We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
EGI Resort and Hotel
Ranked #20 of 32 Hotels in Lapu Lapu
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Good location - if you want to go to other beach hotels there are lots around nearby ie Plantation Bay, White Sand, Imperial to name a few.
Quiet place, nice pool area, but the salt sea is just outside your window, OK restaurant but very few people.
Very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MorJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2013

I stayed at EGI hotel in May 2013 while attending a convention nearby. The reception was ok, though not exactly warm. WIFI was on separate charge, but is free at the breakfast area.

The room was old, although they kept it neat and clean. Upon check-in, I found the window unable to be closed, and this was addressed quickly with the help of the staff.

The best part of the hotel was the swimming pool which faces the sea. It will be a good location for chat and catch-up with friends.

However, the hotel somehow enable outsiders to call hotel room directly without going through reception. This is a security loophole. My friend and I received calls early morning from outsider posing as hotel receptionist - possibly scammers.

My recommendation is that this hotel is not worth staying in. Choose better ones around.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidKow360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

My wife and I always carry basics before checking into any hotel, motel or resort. Water,tissue paper and some snacks. This proved handy at EGI as the resort is in flux. The check in was ok but not real welcoming. Entering the room was fine as the area was clean and tidy with a nice view. The furniture was dated with a couch that was in need of springs. Not antique or moldy just kind of a retro look. The bath area was similarly clean but in need of a new look. The dining department is dismal. Dinner was a very limited menu. I believe the lack of guests at the hotel cuts the cooks budget. The dining room staff was friendly and did the best with what they had to work with. The comp breakfast was good. Throughout the grounds employees were friendly and did a good job of upkeep. It appears EGI is going through some positive changes which are very much needed. I wish them luck. Just do your research before reserving this resort. Be prepared. The pool and beach areas are good for families.

Room Tip: Call ahead to verify what is working and what menu items are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kewz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We stayed there for a month while in Cebu to visit my wifes parents . the best thing about this place is the roof top pool. the main pool is not very well kept. As many koreans stay there we found it very noisy. avoid the restaurants in the hotel at all costs shocking food. the room cleaning is very poor standard,believe me we visit cebu on average 3 times a year and there are many far better hotels and resorts in the lapu-lapu . i would strongly advise you to avoid this one

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keith m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Not good for kids. Maybe this hotel is ideal for koreans or the like where they can freely bring their catch from the nearby bars. This hotel is cheap and you will definitely get what you paid for.

The beach? No thanks. The shoreline on this hotel is worst, it is made of mud. White sand is just like 10 sacks scattered to their shores. The pool is slippery underneath, means its dirty with lots of leaves. As I said, you get what you paid for. The pool on the roof deck is quite better.

Room Tip: Choose a room that is near and view-able by the CCTV and facing the road than the ocean view, all oc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aaron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

I made the mistake of staying here for 2 nights. I liked the way it looked in the pictures with beach area and nice pool. The beach doesn't exist and the water behind the hotel looks like a sewer at best. The hotel pool while nice is rented to the public also. There was a huge company party there the first night with drunks and loud noise everywhere. The second day they rented it to anyone including locals to use as a public pool. There is absolutely no chairs to sit at around the pool either. I asked for a pool towel our first trip to the pool and they told me to use the ones out of our rooms. We did and one of them got some stains on it from somewhere, probably from having to sit on it on the hard rock area around the pool. The day I was leaving the presented me with a bill for $350 pesos to pay for said towel. Needless to say I was very mad but they didn't care and insisted I pay. I also had a toilet problem they never fixed. They said they would be back later and never came back. I wont go back there again, bad experience.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank noonecares53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We had 8 days at this Hotel, nice and clean but now a little dated. Great pools. Breakfast was good, but simple, like most Hotels of this rating.
The best thing about EGI is it's position on the main road. Jeepneys pass every minute and for 10 pcs you can just about go anywhere. Beware of other Resorts that are not close to this main road!!!!! It will cost you money to leave the Hotel.White taxis are also very easy to get. Use their meters.
Staff were very friendly and helpfull. I would stop again if we visited Mactan Island. We won't.
Beware Cebu is NOT white sands and blue seas. Far from it. The beach here is really just a place to avoid.

Room Tip: On arrival at Cebu Airport go to Departures for a White Taxi. Make them use their meter. Gold Mango...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carterkenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lapu Lapu
2.8 mi away
BE Resort, Mactan
BE Resort, Mactan
#12 of 32 in Lapu Lapu
498 reviews
0.7 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 43 in Mactan Island
723 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sotogrande Hotel & Resort
Sotogrande Hotel & Resort
#21 of 32 in Lapu Lapu
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Cebu White Sands Resort & Spa
Cebu White Sands Resort & Spa
#12 of 43 in Mactan Island
591 reviews
2.8 mi away
Eloisa Royal Suites
Eloisa Royal Suites
#6 of 32 in Lapu Lapu
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to EGI Resort and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about EGI Resort and Hotel

Address: Maribago Beach, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Lapu Lapu
Price Range: £46 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — EGI Resort and Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your EGI Resort and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
EGI Resort And Hotel Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing