We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Play-land for kids.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Lapu Lapu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The hotel is totally false advertised. Shangri-la Cebu is not a "paradise" as the advertising says, but a play-land for small children. There are screaming kids everywhere. No swimming pool or areas for adults only. Even in the lounge during cocktail hours you have screaming children.

I swam every morning, it is possible until about 8:30 am, after the pools are filled with children and other beach toys. Impossible to swim or enjoy.

The staff in the lounge are super. In the rest of the hotel, the service is below average.

The hotel has no charm and is a testament to, when mass tourism at its worst. We will remember Shangri La Cebu as the most over priced place we have stayed at.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Peder K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,752)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,658 - 1,664 of 3,752 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

Generally very friendly, smiley and helpful staff who try to make you feel very welcome... Unfortunately, we had a few not so nice encounters with a few of the staff there who were either not properly trained or were not happy to serve guests who looked 'local'..

Room Tip: Some parts of the hotel has been refurbished, do ask for the rooms that have been upgraded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank Sthong88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed in December & had no complaints, received excellent care & the staff were over the top exceptional to me & my girlfriend. Came back this weekend for another trip & experienced nothing but problems including an overflow of people who had unruly, screaming children that the staff never addressed, a plethora of bugs in Acqua, freezing cold pool that they refused to heat during cold temps, less food options for westerners for lunch unless you want to get another buffet (too much) or Chinese food, or overpriced underwhelming room service food. I was shocked at reading other reviews either here or on FB about service going downhill b/c after living at a Shangri-la for several months, then staying at Mactan before, I'd never experienced that. But it really is true, something happened where the staff just isn't up to par anymore. Had to do all the leg work at the pool to get towels, menus for drinks, etc. & the same when trying to enjoy happy hour at Lobby Lounge. The ladies working there don't know what is in the drinks they serve or anything about the happy hour specials listed in the room info book. Spa staff was also acting immature, texting on cell phones and speaking Cebuano giggling and gossiping instead of engaging the customers. Room service messed up an order and had to call the room four times before coming back just to advise something they said they'd deliver wasn't available (simple yellow mustard). Transportation was supposed to be arranged when I made the reservation & then mysteriously they said the person who helped me never confirmed the return trip so I was left doing the leg work for that too. It was honestly more stress filled, than relaxing, for an astronomical price.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
2  Thank Breeze S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco V, General Manager at Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Breeze S.,

Please accept our sincerest apologies for the unexpected inconveniences during your most recent stay at the resort. It is our commitment to ensure our guests experience the best visits possible, and we certainly appreciate your taking the time to bring these matters to our attention. We hope you will see the improvement and enjoy your time with us on your next visit.

Please feel free to contact me at marco.vazzoler@shangri-la.com if you have any further questions or comments concerning your stay.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The beach was small but had nice clear turqoise water. Lovely fishes in the sea which made snorkelling enjoyable. The property was huge and well maintained. The complimentary actitivities made the stay more interesting. The Ocean Wing room was of a decent size but nothing spectacular. The Ocean Club had a great spread for evening cocktails.

I was expecting a big "family resort" style level of service but truly, the staff in this property made the difference. They always greeted us with a smile and enthusiasm at every contact. They pushed this resort from a 4 to a 5 star experience.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Singap0reTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I stayed two nights here after three days in Cebu City and then three days in Bohol. Going from a small, quiet, peaceful resort on Panglao to this massive resort on Mactan with tons of families with kids initially took some adjusting, but I quickly liked it because of the superlative staff. They were extraordinarily friendly and helpful, especially Diana and Julie at guest services desk. Everywhere on the resort the staff greets you with a smile and hello.

I had to catch the Iloilo ferry at 7 p.m. on my last day, and they granted a late check-out at 2:00.

Even though the resort is massive, it is beautiful and well-landscaped. Although there were a lot of people staying at the resort, it didn't seem too crowded because the resort is so spacious, and it was always easy to find a place on the nice beach.

The food was excellent. I had one of the best burgers, the USA burger, ever at the pool bar, and the coconut smoothies were refreshingly good. They had a real lack of a la carte options for dinner, though, and the buffet was too expensive. I found the room service food quality to be delicious and reasonably priced.

The rooms are good but are nothing compared to the Shangri-La Boracay. Because the Mactan Shangi-La is older, the bathroom is kind of small. The furnishings were nice in the room--the older, traditional tropical Asian style with a lot of built in furnishings.

I would definitely come back, but I would recommend staying in Cebu City initially. It is a very interesting city historically, and you would want to base yourself there. Then move on to the Shangri-La in Mactan.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmcneill817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

By far, the biggest resort i've been to in the Philippines. Im not taking about the beach, but the lot area of thr resort. It took me more than an hour to go sight seeing everything they had - beach (swimming, snorkling, kayak, jetskiing, parasailing, diving, etc), open garden for events, minimum of 5 pools (lost count), divers compound, helipad, volleyball court, minigolf, table tennis, playground, massive conference rooms (3 i think), bar/resto by the beach, 3 hotel buildings, arcade, indoor playground, and lots of mini gardens with cabannas where you can have a relaxing massage and each one having a great view on its own. What i like most is that the place had evrything i could have wanted so best, not to mention that you are so pampered that you can have any food/drink in any place you want. They also give out towels when they see you swimming (beach/pool). Food is great, rooms are clean, evrything was right on the spot. For the price, its all worth it. Tips: the family room we had didnt have a veranda (veranda space was used as room extension); if you want a room with a view, ask for a 3rd floor room or higher (trees block the beachfront); breakfastbuffet, watchout for the pudding (its sinfully good).

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank jainoah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Awesome service, Employees are very well trained to keep all guest happy, excellent breakfast buffet, the beach was awesome, pools are kid friendly, i just hope i have more time to stay there,scale of 1 to 10 the score i will be giving is 10 keep it up


  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank artseg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lapu Lapu
0.9 mi away
Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan
0.3 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
1.9 mi away
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 92 in Cebu City
3,576 reviews
1.6 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 43 in Mactan Island
742 reviews
0.6 mi away
BE Resort, Mactan
BE Resort, Mactan
#16 of 32 in Lapu Lapu
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa

Address: Punta Engano Road, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#1 Business Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 Spa Hotel in Lapu Lapu
Price Range: £226 - £411 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 530
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked in lush tropical landscape and with a crystalline coastline, Shangri-La's Mactan Resort and Spa, Cebu is the premier, award-winning deluxe resort property in the Philippines. It has won acclaim from both domestic and international travelers for its spacious and well-appointed 530 guestrooms and suites, the variety of its dining, entertainment, sports and recreational activities offered in its paradise-like setting and as home to CHI, The Spa at Shangri-La, one of the largest spa villages in Asia.Nestled amidst 13 hectares of lush greenery, landscaped gardens and with a 350-meter white-sand beach, Shangri-La's Mactan Resort and Spa, Cebu is the quintessential modern-day paradise. It is an exciting refuge for nature lovers and a favorite among holidaymakers, as it combines rustic surroundings, modern conveniences and genuine Asian hospitality that are distinctly Shangri-La. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Mactan Resort And Spa
Shangri-La`s Mactan Hotel Lapu Lapu
Shangri Las Mactan Hotel
Shangri La Cebu
Shangri La Mactan
Shangri Las Mactan Lapu
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing