We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay all in all”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Lapu Lapu
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice stay all in all”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

This was our second visit. We decided to come back again for this was the Resort we stayed in during our very first overseas trip together and we had an unforgettable time. We did state in our reservation that we would appreciate if we could have a quiet room and a possible early check-in. Room was not ready upon arrival and we decided to proceed for lunch first. Room was not ready by the time we finished lunch and we waited for another half an hour or so before we were finally allocated a room on the 5th floor, non-airconditioned corridors and rather near to the lift and you can imagine the noise when people walk past our room to the lifts. We hear occasional banging of doors (can't understand why they can't close it softly), children screaming and laughing and the most amazing part was when we hear our next door neighbours and their children making tons of noise at about 6.30am in the morning! So much for a request for a nice quiet room! We decided to request for a room change and was informed that they will try their best to expedite our request. We waited till about 5+pm before we were finally allocated another room. Our plans for the day was ruined for we wanted to make a room change and settle down nicely before heading out. New room was on the 7th floor with a nicer view and was much quieter for it was located far away from lifts. Service was excellent like before and we were always full of praises for the warmth and great service provided by the team here. Service was actually another main reason we returned. Had dinner on our last night at Cowrie Cove. Food was rather disappointing. Ordered prawns but it weren't fresh. If I remembered correctly, the old Cowrie Cove had better lightings and a nicer seating arrangement. It was so dark, we had to request for additional table lamps and yet still have problem seeing what was on the table. And no, we have perfect eyesight. Haha! There are buses (chargeable) to the city area and it is definitely not of Shangri-la standards. There were mosquitoes in it, dirty curtains and seats. I was abit taken aback by the state of it. All in all, it is a very nice resort. Oh! And I must comment that they have the nicest uniforms ever. We might return again some day.

Room Tip: If you already paid more to stay in a seaview room, do try to request for one on a higher floor. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KaylaSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,586 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,260
    894
    244
    116
    72
See reviews for
1,645
865
93
364
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (658)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Nice location when arriving in Cebu before island jumping.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hama007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

This is my third stay at this resort across business and family holiday. Very hard for a resort to do both very well but the Shang at Cebu is truly very very good. Facilities and combination of beach, pools and kids facilities makes this a great resort and overall a more affordable holiday than a comparable trip to Boracay.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JTAway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OC
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

This is an outstanding resort. The service was truly spectacular. The complimentary breakfast buffet each mornig was the best I have ever seen. The two pools are extremely large. While lounging at the infinity pool near their private beach where you can snorkel the staff walkes by and offered complimentary skewers of refreshing water melon. The resort amenities were outstanding. There are table tennis tables and a pool table in a huge gazebo.
They offer Guests complmentary bottled water that they replenish daily. The bathroom mirror even has an area where it will not fog up.
If you are celebrating your anniversary and inform them they just might have a nice welcome in your room.
The Italian and Chinese Restauranst were both amazing. The food and service were both spectacular and the prices very reasonable.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank big10sjunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

The service at this Shang is much better than their Manila & Boracay hotels. However, I found the resort frentic. Crowded with tourists 'competing' for pool/beach space; playing their iPads out-loud and rushing about. So, if you're looking for a relaxing tropical resort experience go to the Shang in Boracay

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomG1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pasig
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Shangri-la Mactan is one of the best hotel I've ever stayed with. The food are great, their employess and the management itself are very nice and accommodating.

We had so much fun during our stay there. You have the choice to either go swimming in the pools or the sea...go diving and many more.

You can either dine at their buffet area or choose to dine at their First Palace restaurant inside the hotel.

To sum it all, it was a very good and a very memorable experienced staying at Shangri-la Mactan. A very good place for Business review and conferences or for just simply enjoying your personal time with your family or a love one.

Room Tip: Be a good choice to pick a room that has an open view to the ocean outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jsd112506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

If you have a place where serenity, calm and overall happiness washes over you then you know how I feel at Shangri-La's Mactan Resort. this is my favorite getaway from the noise and pollution of Manila. This was my third visit to the resort, Feb 11-13, 2012. We had bad weather most of the weekend but I still came away feeling de-stressed. I was lucky and had one of the newly renovated rooms. The room was beautiful and I'll add a picture.
The staff is the friendliest of any Shangri La property I've experienced (I've stayed in 5). They remember what I drink, where I like to sit, etc. The guests are a variety of nationalities and the staff seems to cope despite many language barriers.
The small beach is fabulous and the coral and tropical fish can't be beat. If you like to snorkel, imagine not having to book a trip but just walking to the beach, putting on snorkel gear and there you are!
This is a very family friendly resort although I don't visit with children. There are a lot of activities right on the property.
The food is fabulous. Cowrie Cove is by far my favorite and so far the chef has met every personal request.
I plan to go back next month!

Room Tip: There is a renovation on going so any room will be brand new or fairly new. If you need a quiet day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KTNashTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lapu Lapu
0.9 mi away
Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan
0.3 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
1.9 mi away
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 91 in Cebu City
3,282 reviews
1.6 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 42 in Mactan Island
700 reviews
0.6 mi away
Be Resorts - Mactan
Be Resorts - Mactan
#12 of 31 in Lapu Lapu
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa

Property: Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
Address: Punta Engano Road, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#1 Business Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 Family Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 Spa Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lapu Lapu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 530
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked in lush tropical landscape and with a crystalline coastline, Shangri-La's Mactan Resort and Spa, Cebu is the premier, award-winning deluxe resort property in the Philippines. It has won acclaim from both domestic and international travelers for its spacious and well-appointed 530 guestrooms and suites, the variety of its dining, entertainment, sports and recreational activities offered in its paradise-like setting and as home to CHI, The Spa at Shangri-La, one of the largest spa villages in Asia.Nestled amidst 13 hectares of lush greenery, landscaped gardens and with a 350-meter white-sand beach, Shangri-La's Mactan Resort and Spa, Cebu is the quintessential modern-day paradise. It is an exciting refuge for nature lovers and a favorite among holidaymakers, as it combines rustic surroundings, modern conveniences and genuine Asian hospitality that are distinctly Shangri-La. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Mactan Resort And Spa
Shangri-La`s Mactan Hotel Lapu Lapu
Shangri Las Mactan Hotel
Shangri La Cebu
Shangri La Mactan
Shangri Las Mactan Lapu
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing