We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service, facilities and location exactly what you'd expect from a Shangrila Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Lapu Lapu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Stayed for two nights to attend a friend's wedding. Very comfortable room, great service, and good food. The location of the hotel itself is far from the city but since I was really planning to veg out at the hotel's beach, that wasn't too big a deal for me. Nearby food options are either hotel food or walk to the main road to the restos across the street (careful when ordering from the Spanish resto outside the Shangrila grounds - they served us rancid squid ink paella). Breakfast was fantastic, with staff very willing to accommodate small requests (can you ask them to refry the danggit / the bacon to make it crispy?) or off menu items (a friend expressed disappointment at not finding tapa in the buffet that morning. the chef overheard her and said they had some in stock and can cook it up for her). The free wifi was a pleasant surprise, the string signal even on the beach made it even better.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jaymiedivine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,713)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,895 - 1,901 of 3,713 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2014

We only had the pleasure of staying for 2 nights but they were 2 nights of great relaxation, weather, property and scenery. The pools are very large spread out and spacious. The beach is beautiful and it's nothing like the Caribbean. Just put on goggles, swim 10 feet out and boom fish and coral EVERYWHERE. Dinner at Acqua was great and the beef carpaccio was very very good! I highly recommend this resort!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank JTD724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

My family stayed at this hotel just after the new year, and given this is a Shangri-La we came away quite disappointed with our visit, although there were some highlights.

First and foremost, the best aspect of the resort is the amazing service and friendliness of the staff. From the very first moment we were greeted at the airport all the way through entire stay, we were constantly greeted with smiles, friendliness and offers to assist with anything we needed. I congratulate the hotel on this accomplishment as it is very difficult to do this consistently across all levels of a property so this was a highlight of our stay.

The other very positive piece of feedback is that overall, the resort’s amenities and activities are excellent, especially the marine reserve. The snorkelling was perhaps the best I have ever enjoyed off the beach of a resort, and the quality of marine life and the obvious effort that has gone into preserving the marine environment is to be applauded. I also appreciated having the beach, as although many on Trip Advisor have downplayed it as being artificial, I didn’t mind that whatsoever and to be frank could hardly tell in any case. In my mind, the key to a successful holiday at an island family resort is options: having both a beach and a pool, kid-focused facilities, and indoor and outdoor activities, and the Shangri-La Mactan does fairly well on all those counts.

Unfortunately, too many things outweighed the positives in terms of our overall experience at the resort. First off, upon arrival in our room in the Ocean Wing we were extremely underwhelmed with it. We could have been in any basic, dull global hotel chain hotel room - it just did not feel like a Shangri-La room at all. This was compounded by the fact that when we booked, we believed that an Ocean Wing room included all the benefits of the Ocean Club.

The website booking page said nothing about a different room rate for the Ocean Club benefits, so if you are looking at staying in the Ocean Wing and you want the full Ocean Club package, you need to be sure that on the website you go to the Ocean Club page first and THEN click on “Reserve a Room” to see the different price options for the Ocean Club. We only figured this out after conferring with the staff, who also didn’t seem to be clear on how the site worked. This was confusing and very frustrating, given we booked months ahead of time.

We even got a call from the hotel's reservation manager 2 days' prior to arrival asking us if we wanted to take advantage of a F&B credit offer, with no mention at all that we'd booked an Ocean Wing room but apparently did not have the Ocean Club benefits. Again, this was extremely confusing and annoying and it was a disappointing start to our visit as we chose the resort and the Ocean Wing specifically because we wanted full Ocean Club/Wing benefits. Despite this issue, and going back to my opening comments about terrific service, the Duty Manager Terrence quickly recognised the situation and graciously offered us full Ocean Club benefits during our stay.

This was greatly appreciated and quite astute of Terrence as it was pretty clear my wife and I were very disappointed with the situation and it was a very quick and simple way to address our disappointment. Regardless, I really think that the rooms in the Ocean Wing desperately need a makeover, as they simply do not live up to Shangri-La standards, are not good value for the money and were a significant disappointment for us.

Also, be aware that even with the Ocean Club package many things at the resort cost extra. As example, near the main swimming pool there’s an outdoor games area which has a free pool table, but then they charge 250 pesos for only 30 minutes for a pool table in the E-Zone which seemed excessive. Also, the mini-golf course needs a significant refurbishment as well and yet that too cost extra (and has only 14 holes which is also strange.) We went down the road to another 5-star resort to have dinner one night, and their prices for wine and beer were (in most instances) about half the cost of the Shangri-La; as example, a San Miguel beer at the other resort was 95 pesos vs. 180 pesos at the Shangri-La.

Also, be aware that everything is "plus-plus-plus" on top of the price, as anything you pay for at the resort is subjected to two government taxes and also a service charge, and thus everything costs at least 25% more than is advertised. I was told that the service charge actually goes to the employees (so that not just restaurant workers get tips but everyone from the servers to the desk staff to the cleaning crew get a cut of the service fees) which hopefully is the case as given the exemplary service they provide they all deserve it!

All in all, the resort has great promise but too many annoying factors really let it down for us, especially as a Shangri-La property. That being said, if you are looking for a great family resort and the above feedback doesn’t really put you off, I’m sure you can have a great time at this property.

Room Tip: Note comments in review about Ocean Wing vs. Ocean Club. However, even if you don't want to pay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kcknacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco V, General Manager at Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear kcknacks,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your stay experiences. Your feedback has been shared with all concerned and we are currently reviewing on where improvements can be made.

We appreciate your loyalty and hope to provide you with a more delightful experience upon your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We stayed here for four nights, because we could not go to Malapascua due to the typhoon. The hotel and hotel surroundings are very nice. The beach is great and there is plenty of beach chairs. The pool area looked very good for kids, with a lot of slides and other things to do. Breakfast is very good and the service throughout the hotel is great. The snorkeling on the house reef i suprisingly good, and I have snorkeled many places. On the downside; there is not a lot outside of the hotel and it is quite expensive to eat and drink here. There is a restaurant across the street from the hotel that is ok, but nothing more. A general tip when going to the Philippines is to bring your own sunscreen if you want SPF between 6 and 30, because it is not easy to find.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lindri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

The place is really great, overall. The best part would be the food. Clean place, friendly and helpful staff who are quick to respond to queries and requests. Just a few glitches with info dissemination but it wasn't a big deal.


  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
2  Thank Esperanza G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Shangri-La Makati is a sprawling resort with a private beach and clear water which provides great opportunities for snorkelling. It has pool facilities with sufficient lounging chairs and an alert staff which ensures that you have a lounging chair, towels, drink and food as and when you require them. The snorkelling gear can be easily rented at reasonable prices on the beach and is well organised by the hotel

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank galaxyhitchhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

I have used the hotel website to enquire reservations.

Thinking there could be system error, I sent again 3 days back. Still no answer.

Till today, not a single reply received

Very poor customer service. Never expect such service from other competing hotel chain




Regards

Stayed: January 2014
4  Thank Repanse71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco V, General Manager at Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Dear Repanse71,

We apologize for being re-miss in replying to your email. This certainly is not reflective of our true Shangri-La service and hospitality.

If you can kindly email me directly at marco.vazzoler@shangri-la.com on your reservations query so my team and I can handle your requirements. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lapu Lapu
0.9 mi away
Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan
0.3 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
6.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 92 in Cebu City
3,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort
1.6 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 43 in Mactan Island
726 reviews
0.6 mi away
BE Resort, Mactan
BE Resort, Mactan
#16 of 32 in Lapu Lapu
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa

Address: Punta Engano Road, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#1 Business Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 Family Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 Spa Hotel in Lapu Lapu
Price Range: £213 - £324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 530
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked in lush tropical landscape and with a crystalline coastline, Shangri-La's Mactan Resort and Spa, Cebu is the premier, award-winning deluxe resort property in the Philippines. It has won acclaim from both domestic and international travelers for its spacious and well-appointed 530 guestrooms and suites, the variety of its dining, entertainment, sports and recreational activities offered in its paradise-like setting and as home to CHI, The Spa at Shangri-La, one of the largest spa villages in Asia.Nestled amidst 13 hectares of lush greenery, landscaped gardens and with a 350-meter white-sand beach, Shangri-La's Mactan Resort and Spa, Cebu is the quintessential modern-day paradise. It is an exciting refuge for nature lovers and a favorite among holidaymakers, as it combines rustic surroundings, modern conveniences and genuine Asian hospitality that are distinctly Shangri-La. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Mactan Resort And Spa
Shangri-La`s Mactan Hotel Lapu Lapu
Shangri Las Mactan Hotel
Shangri La Cebu
Shangri La Mactan
Shangri Las Mactan Lapu
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing