We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magellan's Pub has re-opened” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Magellan's Landing - CLOSED

Magellan's Landing
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, European
Dining options: Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Seating, Serves Alcohol
Cebu Island, Philippines
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Magellan's Pub has re-opened”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

Good place for Fri and Sat nights to wind up the week but other than that, nothing so special. Music's okay, most nights there are live bands. Good on Saturdays, gets hippy but sadly it also get sleazy as women of old foreigners hit way up and forget about the word behaviour.

Thought the service would get better now that it has reopened to the public last October after a brief closure for about 3-4 weeks, new staff but apparently new and are confused what to do. Has sat at the bar for almost 20 mins but I wasn't even asked if I would needed a drink, or perhaps they assume don't need to. Food was always okay here, but when it has re-opened many dish were already always unavailable. Something internally at the management must be going on.

One thing I would comment is, they are not consistent with their No Smoking/ Smoking rule. Sometimes it's No Smoking, and there are times its non-smoking. It's closed airconditioned so watch out if others will smoke, you'll get suffocated as they don't have dedicated smoking area, this should be pointed out by the management. I live 100 metres from this pub so it's accessible ;)

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fritzie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    13
    5
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cebu Island, Philippines
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Not so sure about this place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

Was told the chef was not working and given a short menu. Tried the calamari it was good, the fries also ok. Hear the dory was very good but not available.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank CebuExpats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cebu Island, Philippines
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not what I expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

Went to magellans a few times it was a very beautiful bar but seldom did I see people there I usually ate there too the food was pretty good but a little on the expensive side and it was a no smoking bar which was irritating as it was so hot outside I didnt find the staff very happy there either but overall worth a visit

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank christopher c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
84 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“The times they are a changing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

Been there on my way to Bohol a few days before they were closing without realizing what was going to happen. The only sign was that they did not serve food anymore. Had good fun as always, but 2 weeks later I realized why some of the staff had not been that happy. Was shocked to learn they had closed for ever. Wanted to take the Pub sign away before it got dumped but there was no one to ask about it. But maybe someone will open it again and why not under Magellan's name. Mactan deserves a place like that.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sleep00walker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
141 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Magellan is now closed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

Went there on my way back to the airport as it was my usual place to have a meal and aa col draft beer but it is now closed.

I just hope someone will carry on the tradition and keep the pub open. It will be really sad to see another Korean whatever (grocery shop, kimchi joint...) in the neighborhood!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Thebeachwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Magellan's Landing also viewed

Lapu Lapu, Mactan Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing