We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La-La-La-La-La-La, Shangri-La!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Lapu Lapu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Perfect weekend getaway from Hong Kong. The resort caters to your every need and our need was to get away from the cold Hong Kong winter during Chinese New Year (yes, I've taken quite some time to write this review!!).
The prices are hiked very high during this time, but it was so worth it. The resort is only 10 minutes away from the airport. We got in at 5am and without being an elite member, they let us check into our room...they really went out of their way to make us feel comfortable during this extremely busy time!
I am really loving the Shang's in Asia...they know how to treat their customers right and of course the Free WiFi throughout the resort is a major bonus in my book!
The breakfast area was always riddled with screaming children and a complete disaster, a tip would be to eat outside without the aircon. Most parents with kids sit inside...so if you want some peace while you eat and drink your coffee, I would suggest this.
This place really caters to families, with so many activities for the kids and even a game room! My husband and I tried our game at airhockey and pool...had some good times!
The resort has it's own Under water Marine Park, which is just fabulous. A diving platform for you to swim to and rest on. A sunken ship lies deep below for those of you diving. We saw a sea snake as well as a giant jellyfish the size of a beachball, they were both so beautiful!
The resort is so huge you really don't ever have to leave!
We did have to go stake our claim every morning for beach chairs at 7am, that's the only hassle...but otherwise, everything is perfect. The food, the service, the staff, the grounds...everything is excellent. I highly recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WeHeartTravel_143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,646)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,468 - 2,474 of 3,646 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2011

Cebu is always a first choice destination for my company business meetings. For one, flights are plentiful and the hotel is practically minutes away from the airport. We can always schedule meetings within 30 minutes after arriving. The service is excellent for conferences. The staff is friendly and attentive.
I take special notice of the cleanliness which has always been an issue for me in hotels that are fully booked. Sometimes after the 2nd day, you begin to notice the toilet floor not as spotless as on arrival. And being particularly averse to dust, I normally succumb to asthma attacks then. But on this trip, I am happy to report the great improvement of housekeeping services particularly as the hotel was full. Great job!

Room Tip: Price matters. Best rooms on the ocean wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank butterscotchQC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

This is my second stay in this expansive hotel. We wanted to get away from all the hustle and bustle of the city, a nice hotel with lots of spaces was exactly what we needed. Lots of pools, lots of garden space. Good food - specially the breakfast buffet. You cannot possibly eat all that food they served. I naturally chose just what I liked. It was plenty.

We hang out at the bar one evening and they had a band that performed latin and pop music. It was a lot of fun. The beer was cold. Niceeeee ! We were a happy lot. We barely left the hotel. We wanted to just veg. Most of the guests seem to have chosen to do the same. No appointments. Do what you want to do, when you want to.

Room Tip: The seaview is wonderful. The other side was nice too because of the beautiful gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oskrehoboth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Shangrila's Mactan Resort and Spa is world reknowned for its excellent facilities and service. The restaurants serve excellent food and their in-house spa will not disappoint the most discriminating world traveller. The staff greet guests with a big smile making one feel at home and much relaxed. What is less known is that their beach front has been declared a marine preserve. No fishing is allowed within the 5 hectare oceanfront marked clearly with white spherical buoys and patrolled by the hotel life guards. Fish and corals grow well. During high tides, snorkeling is so much fun because of plentiful fish swimming and much new growth of soft corals visible in the clear waters. My wife enjoy watching the fish go about their business. We spend hours snorkeling and swimming with the hundreds of fish some longer than 10 inches.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank renesio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

great place.
breathtaking views, dream landscape, gogeous beach, towering palm trees, greenest lawn. the beauty of nature touched by hand.

though a little limted choice of food, and the price, mm not that high. I give this place a four thumbs up (mistle toes included)

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xxgrendel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Moved to Shangri-La Resort from a nearby resort for last day/night in Cebu. Had dinner at Cowrie Grill - a bit pricey but great food and service. New games and activities at the beach are great for kids. However, Breeze Beach Bar's F&B and wait staff were inattentive and spent more time chatting among themselves! Hotel management may also need to provide multi-cutural training to service and front desk staff.
Overall, an enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BusinessTraveller848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Shang on Mactan is a fantastic resort. The pools and beach are top notch, and the staff is very friendly and helpful without seeming fake. The snorkeling off the beach is fantastic. Lots of fishes and coral to look at. Understand that this resort is geared toward families, so do not expect a quiet, romantic getaway. The resort was very full while we were there but it never seemed over-crowded and there was never a shortage of spots to lounge either by the pools or beach.

We found the breakfast buffet to be overwhelmingly huge. Food was good. Selection is great. However, all other meals we had at the resort were poor. The grilled seafood platter we had at Cowry Cove was hugely disappoining. Also, the Italian restaurant is only fair. So plan to enjoy your breakfast there and eat elsewhere for lunch and dinner.

Also understand that this, as in seemingly all high-end resorts, will nickel-and-dime you to death. Need to see the nurse? A fee. The nurse dispenses a Tums? A fee. It is not that the charges were outrageously expensive, but 1) I would like to have been told of it ahead of time instead of finding out at checkout; 2) for the price you pay to stay here, I would expect certain things, like a nurse to dispense a tums to be 'complimentary'.

Please don't misunderstand, we absolutely loved the Shang Mactan. Just choose wisely with the food and be cognizant of the hidden fees and charges. Cheers!

Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
1  Thank forrestg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lapu Lapu
0.9 mi away
Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan
0.3 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
6.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 91 in Cebu City
3,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort
1.6 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 43 in Mactan Island
706 reviews
0.6 mi away
BE Resort, Mactan
BE Resort, Mactan
#12 of 32 in Lapu Lapu
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa

Address: Punta Engano Road, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#1 Business Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 Family Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 Spa Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lapu Lapu
Price Range: £215 - £313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 530
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked in lush tropical landscape and with a crystalline coastline, Shangri-La's Mactan Resort and Spa, Cebu is the premier, award-winning deluxe resort property in the Philippines. It has won acclaim from both domestic and international travelers for its spacious and well-appointed 530 guestrooms and suites, the variety of its dining, entertainment, sports and recreational activities offered in its paradise-like setting and as home to CHI, The Spa at Shangri-La, one of the largest spa villages in Asia.Nestled amidst 13 hectares of lush greenery, landscaped gardens and with a 350-meter white-sand beach, Shangri-La's Mactan Resort and Spa, Cebu is the quintessential modern-day paradise. It is an exciting refuge for nature lovers and a favorite among holidaymakers, as it combines rustic surroundings, modern conveniences and genuine Asian hospitality that are distinctly Shangri-La. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Mactan Hotel Lapu Lapu
Shangri-La`s Mactan Resort And Spa
Shangri Las Mactan Hotel
Shangri La Cebu
Shangri La Mactan
Shangri Las Mactan Lapu
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing