least a day tour use p1800 with free lunch buffet. This resort is just 2yrs old. the places were clean and well maintain. super thumbs up to the staff of Crimson resort they were all accommodating with their guest. my grandpa is very much happy with their service. every places we went through from saffron cafe, sports bar, locker room and to the pool are all staff we very helpfull smiling and accomodating to their guest needs. even for the safety of their guest one waitress did offer a nurse service knowing my grandpa stomach is not feeling well and i was surprise for her concern. at the pool area i observed also the lifeguard is really focus on his job likewise to those handling the water activites this man nickname bulldog did not hesistate when i told him i need a companion on my snorkling no one is available then he just offer himself to accompany me. Buffet food is just so so not that super yummy food, enough to keep u full.

Dislike :
not worth for snorkling i paid p400 for it has no coral sunctuary as they say it has.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank quereth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCrimsonMactan, General Manager at Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2012

Dear Quereth,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience while staying at Crimson Resort and Spa. We sincerely value your comments in our continuous effort to provide friendly and efficient service.

We are extremely proud of our infinity pool. I am glad that it was the reason you chose to spend a day at Crimson. However, I have noted your comment regarding not having a coral sanctuary. As of the moment we are still working towards improving our marine sanctuary and once done will be one of the reasons you’ll want to come back to our resort and hopefully stay longer than a day.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again to our hotel in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,


JAMES MONTENEGRO
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

We booked a garden house for a few days, but it was only an average small hotel room with a big bathroom. It seems corean guests have the hotel firmly under control, maybe they get special packages offered. The beach is small and the ground of the water is full of stones and small rocks, what is not comfortable for entering the ocean. The anounced rates are without taxes and fees, what is rather unusual and thats the reason why the prices for the buffet and the rooms are after all too high. Only a few Peso more and you can enjoy a real first class restaurant and luxury rooms such as in Shangrila´s. We left the Crimson with a bad feeling of rip off.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eisokey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCrimsonMactan, General Manager at Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience while staying at Crimson Resort and Spa. We sincerely value your comments in our continuous effort to provide friendly and efficient service.

I regret that you experienced dissatisfaction during your stay with us. Rest assured that the prices of our food and services are relatively cheaper compared to other resorts of the same quality.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back to our resort soon.

Sincerely,



James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

The SERVICE is GREAT, the STAFF are WONDERFUL. I had a business trip to Cebu, and got my family tag along. Me and my family enjoyed our stay, including all the extra events for the kids. On the way to the airport, we left behind our 3luggages in a city taxi. The staff facilitated getting our luggage back. We hope to go back to sometime.

Room Tip: Stay close to the SEA.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rolly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCrimsonMactan, General Manager at Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2012

Dear Rolly L,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience while staying at Crimson Resort and Spa. We sincerely value your comments in our continuous effort to provide friendly and efficient service.

It is a constant delight to read comments from our guests saying that our service is great and our staff is wonderful. Furthermore, I am pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay at our resort. Your excellent comments fuel our enthusiasm to strive even harder to make each stay memorable for each and every one of our guests.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again to our hotel in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,


JAMES MONTENEGRO
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

On the positive side, the rooms at the resort are very nice and the way they are located on the property (mostly one level) is also a bonus. I think there are only a couple of two story blocks which is nice compared to ten to twenty story towers. The rooms are well equipped and clean but you should be aware that if you have noisy neighbours, you will hear them.
Breakfast was good and seating available.
Staff overall were pleasant and helpful whether it was in the restaurants or by the pool.
The fitness facility is small but very functional.
Watersport selection appears good.
On the not so positive side, the overall footprint of the resort is not very large meaning if the resort is full or close to full, it feels crowded. Lounge chairs in the shade are then not always available. There are not enough shaded lounge chairs, or other shaded areas on the beach. The beach is very small and snorkeling is not very good.
Consistent service needs some work. First night there we waited for someone to serve us at the beach bar for about 20 minutes then waited another 15 for the drinks. There were few people at any of the table or lounge chairs. Second night there, no problem.
We had dinner at the "Tempo" restaurant and found the portions very small and although there was some entertainment, it was mostly empty and not like a resort at all.
We did observe more than a couple of times, staff trying to please a manager more than provide good service.

Room Tip: If you have the $$, an oceanfront villa is beautiful. If not a deluxe garden room is just fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john00737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCrimsonMactan, General Manager at Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2012

Dear john00737,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience while staying at Crimson Resort and Spa. We sincerely value your comments in our continuous effort to provide friendly and efficient service.

I have noted your comments with regards to feeling crowded in our resort. I also express regret that you were dissatisfied with the service you received during your stay with us. Rest assured that we are constantly training our team members to ensure that the service we render is in line with our standards. Furthermore, since your stay with us we have made some improvements in our beach area.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again to our hotel in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,


JAMES MONTENEGRO
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lapu Lapu
0.9 mi away
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
0.8 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#8 of 44 in Mactan Island
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort
6.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 92 in Cebu City
3,637 reviews
1.5 mi away
BE Resort, Mactan
BE Resort, Mactan
#15 of 32 in Lapu Lapu
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan

Address: Seascapes Resort Town | Mactan Island, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines
Phone Number:
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#3 Spa Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#3 Family Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#4 Business Hotel in Lapu Lapu
Price Range: £124 - £455 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan 5*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Synonymous with luxury and personalized service, Crimson Resort and Spa is the new destination and resort to experience. Nestled in one of the country's most prestigious tourist destinations, this exclusive piece of paradise is just 15 minutes away from the Mactan International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Book Philippines, Inc., Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crimson Resort And Spa, Mactan Hotel Lapu Lapu
Crimson Resort And Spa, Mactan Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing