We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Waterfront Airport Hotel and Casino(Lapu Lapu)(Great Value!)
US$120
US$99
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$296
US$252
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$241
US$225
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$77
US$64
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dulcinea Hotel and Suites(Lapu Lapu)(Great Value!)
US$54
US$50
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eloisa Royal Suites(Lapu Lapu)(Great Value!)
US$72
US$57
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$295
US$235
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Goldberry Suites & Hotel(Lapu Lapu)(Great Value!)
US$101
US$62
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Haruhay Dream Resort(Lapu Lapu)(Great Value!)
US$36
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,854)
Filter reviews
3,854 results
Traveller rating
2,421
963
267
123
80
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,421
963
267
123
80
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean wingcowrie covechi spaadventure zonetides restaurantocean club loungebuko barfish foodmarine sanctuarymini golfchinese restaurantprivate beachtropical fishfish feedingbreakfast buffetwhite sand beachplay area
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,286 - 2,291 of 3,854 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2013

I don't consider myself a difficult to please traveller and normally go with the flow, but my stay at the Shangri La Mactan was not good, I found it expensive and it seems to have degenerated into a package tour destination at exclusive resort prices. The hotel was crawling with people, I live in Cebu City and have done for 12 or more years, this particular weekend was a long holiday (the Monday being a holiday too) I booked on the Internet a room described as Main Wing, Superior Garden View room(refurbished) for two nights the cost 11,900 each night ++. Upon arrival at 12 noon we were told politely that no rooms were available which did not worry us as check in was not officially until 2pm. We went to lunch and then waited and waited until at 3.15PM we finally were given a room Nr 6056 which overlooked the rear carpark...not what we expected, anyhow with two fractious children 7 & 9 anxious to start playing we assumed that this was all that they had. Upon check in we were offered the buffet dinner inclusive deal for an extra 3000++ PHP which covered the family of four (children are free) which we accepted. We were not given any voucher or details and the dining room did not know of this particular promotion (because there so many different promotions) First morning at breakfast there was no room in the main dining room and we were shown to the adjoining Ballroom, no problem it was quieter and the buffet food there sufficient for our needs. Second morning same problem too many trying to eat in one place. Again we ate in the Ballroom. The food was fine but the drinks for the children expensive. The facilities for children were great, nice pool and some water features, again with extra costs for mini golf and Adventure playground it can add up if you travelling on a budget, Total cost for our 44 hours at the resort, 46,935.70 PHP or 783.10GBP. The staff are helpful, the gardens are beautiful but the cost for my budget was too much. Due to lack of information I was not sure if we could have eaten in other places for the same fixed price deal.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cuchila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Our family stayed at this resort for 8 wonderful nights with our 3 children. The resort is in excellent shape and you would find it hard to believe that it wasn't built within the last 5 years. We had connecting deluxe rooms in the Ocean wing with a "garden view." What we found when we arrived was that the garden view actually overlooked both pools with the beach off to the periphery. Maybe we were upgraded and didn't know it!
The service, the service, the service...where to start. If you are on the beach and try to walk your snorkel gear back for check in, service staff appear from no-where to relieve you of this duty. The resort was at full occupancy during our visit, making it difficult to find a spot either at the beach or the pool. But the staff would do their best to make room for us by locating and dragging chairs into a shady area. I suggest you walk out to the pool before your breakfast to have seats set-up for yourself...this way your assured a place to sit when you finish your morning breakfast.
The food was excellent but with 8 nights in one resort, we found ourselves leaving the resort a few times because we were buffet'd out. If you have small children that love pool life, this is the resort for you. Our children found both the pool and beach experiences hard to get enough of. Actually, this is the first beach that our kids would actually be willing to leave the pool for. We heard mixed reviews from our friends about the beach, but we walked away thinking that this beach experience was among the best we had ever had. The water was incredibly still and had an abundance of coral and tropical fish to discover. We actually found the beach more appealing than the boat adventure we took for snorkeling because of the sheer accessibility and abundance of tropical fish just off the shore of the resort. If you have children, this is the place to be in Cebu for the ultimate relaxing beach getaway.

Room Tip: We liked the Ocean Wing because it had it's own lobby, it own restaurant with breakfast buffet (which is much less crowded than the main restaurant and the buffet was perfect) and was the closest wing to both pools and the beach.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AwadaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

this is at least my 10th visit, i love coming back to cebu shang. Stayed 3 short nights between Feb 6-9. The caprese salad at Aqua is the best ever, i always ask for chef Grace and she would always prepare it with extra arugula, tomatoes. The pesto and balsamic reduction is super !
The service in this hotel is always top notch. However, i will finally complain about a few annoying issues:

1-i stayed at an ocean view room and paid about P 12000/ night, yet they still have to charge you for snorkeling mask, not to mention that all their masks are all so old from overuse.

2-i remember the last year, the beach shoes were free. during this trip, even this now has a charge, and again, they are all so old from overuse.

3-one afternoon, we brought a room towel with us and walked out of the exit. The security guard stopped us and insisted that we leave the towel ( hotel policy ), however, everytime we take a taxi
from the hotel, there is no check whatsoever at the entrance for stuff that the guests bring out of the hotel.

4-upon checkout, i noticed that the hotel charged me for the airport shuttle bus transfer. I dont ever recall paying for this under the assumption that my room rate was inclusive of this service.
When i told the cashier that i was not paying for that charge, she immediately said she will remove it from the bill, so i dont understand why the hotel had to charge me in the first place

Aside from the above, i would still go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tony c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuergenDoerr, General Manager at Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2013

Dear Tony,

Thank you for your comments. We will look at the state of the equipment mentioned, as well as our procedures at the reception desk. We are glad that you will be coming back and we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

The first time we stay was last 2008 after that we love to stay once a year this hotel.The last time we stay last 2011.We travelled in every different places in my hometown.
I remember that i booked only 1 night but my husband extended it for 4 nights more.He don't like to change our hotel.He told me,that he like to stay 1 month.Take the filipino resident price because it's about half price.The room is very spacious,clean,bath tub and everything you need.They will serve you fresh fruits&bottled water.The buffet breakfast was always the best for us.The beach is nice but with small&big stones.be careful when your in the beach.I love to go swimming everyday.
If i am not mistaken,they had 5 different swimming pools.I am sure that the whole family will enjoy the trip&relax in this place.I will highly recommend this place.

We plan to visit again on our next travelled this coming 2014.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ItsmeKarla27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Everything you would expect from a Shangr La including the prices! Beautiful beachfront location, great pools and bright spacious rooms. Excellent food, the buffet, chinese restaurant and clifftop A la Carte are all fabulous but very expensive by Phillipine standards.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bettsi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews