We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful hotel totally ruined.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Lapu Lapu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 January 2013

This Shangri-La hotel has excellent facilities, good helpful staff and is a well maintained property. Unfortunately, it takes in non-stop large group tours of Korean's and their families. Obviously those groups receive a discounted rate and are allowed to bring free of charge, two children per family.The result is that the place is like a kindergarten, with families unused to what might have been a first class hotel. The place gets swamped with uncontrolled small children. As a consequence perhaps, standards for food are not good and much needs to be desired in terms of choice, quality and price. The hotel is remote from Cebu City proper and can and does charge for meals at a ridiculous rate, for guests are a "Captive Audience". On top, there is a service charge of 10%, a food tax and also VAT to pay.I cannot believe the Philippine Government can be serious about wishing to attract holiday business to their Country, with those additional burdens on tourists.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the sea, probably better but garden rooms are quiet. There is an upper class private se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Gerald L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,646)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,176 - 2,182 of 3,646 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2013

We went here last August 2012.

A bit late for the review but still our memories are so vivid and we can't wait to come back this year.

We stayed for 3D/2N at their refurbished wing facing the sea... It was so spectacular. The beach and the pool was just lovely! Breakfast buffet is so fantastic!

I love the scheduled shuttle and how prompt and organize they are. I booked our stay with airport to hotel transfer then vice versa and it was amazing that when we arrive in less than 5 minutes we were being escorted to the coaster and take note - we have it all by ourselves! My husband and yours truly!

Definitely last year would not be the last! Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank royalyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Excellent privacy and lookout. I stayed at this hotel from January 6 to January 11, 2013 to attend an official workshop. This is a nice time to visit Cebu, Philippine. The weather is around 30 degree. This hotel has a very big area, with couple of swimming pools, a mini golf club and small small sub restaurant to serve you as per your need here and there and many more. They have a private sea beach as well. You will simply love that place. The overall service quality of the hotel is very much satisfactory, rooms are nice and clean, breakfast has variety. I personally love to go there again and definitely will stay at Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa. Slightly expensive but the money back is guaranteed. One thing I really like to share which I liked most is the privacy of the hotel, you will simply feel it. I am requesting you all to stay this hotel and feel the beauty of nature at its best. Hotel staffs are touchy like anything. I wish all the very best to the management of this hotel - please keep it up with you good work to ensure the best which you already are.

Room Tip: Please take room at sea side/view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MAK301274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

We went here last December 2012 for an ocular Day Trip. We were surprised that a luxury resort like this is really open to the public as in just decide to go there and you will be warmly welcomed by the attendants on duty. At first we were quite hesitant to go there because we have no arrangements/booking with the hotel but we decided to go there anyway to come and see what the inside looks like and we were all happy that we did give in to Kuya June's offer (Kuya June is our taxi driver/tour guide for the day). Since it was Christmas season, as usual, the lobby was filled with huge Christmas Trees. We went to the function room where it is ideal for grand celebrations like, debut, wedding receptions or what have you. We found a spot near the beach front, where the daybed/shades are - juts past the swimming pools. We all find the place so comfy and enjoyed the sun, the breeze and the breathtaking view of the white sand and the sea. A few minutes later, we were being offered by towels by the crew. She was so courteous and accommodating. I think she thought we just forgot our towels in our room or maybe we are Day Trippers and forgot to claim our towels (as if we paid P3,000.00 for the Day Trip fee). i would love to come back here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lakwatsera007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

We wanted a short break from Hong Kong where we didn't have to travel far. The Shangri La fitted the bill perfectly....short flight, just over two hours, from Hong Kong, and twenty minute journey to the resort. A bit chaotic in the immigration area as two planes landed at once and very crowded but the staff did their best to resolve the situation.

We stayed in the Ocean Wing part of the hotel, good sized rooms and small terrace looking out to sea overlooking the extensive gardens. Several pools, mini golf, tennis, and excellent spa and set on a pleasant sandy beach with coral nearby. Excellent Italian and sea food restaurant. The highlight for the family though was the cliff top bar, the Cowrie, where you cold enjoy a cool beer whilst the sea breeze offered 'natural' air conditioning. Whichever part of the hotel we were in what did stand out was the friendliness of the staff, we all commentated on it and friends who go down several times a year have also commented on the friendliness of the staff.

Room Tip: Ocean Wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NamShanMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

my first visit was back 2009 and came back again last november 2012 & brought almost my whole family along..my dad was very pleased to the hotel mainly because of the excellent landscapes, the room with a great view of the beach & of course the breakfast to the restos both tides & acqua satisfied our tummies. But the Tea of Spring when we dined in with my bff, mom & dad gosh... its really expensive..ordering a fish, 3 cups of rice & a stir fry veggie & one cup of soup cost us PHP3K+ not to mention the food is really bland. my bff & i just had a hard laugh about it.

service staff were very courteous & polite..my son (alexander) & my niece (alessandra) had a great time in the beach, swimming pool, play room plus we were surprised that there is a time zone inside the hotel. dont forget to avail your 1 hour free kayak, & snorkeling once checked in.

wheel chairs are available for seniors.. there is also a booth inside the airport available for their shuttle service going to the hotel.

overall rating excellent!!...will highly recommend for families

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abyong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

The Title says Everything. Its my Favorite among All the Hotels i've been. Upon entry the vast garden heavily secured and guarded gates welcomes you. as you enter the Lobby the cool wind, nice welcome juice, folk dance will make you feel like a VIP. The staff will take care of your check in procedures so all you need to do is enjoy. Choose the sea view room as always and the BIG Marsmallow like Bed will just make you feel like a KING. The Buffet is something not to be missed. even here in Makati Shang the Buffet is something not to be missed same as the one at Intercontinental Makati ( best hotel buffet i have tried ) so going back to Shang Cebu. Take your towel go to the Pool which is really Deep and Fun. more Play under water with this depth. Take your bfast outside the garden with all the maya maya birds chirping and asking for crumbs. Its really pure vacation and luxury i may say. The Bar in the evening is a bit pricey for a cocktail drink but it wont hurt if you tell the hotel bar staff if he can be a friend and give you a buy 1 get 1 free refill. i always get 1 when i stay. The beach. Mactan island is a rocky area to have a Boracay type of beach, but i guess shang did something to remove those rocks so that you can enjoy the beach with white sand. i suggest to rent the Catamaran and sail in the middle, they do have lessons for 1st timer and its a good water sport to enjoy. BTW shangrila is near the airport so its better to stay here after you see everything in cebu city so that you dont need to travel back to cebu city to shop, but incase you forgot to buy your CNT lechon and danggit, then the hotel provides free shuttle to sm cebu and glorieta.

Room Tip: Choose the Room on a Higher Floor with Sea View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BrawnJoeBlack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lapu Lapu
0.9 mi away
Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan
0.3 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
6.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 91 in Cebu City
3,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort
1.6 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 43 in Mactan Island
706 reviews
0.6 mi away
BE Resort, Mactan
BE Resort, Mactan
#12 of 32 in Lapu Lapu
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa

Address: Punta Engano Road, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#1 Business Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 Family Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 Spa Hotel in Lapu Lapu
Price Range: £212 - £312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 530
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked in lush tropical landscape and with a crystalline coastline, Shangri-La's Mactan Resort and Spa, Cebu is the premier, award-winning deluxe resort property in the Philippines. It has won acclaim from both domestic and international travelers for its spacious and well-appointed 530 guestrooms and suites, the variety of its dining, entertainment, sports and recreational activities offered in its paradise-like setting and as home to CHI, The Spa at Shangri-La, one of the largest spa villages in Asia.Nestled amidst 13 hectares of lush greenery, landscaped gardens and with a 350-meter white-sand beach, Shangri-La's Mactan Resort and Spa, Cebu is the quintessential modern-day paradise. It is an exciting refuge for nature lovers and a favorite among holidaymakers, as it combines rustic surroundings, modern conveniences and genuine Asian hospitality that are distinctly Shangri-La. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Mactan Hotel Lapu Lapu
Shangri-La`s Mactan Resort And Spa
Shangri Las Mactan Hotel
Shangri La Cebu
Shangri La Mactan
Shangri Las Mactan Lapu
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing