We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best resort hotel in the Philippines, pricey but worth it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Lapu Lapu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2012

This is the best resort hotel in the Philippines. My kids want me to sell our house and live in this hotel forever! The pools are big, there's a white sand beach with many different fishes (bring your snorkels and underwater camera). Lots of food choices at Tides. Play areas for kids, there's even timezone. The grounds are nicely landscape. They have, spa, chapel, playgrounds, and nightly events.Rooms and service are great too! Hotel staff will also make sure your on time for your flight schedule. Basically, all praises for this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miner_DMS91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,753)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,415 - 2,421 of 3,753 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2012

i love the breakfast and the view. soo relaxing and beautiful. one can choose the pools or the beach. i also love the manicured gardens. it is a place near the airport. if you want to unwind at night, there is a lounge where you can just listen to live music. if you have kids, there is also a small space for kids playground.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christinetan123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

It's my first time to Cebu with my family. Another family, who has been there before and was with us in this trip as well, recommended this hotel. The room rates are pricey BUT worth it. A-one service was provided by their staff. They were all courteous and eager to provide one's every need. There are a lot of things to do there for fun: jet-skiing, kayaking, billiards and an indoor playground for the kids. Shangrila made me feel proud to be Filipino with the kind of hospitality they provide to foreign and local guests alike. On our first night in Cebu, we stayed at the Imperial Suites which turned out to be disappointing. Im so glad we spent the rest of our stay in Shangrila. I will definitely stay at this hotel again the next time I'm in Cebu.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claudine_v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Why Shangrila, Mactan? 5 star hotel so we expected the 5 star service, right? Wrong! We arrived at the resort around 2p for our 3 day/2 night stay. Nice greeting at the entrance. Receptionist greets us and sends someone to walk us to our room. The room stank of cigarette smoke and the employee who escorted us disappeared as soon as we started asking about the smell. It turned out to be a smoking room next to a construction and a party area! Anyhow, make story short, we ask for a differerent room and it took them four hours to find another room in their non-smoking tower on the 4th floor (not 7th floor as first suggested because they had a "Korean tour group" coming in)! From then on, everytime we passed by the main lobby area, the employees who first greeted us snubbed us everytime (because we had the guts to complain?). Informed Shangrila Mactan management after returning to the States and response was an apology and an offer of a free upgrade for the next visit. HA!
The Hotel, itself is a nice location with great private beaches. White sand, clear turquoise waters with a beach restaurant staffed with wonderful employees! Cocktails are so- so but we loved the food. The Acqua restaurant by the infinity pool is a tranquil place to eat a breakfast buffet. They have two outdoor pools staffed with diligent life guards. Lots of areas for families with kids.
Hotel plus is Scotti's Tour booth by the beach. We took a snorkel tour to Nalusuan Island through Scotti's. We boarded the motorized boat at the hotel pier with a tour guide, her assistant, the boat's captain and two other boatmen. The boat ride itself was amazing with the friendly staff. Once at the snorkel site, one of the boatmen held my hand and guided me to where the schools of fish were, and did the same to each of my other companions. We saw differents kinds of fish and had a great time!
Overall, I might give them another chance but I would definitely inspect the room first before I agree to it. They do need a friendlier, more competent reception staff!

Room Tip: If you ask for a non smoking room, make sure, it is what they give you upon arrival.
See more room tips
Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank Norwin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

I booked the Shangri-La with some reservations as it's a family friendly resort and we're a couple. (I was swayed by the beautiful pictures and positive reviews.) My 'worries' were unfounded. Sure most were families with young children but there was plenty of space for everyone, even over the long Easter weekend where occupancy looked high; and I believe the staff knew what to do when they assisted us with securing empty chairs on the beach.

And that beach, wow! White sand, clear warm waters teeming with fishes and corals close to shore, it's a beach lover's paradise. The other winning point was Filipino hospitality, which I think played a great part in making our stay relaxing. The staff were ever so genuinely helpful, friendly and cheerful, you can't help but feel chilled. We also went to the spa, Chi, and that itself deserves a full rating.

I'd say the only downside was the food. Everything was a little too salty and didn't taste as fresh as I expected. Ice cream at Scoops was the best thing. The room furnishings, even the ones that are refurbed which we stayed in, could do with a little more polish. But that's pretty minor; nothing that's a deal breaker.

For us to think about returning to a family friendly resort is a big deal but that's how good it is.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JMYH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

If you are visiting Cebu and not on a tight budget,choosing to stay in this beautiful resort is a wise choice especially travelling with children,aside from beachfront that needs only snorkel to see the coral fish,it had 3 pool to choose,Great Spa and good food,what can you ask for.But good things dont come cheap,save more to stay in this resort for a life time experience.

Room Tip: Rooms with seaview is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnwong65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Philippine hospitality combined with lots of kids entertainment made this an excellent holiday for us. Really good service, nice room, beach and pool areas. Breakfast is massive but well organized and of good quality. Take away capuchin? No problem, all is taken care of and included in room rate.
Well done. Will certainly be back.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timujaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lapu Lapu
0.9 mi away
Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan
0.3 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
1.9 mi away
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 92 in Cebu City
3,581 reviews
1.6 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 43 in Mactan Island
743 reviews
0.6 mi away
BE Resort, Mactan
BE Resort, Mactan
#15 of 32 in Lapu Lapu
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa

Address: Punta Engano Road, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#1 Family Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#1 Business Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 Spa Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lapu Lapu
Price Range: £225 - £405 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 530
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked in lush tropical landscape and with a crystalline coastline, Shangri-La's Mactan Resort and Spa, Cebu is the premier, award-winning deluxe resort property in the Philippines. It has won acclaim from both domestic and international travelers for its spacious and well-appointed 530 guestrooms and suites, the variety of its dining, entertainment, sports and recreational activities offered in its paradise-like setting and as home to CHI, The Spa at Shangri-La, one of the largest spa villages in Asia.Nestled amidst 13 hectares of lush greenery, landscaped gardens and with a 350-meter white-sand beach, Shangri-La's Mactan Resort and Spa, Cebu is the quintessential modern-day paradise. It is an exciting refuge for nature lovers and a favorite among holidaymakers, as it combines rustic surroundings, modern conveniences and genuine Asian hospitality that are distinctly Shangri-La. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Mactan Resort And Spa
Shangri-La`s Mactan Hotel Lapu Lapu
Shangri Las Mactan Hotel
Shangri La Cebu
Shangri La Mactan
Shangri Las Mactan Lapu
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing