We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Exellent green oasis in Cebu” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Green Gate Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lapu Lapu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Green Gate Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #27 of 52 Lapu Lapu B&B and Inns
Fjällbacka, Västra Götaland, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exellent green oasis in Cebu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

This is our ninth (9th) stay in Green Gate for the past 18 months!!!!! and its a reason for that :
When you enter behind the Green Gate....An amazing landscaped green garden appears to you..with white flowers hanging from the pergola....Palm trees....and lots of green plants and flowers.
It's a wery nice big mansion with big terraces. And overbuild sitting groups, a nice pool to cool off in.
Our room here is always the Pool View room. It's big with very exclusive furniture. Aircon. Free Wi-Fi. Big bathroom with bathtub and shower.

The owners, Violet and Grant, and the staff here are so nice and accommodating. And they will help you with anything....You just ask them..And they will gladly help you....
The food here is absolutley superb, cooked by Violet. I strongley recommend the Baby Back Ribs.....and the Persian Chicken Curry with Diced Tomatoes.. and the Onion Rings...and the Chicken Kebab...And you get brewed coffee from Starbucks!!

The prices here are reasonable and fair..
This is a place for relaxing..God food..in quiet surroundings...
I travel a lot and i have stayed in places like Shangrila Mactan and Radisson Blu Cebu... but i like Green Gate better cuz of the quiet home feeling you find here..
And you get much more value for your money here!

Thank you Violet and Grant for the great times we had together!!!!
See you soon again.........

Room Tip: I recomend the Pool viue room.. or the garden viue room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hans Arne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    4
    1
    2
    4
See reviews for
11
12
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Leiden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

Very good B&B on Mactan Island. Stayed at Green Gate four nights last january. Grant and Violet supply great service and information about the Cebu area. Diner cooked by Violet and her crew is also very tasty. Great stay! Thanks guys.

Mike & Maaike from Holland

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MJ355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asker, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2013

Coming from Siquijor and Bohol, me and my family did a 2 day stopover in Cebu before flying to Manila. Green Gate was beyond our expectations. A little bit hard to find after dark as there is no flashing neon sign and the green gate itself is quite anonymous. Even in the daytime, some taxi drivers had to ask the locals about the location.
Entering the Green Gate B&B was a pleasant surprise. A manor like house, very well kept and filled with art and antiques. Rooms are spacious and clean with a huge terrace.
Grant, Violet and the others are wonderful people that makes you feel welcome and give great service. We arived quite late but even though Violet cooked a wonderful dinner for us. Very tasty! I'm sorry we didn't stay longer just to taste more of her excellent coocking! Breakfast was great too. We also liked the self-served mini-fridge just outside the bedrooms filled with mineralwater and beer. Green Gate is recommended for anyone wanting top personal service and atmosphere for a very reasonable price. Being close to the airport is also a plus.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dbrippel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

The Greengate was a perfect spot for my family to stay on Mactan. We stayed for almost a week in the lead up to my wedding and it suited our requirements very well.
- The staff are very helpful, always going out of their to offer friendly service or advice.
- The property is comfortable and quiet - it felt like a home away from home and was the perfect base for us to relax together.
- The food was great - real coffee with breakfast was a particular highlight.
- The location is surprising - on a rather beaten up old road (taxi drivers don't always know how to find it). However, I found the area interesting and thought it gave us a more authentic Cebu experience than staying at a resort.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2013

I spent 4 nights in Green Gate after Christmas with my husband and two children and we found it a very pleasant experience. Grant, Violet, Catherine and the others were very friendly and helpful and the food was very good. We were in the area for a wedding and we booked the Green Gate as part of a larger family group which worked very well. While I wouldn't necessarily recommend spending a lot of time in Mactan, if you have a reason to be in the area and want a welcoming, comfortable place to stay with a much lower price and more character than one of the big resort hotels, I would definitely recommend the Green Gate.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orleans Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

I have stayed at several places in Mactan on my stopovers from Hong Kong and I can say that Green Gate is my fav. A Manor House in the middle of a non descriptive bumpy street it boasts a well manicured botanical garden (there are so many plants) and complete with bridge overlooking a Japanese fishpond.

The rooms open to an expansive terrace, with enough room for a McDonald family gathering!!!! You have a cute forged iron table & chairs but I missed for a couple loungers there. When the rooms are not rented the patio doors are locked shut so ask the staff to unlock them to enjoy the terrace.

The Pool room has a pole bed with the thickest mattress I’ve seen in Phil, it makes you feel like King Arthur in Camelot. The enclosed full bathroom is a bit dated but squeaky clean and it even has a bathtub. There is a well stocked mini-fridge just outside your door and tons of filtered cold water in the kitchen downstairs. A complete American or Continental breakfast is included so you are certain to leave early in the morning ready for anything.

Down from the terrace there is a pool that is seldom used so you feel like it is your own and is a great place to relax catching a few rays or to finish your paperback.

The hosts Grant & Violet are always handy to help with sightseeing, shopping tips or to arrange transport and the staff is very attentive to your needs frequently asking if there is anything they can get for you, this is 5 star service for very reasonable pension rates.

You will never feel cramped at Green Gate.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank divelolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

* Bedrooms - The room accomodations at Pool View & Garden View are big and comfortable. The two inner rooms have much less space to move around. The A/C is in good working condition, although some outside pollution is being pulled in instead of purely recirculating. One funny thing (or scary, depending on your POV) was I noticed a deadbolt located on the outside of the Garden View door!

* Bathrooms - Seems like in a 2-star hotel, nothing fancy. Not sure why flushing of toilet paper is not allowed, contrary to my habits. Big minus is I find it unnerving that the two inner bedrooms share the same bathroom, especially if another guest occupies the other room. Also, the ceiling inside the toilet room needs to be fixed and fully covered. (don't want something dropping out from there!)

* Dining - For breakfast, you have two choices of meals: American (Toasts, Fried Eggs, Bacon, Coffee) or Filipino (Red rice, Fried Eggs, Pork cutlets or Sausages, Juice). Both are good. For lunch & dinner, an ala carte menu is available, although with prices slightly higher than if you dined outside.

* Amenities - The pool water is set at cold only. At daytime it is nice and enjoyable; at night, it seriously needs more lighting or else it looks scary. I didn't see any fitness center around.

* Service - Most of the ladies there are friendly and attentive. Internet is free, but sometimes unreliable ... not their fault, but just saying. The laundry service, I didn't know it would take about 3 days to complete, which was totally unacceptable as my vacation wardrobe is very limited!

* Surroundings - Not much to look at as it's typical of a rural setting. Going to beaches, malls, or POIs requires outside transportation -- shuttle service is not offered.

Room Tip: If you can, reserve both Standard rooms if uncomfortable sharing the same bathroom with another gues...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SnOwMeW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lapu Lapu
0.0 mi away
Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan
0.0 mi away
Chambre Hotel Mactan
Chambre Hotel Mactan
#11 of 30 in Lapu Lapu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cebu White Sands at Maribago Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Mactan Breeze
Mactan Breeze
#1 of 52 in Lapu Lapu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sans Inn Mactan
Sans Inn Mactan
#16 of 52 in Lapu Lapu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Gate Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Gate Bed and Breakfast

Property: Green Gate Bed and Breakfast
Address: 0056 Pajac Abuno, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Lapu Lapu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A uniquely landscaped Bed and Breakfast located in the center of Lapu lapu city. Close to Airport, beaches and the heart of Cebu City. Truly delivers the feeling of an absolute private resort. Privacy and Luxury at an affordable price with friendly people waiting to serve you at the high standard you deserve. A one of a kind property. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Green Gate Bed And Breakfast Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing