We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sooooooo nice resort with so-so food!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Lapu Lapu
Certificate of Excellence
Pinay Traveler
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Sooooooo nice resort with so-so food!”
Reviewed 21 March 2013

The Crimson Resort is world-class! The ambience was sheer tropical luxury and the amenities were first-rate. Our villa was heavenly...complete with our own little plunge pool. It could certainly compare with the ttop of the line resorts in the Philippines. We had an awesome ocean view and the service was very gracious. The bathroom was big and posh. The grounds were lush and immaculately clean. it is still a reltatively new hotel so everything was tip-top! Unfortunately, the food left much to be desired. Very bland and substandard considering the region is well- known for its fruits, seafood and internationally applauded roast pig (lechon).

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ana5678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCrimsonMactan, General Manager at Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
Dear Ana5678,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience while staying at Crimson Resort and Spa. We sincerely value your comments in our continuous effort to provide friendly and efficient service.

We are grateful for all the comments we receive as it allows us to know where and how to improve in terms of our facilities and services. Although, I express regret that you were unhappy with the food that we offered during your stay. Rest assured that our Executive Chef is working diligently to ensure that all our guests are satisfied.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to welcome you again to our resort in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,


JAMES MONTENEGRO
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,692
    1,189
    381
    96
    75
See reviews for
1,350
1,169
111
239
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013 via mobile

The villa we stayed in is great (villa 505)! The amenities was superb... Our villa was located facing the sea with our own tiny pool. Air condition was to our standard. Everything was perfect and i honestly will give it a perfect score until we went to eat at their buffet... I really don't know what it was but the food felt so uninspired. Presentation was okay but the moment you taste it, it was a really big let down. I have to say that my baby and I have our share of the BEST fast foods, street food and gourmet food a really good resort or hotel can offer... Sadly the food here doesn't even come close to the most mediocre of these resorts or hotels... and we've tried a lot! I'd really like to go back there but if I have to eat outside to satisfy my cravings, I'd rather go to a little place that is not pretentious eat a really good meal and enjoy it. The ratio here of place/food is like 100/30%. Darn... to think that a little more effort from the chefs will make a big difference... So close to perfection... yet so far.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank MelBacani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCrimsonMactan, General Manager at Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
Dear MelBacani,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience while staying at Crimson Resort and Spa. We sincerely value your comments in our continuous effort to provide friendly and efficient service.

I am sorry to know of your dissatisfaction with the food during your stay in our resort. Rest assured that since then our Executive Chef has ensured that the food we serve in our resort will leave our guests wanting more.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to welcome you again to our resort in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,


JAMES MONTENEGRO
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013 via mobile

After travelling around the Philippines with a backpack we spent our last night here. It was simply amazing!

The food was v good, albeit quite expensive sometimes. Dinner portions at the Saffron were small. Drinks were expensive for the Philippines but to be expected in such a hotel and still cheaper than the UK. Buffet breakfast is amazing. Lots of choice and the pastries are delicious.

The spa was ridiculously priced again compared to other spas and hotels we visited.

Rooms were incredibly comfortable. Bed was like luxury and the bathroom the same.

Will definitely go back when next in the Philippines!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bahar321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCrimsonMactan, General Manager at Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
Dear Bahar321,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience while staying at Crimson Resort and Spa. We sincerely value your comments in our continuous effort to provide friendly and efficient service.

We are simply ecstatic to know you had an amazing stay in our resort. Our Executive Chef is beyond thrilled to know that you appreciated the delicious food that we offer.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to welcome you again to our resort in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,


JAMES MONTENEGRO
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Well let me star this by giving a big Thank You for giving me a Room Upgrade to a Villa.

Check in Check out - this is where I had issues with. We arrived at the resort really earlier than my advised arrival (10am), I was advised that the room will be available by then, but we were only accommodated at 1pm, still earlier than the usual though. I just expected a huge courtesy since we arrived like 7am and walking around, I noticed that the assigned room for us is already available.

Amenities - Excellent amenities and beautiful furnitures. Especially at the Azure Bar, well decorated. Everyone has a place and stillhave room for more, very commendable!

Room - Our Villa is located near the Azure bar, prolly 3 - 4 mins walk. Huge place for two pax, 3 LCD tv, nice sofa and nice room decoration. Bed is very comfortable, all I need is a minute to make me sleep. Bathroom is huge! Bath rub, TV, shower, name it!

WIFI connection is strong all over the resort, I've been to several Resorts in our country and this is the only so far that covers the whole resort with a consistent connection.

Food can be improved, pizza at the Azure Bar is overcooked and less seasoned, definitely not worth the ampunt being charged. Food at the Saffron Cafe though were good.

Staff - everyone is helpful and accommodating, truly Pinoy! Some needs to do some reading about the resort, they cant respond to some inquiries.

Coffee was not replenished, not sure if they missed it or they dont really do such.

Overall I must say that the resort is well maintained and really beautiful, I'd love to come back but not in a heartbeat, its a bit pricey.

Everyone should at least experience the beauty of Crimson.

Room Tip: Choose those rooms located near the Azure bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roadlesstravelled1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCrimsonMactan, General Manager at Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
Dear Roadlesstravelled I,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience while staying at Crimson Resort and Spa. We sincerely value your comments in our continuous effort to provide friendly and efficient service.

We are extremely happy to read your experiences during your stay in our resort. I have noted your comments regarding the pizza in Azure which our Executive Chef is working on. Also, since your stay we have ensured that our team is knowledgeable about the resort among many things thanks to our Peoples Development Manager.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to welcome you again to our resort in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,


JAMES MONTENEGRO
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarau, Switzerland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

My partner and I have decided ... we will no longer go to Boracay. Cebu, and the Crimson, is our new home. The staff are so friendly ... you can't go 5 minutes without a kind "Hello!" from an employee. Rooms (and bathrooms) are very clean. The grounds are immaculate, and of course, the beach is just what the doctor ordered.
For a resort, the food is actually quite good. I've stayed at many resorts throughout SE Asia, Mexico, and the Caribbean ...and this was definitely one of the better ones. I only wish the servings were a little smaller. That being said .. if you only eat at the resort, you're missing out on some incredible Cebuano cuisine. Lechon (roast pork), mangoes, and danggit to name a few.
It's far from the city (40 minute car ride) which is really a good thing. Unless you're into shopping. But, only 25-ish minutes to the ferry terminal. That's nice for any island hopping you may want to do. We really recommend Bohol.
Our only complaint was the lack of knowledge by the staff of their existing promotions for their own services (spa, water sports, etc.). Upon check-out, we noticed several over-charges on our bill. It required some patient arguing before it would be rectified. I'm sure if we had been a little more assertive at the purchase of services, it may not have been an issue .. or at a minimum, confirmed the prices/packages again, prior to participation. But when you can "charge it to the room", it's easy to overlook these things. It's so minor, but it should be noted. It won't stop us from staying here again ... nor from sending our family .. friends ... or anyone that will listen.
Thank you Red Crimson. See you soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VancouverAzzurri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCrimsonMactan, General Manager at Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
Dear VancouverAzzurri,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience while staying at Crimson Resort and Spa. We sincerely value your comments in our continuous effort to provide friendly and efficient service.

Boracay’s lost is certainly our gain. It will be a pleasure seeing you again and again in our resort. I have also noted your comments regarding our staff’s lack of knowledge of our promos and rest assured we are now diligently cascading it so everyone is on the same page.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to welcome you again to our resort in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,


JAMES MONTENEGRO
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quezon City, Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
78 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Our stay at Crimson Mactan made our 1st Cebu trip such a memorable one!

The place was so heaven-like that we didn't wanna go out anymore! We sooo loved the pools and all the surroundings were so clean and fresh and well decorated! They also offer a wide selection of delectable dishes that are truly satisfying!

Our villa even had its own pool inside so we were able to take a dip any given time!

The service at Crimson was also very warm and we even gained a couple of new friends during the stay!

We truly recommend this place for family bondings and couples who are looking for romantic getaways!!!

We can't wait to go back there!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mae I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCrimsonMactan, General Manager at Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
Dear Mae I,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience while staying at Crimson Resort and Spa. We sincerely value your comments in our continuous effort to provide friendly and efficient service.

What a delight to know that we are part of your experience of the best of Cebu. Your stellar comments regarding our clean and fresh surroundings, delectable dishes and warm service will inspire us to make all our guests’ stay a memorable experience.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to welcome you again to our resort in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,


JAMES MONTENEGRO
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

We return repeatedly just to relax and absorb the atmosphere that Cebu offers. The staff are warm,friendly and very accommodating. The food can be a little repetitive if your are considering more than a week.. A little remote and a 30 min ride to any major shopping malls but that is easily a combated by taxi or hotel car

Room Tip: A little off the beaten track but the staff and ambience is worth the effort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCrimsonMactan, General Manager at Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
Dear Peter D,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience while staying at Crimson Resort and Spa. We sincerely value your comments in our continuous effort to provide friendly and efficient service.

It is our pleasure to welcome you again and again to our resort. We are ecstatic that you have chosen our resort among many to stay in while you are in Cebu.

Once again, thank you for your wonderful feedback and we hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,


JAMES MONTENEGRO
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lapu Lapu
0.9 mi away
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
1.1 mi away
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 41 in Mactan Island
678 reviews
6.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 87 in Cebu City
3,162 reviews
1.5 mi away
Be Resorts - Mactan
Be Resorts - Mactan
#13 of 30 in Lapu Lapu
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan

Property: Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan
Address: Seascapes Resort Town | Mactan Island, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines
Phone Number:
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#4 Business Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#4 Family Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#4 Spa Hotel in Lapu Lapu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan 5*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Synonymous with luxury and personalized service, Crimson Resort and Spa is the new destination and resort to experience. Nestled in one of the country's most prestigious tourist destinations, this exclusive piece of paradise is just 15 minutes away from the Mactan International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Prestigia, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Travel Book Philippines, Inc., HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crimson Resort And Spa, Mactan Hotel Lapu Lapu
Crimson Resort And Spa, Mactan Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing