We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort & sensational for families with young kids”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Lapu Lapu
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Beautiful resort & sensational for families with young kids”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2012

My husband, 2 kids (5 & 2) and I just stayed here for 8 days. I would recommend this resort a million times over. The luxury, beauty, ammenities and the kids' club all made it perfect. We were able to put the kids in Crimzone in the late afternoon before dinner and my husband and I could have a swim together and then have a cocktail at the sensational Azure pool bar on our own which made it like another honeymoon. The rooms are lovely, the staff are courteous and the infinity pool is stunning! The weather in the Philippines is actually perfect. We will be back!

Room Tip: They are all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vi0let99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCrimsonMactan, General Manager at Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Dear Vi0let99,

Thank you very much for your heartwarming comments regarding your stay at our resort. These comments are our source of inspiration making us strive even harder in maintaining our standards.

I am delighted that you and your family have found our rooms lovely, our staff courteous, and our infinity pool stunning. Furthermore, I am glad that you enjoyed it so much that it was like another honeymoon for you and your husband.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to making it all perfect for you and your family again on your next visit to our resort in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,


JAMES MONTENEGRO
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,623
    1,156
    373
    90
    69
See reviews for
1,291
1,135
103
231
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
400 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2012

If you're looking for an out of the city upscale resort to relax for a weekend, then this is a nice place to go. The resort facilities itself is good. I wouldn't compare it of course to a 5-star hotel since this is more of a resort category. Rooms are available in clusters and are accessible through outdoor pathways. The place is clean and properly maintained. Our room was ok, it was spacious. I love the simple interiors which make use of local materials. The beddings were quite comfortable, especially if you're looking for a good night's sleep. Airconditioning is split type although at times we found it hard to stabilize the temperature, it was either too cold or too hot. But the ceiling fan was available so we were able to maintain a comfortable temperature. Loads of channels for the TV were available, although some channels had poor signal quality. The room had most of the amenities you would look for in an upscale resort, including small things like hair dryer, iron (borrowed from housekeeping) which we needed since we were attending a wedding, toothbrush kits, etc. Overall, the place itself was nice and we had a relaxing time.

Breakfast buffet was good, they had quite a choices, and fresh despite it being buffet style. The servers were also extremely helpful and would go out of their way to get you additional items from the buffet area, after you've already gone for the your first round, so that you don't have to stand up in the middle of your meal.

Staff all thoughout the hotel was extremely friendly and everyone you met along the way greeted you. Some people may find that a bit too much though, as you sometimes feel you don't have any quiet time or privacy :)

Check in was ok. There were two people ahead of us which basically filled the two counters at check-in so we had to wait a bit. One of the other guest services folks, Ms Elena Han, seated at the entrance, who was free at that time I would assume, noticed and came to help us and was able to check us in too.

Beach was not really nice, but I already knew that Mactan beaches were pretty much like that, rocky and if there were white sands, they were just brought in for reclamation and not natural. That is why most, if not all, Mactan resorts have a pool for swimming. To me, a place like this is more for city dwellers who still wants to have the luxuries while enjoying a change of environment for the weekend.

The resort had a pool side bar which was a nice play to hang out at night. Since our party had finished early, we went and hang out by the garden near the pool side bar. The moon was bright at that time so it was nice to sit outdoors and enjoy the moon's reflection on the sea as well as enjoy the cool breeze.

Location of the resort is quite remote. It's inside one of the residential villages. They of course have a daily shuttle to the city but it's not really worth the trip to go for a quick visit or maybe like go for dinner at the city.

There was one minor thing I didn't like though about their process. Somehow, there would be a round of checks the staff does in the morning where they would knock on your door to check if you were still around. It was 9am on Sunday, and albeit we didn't put on the Do Not Disturb sign, we don't appreciate staff knocking on the door and then just to say "Oh, we're just checking if the room is still occupied". First of all, they should know at the front desk which rooms are still occupied and it wasn't necessary to do it manually. It was not nice especially on a Sunday morning when you would like to sleep in a bit more. But it was actually the reason they gave that was the more irritating part.

Room Tip: Choose a room nearer to the middle, pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kormensandiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCrimsonMactan, General Manager at Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Dear Kormensandiego,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. These comments are invaluable to us as we are continuously looking for ways to improve our facilities and services.

I have noted your concern regarding the poor signal quality of some channels during your stay. Rest assured that we have relayed this concern to our cable provider to ensure that all channels are properly working for all our guests. Also, I have discussed your concern with regards to our staff knocking on your door at 9am. I have asked our Executive Housekeeper to discontinue this practice to ensure that our guests remain comfortable all throughout their stay.

Lastly, I’m glad that you have enjoyed our breakfast buffet, pool side bar and appreciated the services of our team members during your stay. I have shared these delightful comments with everyone on our team to serve as inspiration to strive harder in ensuring our standards are always maintained.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again to our hotel in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,


JAMES MONTENEGRO
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cebu City, Philippines
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012

This is our 3rd time here, and this place, still never fails to amaze me. From the moment you arrive, the staff makes you feel you're a VIP. The resort still awes me. If a person loves swimming, there's the pool where the view from the main lobby is so magical, you would want to take a dip anytime. Their beach is wide. The food choices, in the dinner and breakfast buffet, were very delicious. I also ordered for a room service, didn't wait too long for it to be delivered. Over-all experience, very satisfactory that I would still love to stay and be back for another retreat.

Room Tip: If you're a local resident, call them directly for the local residents' rates. Personally, I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leilanie_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCrimsonMactan, General Manager at Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Dear Leilanie_12

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience while staying at Crimson Resort and Spa. We sincerely value your comments in our continuous effort to provide friendly and efficient service.

I am pleased that despite having visited us for the third time we still managed to amaze you with our magical lobby, food choices and facilities. This is the type of experience we would like all our guests to have so that you will keep coming back to our resort.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again to our hotel in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,


JAMES MONTENEGRO
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumming, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

Pro
1. Excellent service - Most hotel staff are friendly, accommodating, polite and responsive. We have a 1 year old baby with us and the staff at Saffron purée fruits for our baby daily and were friendly to our family. At Crimzone kid zone where our baby play - the staff were very nice to our baby.
2. For a hotel, though it's very expensive, the food at Saffron and Tempo restaurants were excellent.
3. New hotel with nice relaxing design and it has an Impressive pool.
4. Bed was comfortable and they have nice linens.
5. Free play area for family traveling with kids and it has a clinic in case you get ill during your vacation.
6. Hotel security is very good. Someone patrols the area and if you take a cab, the TAG/plate number is written so the hotel can track it when needed.


Cons
1. Expensive in comparable to other hotels in Cebu-Mactan area. Examples: Breakfast buffet is priced at 30 US Dollar per person before tax & service charge and 1 hour massage is priced at approximately 100 USD.
2. The beach portion of this hotel is a DISAPPOINTMENT. It's a very nice hotel but don't book here if you are looking to spend your vacation on a nice tropical beach. The beach portion is very small, very rocky and the water is nowhere close to Boracay and definitely not Palawan.
3. Not walking distance to any mall, restaurants or tourist attractions which means you either have to eat in the restaurants within the hotel or take a taxi/shuttle to eat out. Note also, if the concierge personnel see you bring food inside, they can charge you a "corking" fee. This was not disclosed to us during check in so be aware.
4. Not handicap friendly hotel - if you are in a wheelchair- don't book here. The architectural design is not handicap friendly. For one, all rooms I saw have steps and no ramps, not every stairs has ramps next to it and if there is a ramp, it is not within the building, it is outdoor without awning/roof so when it rains, the poor person in the wheelchair will be soaking wet.
5. No free breakfast given to us but they gave a free breakfast to the friend that we referred to the hotel. We booked for 7 nights and we were told it doesn't come with complimentary breakfast but when our friend checked in for just 1 night we heard they were offered a free breakfast. We complained about this but no one wants to offer the same deal for us knowing we stayed longer than our friend and we are the one who referred this hotel. Because of this, I am passionate to write a review at every website about this unfair treatment and warn everyone to ask for complimentary breakfast! If you are traveling with Filipino citizen, book the reservation under that person as local rates may save you money.

Room Tip: Crimson Resort, complimentary breakfast, free breakfast, beach, Cebu, Mactan, Tropical, pool, baby...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AtCrimsonNov2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCrimsonMactan, General Manager at Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Dear AtCrimsonNov2012,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience while staying at Crimson Resort and Spa. We sincerely value your comments in our continuous effort to provide friendly and efficient service.

After reading your comments we’d like to assure you that our rates for spa services and breakfast are still relatively cheaper compared to services offered in other resorts with spas of similar quality and category. Furthermore, we have rooms available for guests with disabilities which are easily accessible and are close to the ramp. Lastly, we have different packages available however not all of our packages include breakfast. In this case, the package that your friend availed included breakfast, while yours didn’t.

In general, the resorts in Cebu are located approximately 45mins. away from the city proper where the major malls are.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again to our hotel in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,


JAMES MONTENEGRO
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2012

I've been seeing a lot of beautiful publicity photos of Crimson plus positive reviews so it was enough to convince me and my friend to finally book a room here;And we're so glad we did!its an hour trip from the city and 15-20 mins if coming from the airport.it depends on the traffic.we loved the resort!actually when we first got to the lobby,it somewhat reminded me of shangri-la boracay.They gave us welcome drinks which delighted us because some resorts,although its written in their brochures that they will give you a drink, but upon arriving,they forgot(?) unless you remind them.The staff was so helpful and really courteous! its so commendable.they're truly the asset of the resort.the gardens are beautiful!its peaceful.not so crowded probably because we booked our stay during weekdays.the room is charming.it looks more cozy when you open the lamps.our beds are two single.for us it's not the usual single beds because it's quite narrow but its so comfortable!however,the reading lights in our headboards doesn't work.The bathroom is spacious!what I love about it is that it has a bath tub and a flat screen that you're entertained while you're soaked in the tub.i just don't like the lotions,soaps and gel..it smells weird.We also used their gym.the trainers was so helpful,accommodating and gave us tips about fitness.The breakfast here is just average for us but the ala carte menu is good! We love the pools!i just don't think tall people will truly enjoy them since its just 4'.but we loved it anyway.The beach part is not that big and rocky but plenty of big fish(es)that aren't afraid of people;water is clear too.Shopping outside is not a problem coz they have free shuttles but you have to go with their schedules which is totally understandable;also they have golf carts which can assist you if you want to roam the resort.Overall this place is recommendable.not much people knows about it...yet coz they're so used to the more popular ones but once they tried it here ,they'll get the same service from the more upscale resorts minus the absurd amounts that they charge.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyka J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCrimsonMactan, General Manager at Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan, responded to this review, 29 December 2012
Dear Lyka J,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience while staying at Crimson Resort and Spa. We sincerely value your comments in our continuous effort to provide friendly and efficient service.

I am glad that you and your friends have decided to visit our resort. It gives us great pleasure knowing that you have enjoyed your stay with us. I have noted your comments with regards to the headboard lights, breakfast and beach. While we have already made improvements to our beach area since your stay rest assured that we will look into your other concerns to ensure total guest satisfaction.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again to our hotel in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,


JAMES MONTENEGRO
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

i fell in love with the infinity pool i saw through internet that made me decide to book at least a day tour use p1800 with free lunch buffet. This resort is just 2yrs old. the places were clean and well maintain. super thumbs up to the staff of Crimson resort they were all accommodating with their guest. my grandpa is very much happy with their service. every places we went through from saffron cafe, sports bar, locker room and to the pool are all staff we very helpfull smiling and accomodating to their guest needs. even for the safety of their guest one waitress did offer a nurse service knowing my grandpa stomach is not feeling well and i was surprise for her concern. at the pool area i observed also the lifeguard is really focus on his job likewise to those handling the water activites this man nickname bulldog did not hesistate when i told him i need a companion on my snorkling no one is available then he just offer himself to accompany me. Buffet food is just so so not that super yummy food, enough to keep u full.

Dislike :
not worth for snorkling i paid p400 for it has no coral sunctuary as they say it has.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quereth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCrimsonMactan, General Manager at Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan, responded to this review, 29 December 2012
Dear Quereth,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience while staying at Crimson Resort and Spa. We sincerely value your comments in our continuous effort to provide friendly and efficient service.

We are extremely proud of our infinity pool. I am glad that it was the reason you chose to spend a day at Crimson. However, I have noted your comment regarding not having a coral sanctuary. As of the moment we are still working towards improving our marine sanctuary and once done will be one of the reasons you’ll want to come back to our resort and hopefully stay longer than a day.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again to our hotel in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,


JAMES MONTENEGRO
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fuchstal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2012

We booked a garden house for a few days, but it was only an average small hotel room with a big bathroom. It seems corean guests have the hotel firmly under control, maybe they get special packages offered. The beach is small and the ground of the water is full of stones and small rocks, what is not comfortable for entering the ocean. The anounced rates are without taxes and fees, what is rather unusual and thats the reason why the prices for the buffet and the rooms are after all too high. Only a few Peso more and you can enjoy a real first class restaurant and luxury rooms such as in Shangrila´s. We left the Crimson with a bad feeling of rip off.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eisokey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCrimsonMactan, General Manager at Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience while staying at Crimson Resort and Spa. We sincerely value your comments in our continuous effort to provide friendly and efficient service.

I regret that you experienced dissatisfaction during your stay with us. Rest assured that the prices of our food and services are relatively cheaper compared to other resorts of the same quality.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back to our resort soon.

Sincerely,



James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lapu Lapu
0.9 mi away
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
1.1 mi away
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 41 in Mactan Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
6.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 87 in Cebu City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,045 reviews
1.5 mi away
Be Resorts - Mactan
Be Resorts - Mactan
#14 of 30 in Lapu Lapu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan

Property: Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan
Address: Seascapes Resort Town | Mactan Island, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines
Phone Number:
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#4 Spa Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#4 Family Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#4 Business Hotel in Lapu Lapu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan 5*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Synonymous with luxury and personalized service, Crimson Resort and Spa is the new destination and resort to experience. Nestled in one of the country's most prestigious tourist destinations, this exclusive piece of paradise is just 15 minutes away from the Mactan International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crimson Resort And Spa, Mactan Hotel Lapu Lapu
Crimson Resort And Spa, Mactan Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing