We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan
Nearby Hotels
US$318
US$298
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Waterfront Airport Hotel and Casino(Lapu Lapu)(Great Value!)
US$102
US$86
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dulcinea Hotel and Suites(Lapu Lapu)(Great Value!)
US$54
US$44
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$296
US$238
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$231
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$77
US$65
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eloisa Royal Suites(Lapu Lapu)(Great Value!)
US$72
US$57
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$284
US$234
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Goldberry Suites & Hotel(Lapu Lapu)(Great Value!)
US$74
US$48
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Haruhay Dream Resort(Lapu Lapu)(Great Value!)
US$36
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (4,164)
Filter reviews
4,164 results
Traveller rating
2,185
1,358
430
104
87
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,185
1,358
430
104
87
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsazure barsaffron cafevilla hostplunge pooldeluxe garden roomfoam partygolf cartkids clubbreakfast buffetbeach areabeach frontwater sportsjet skiisland hoppingcebu citytempoactivities
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,210 - 3,215 of 4,164 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Last month we had a long weekend down in Cebu and stayed at the Crimson Resort on Mactan. We had visited the resort just after it opened and promised ourselves to go back and stay there as it looked really beautiful and seemed a welcome addition to the Mactan hotel scene. The hotel is located along the coast from the Shangri-La and is a little bit isolated, off the main road and down a number of small roads that eventually lead to the resort. The resort is beautifully designed and landscaped and is reminiscent of many resorts that you find in Malaysia and Bali, with a wonderful infinity pool near the beach. The buildings look very nice from the outside and the use of flowers, plants and trees makes the whole site look very inviting.

Check-in was easy and fast and we were shown to our room which was on the second floor of one of the buildings- a deluxe room. Unfortunately the view from the room was pretty non-existent as it looked directly onto the roof of the building opposite, so no view of anything really, not even of any greenery, plants or flowers. We asked to see a couple of other rooms of the same category but the views were similar with a ground floor room having a view of a wall and nothing else. As a result we decided to stay with the first room that we were given as there were no other upgrade rooms available. The rooms are spacious but almost spartan in design with some odd, obviously locally made furniture. The bed was large and comfortable with lots of pillows. The air-con was a bit problematic and simply didn't work very well, hard to regulate the temperature and some of the moveable vents were broken. The bathroom was large but not particularly well-designed. The washbasin and countertop were obviously designed for a little person or a child of about 8 years old- approximately 6-8 inches lower than normal! If you look carefully at the finish of the room you can see that the workmanship generally is quite poor and paint is already peeling off and building defects are beginning to show.

The public areas of the hotel seem to be in better condition and are very attractive. The lobby area is spacious and nicely designed, the hotel's main restaurant Saffron is a lovely large and bright room. The morning sun can be quite fierce though as there are no window shades to protect diners sitting near the windows when having breakfast. The pool area is lovely and the Azure bar near the pool and beach is very pleasant. We had lunch there on our first day and enjoyed a delicious club sandwich and French fries while enjoying the lovely views and sea breezes.

Our experience of food at the Crimson Resort was mixed. The buffet breakfast on the whole is excellent with a large selection of everything, beautifully laid out and presented and the service was friendly and attentive by the staff on duty. We also had dinner at Saffron on our first evening in the hotel and that was not quite such a success. We ordered a Caesar salad which was delicious and well-prepared and then a pizza Marguerita which was not such a treat. The pizza crust was uncooked in the middle, there was a distinct lack of tomato sauce, virtually no basil at all and the whole pizza was covered with large slices of mozarella cheese which obviously had melted and then cooled into an inedible mass. We bravely tried to eat some but gave up after a few bites and told the waitress of our problem. To give them credit the restaurant manager came and apologized and offered to replace the pizza with another one or let us order something else from the menu, so that was appreciated. You do begin to wonder though how the main restaurant in the hotel cannot get even the simplest pizza right.

The hotel offers a shuttle several times a day into Cebu City stopping at both the SM Mall and the Ayala Center. We would definitely recommend taking this shuttle and having dinner in one of the lovely restaurants in either of these two malls where you have a wonderful array of dining options available. The shuttle does not run very late so you will probably have to get a taxi back to the hotel but this will only cost approximately 200-300 pesos depending on traffic. The shuttle takes about 1 hour to get into the city depending on the time of day and traffic conditions.

Would we stay at The Crimson Resort again? Probably not. For just a little bit more money you can enjoy a stay at the Shangri-La Mactan just along the road where the rooms are impeccable, the food is always excellent and varied, the facilities are wonderful and the staff are generally better trained and more on-the-ball. The Crimson Resort is not bad but for the rates they charge, the hotel should be much better!

Room Tip: It is probably worth trying to upgrade to a Deluxe Garden Villa (I think that is what they call them) rather than just a deluxe room. As stated in my review, the majority of rooms in the resort have virtually no view of anything apart from the building next door.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jamesinmanila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCrimsonMactan, General Manager at Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2013

Dear Jamesinmanila,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience while staying at Crimson Resort and Spa. We sincerely value your comments in our continuous effort to provide friendly and efficient service.

I express regret that you have experienced dissatisfaction during your stay with us. Rest assured that I have noted your concerns and we are looking into this as we are continuously striving to improve our facilities and services for the satisfaction of all our guests.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to our resort in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,


JAMES MONTENEGRO
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

The Crimson was one of the few higher "starred" resorts in the area and although I wasn't expecting to be blown away by my experience, I certainly would not reconsider staying there again. For the price, I believe other resorts may offer a better experience.

It started badly when trying to book. It took the employees at the Crimson about a week to charge my credit card for 3 rooms. They kept experiencing some type of transaction error on their end. Whatever it was, it was difficult to book since I was 13 hours behind and found it difficult to communicate across time zones and on "their" time.

When I booked, I asked that one of the rooms have two twin beds and even made sure by calling and emailing them to confirm. When we arrived, they didn't have that available so we had to use a roll away for two nights.

The showers doors need to be looked at since all of the rooms I booked had shower leakage problems. Each time someone took a shower, it caused a huge lake of water to build up in the bathroom.

Overall, the space is nice and the beach nice enough; however, I think some things still need to be improved and rather than wait, maybe look at other similar resorts nearby.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCrimsonMactan, General Manager at Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2013

Dear Ryan C,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience while staying at Crimson Resort and Spa. We sincerely value your comments in our continuous effort to provide friendly and efficient service.

I have noted your comments and express regret that you have experienced dissatisfaction during your stay with us. Rest assured that we are currently looking into making the reservation process easier for all our guests regardless of the time difference. As well as making sure that we could accommodate all requests as much as possible.

With regards to the shower doors, this is an ongoing project of our Engineering Department.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you again to our resort in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,


JAMES MONTENEGRO
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

The resort was new, and deluxe rooms are in small shared bungalows (4 rooms per house) with own entrance from path around area. Hotel features nice (but not too big) rooms with nice bathrooms - but even though they state garden view, there is no garden to be viewed?

Pool is nice, and has 2- and 4-feet sections suitable for kids, but are otherwise not that kidsfriendly. There are no play facilities by pool, so bring your own toys.

The ocean-front of the beach is tiny but nice, although artificial and not too big. There's room for beach volley without disturbing guests enjoying the sun and the ocean. Nice.

The restaurants - well, the restaurant - has a nice buffet but is otherwise not too interesting. As the resort is located *FAR* away from Cebu city centre as well as far away from other local centres on Mactan Island, there are really no options for dining. Dine at the hotel, or go to Hilton / Shangri-La. There are no non-hotel options.

Our room was advertised with space for 3 adults, but in fact there was only a double-bed. Luckily we could fit our kids in the baby cradles (even the big one), as there was no sofa or other options to tuck them in.

All in all - OK if you *have* to stay at MacTan Island 1-2 nights upon arrival/departure from Cebu. But I would recommend getting away from Mactan if you are staying more than a few days. Go to Moalboal (White Beach) or Badian Island or something else at Cebu or nearby, to avoid the crowds. There's better beaches and more relaxed resorts to be found at much more reasonable prices.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to CrimZone if you have kids.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sune-DK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCrimsonMactan, General Manager at Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2013

Dear Sune-DK,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience while staying at Crimson Resort and Spa. We sincerely value your comments in our continuous effort to provide friendly and efficient service.

I have noted your comments and regret that you were dissatisfied with your stay at our resort. Rest assured that we are looking into the concerns you have raised to further improve our facilities and services. Also, since your stay with us we have added the imagination playground near our Crimzone which is excellent for your kids.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to our resort in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,


JAMES MONTENEGRO
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013 via mobile

We had a fantastic family week here.
Service (as almost everywhere in Philippines) excellent, warm and caring. Everyone from Front Desk to the ladies in the Kids Center, to the bodyguards and waiters/waitress, to the gardeners.
The place is very nice and cosy.
Very enjoyable. And overall good value.

Yet, kind of small/compressed.
From one restaurant/bar to the other is 20mts (or one floor) away. The menu is the same for the three restaurants, so after two days you know it me you want to try something else. Breakfast buffet is not that different per day.
And the rooms small too. We had the "Deluxe Garden" that feels tight.
Fitness center too small.

Location is kind of far from everything, but with good couple of local food restaurants around.

I would consider again, mostly because of the service and the kind of resort.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sergio P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCrimsonMactan, General Manager at Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2013

Dear Sergio P,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience while staying at Crimson Resort and Spa. We sincerely value your comments in our continuous effort to provide friendly and efficient service.

It was delightful to read that you had a fantastic week at our resort. I have noted your comments regarding the menu of our restaurants and rest assured that our Executive Chef has updated it since your stay with us.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we will look forward to welcoming you back to our resort in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,


JAMES MONTENEGRO
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Truly a world class resort! Something that Cebuanos should be proud of.

Perfectly located in a secluded town in Mactan Island. The landscape was so beautifully decorated with some nice plants and trees, making the air fresher. One wouldn't mind walking because the walkways are just too nice to walk on. But they also offer mobile rides for the elderly, heavy luggage, or if you just don't feel like walking around and you just wanna go straight to the lobby or your room.

Crimson is just perfect for couples, friends and families alike. Staffs were really friendly and very welcoming. They were also very attentive to guests' needs especially those staff at the restaurants and bar.

Food was okay. Nothing really extra- ordinary when it comes to taste considering that it is a 5- star resort and prices are a bit higher compared to other resorts that has the same quality to offer. I tried this Korean dish and find it a notch salty. Servings are usually good for two. I enjoyed their salads. Vietnamese Pomelo Salad from Saffron Cafe and (I forgot the name) Beef Salad from Azure Bar are a must try. You can tell that they are prepared with the freshest greens. Breakfast buffet has a lot of varieties to choose from. Their food menu caters to international palate, but also showcases Filipinos foods especially those from Cebu like the "danggit" (dried fish) and ripe mangoes.

We stayed in a deluxe room. The room was spacious. It has a nice size flat- screen TV. Bed was very comfortable, you will sleep like a baby and all freshen up for the next day's adventure. Bathroom also was huge with a shower, tub and a nice vanity area. It also has a big folding window (covers entirely the bath tub wall) that is see- thru the bedroom. The room has a small open veranda with a coffee table perfect for a morning chat.

The thing that I thought needed improvement was the telephone in the room which was grounded, making us go out of the room to check if there were some helpful staff around. If we're lucky, get some 5-minute walk to get to the lobby if we needed something from them. We can't hear anything from the telephone but the annoying grounded noise. We tried reporting it at the front desk, said that someone will have it checked, but still found out that it has still the same noise later that evening.

Another thing that made our stay a notch lower to quality comfort was the bathroom shower area. The floor at the shower area was only a half- inch deeper than the over- all bathroom floor which made all the water go out of the shower area and leaked all the way to the toilet and the vanity. So if we didn't put a towel mat every time somebody takes a shower, there will always be a puddle of water on the bathroom floor.

But nevertheless, Crimson is still a world- class paradise for me because of its "exclusivity," excellent facilities and amenities, and most importantly was the genuine hospitality of its people/ staff.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cjei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCrimsonMactan, General Manager at Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2013

Dear Cjei,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience while staying at Crimson Resort and Spa. We sincerely value your comments in our continuous effort to provide friendly and efficient service.

My team and I are honored that you said that our resort is a world-class paradise because of our excellent facilities and amenities as well as the genuine hospitality of our staff. Your excellent comments will no doubt challenge us to strive harder to ensure that all our guests will savor their stay with us.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we will look forward to welcoming you again to our resort in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,


JAMES MONTENEGRO
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews