We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay - far surpassed all of my expectations” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Lapu Lapu
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great stay - far surpassed all of my expectations”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Stayed at the Shangri-La Mactan in Cebu in August when we were competing in the Cobra Half-Ironman race weekend. Cebu as a destination for a weekend from HK fell off my radar many years ago after one too many friends came back with very underwhelming reviews. Have to say that after my recent stay at the Shangri-La Mactan, I would go definitely go back. The staff were incredibly friendly, from the gardener, to the pool guys, to the front office staff - everyone was smiling, pleasant, helpful - literally blew Thai hospitality out of the water. The pools were amazing. As far as resorts go the food (and price - they don't gouge you which was a breath of fresh air for the Shang) was also above average. To be fair, there were 2000 people there that weekend for the triathlon so the kitchens were handling the massive stress test very well. And the private beach with fishes, shells, marine sanctuary and white sand at your door step was stunning.

Couple of annoyances: We stayed in an "ocean view" room, which had a pretty average view, most of which was blocked with palm trees. Wouldn't pay for the ocean view again as you're out of the room most days in front of the ocean anyway. The room did NOT include wifi (which continues to boggle my mind) and you had to go to the business center to apply for the ridiculously priced wifi (which was something ridiculous like USD 20 per day) and it was still painfully slow. Surely, Shangri-La, it's time for you to invest in a good inhouse wifi system.

Don't have kids, but we had some friends who brought their children along (quite young as well) and they raved about the babysitting service, all of whom were registered nurses. They said they would go back in a heartbeat.

All in all, Cebu is 1 hour flight from HK, so within 5 hours door to door, you can get yourself to a white sand beach with friendly service and all the amenities you might need. I look forward to going back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fionahk13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,102
    834
    227
    106
    67
See reviews for
1,493
820
87
346
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (623)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

I had a great time staying in the hotel. Reviews from the other travelers are spot on. Wanted to add things that may not be covered.
(1) Free WiFi available all the way up to the beach. I found this is such a value added facility especially when I need to communicate with my roomies on our whereabouts (save money from roaming charges)
(2) The hotel is pretty 'secluded' and pretty much 'self-sufficient' but if you need a break, there are scheduled shuttles available to the malls (for a fee). Traveling time to the mall is approx. 40 min. But if you have more than 2 pax in your party, taxi is probably more cost-effective.

During our stay there, the hotel was packed. The pool and beach were crowded and apparently it was a holiday week in Korea, and I guess this is a favourite place for the Koreans. I like to stay in hotels during off-peak season to avoid the crowd but we were there for a wedding. We managed to find places away from the crowd (which we strategically planned) for e.g. we had breakfast at 930 am when most families are already up and about and they are at the beach or the pool. So, the buffet line was not so packed (exception on Saturday where there were so many people, our theory was most of the guests are checking out and many had late breakfast). The hotel gave us a late check-out on Sunday (maybe our theory was right) as our flight home was at 6pm. That was really appreciated and we get to enjoy the hotel more.

The hotel has a huge lobby bar with comfy chairs. Spent some time there after breakfast to chill and the staff did not create a fuss when we only asked for cold water whilst we were there. We really appreciated that.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zuraida89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clifton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

Stayed for 2 nights for a family reunion , ( this is my 2nd time post 5yrs.)The hotel is nice, the staffs very courteous, helpful and hotel amenities are perfect.. We enjoyed the spa area.my nieces/nephews who are on their early twenties and teenagers enjoyed the gorgeous pool, private beaches,and feeding and swimming around the fishes..not to mention the Jetski that my son went on and had a BLAST..My husband ( 1st time in Cebu) is so impressed of the hotel...The rest. For buffet breakfast is good, and had a Chinese rest.where we had dinner was excellent, though service a little bit slow... We'll def. be back if ever visiting Cebu ......

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view room.( that's what we have)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angiebee2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
155 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

This is one of Shangri-la's best piece of land. I've been to several actually but for me this is one of the best. The beach is white sand. They have a nice getty and the service is top of its class. I paid around USD200 per night and can say thats its worth it. Perfect for family outing or honey moon. You will have a world of your own here.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John_Ong1114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

Shangrila is the ultimate vacation resort for me in Asia. The service is always exemplary, the food is awesome and the amenities truly make you forget the daily stress we have to battle. So when you want perfect vacations, you gotta choose Shang. i love what they did with the beach here. They patiently developed a marine sanctuary. my kids did not want to go home! And the spa was very nice.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vigil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kawasaki, Japan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

For me, this is the best beach in Cebu, very peaceful and very private resort. Breakfast is good enough for the buffet type. Spend time at the beautiful beach after it. Enjoy the beach, go for the kayak and jet ski. Feed the little fish around you. Take pictures. And eat lunch there. Enjoy the watermelon shake. It's good. If you want to take a dip in the pool, you can while your kids(if you have kids with you) are enjoying the water spa. At night, take a walk to the Cowrie Cove for a lobster-rich and other sea foods dinner. This hotel is all-in-one. You don't need to go out of the vicinity to have a little drink. the bar is adjacent to Cowrie Cove.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hypokalemia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muntinlupa, Philippines
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

If you want to enjoy a worry-free stay in Cebu (Mactan), please do chose Shangri-La Mactan Resorts and Spa.
Quality service, highly trained professional staff will always make your stay an unforgettable experience. They will always go beyond your expectations without you asking for anything and, most importantly, always with a smile =) Just simply loved it each time I stay there.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank fab967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lapu Lapu
0.3 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
0.9 mi away
Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan
1.9 mi away
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 87 in Cebu City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,990 reviews
1.6 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 41 in Mactan Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
2.9 mi away
Waterfront Airport Hotel and Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa

Property: Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
Address: Punta Engano Road, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#1 Business Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 Spa Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 Family Hotel in Lapu Lapu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 530
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked in lush tropical landscape and with a crystalline coastline, Shangri-La's Mactan Resort and Spa, Cebu is the premier, award-winning deluxe resort property in the Philippines. It has won acclaim from both domestic and international travelers for its spacious and well-appointed 530 guestrooms and suites, the variety of its dining, entertainment, sports and recreational activities offered in its paradise-like setting and as home to CHI, The Spa at Shangri-La, one of the largest spa villages in Asia.Nestled amidst 13 hectares of lush greenery, landscaped gardens and with a 350-meter white-sand beach, Shangri-La's Mactan Resort and Spa, Cebu is the quintessential modern-day paradise. It is an exciting refuge for nature lovers and a favorite among holidaymakers, as it combines rustic surroundings, modern conveniences and genuine Asian hospitality that are distinctly Shangri-La. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and TravelUp so you can book your Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Mactan Hotel Lapu Lapu
Shangri-La`s Mactan Resort And Spa
Shangri Las Mactan Hotel
Shangri La Cebu
Shangri La Mactan
Shangri Las Mactan Lapu
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing