We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ace Penzionne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ace Penzionne
Cebu Island, Philippines
Level Contributor
79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Excellent location!”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

First a bit of geography and history. Cebu City is on Cebu Island but that's quite a mountainous place so cities are on the coast while mountains dominate the center. And mountains are not good places to put airports. Mactan Island however is just off the coast of Cebu Island and close enough to see Cebu and perhaps swim it if you choose. Mactan Island is flat and so a natural place for Cebu City's airport. LapuLapu City is the main urban center on the small island of Mactan.

So here's what you have to decide. On arrival at the airport on Mactan do you take a taxi to Cebu City via the two bridges that cross over to Mandaue and then deal with slow and irritating traffic to Cebu City itself? And bear in mind that's going to be a 90 minute or more ordeal because there there are no highways, just congested streets to get to Cebu City.

A better option is to just stay on Mactan Island and the Ace Penzionne is a mere ten minutes from the airport. It's just across from the Gaisano Mall where you have dining and shopping options. And if you want to visit the SM mall in Cebu there are air-con vans leaving the Gaisano every ten minutes. You can of course dine at the Ace Penzionne's own restaurant on the top floor with a nice view of both Cebu City and LapuLapu City. Many other dining options are also nearby at the Gaisano and a nearby McDonald's.

Okay, I've told a lot about the location but the hotel itself is decent with clean rooms and courteous staff. It's a perfect location if you're going to spend only two or three days in the area because the return to the airport to leave is very easy from there.

Oh, one more thing. If you want to visit downtown Cebu City from LapuLapu I'd suggest you just take a taxi or jeepney to the ferry landing at Simbahan in LapuLapu. Then pay 14 pesos to take a ferry to downtown Cebu City. There's a ferry every ten minutes. Much faster and much more convenient than a taxi that has to go over the bridge and through Mandaue City and its horrible streets.

So, if your visit to Cebu is business or tourism the Ace Penzionne is an excellent base.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    20
    15
    3
    4
See reviews for
4
17
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
81 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

I stayed here twice when i had to stay overnight to take a flight back. The rooms are simple and cozy, i like the blue sheets they use which exudes class. Its very clean and has hot water piped in. The television has standard cable and the wifi is very fast, good for downloading movies. You have to purchase your soap and shampoo though, since the provided soap and shampoo is of the motel type quality, small and almost not adequate. However, there is a grocery opposite the hotel in the gaisano mall which is being expanded. There is a 24 hour fastfood joint (jollibee) just 100 meters away as well as a mcdonalds about 300 meters away. There are shuttles to the airport (free) which start at 5 am and ends well into the night. All in all a good stay at a very affordable price

Room Tip: choose a room nearer the
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thefilipinobulldog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

It is not a 5-star hotel, but the staff were all polite and very attentive to all our needs. Room service' quick. We just walked in and luckily there's one family room left for us. We didn't expect to be welcomed by a well-lighted, spacious room for only 2,300 pesos with two queen-sized beds, TV (with cable), fridge, phone, cabinet (but no hanger), big and clean bathroom with hot and cold water, and mirror. It's situated in front of Gaisano mall so you can just cross the street if you want to buy food, water, toiltetries, etc. They have two in-house restaurants (one's Japanese) if you don't feel like going out. You can get their massage service for as low as 200 pesos when you get too tired after your tour. There's a salon/massage shop near this hotel. It's a few-minute drive from Mactan Airport and it's easy to get a cab from Ace.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erika_Tady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechelen, Antwerpen, Belgium
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

It's a hotel located to the centre of Lapu-Lapu City.It's not an expensive hotel but it's far from the sea (20 min. by car).The "standard rooms" are small with a tiny window, no view!The more expensive rooms are biger with some view, either to the city or to the harbor(better view).The comfort is not high, but you'll have air-co, hot shower and fridge.New bed-sheets and one big towel every day.The roof-restaurant's food is O.K.There is a wi-fi but not in your room, you must go to the public areas or to the restaurant.It is located 10 min. away from the "Mactan International Airport" and you can arrange for a free pick-up.It is located across the "Gaizano Mactan Mall" where you can eat and shop many things.You can also take the mini-bus from "Gaizano Mactan Mall" to the big central mall in Cebu City (I forget it's name) for a very low fair (0.50 euro).There you can find everything like a European Mall.

Room Tip: Don't choose the "Standard room"
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stavros P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nha Trang, Vietnam
Level Contributor
97 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Stayed there by accident. Taxi from airport took me next door and it was not very nice so walked here. Of course the taxi told me it was too expensive as he was making a commission on the other place. Ace is clean and and the price was very reasonable for the quality. Free airport shuttle. Reasonable price. Location is great as it is across the street from a large shopping mall.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryWW_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luzon, Philippines
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

I paid for a superior double room (matrimonial bed) for my parents who were celebrating their 50th golden wedding anniversary but instead, the receptionist gave my parents a small, stinking room with two single beds. My parents, having no idea what type of room I reserved for them, was not able to sleep well because of the stench emanating from the room(room 301). My parents described the room as small, old, smelly with dirty walls. What i don't understand and fuming about is the inefficiency of their reservation/receptionist who was assigned on January 2, 2013 at past 7 pm. They have a record that i reserved for a superior,matrimonial, double bed via their website(surebook) last December17, 2012. I even confirmed this with Jean via phone & it was her who said that matrimonial beds are only available on the 5th floor so i said okay, placed on the 5th floor then. Last Dec. 30, I was also able to talk with their personnel,Marlene Cogo, to finalize my parents' airport pick-up and at the same time book my parents again in their hotel for Jan.4 specifically mentioning about the same type of room, which is a superior, double room with matrimonial bed. And she confirmed my booking instruction. I even mentioned that it was the 50th golden anniversary of my parents on Jan.2 that is why they are going to Cebu & Bohol for a vacation.

When they arrived on January 5 from Cebu, i checked the pictures they took. To my surprise, there was a picture of two single beds and a very small room taken with my father sitting in one of the beds. I asked them the name of the hotel the picture was taken because i booked them in what i believed was a matrimonial bed, a superior room for both Cebu and Bohol hotels. My parents said it was Ace Penzionne. I was so mad, i called-up their hotel and was able to talk with Melvin and demanded a refund of the whole amount paid for January 2 because of the inconvenience they caused my parents. Can you imagine, it was their golden anniversary and yet they gave them two separate, single beds and small, smelly room contrary to what was paid for? This is unacceptable.

Melvin also promised to give me feedback through my e-mail within that day, January 5, 2013 but until now, there is no feedback from their hotel despite two emails sent to them since then. Another broken promise, another case of inefficiency. I will never book again with this hotel. I recommend others to just go somewhere else!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank christine h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lapu Lapu hotels

Slidell, Louisiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I was surprise when me and family checked in to this place. It is a pension house, the room is huge for the four of us. .
We checked in to this penzione house where it is closed to Gaisano and if you want MC Donalds, there it is only across the street where you can walk. A business area place. We were in the third floor of the building ,there is a Wi Fi but you have to ask for their passcode to get in, a hairdryer available when you ask for it. Huge bathroom. This is the best spot ever of all the places we checked in with my family. We have two double bed and they were huge. The room is cool and airconditioner works very good. There is a tv on the wall and if you ask for a mini refrigerator,they will give it to you where you can stored your drinks and etc while staying there.
Amazing place to explore on the six floor where you can eat and look around and see the city or the view of the sorrounding . it is windy and breezy. .A helpful lady while we were there in their restaurant. I had the best food in that place.Look at their menu.
Yes, if we go to Cebu for the next time, we will check in to this penzionne House again.

Room Tip: Ask the third floor or the last room facing to the back of the building close to the stairs and not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tonia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lapu Lapu hotels
2.3 mi away
Chambre Hotel Mactan
Chambre Hotel Mactan
#11 of 30 in Lapu Lapu
59 reviews
1.5 mi away
Goldberry Suites & Hotel
Goldberry Suites & Hotel
#10 of 30 in Lapu Lapu
256 reviews
2.7 mi away
Eloisa Royal Suites
Eloisa Royal Suites
#5 of 30 in Lapu Lapu
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Waterfront Airport Hotel and Casino
2.4 mi away
Express Inn - Mactan Hotel
Express Inn - Mactan Hotel
#22 of 30 in Lapu Lapu
156 reviews
3.0 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ace Penzionne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ace Penzionne

Property: Ace Penzionne
Address: M. L. Quezon National Highway, Lapu Lapu, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Lapu Lapu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ace Penzionne 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK), Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Travel Book Philippines, Inc. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ace Penzionne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ace Penzionne Hotel Lapu Lapu
Ace Penzionne Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing