We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“less than a basic hotel; considerate staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Islands Stay Hotels Mactan
Ranked #41 of 57 Lapu Lapu B&B and Inns
Quezon City, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“less than a basic hotel; considerate staff”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I don't think they deserved to be called "hotel" in the first place. They don't even give the basics. Their small travel kit includes sachet shampoo, soap and cotton buds. You have to bring therefore your toothpaste and toothbrush. They don't have complimentary slippers and rags. You heard it right, RAGS! So from the bathroom after taking a shower, your flooring will always be wet. Imagine, no slippers and rags! And so, there are no complimentary water (which is basic in hotels) and even instant coffee. The room was somehow claustrophobic in nature as it was so small, even the hallway. Equipment/tools are not maintained well and looks like it will tear down anytime, so be careful in handling them. REmote control of the aircon, not functioning. If you're small (like me, 5'2) you can hardly reach their aircon.

PROS:
STAFF- Their staff is quick to respond with your needs. We ask for hangers, towels (these are not present when we entered our room), chair (yes, their rooms do not have chair). THe BEST THING. THey allowed our baggage (not us) to check in early (around 9AM instead of 2PM) and check out late (7PM instead of 12PM). At least, we can travel with light bags.

LOCATION- near the airport. Near Marina Mall (Savemore, chowking, starbucks, mang inasal, etc.). Near 24 hour Korean store. Lobby has a ZUbuchon branch.

CONS:
MALFUNCTIONING GENERATOR- during our trip, there's a power interruption from 8AM-4PM on our first day. Good thing we're out of the hotel. The staff told us right away. But hey! These are just basics. A hotel must have a functioning generator. UNless they would reimburse waht we paid for.

BED and PILLOWS- we reserved medium room.That is good for 2, 2 small people. If you were chubby or big, then you will have a hard time. Pillows are really flat. 2 inches only. What i did was to fold it.

NO CABINETS- Imagine you cannot even arrange your things! I always have a hard time finding something just because they dont have even small cabinet. They have small table where the phone is. THats it.

MISSING EQUIPMENT/TOOLS/BASIC- No refrigerator, hotpot, hotwater, cups, spoon, rags, lamp, table to write on, chair, towels, toothpaste, toothbrush, slippers, mirror aside from the one in the bathroom. You have to go there to put on your makeup.

THere are more affordable hotels in Cebu city, less than 1 thou. Better to go there to avoid getting irritated. But if youre out of the hotel most of the time, this may work for you. Just keep in mind that their generator is malfunctioning.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaDeRPh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    19
    24
    15
    23
See reviews for
18
22
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This hostel is the most worst hostel in Cebu. I booked for 2 days. I was not able to get a decent sleep because you could hear the noise of public vehicles from the main highway. Free WIFI? it's so slowwww and hard to connect. You have to go down to the lobby to get a better connection. The service is so lame! So don't stay here!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank budget_traveler2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lapu Lapu hotels

Manila, Manila, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I booked 3 rooms... 2 large and one extra large. The difference is that the XL was supposed to have a kitchenette. To my surprise, the "kitchenette" was just a sink (see picture). The room was ok. They give you towel, soap, cotton buds and shampoo as your toiletry kit. But we ran out of water. The next day, electricity was cut off at 9am. I asked them and they said electricity would return at 4pm. I guess it was bad timing for us. I asked for a late checkout which they gave. They also gave me free drinking water.

I love their lobby restaurant though "Zubuchon".

the location is great too. you have save more (big grocery) on the left side just across the street, several restuarants including chow king and on the right you have the infamous AA barbecue.

Do not take their P150 airport service. Just hail a cab and pay only P61.

Room Tip: Closer to the lobby is best because you have wifi. During my stay the Wifi router at the end didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John_Ong1114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Close to airport, near a supermarket, accessible to taxi and other PUVs- just the right place for you for a quick layover. To set expectations straight, this property looks more like an American motel than a regular hotel. Bonus: Zubochon in-house dining open 24/7. If you have spare time, the Cebu Yacht Club is a stroll away.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arnold Cesar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

I'm sure this hotel was great when it opened but nothing has been done to it since. It's dirty, my room had broken fixtures and the linen didn't seem clean, AC was noisy and the street noise made it impossible to rest. I also booked a pick up from the airport which didn't show.

The price is great but I expected the hotel to get the basics right, and I don't think that's unreasonable.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Sebwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khabarovsk, Russia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

the hotel is pretty old, rooms are not very clean, no windows. if i had to stay there for more than 1 night i would definetely reconsider. it is close to airport, just 3 minutes by car. considering the condition of the rooms and amenities the place is well overpriced.

Room Tip: try some other place
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ValeriaB11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Location..location...5 mins to airport....simple room with simple ammenities like Tune Hotel but larger room, nicer bed...have kitchen cabinets,sink but no utensils...funny??
hot water have to get from pantry...
good for early flight out if not better stay in city area...bcoz far far away 30 mins or more if traffic to get to town Cebu City proper...

Room Tip: near to airport
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JsJien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lapu Lapu
1.6 mi away
Express Inn - Mactan Hotel
Express Inn - Mactan Hotel
#20 of 31 in Lapu Lapu
160 reviews
4.8 mi away
Green One Hotel
Green One Hotel
#27 of 31 in Lapu Lapu
7 reviews
1.5 mi away
Chambre Hotel Mactan
Chambre Hotel Mactan
#11 of 31 in Lapu Lapu
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Goldberry Suites & Hotel
Goldberry Suites & Hotel
#10 of 31 in Lapu Lapu
270 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Hill Hotel Mactan
Park Hill Hotel Mactan
#10 of 57 in Lapu Lapu
105 reviews
5.0 mi away
Islands Stay Hotels Uptown Cebu
Islands Stay Hotels Uptown Cebu
#216 of 332 in Cebu Island
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Islands Stay Hotels Mactan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islands Stay Hotels Mactan

Property: Islands Stay Hotels Mactan
Address: M.L. Quezon Highway, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Lapu Lapu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Islands Stay Hotels Mactan 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Islands Stay Hotels is a value chain hotel in Cebu that focuses on great locations while offering low prices. Islands Stay Hotels in Lapu-Lapu City, Mactan, is strategically located at the airport road intersection and is a two-minute drive away from Mactan-Cebu International Airport. Islands Stay Hotels also has a branch in uptown Cebu, strategically located in Cebu's central business district, across Ayala Center Cebu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Islands Stay Hotels Mactan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islands Stay Hotels Mactan Hotel Lapu Lapu
Islands Stay Hotels Mactan Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing