We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great time in Cebu” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Lapu Lapu
Certificate of Excellence
Pasay, Philippines
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great time in Cebu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Great beach resort hotel. Enjoyed executive lounge privileges, breakfast buffet (there are several to choose from) and the amenities (pool was great with the view of the ocean). My sister and I loved the view from the room and there was good wifi connection so we were able to Skype/Viber other family members who were not with us.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travellergagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,102
    834
    227
    106
    67
See reviews for
1,493
820
87
346
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (623)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

We spent our first family vacation at Cebu Shangri La. We had been there 4 times before and loved it, but previously we didn't have a child. This time did not disappoint. The staff were tentative, our room had a facelift, the breakfast was fantastic and the facilities for the adults and the kids can't be beat. Whether you are a couple or a family I highly recommend this property for your CEBU holiday.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank sabbyhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

The hotel is about 15mins away from the airport, and we used the airport bus shuttle, which is about 200peso/person. From the minute we arrived, the service has been excellent, even though there were some hiccups to our check-in; we had to wait about 2 hours before we could check in (check-in time 2pm, we checked in after 4pm) However, in way of compensation they were nice enough to compensate by offering us a free dinner that night.

First view of the room - it was bright and big, had a massive King bed, and had been refurbished. It was a comfortable garden view room, only drawback is that the walls are paper thin and we were constantly being disturbed by guests wallking past, or staying next door.

I've stayed here years ago, and was pleasantly surprised to see the various upgrades to the hotel grounds. Hotel has two pools, the garden level open from 6am-9pm, and the other pool, located near the man-made beach is open from 6am-6pm. We used the pool near the beach mostly, for the garden level pool was chock-full of kids.

It would be great if both pools were open till 9pm; and perhaps had a pool-bar, so guests could swim up and place orders instead of having to depend on the pool boy Neleus. The pool boy (he's probably in his late 30s/early 40s) at Aqua was polite at first, but got extremely knarky and rude after not receiving tips every single time we ordered something, and deliberately ignored our attempts to order a couple of times.I mean, we were there from 9am, and ordered lunch, desserts, drinks... He expected a handout for bringing us food/drinks everytime. Also, some people tipped the pool boy in advance for reservation of seats around the pool, so he went around every morning and laid towels down for them. A good option if waking up at the crack of dawn to reserve seats doesn't sit well with you.

The pizzas at Aqua were great but the breakfast buffets (two restaurants served breakfast) were mediocre, food was overcooked and unsavoury. In-room dining was much the same, e.g. the panini turned out to be more of a burrito and gross.

The man-made private beach was the highlight of our trip, it was so clean and one could see for miles snorkelling on a sunny day. This hotel is a great place for families with kids, or for folks who enjoyed "compound living". Oh, for those who don't enjoy Korean spicy noodles, I'd suggest you bring your own.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dudsy00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
海外
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

I had a high expectation for this hotel for the price they charge and the rate TripAdvisor have.

The good: the resort is large. Kids seemed to enjoy the pool. The staff were nice and try to be luxury hotel staff. Complementary wifi. Beach access.

The not so good:
The resort has the standard luxury hotel format but it lacks in characters and attention to details. Upon our arrival to the room, the first thing it gave me the impression that this hotel has no 5 star standard was the mildew smell in the bathroom. The shower curtain smelled so bad and there was very visible rust in the bathroom. See the photo i posted. We arrived at 1am so we were too tired to ask to change the room. But I felt like we shouldn't have to ask to change the room, it should be a good room in the first place. The smell was obvious.
The bed was firm, not luxurious soft/firm combo. I didn't like the detergent smell they used for linen.
They give very small bottles of complimentary water when other resorts in Lapu Lapu provide large size complimentary water. Their only in-room snacks were cup ramen noodles (is this 5 star hotels?) or Pringle potato chips. It will be nice to have more varieties.

We had ocean wing premier room. The view was nice. The hotel staff were nice. The breakfast food is just fine. They had noodles which you pick the kind you like, they put them in a boiling water and serve with broth in front of you. I thought that was a nice. I didn't taste it so i can't comment on the flavor. Their latte tasted very much like box milk which they used to make. I dont know if anyone can get fresh milk on the island but the latte lasted not good. Their coffee tasted better.

My expectation did not meet. I don't think I will return to this resort especially it is more pricey than other comparable resorts.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilovefrenchpolynesia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco V, General Manager at Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Ilovefrenchpolynesia,

Thank you for taking the time to communicate your concerns, particularly on the working order of the room. Your feedback has been shared with the relevant departments.

We sincerely hope you will allow us another opportunity to provide you with a more delightful experience in the future.

If there is anything more you would like to discuss, please do not hesitate to contact me direct at marco.vazzoler@shangri-la.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

That was literally what I experienced when I stayed here for the Easter weekend. I heard that the hotel is kids friendly but it was in my face. Kids were everywhere and so are their toys which includes all sort of inflatables and sand castle building tools. It is really great for families but adults who wants privacy, forget it.

The property is huge and I wish there is an adult only section. I am sure some parents don't mind having some quiet moment. The other negative about this resort is that it's showing its age. Can use an updating to their rooms. Having been to all the newest hotels in Asia, this is not 5 stars. Having said all that, I have no other complaint. The service is flawless. The staff are very friendly. That is our saving grace for this trip. If you're w kids, it's a perfect resort.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the panorama view room. Easy access to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Resort was great with beautiful beach and clean pools, restaurant choices and activities. Very good service from staff and no problems at all during our stay. We will surely book a trip here again....




  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank choosyandcheapo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cagayan de Oro, Philippines
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

We spent our 19th wedding anniversary here and honestly it was the most enjoyable and memorable wedding anniversary celebration. Upon arrival, we were greeted with smiling and courteous staff. The resort lobby is big, interior design is nice and the rooms are bigger than the other hotels and resorts we have stayed. The place is truly is an ideal place to relax - there are loves of trees and the greens around the resort, there are swimming pool choices for adults and kids, they have sports amenities too like table tennis, golf course and boxing punching/kicking bag. You should not missed exploring their marine sanctuary whenever you’re in Shangrila Mactan. We spent half a day feeding the fish and swimming . Food buffet are excellent with lots of choices from western, Asian , Korean and Filipino foods. You can have your breakfast in either Tides or Acqua. The former has more food choices and the latter has better view, fewer people but fewer choices. We stayed late at night because we enjoyed the live band entertainment at the lobby.

Over-all our stay has been extra-ordinary. We will definitely go back and bring our children on our next vacation in Mactan Cebu.

Room Tip: Get the ocean wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gracefulwalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lapu Lapu
0.3 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
0.9 mi away
Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan
1.9 mi away
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 87 in Cebu City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,990 reviews
1.6 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 41 in Mactan Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
2.9 mi away
Waterfront Airport Hotel and Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa

Property: Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
Address: Punta Engano Road, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 Family Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 Spa Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lapu Lapu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 530
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked in lush tropical landscape and with a crystalline coastline, Shangri-La's Mactan Resort and Spa, Cebu is the premier, award-winning deluxe resort property in the Philippines. It has won acclaim from both domestic and international travelers for its spacious and well-appointed 530 guestrooms and suites, the variety of its dining, entertainment, sports and recreational activities offered in its paradise-like setting and as home to CHI, The Spa at Shangri-La, one of the largest spa villages in Asia.Nestled amidst 13 hectares of lush greenery, landscaped gardens and with a 350-meter white-sand beach, Shangri-La's Mactan Resort and Spa, Cebu is the quintessential modern-day paradise. It is an exciting refuge for nature lovers and a favorite among holidaymakers, as it combines rustic surroundings, modern conveniences and genuine Asian hospitality that are distinctly Shangri-La. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Mactan Hotel Lapu Lapu
Shangri-La`s Mactan Resort And Spa
Shangri Las Mactan Hotel
Shangri La Cebu
Shangri La Mactan
Shangri Las Mactan Lapu
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing