We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Lapu Lapu
Certificate of Excellence
Manila, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We stayed for 4 nights, only booking 1 week beforehand. Great rooms, good food, nice pools and beach access. Really loved the marine sanctuary at the waters edge, very colourful fish to be seen in the shallow waters. We are also divers so took advantage of Scotty's Dive Centre. They are extremely professional & helpful showing us 3 great dive sites.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,581 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,258
    894
    243
    114
    72
See reviews for
1,643
864
93
364
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (658)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, MD
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

This is an absolutely great resort especially if you have children. There are so many activities for the children. We stayed in the ocean wing which includes RT to the airport. As soon as we were in baggage claim there was a gentleman in a red hotel jacket waiting for our party of 6. He immediately took our luggage and loaded the shuttle bus. It was nice to know that we were going to be taken care of. Once in the ocean wing, we were greeted by Phillip. Hands down, he has the biggest smile with a great personality to match. The hotel was extremely accomodating to make sure that my sister and I with our families had rooms next to each other with our own private entrance to the suite/end area.

The beach area is amazing with its own marine sanctuary. It was great to be able to see such a huge variety of fish and marine life in your own backyard so to speak. Jean at the watersports desk was especially friendly and willing to get us whatever we needed. I highly recommend the value vacation package which includes non motorized sports. At other resorts, there is not that much to do, but at this resort, there are many options. There are lots of staff members on the beach to help you with anything. Remember to get the fish food that the hotel provides. When you go waist high into the water and throw out the food, hundreds of small beautiful yellow with black striped fish come swimming around you. It was amazing. Some of the areas of the beach do have clear white sand areas whereas other areas have rocks and marine life. It is not all rocky.

The breakfast buffet was fantastic. We also enjoyed the cultural shows in the evenings. Tuesday was movie night, Wednesday and Friday was the Filipino cultural show and Thursday was the Polynesian show. The dance shows were first rate. Since we were there Tues-Sat, the Filipino show was repeated on Friday. It would be nice to see a different show since it is only performed two days apart. My suggestion would be to focus on three other areas of the Philippines for a different cultural show.

Everyone was extremely helpful and friendly. The kids enjoyed adventure zone immensely. The pool area is set up nicely for the kids with a special small waterpark area and a slide. The grounds are well kept and beautiful.

My sister and I took a car from the hotel to visit different areas in Cebu. Junmar drove us and was extremely skilled. We traveled around Cebu for 6 hours making various stops. We felt very safe with Junmar. He was extremely polite, courteous and professional. The charge per hour is not expensive and should be considered to explore the city beyond the resort. The resort is so beautiful and relaxing, it's hard to consider leaving. My last memory of our vacation was driving away in the shuttle bus back to the airport with about six staff members waving goodbye from the front doors. That is hospitality! Thank you to all. We'll be back.

Room Tip: Oceanfront rooms with a balcony are definitely worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winecountry143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cebu Island, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa has always been my favorite hotel and resort to stay during my holiday.. They got everything I needed to make my day perfect.. great personnel, fast wifi service, enjoyable adventure zone for my kids and good food.

Room Tip: If you dont mind the extra bucks, get the rooms at the 8th floor Ocean Club rooms. They have a great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank 888Catherine888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Everything here is perfect, the beach, pool, food, rooms and services. We went here for our anniversary and got a complimentary cake! Go snorkeling to see schools of fish in crystal clear waters. The place is quite huge so it's best to travel your itinerary especially if your room is far from the beach and pool. This place is perfect for any occasion.

Room Tip: Pick a room in the ocean wing for easier accessibility to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Glassware and silverware in rooms are NOT STERILIZED! Room staff washes with only old dirty sponge in room sink with spray bottle full of all-purpose cleaner. Hotel management admits NEVER having sterilized glasses in dish washer. BEWARE! We got diarrhea and GI upsets from the unsanitary glassware/silverware in room.

Room Tip: *BRING A COOLER! If you have medications needing fridge. The room fridge is only a "cooler"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
8 Thank Doc K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco V, General Manager at Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Doc K,

We are very much concerned to hear of your observation during your last stay.

Health and safety of our guests is our utmost priority. As part of our brand promise, we consistently maintain the highest internationally recognized standards for hygiene and sanitation.

These measures are seriously regarded to ensure a clean environment for both our guests and our colleagues.

While I understand that our Resident Manager, Alex Castaldi has been in touch with you during your stay, please feel free to email me directly at marco.vazzoler@shangri-la.com should you wish to discuss this further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cebu
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2014

When your having breakfast at tides look for the friendly staffs, darren, john paul, mike, guia and primo. They are very friendly. I hope that shangrila can add more staff at the acqua play since some of the kids would climb at the slide. Overall it was a great experience

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Charisse F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HONG KONG
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is brilliant! Very family orientated and great for kids of all ages! Our children ages 8 and 2 simply loved it! The rooms are modern and a good size. The staff are all very friendly. The beach was amazing so clean and with tropical fish. Also very, very safe. We had an amazing 5 nights here and would most definitely go back again!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank LadyBlingHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lapu Lapu
0.9 mi away
Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan
0.3 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
1.9 mi away
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 90 in Cebu City
3,269 reviews
1.6 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 42 in Mactan Island
697 reviews
0.6 mi away
Be Resorts - Mactan
Be Resorts - Mactan
#13 of 31 in Lapu Lapu
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa

Property: Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
Address: Punta Engano Road, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#1 Business Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 Family Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 Spa Hotel in Lapu Lapu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 530
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked in lush tropical landscape and with a crystalline coastline, Shangri-La's Mactan Resort and Spa, Cebu is the premier, award-winning deluxe resort property in the Philippines. It has won acclaim from both domestic and international travelers for its spacious and well-appointed 530 guestrooms and suites, the variety of its dining, entertainment, sports and recreational activities offered in its paradise-like setting and as home to CHI, The Spa at Shangri-La, one of the largest spa villages in Asia.Nestled amidst 13 hectares of lush greenery, landscaped gardens and with a 350-meter white-sand beach, Shangri-La's Mactan Resort and Spa, Cebu is the quintessential modern-day paradise. It is an exciting refuge for nature lovers and a favorite among holidaymakers, as it combines rustic surroundings, modern conveniences and genuine Asian hospitality that are distinctly Shangri-La. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Mactan Resort And Spa
Shangri-La`s Mactan Hotel Lapu Lapu
Shangri Las Mactan Hotel
Shangri La Cebu
Shangri La Mactan
Shangri Las Mactan Lapu
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing