We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weird”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kon Tiki Marina Suites
Reviewed 26 July 2014

There are three things using the name kontiki here: this "hotel", another hotel, and the dive shop which are all separate. The marina suites are just three apartments in the water. There is no reason to come here unless you want to dive / snorkel all the time. That being said the house reef is very good to dive.

The apartment was reasonable. Don't expect to cook here as the facilities are minimal in the kitchen. The aircon only works well if You close off the bedroom to the rest of the apartment. Wifi worked well. The place was cleaned daily.

The location is down an unpaved road that seems very isolated at night. You will need a torch to go out after dark.

Facilities like restaurants, bars, and a supermarket is 15 minutes walking.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
Thank 07Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (27)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2013

Only a one night stay. I chose to stay in mactan to be close to Cebu airport for an early morning flight hoping to avoid the notorious Philippine traffic chaos. It still took 1 hour to get to airport.
Contiki seems to be geared up for Japanese tourists. Strict rules on buying contiki food and water. The hotel is shabby I had to move rooms 3 times as they couldn't find one with working locks on the doors. Kinda sums the place up. Supposed to be hot water showers but there was only a trickle of water coming out the shower and that dribble wasn't goin to get hot until mid afternoon on a sunny day. Mosquitos but no nets, heavy musty smell to the rooms I was moved into/out of. My final room had pleasant ocean views.

Despite the condition of the rooms all the staff were lovely and depending on your budget this place is reasonable value. It's tucked along way down some unlit back streets and not to convenient for other places to eat Hubble Hubble needed. I was nt diving so couldn't comment on

Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Do you want to snorkel to all your heart's content. Nothing beats the Kon Tiki in the island of Mactan. It is alive with marine life and the water is clear.

It has a small restaurant which serve good food at affordable prices and the clientele is mostly foreign, giving it an atmosphere of being some place away from home.

Oh, Kon Tiki is also where I had my first diving lessons. Simply amazing. Look for Alfred Alesna should you want to give it a try. I suggest you should.

Room Tip: I am basically a day tripper but the rooms overlooking the water would be the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joseph D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

I flew into Cebu from Manila on Cebu Pacific. There are ATMs and a few shops at Mactan International Airport so make sure you have some local currency as there is no ATM near the resort. You don’t need cash on the resort, everything is charged to the room or your dive account and both accepted Visa. There are abundant ATMs in the shopping malls, a nearby one Grand Mall in Basak is easily accessed by tricycle (try one!)

Getting to the resort from Mactan airport is simple, the traffic director writes a slip in local language for the driver, tells you the fare (usually P400 = $10) and off you go via a road that circumnavigates the island. Cebu traffic seems crazy but it works and I am sure that the car horns must only last about 12 months before they wear out. The little jeepneys crammed full of people are amazing, though not as gaudily decorated as they are in Manila.

From the Circumferential Rd a left turn into Pajac-Maribago Road then a right into a lane about 600 metres down sees you on the resort's doorstep. That final road to the resort is about 300 metres of an un-named laneway off Pajac-Maribago Road) and it is pretty rough. I wondered where the heck I was going when I arrived so some care walking it is warranted as it is potholed and stony in places. The roads and lane are clearly visible in Google maps. Kon Tiki sits behind a fancy Korean resort called The Imperial Palace. As with all cities, you do need to be aware of your personal safety and I am not sure that I would venture out down those last 2 streets late night (nor is there any reason to do that) but during the day and the early evening there were plenty of people around and the little shopfronts selling household wares along Pajac-Maribago Rd were interesting.

The resort rooms are basic but they are cleaned every day.

The restaurant is open for an early breakfast and until late at night. The range of food is quite varied and the prices are low, breakfast is around P200 ($4), and even Filipino standards such as Sinigang Shrimp and Pork Adobo are about the same price. Alcohol choices are very limited, local beers and rhum are about it. The open air restaurant has nice views across the water.

There are other activities available including parasailing, snorkelling and jet skis but the main attraction is its close proximity to Kontiki Divers, 5 star PADI operation. Other dive operators make the resort their base for day trips. There is no beach at the resort, stone steps lead down to the water from the restaurant.

For divers a great, inexpensive choice, for others seeking a few days quiet R&R close to the water with the main shopping centres of Ayala and SM City Cebu just a $10 cab ride away will find Kon Tiki Marina a good choice.

Room Tip: Avoid the cheapest rooms, they are away from the main resort facility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

I stayed there in July 2012. At this overcrowded coast this is maybe the last middle class resort among many very big and very expensive other resorts with thousands of Japanese and Koreans. It is owned by an old Swede and his Philippina wife. For me was important that the sea water is still rather clean there, so that i could swim at any time of the day, but there are many boats and jet skies, so it is a bit dangerous and not a real joy. There is a harbour for diving pump boats and small ferry boats on one side, on the other side the Imperial Palace with many fun boats and ships. But in Cebu City for me this is the best solution up to now.

Room Tip: Take one of the newer rooms at the seaside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Alfred9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

It was my first time going to Mactan , so what I was looking forward to was a good dive with a good access in between the land and sea. My friend and I found this resort which is side by side with the sea and Kontiki dive centre. So without any further hesitation we chose to stay at this simple resort. The journey to the resort was quite a rocky one as the road from the main road to the resort was not properly developed yet. The first time we arrived there, we were greeted by the friendly staff from the resort as well as from the dive centre. We were asked to wait a while and afterwards, guided to our room. To my surprise, the room looks so simple yet very clean and comfortable, with a small TV on top of a mini fridge. I really love the design of the floor which is made of natural stones and very comfortable to step and sit on. Our room was located just next to the sea, we could snorkel there anytime we like and enjoy the crystal clear water. As for the safety in the area, rest assured you won't even have to worry About it at all. However, the things that people have to take note is that the door lock is very fragile, just with less than a CM of overturning the key can lead to breaking the lock. We had the lock replaced 3 times by the staff, but don't worry because it was all free of charge. But please be considerate and not purposely break it. Please ask them To properly teach you before trying to lock and unlock with the key. One more point to take note is that early in the morning there can be noises from the kids playing and swimming in the sea, but we were totally fine with that as it served as our alarm clock to get ready for our dive every morning. In addition, looking for food around the area can be quite a hassle if you are not a keen walker and don't really crave for Korean cuisine which can be found in almost everywhere around the area. There is an open space cafetaria right at the back of the resort, but to me it is not of my taste.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANL_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2011

There isn't much reviews about this resort online, but we went still ahead. Room was quite fine, with tv, mini fridge, shower room, and a small space outside the room to dry our wet stuffs. Hot showers? Yes. Only in the morning to early afternoon. But their cold water wasn't that cold too. Door locks are fragile. We broke 3 locks on the day we arrived. So do get the staff to teach you how to lock and unlock the door. But no worries, no charges for breaking the lock, but still, let's be considerate for people like them making small money. People around the resort are friendly and kind. No worries for breaking in. Mosquito exists in the resort area. Do request for mosquito repellent or something similar from the resort staff to ward them off.

The sea is just directly beside the resort, and it's only a few walking steps to the entry of the sea for a swim or shore entry for divers. In the morning it can be a tad noisy because the residents in that area and their kids will be in the sea swimming and bathing etc. Making noises, having fun. But it was acceptable because it sounds off as an alarm clock for us, divers. Other than that, the rest of the afternoon and night time is pretty peaceful.

Rocky path to walk from the main street to the resort, but if you are a keen walker, it shouldn't be much of a problem.

Seafood in Mactan can be kinda expensive. But do try out their local food, which are seriously cheap and delicious. If you prefer western food, and also wishes to try out their local food, do visit this restaurant - La Place, which is a distance to walk, but worth it.

Overall, it was a satisfactory trip for us, staying in the resort, friendly faces all around, and great food out in the main street. There is a mini restaurant just directly behind the resort (less than 2 min walk), but we waited nearly an hour for our first dish to arrive although there isn't much customers. Food wasn't that great, but WIFI is available in there. But the restaurants out in the main streets are excellent.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Stevep21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lapu Lapu
3.9 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 43 in Mactan Island
707 reviews
4.6 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
4.7 mi away
BE Resort, Mactan
BE Resort, Mactan
#12 of 32 in Lapu Lapu
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
ALTA Cebu Resort
ALTA Cebu Resort
#1 of 4 in Cordova
321 reviews
1.1 mi away
Eloisa Royal Suites
Eloisa Royal Suites
#6 of 32 in Lapu Lapu
464 reviews
4.1 mi away
Sotogrande Hotel & Resort
Sotogrande Hotel & Resort
#21 of 32 in Lapu Lapu
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kon Tiki Marina Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kon Tiki Marina Suites

Address: Datag, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Lapu Lapu
Price Range: £31 - £47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kon Tiki Marina Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kon Tiki Marina Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Kon Tiki Beach Hotel Mactan Island
Kon Tiki Marina Suites Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing