We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in Lapu Lapu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We went to spend the day at Crimson. It was the most amazing location I had seen in Cebu. The water was lovely, hotel was very nice, clean and immaculate! Staff were super helpful.
It is a place to go and relax away from the busy city life. The food! - the lunch buffet was just out of this world and you really cant savor most of it as it is filling. I would recommend this to anyone. I didnt stay a night,so cant comment on the rooms.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dimashi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCrimsonMactan, General Manager at Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2013

Dear Dimashi S,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience while staying at Crimson Resort and Spa. We sincerely value your comments in our continuous effort to provide friendly and efficient service.

I sincerely hope that since your comment you have already tried spending at least a night in our resort. Because, if you have enjoyed your day trip then staying with us longer will be much better as you will have the opportunity to sample not only our lunch buffet but the food in our other outlets as well.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to welcome you again to our resort in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,


JAMES MONTENEGRO
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,010)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,081 - 3,087 of 4,010 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2013

This was my third time visiting the Philippines and my wife and I always wanted to stay at a nice resort on Mactan Island. So thanks to to the great reviews on trip advisor we decided to book this hotel online and got a decent price on a garden view room. The resort is very nice although the beach was a little small but not a big deal. We liked the room my wife really liked soaking in the tub while watching tv. We only booked one night as we were off to Davao the next morning.We had supper and the food was expensive you can expect that from a resort like this it but it was very good. What impressed me most was the staff at the Crimson everyone was phenomenal,always smiling and willing to give great service. I am always happy when they keep my San Miguel light's coming.I am sure there are other options for a nice resorts on Mactan Island but with customer service like this its hard not to want to go back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mastodon38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCrimsonMactan, General Manager at Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2013

Dear Mastodon38,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience while staying at Crimson Resort and Spa. We sincerely value your comments in our continuous effort to provide friendly and efficient service.

My team and I will be looking forward to your return to our resort and hope it will be for several days. It is comments like these that inspire all of us to continue working hard to satisfy all our guests.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to welcome you again to our resort in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,


JAMES MONTENEGRO
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Last month we had a long weekend down in Cebu and stayed at the Crimson Resort on Mactan. We had visited the resort just after it opened and promised ourselves to go back and stay there as it looked really beautiful and seemed a welcome addition to the Mactan hotel scene. The hotel is located along the coast from the Shangri-La and is a little bit isolated, off the main road and down a number of small roads that eventually lead to the resort. The resort is beautifully designed and landscaped and is reminiscent of many resorts that you find in Malaysia and Bali, with a wonderful infinity pool near the beach. The buildings look very nice from the outside and the use of flowers, plants and trees makes the whole site look very inviting.

Check-in was easy and fast and we were shown to our room which was on the second floor of one of the buildings- a deluxe room. Unfortunately the view from the room was pretty non-existent as it looked directly onto the roof of the building opposite, so no view of anything really, not even of any greenery, plants or flowers. We asked to see a couple of other rooms of the same category but the views were similar with a ground floor room having a view of a wall and nothing else. As a result we decided to stay with the first room that we were given as there were no other upgrade rooms available. The rooms are spacious but almost spartan in design with some odd, obviously locally made furniture. The bed was large and comfortable with lots of pillows. The air-con was a bit problematic and simply didn't work very well, hard to regulate the temperature and some of the moveable vents were broken. The bathroom was large but not particularly well-designed. The washbasin and countertop were obviously designed for a little person or a child of about 8 years old- approximately 6-8 inches lower than normal! If you look carefully at the finish of the room you can see that the workmanship generally is quite poor and paint is already peeling off and building defects are beginning to show.

The public areas of the hotel seem to be in better condition and are very attractive. The lobby area is spacious and nicely designed, the hotel's main restaurant Saffron is a lovely large and bright room. The morning sun can be quite fierce though as there are no window shades to protect diners sitting near the windows when having breakfast. The pool area is lovely and the Azure bar near the pool and beach is very pleasant. We had lunch there on our first day and enjoyed a delicious club sandwich and French fries while enjoying the lovely views and sea breezes.

Our experience of food at the Crimson Resort was mixed. The buffet breakfast on the whole is excellent with a large selection of everything, beautifully laid out and presented and the service was friendly and attentive by the staff on duty. We also had dinner at Saffron on our first evening in the hotel and that was not quite such a success. We ordered a Caesar salad which was delicious and well-prepared and then a pizza Marguerita which was not such a treat. The pizza crust was uncooked in the middle, there was a distinct lack of tomato sauce, virtually no basil at all and the whole pizza was covered with large slices of mozarella cheese which obviously had melted and then cooled into an inedible mass. We bravely tried to eat some but gave up after a few bites and told the waitress of our problem. To give them credit the restaurant manager came and apologized and offered to replace the pizza with another one or let us order something else from the menu, so that was appreciated. You do begin to wonder though how the main restaurant in the hotel cannot get even the simplest pizza right.

The hotel offers a shuttle several times a day into Cebu City stopping at both the SM Mall and the Ayala Center. We would definitely recommend taking this shuttle and having dinner in one of the lovely restaurants in either of these two malls where you have a wonderful array of dining options available. The shuttle does not run very late so you will probably have to get a taxi back to the hotel but this will only cost approximately 200-300 pesos depending on traffic. The shuttle takes about 1 hour to get into the city depending on the time of day and traffic conditions.

Would we stay at The Crimson Resort again? Probably not. For just a little bit more money you can enjoy a stay at the Shangri-La Mactan just along the road where the rooms are impeccable, the food is always excellent and varied, the facilities are wonderful and the staff are generally better trained and more on-the-ball. The Crimson Resort is not bad but for the rates they charge, the hotel should be much better!

Room Tip: It is probably worth trying to upgrade to a Deluxe Garden Villa (I think that is what they call them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jamesinmanila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCrimsonMactan, General Manager at Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2013

Dear Jamesinmanila,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience while staying at Crimson Resort and Spa. We sincerely value your comments in our continuous effort to provide friendly and efficient service.

I express regret that you have experienced dissatisfaction during your stay with us. Rest assured that I have noted your concerns and we are looking into this as we are continuously striving to improve our facilities and services for the satisfaction of all our guests.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to our resort in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,


JAMES MONTENEGRO
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

The Crimson was one of the few higher "starred" resorts in the area and although I wasn't expecting to be blown away by my experience, I certainly would not reconsider staying there again. For the price, I believe other resorts may offer a better experience.

It started badly when trying to book. It took the employees at the Crimson about a week to charge my credit card for 3 rooms. They kept experiencing some type of transaction error on their end. Whatever it was, it was difficult to book since I was 13 hours behind and found it difficult to communicate across time zones and on "their" time.

When I booked, I asked that one of the rooms have two twin beds and even made sure by calling and emailing them to confirm. When we arrived, they didn't have that available so we had to use a roll away for two nights.

The showers doors need to be looked at since all of the rooms I booked had shower leakage problems. Each time someone took a shower, it caused a huge lake of water to build up in the bathroom.

Overall, the space is nice and the beach nice enough; however, I think some things still need to be improved and rather than wait, maybe look at other similar resorts nearby.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCrimsonMactan, General Manager at Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2013

Dear Ryan C,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience while staying at Crimson Resort and Spa. We sincerely value your comments in our continuous effort to provide friendly and efficient service.

I have noted your comments and express regret that you have experienced dissatisfaction during your stay with us. Rest assured that we are currently looking into making the reservation process easier for all our guests regardless of the time difference. As well as making sure that we could accommodate all requests as much as possible.

With regards to the shower doors, this is an ongoing project of our Engineering Department.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you again to our resort in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,


JAMES MONTENEGRO
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

The resort was new, and deluxe rooms are in small shared bungalows (4 rooms per house) with own entrance from path around area. Hotel features nice (but not too big) rooms with nice bathrooms - but even though they state garden view, there is no garden to be viewed?

Pool is nice, and has 2- and 4-feet sections suitable for kids, but are otherwise not that kidsfriendly. There are no play facilities by pool, so bring your own toys.

The ocean-front of the beach is tiny but nice, although artificial and not too big. There's room for beach volley without disturbing guests enjoying the sun and the ocean. Nice.

The restaurants - well, the restaurant - has a nice buffet but is otherwise not too interesting. As the resort is located *FAR* away from Cebu city centre as well as far away from other local centres on Mactan Island, there are really no options for dining. Dine at the hotel, or go to Hilton / Shangri-La. There are no non-hotel options.

Our room was advertised with space for 3 adults, but in fact there was only a double-bed. Luckily we could fit our kids in the baby cradles (even the big one), as there was no sofa or other options to tuck them in.

All in all - OK if you *have* to stay at MacTan Island 1-2 nights upon arrival/departure from Cebu. But I would recommend getting away from Mactan if you are staying more than a few days. Go to Moalboal (White Beach) or Badian Island or something else at Cebu or nearby, to avoid the crowds. There's better beaches and more relaxed resorts to be found at much more reasonable prices.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to CrimZone if you have kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sune-DK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCrimsonMactan, General Manager at Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2013

Dear Sune-DK,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience while staying at Crimson Resort and Spa. We sincerely value your comments in our continuous effort to provide friendly and efficient service.

I have noted your comments and regret that you were dissatisfied with your stay at our resort. Rest assured that we are looking into the concerns you have raised to further improve our facilities and services. Also, since your stay with us we have added the imagination playground near our Crimzone which is excellent for your kids.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to our resort in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,


JAMES MONTENEGRO
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013 via mobile

We had a fantastic family week here.
Service (as almost everywhere in Philippines) excellent, warm and caring. Everyone from Front Desk to the ladies in the Kids Center, to the bodyguards and waiters/waitress, to the gardeners.
The place is very nice and cosy.
Very enjoyable. And overall good value.

Yet, kind of small/compressed.
From one restaurant/bar to the other is 20mts (or one floor) away. The menu is the same for the three restaurants, so after two days you know it me you want to try something else. Breakfast buffet is not that different per day.
And the rooms small too. We had the "Deluxe Garden" that feels tight.
Fitness center too small.

Location is kind of far from everything, but with good couple of local food restaurants around.

I would consider again, mostly because of the service and the kind of resort.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sergio P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCrimsonMactan, General Manager at Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2013

Dear Sergio P,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience while staying at Crimson Resort and Spa. We sincerely value your comments in our continuous effort to provide friendly and efficient service.

It was delightful to read that you had a fantastic week at our resort. I have noted your comments regarding the menu of our restaurants and rest assured that our Executive Chef has updated it since your stay with us.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we will look forward to welcoming you back to our resort in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,


JAMES MONTENEGRO
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Truly a world class resort! Something that Cebuanos should be proud of.

Perfectly located in a secluded town in Mactan Island. The landscape was so beautifully decorated with some nice plants and trees, making the air fresher. One wouldn't mind walking because the walkways are just too nice to walk on. But they also offer mobile rides for the elderly, heavy luggage, or if you just don't feel like walking around and you just wanna go straight to the lobby or your room.

Crimson is just perfect for couples, friends and families alike. Staffs were really friendly and very welcoming. They were also very attentive to guests' needs especially those staff at the restaurants and bar.

Food was okay. Nothing really extra- ordinary when it comes to taste considering that it is a 5- star resort and prices are a bit higher compared to other resorts that has the same quality to offer. I tried this Korean dish and find it a notch salty. Servings are usually good for two. I enjoyed their salads. Vietnamese Pomelo Salad from Saffron Cafe and (I forgot the name) Beef Salad from Azure Bar are a must try. You can tell that they are prepared with the freshest greens. Breakfast buffet has a lot of varieties to choose from. Their food menu caters to international palate, but also showcases Filipinos foods especially those from Cebu like the "danggit" (dried fish) and ripe mangoes.

We stayed in a deluxe room. The room was spacious. It has a nice size flat- screen TV. Bed was very comfortable, you will sleep like a baby and all freshen up for the next day's adventure. Bathroom also was huge with a shower, tub and a nice vanity area. It also has a big folding window (covers entirely the bath tub wall) that is see- thru the bedroom. The room has a small open veranda with a coffee table perfect for a morning chat.

The thing that I thought needed improvement was the telephone in the room which was grounded, making us go out of the room to check if there were some helpful staff around. If we're lucky, get some 5-minute walk to get to the lobby if we needed something from them. We can't hear anything from the telephone but the annoying grounded noise. We tried reporting it at the front desk, said that someone will have it checked, but still found out that it has still the same noise later that evening.

Another thing that made our stay a notch lower to quality comfort was the bathroom shower area. The floor at the shower area was only a half- inch deeper than the over- all bathroom floor which made all the water go out of the shower area and leaked all the way to the toilet and the vanity. So if we didn't put a towel mat every time somebody takes a shower, there will always be a puddle of water on the bathroom floor.

But nevertheless, Crimson is still a world- class paradise for me because of its "exclusivity," excellent facilities and amenities, and most importantly was the genuine hospitality of its people/ staff.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cjei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCrimsonMactan, General Manager at Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2013

Dear Cjei,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience while staying at Crimson Resort and Spa. We sincerely value your comments in our continuous effort to provide friendly and efficient service.

My team and I are honored that you said that our resort is a world-class paradise because of our excellent facilities and amenities as well as the genuine hospitality of our staff. Your excellent comments will no doubt challenge us to strive harder to ensure that all our guests will savor their stay with us.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we will look forward to welcoming you again to our resort in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,


JAMES MONTENEGRO
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lapu Lapu
0.9 mi away
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
0.8 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#8 of 44 in Mactan Island
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort
6.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 92 in Cebu City
3,636 reviews
1.5 mi away
BE Resort, Mactan
BE Resort, Mactan
#15 of 32 in Lapu Lapu
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan

Address: Seascapes Resort Town | Mactan Island, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines
Phone Number:
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#3 Family Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#4 Business Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#4 Spa Hotel in Lapu Lapu
Price Range: £126 - £454 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan 5*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Synonymous with luxury and personalized service, Crimson Resort and Spa is the new destination and resort to experience. Nestled in one of the country's most prestigious tourist destinations, this exclusive piece of paradise is just 15 minutes away from the Mactan International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Travel Book Philippines, Inc., 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crimson Resort And Spa, Mactan Hotel Lapu Lapu
Crimson Resort And Spa, Mactan Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing