We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not what I expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Magellan's Landing - CLOSED

Magellan's Landing
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, European
Dining options: Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Seating, Serves Alcohol
Cebu Island, Philippines
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not what I expected”
Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

Went to magellans a few times it was a very beautiful bar but seldom did I see people there I usually ate there too the food was pretty good but a little on the expensive side and it was a no smoking bar which was irritating as it was so hot outside I didnt find the staff very happy there either but overall worth a visit

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank christopher c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    13
    5
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
85 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“The times they are a changing”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Been there on my way to Bohol a few days before they were closing without realizing what was going to happen. The only sign was that they did not serve food anymore. Had good fun as always, but 2 weeks later I realized why some of the staff had not been that happy. Was shocked to learn they had closed for ever. Wanted to take the Pub sign away before it got dumped but there was no one to ask about it. But maybe someone will open it again and why not under Magellan's name. Mactan deserves a place like that.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sleep00walker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
141 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Magellan is now closed”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Went there on my way back to the airport as it was my usual place to have a meal and aa col draft beer but it is now closed.

I just hope someone will carry on the tradition and keep the pub open. It will be really sad to see another Korean whatever (grocery shop, kimchi joint...) in the neighborhood!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thebeachwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rawai
Level Contributor
115 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“good food, cold beers”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

finally a pub with flair and good atmosphere.
Service was quick and efficient, beers cold as they should be.
Food was served hot and they had vegetables and salads - hard to find in the Philippines...
I go back for sure

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wolfgangfaraway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otorohanga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A friend said try this place”
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Good food and drink and service
As it was a Friday they had entertainment as well.
Enjoyable evening.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Murtong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Magellan's Landing also viewed

Lapu Lapu, Mactan Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing