We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“avoid this hotel!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Express Inn - Mactan Hotel
Ranked #23 of 32 Hotels in Lapu Lapu
Reviewed 7 April 2013

worst hotel I've ever stayed. not to mention their shabby location and super small room, their service is the worst ever
1. The hotel promised us that they would provide the packed breakfast at 5:30am when we checked out as we had an early flight. When we actually checked out at 5:30am, we were told the breakfast was given to the customers who checked out earlier than us
2. The female staff even told us that they only provided the breakfast starting at 6am (after they promised to provide the breakfast)
3. The female staff also showed us that they do NOT have any record about us requesting the packed breakfast
4. If the hotel really does not provide the breakfast before 6am, why were they able to give other customers the breakfast? Why didn't they tell us in advance (instead of promising us), so that at least we could prepare it ourselves
5. Eventually we didn't have anything to eat that morning because it was very early and we needed to catch the flight. Most importantly, our over 65 years old parents suffered the same!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (170)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

116 - 122 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2013

Yes, the location of the Lapu Lapu is not so great, but other than that it is a great value if your looking for a budget stay. Staff was very helpful and it's close to airport, I also stayed at their location in Cebu City, it's in a much better location.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlohaSmiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

The cost was worth it. Very good for travelers who would need wake up calls and stuff. However if you plan to have a jam-packed tour in Cebu, You should choose Express Inn Mandaue Branch because more places (such as ferry port, malls, etc.) are easier to access there compared to this Mactan Branch. Free breakfast wasn't worth it but you can upgrade it to a silog meal at low cost. Wi-fi is very excellent, I was able to download 8 GB of files in 4 hours hehe. Room service such as housekeeping depends on who's managing the front desk.

Room Tip: Choose a family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GenMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

We had to book hotel close to the airport for 1 night in Cebu and Express INN was good choice. New and comfortable building with lift and very well looking rooms. Bathroom, air condition and restaurant with cheap and good food at the ground level. WI FI available. Breakfasts big enough and tasty. Location on small street something like 10 minutes taxi ride from the airport (cost about 130 php). Overall good place :)

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Stayed here 2 nights on arrival was asked to pay for accommodation, was informed by reception they had no change after they had ask me to pay in full...
Shown to room on entry room had a very bad smell, reported this to reception but nothing was
done to resolve the problem. Breakfast was terrible full of cooking oil and the omlette.was cold.
Bed linen was stained with blood, staff are poorly trained their attitude was well dont worry about it your here for a couple of night's ...
This is the WORST PLACE EVER!!!

Room Tip: Avoid this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank peacfullone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

you pick the location, so no need to fuss about that. Only be aware that there are no taxis at the hotel, every time you need to leave someone from the staff has to run to the main road and flag down a taxi for you. This can take a while. Breakfast is substandard with a cold omelette and a cup of hot water that you can convert into something similar to coffee using the no-name instant coffee powder supplied. After my first night I left around 8am, hanging out the sign to please clean my room. When I returned around 10pm nobody had bothered to clean the room or change the towels. As their towels are tiny you need to have them changed every day because they will not dry inbetween showering. Reception offered a pro-forma-apology but of course at night time no cleaning staff was available anymore. The room itself was quite small with a queen size bed even though I had ordered a double bad. Lucky for me I was travelling alone. The bathroom is very tiny with the water from the shower running everywhere. Mind that only a congested rusty rain shower is available so no chance to get really clean. The curtains in the bedroom are leporello plastic so no chance to sleep in after the sun has come up. The aircon is window-type and much to weak for the room size and Philippine temperatures. You will have realized by now that there is not really anything good I can say about this place, it was a mistake booking it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank allaretakenwhatthef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

My wife and I have stayed here twice now. Because each time we just needed a place to sleep for one night and it is certainly economical we choose here. While the Inn is not a luxury resort neither is the cost. At around P1,000 for a night don't know how you can beat it. I expected it to be dirty and noisey but was pleasantly surprised. The rooms are small but have a nice TV, cable, Wi-Fi, A/C, and are adequate for a night or two. You may need to bring a little shampoo and soap, as what is supplied is very limited. A little cafe has some food if you are hungry and not out and about. The food is average and may be a little overpriced but not bad. You can also get an assortment of cold drinks there anytime. The staff is helpful and does a good job of explaining things. The set breakfast is small but I have paid allot more at hotels that gave me NOTHING! Overall I give it a very good based on the market they are after and the job they are doing. If you want a decent place to lay your head for a night or two......it certainly works for me!

Room Tip: I have stayed on the 2nd and 3rd floors on the street side both times......a little street noise but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rbrown406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lapu Lapu hotels
0.3 mi away
Chambre Hotel Mactan
Chambre Hotel Mactan
#11 of 32 in Lapu Lapu
82 reviews
0 mi away
No photo provided
Aosmec Square Hotel
#21 of 32 in Lapu Lapu
3 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dulcinea Hotel and Suites
Dulcinea Hotel and Suites
#14 of 32 in Lapu Lapu
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Hotel Cesario
Hotel Cesario
#26 of 32 in Lapu Lapu
158 reviews
2.1 mi away
Haruhay Dream Resort
Haruhay Dream Resort
#13 of 32 in Lapu Lapu
41 reviews
0.5 mi away
Eloisa Royal Suites
Eloisa Royal Suites
#6 of 32 in Lapu Lapu
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Express Inn - Mactan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Express Inn - Mactan Hotel

Address: Candelario K. Guba Street | Pajo, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 32 Hotels in Lapu Lapu
Price Range: £14 - £19 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Express Inn - Mactan Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed as a budget hotel, Express Inn answers the needs of people who are looking for establishments that provide lodging at a cheaper price, yet with optimum customer service. With its competitive rates and location, Express Inn is truly an excellent choice for your stay. Each of the 54 rooms at this fine 3-star hotel feature superior amenities. Each room includes LCD television with digital cable, soothing hot and cold rain shower, toiletries kit, air conditioning, relaxing bed and great ambiance. This excellent hotel in Cebu also has car park, and elevator. The hotel blends expert service with state-of-the-art facilities to provide guests with a memorable stay. Dine in at Sammy's Cafe, or have your food served right in your room. No worries to digital connections, all rooms are equipped with FREE Wi-Fi connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Book Philippines, Inc., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Express Inn - Mactan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Express Inn - Mactan Hotel Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing