We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service Despite the Size”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Lapu Lapu
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Excellent Service Despite the Size”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The beach was small but had nice clear turqoise water. Lovely fishes in the sea which made snorkelling enjoyable. The property was huge and well maintained. The complimentary actitivities made the stay more interesting. The Ocean Wing room was of a decent size but nothing spectacular. The Ocean Club had a great spread for evening cocktails.

I was expecting a big "family resort" style level of service but truly, the staff in this property made the difference. They always greeted us with a smile and enthusiasm at every contact. They pushed this resort from a 4 to a 5 star experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Singap0reTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,581 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,258
    894
    243
    114
    72
See reviews for
1,643
864
93
364
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (658)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax Station, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I stayed two nights here after three days in Cebu City and then three days in Bohol. Going from a small, quiet, peaceful resort on Panglao to this massive resort on Mactan with tons of families with kids initially took some adjusting, but I quickly liked it because of the superlative staff. They were extraordinarily friendly and helpful, especially Diana and Julie at guest services desk. Everywhere on the resort the staff greets you with a smile and hello.

I had to catch the Iloilo ferry at 7 p.m. on my last day, and they granted a late check-out at 2:00.

Even though the resort is massive, it is beautiful and well-landscaped. Although there were a lot of people staying at the resort, it didn't seem too crowded because the resort is so spacious, and it was always easy to find a place on the nice beach.

The food was excellent. I had one of the best burgers, the USA burger, ever at the pool bar, and the coconut smoothies were refreshingly good. They had a real lack of a la carte options for dinner, though, and the buffet was too expensive. I found the room service food quality to be delicious and reasonably priced.

The rooms are good but are nothing compared to the Shangri-La Boracay. Because the Mactan Shangi-La is older, the bathroom is kind of small. The furnishings were nice in the room--the older, traditional tropical Asian style with a lot of built in furnishings.

I would definitely come back, but I would recommend staying in Cebu City initially. It is a very interesting city historically, and you would want to base yourself there. Then move on to the Shangri-La in Mactan.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmcneill817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

By far, the biggest resort i've been to in the Philippines. Im not taking about the beach, but the lot area of thr resort. It took me more than an hour to go sight seeing everything they had - beach (swimming, snorkling, kayak, jetskiing, parasailing, diving, etc), open garden for events, minimum of 5 pools (lost count), divers compound, helipad, volleyball court, minigolf, table tennis, playground, massive conference rooms (3 i think), bar/resto by the beach, 3 hotel buildings, arcade, indoor playground, and lots of mini gardens with cabannas where you can have a relaxing massage and each one having a great view on its own. What i like most is that the place had evrything i could have wanted so best, not to mention that you are so pampered that you can have any food/drink in any place you want. They also give out towels when they see you swimming (beach/pool). Food is great, rooms are clean, evrything was right on the spot. For the price, its all worth it. Tips: the family room we had didnt have a veranda (veranda space was used as room extension); if you want a room with a view, ask for a 3rd floor room or higher (trees block the beachfront); breakfastbuffet, watchout for the pudding (its sinfully good).

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank jainoah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Awesome service, Employees are very well trained to keep all guest happy, excellent breakfast buffet, the beach was awesome, pools are kid friendly, i just hope i have more time to stay there,scale of 1 to 10 the score i will be giving is 10 keep it up


  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank artseg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This resort truely is fantastic, especially for familes. Right from check-in, the service and level of welcoming was faultless. The reception staff immediately engaged our 4 year old daughter, took her wandering around the reception area while we dealt with the check in process.

The kids club is great, many activities for all ages, a huge 3 story climbing and obstacle gym, slides, outdoor activities for the Easter weekend. Our daughter, who typically doesn't like to be left alone with strangers, did not want to leave and we virtually didn't see her for 2 days! The staff in the kids club give you a phone and call if your child wants you, so it's very effortless if you want to sit by the pool and relax for a bit.

The variety of restaurants and food options are great, the breakfast buffet was lovely, good quality even though it was produced in high volumes. Again the wait staff were brilliant and very accommodating.

The beach is lovely, clean, well maintained, beachfront entertainment each night which pays to reserve a table at the beach bar ahead of time. The pool area with the slides and kids water play area is also excellent, well monitored with lifeguards etc, so plenty of activities for the kids to keep entertained and the parents to relax with a book by the pool.

We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the water - lovely views over the resort, beach and ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Santos, Philippines
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The feeling of freedom and lightness in the sky during parasailing is worth the price it is must try adventure and go for the picture in cd service as well. The room service is very efficient and the unlimited towel supply around the resort is a plus.













Room Tip: Nice bay view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Erianne68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elk River
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

The Shangri-La is THE place to stay in Cebu: beautiful beaches, excellent staff, great food. You will not find a more relaxing atmosphere anywhere. It's a great place for families. The Chi Spa, onsite, is a great place to unwind.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank TheGnostic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lapu Lapu
0.9 mi away
Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan
0.3 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
1.9 mi away
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 90 in Cebu City
3,270 reviews
1.6 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 42 in Mactan Island
697 reviews
0.6 mi away
Be Resorts - Mactan
Be Resorts - Mactan
#13 of 31 in Lapu Lapu
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa

Property: Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
Address: Punta Engano Road, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#1 Business Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 Family Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 Spa Hotel in Lapu Lapu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 530
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked in lush tropical landscape and with a crystalline coastline, Shangri-La's Mactan Resort and Spa, Cebu is the premier, award-winning deluxe resort property in the Philippines. It has won acclaim from both domestic and international travelers for its spacious and well-appointed 530 guestrooms and suites, the variety of its dining, entertainment, sports and recreational activities offered in its paradise-like setting and as home to CHI, The Spa at Shangri-La, one of the largest spa villages in Asia.Nestled amidst 13 hectares of lush greenery, landscaped gardens and with a 350-meter white-sand beach, Shangri-La's Mactan Resort and Spa, Cebu is the quintessential modern-day paradise. It is an exciting refuge for nature lovers and a favorite among holidaymakers, as it combines rustic surroundings, modern conveniences and genuine Asian hospitality that are distinctly Shangri-La. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Mactan Resort And Spa
Shangri-La`s Mactan Hotel Lapu Lapu
Shangri Las Mactan Hotel
Shangri La Cebu
Shangri La Mactan
Shangri Las Mactan Lapu
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing