We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend getaway from Hong Kong”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Lapu Lapu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 November 2009

We woke up the Friday of Thanksgiving and decided we HAD to leave town for the weekend -- so quick as a bunny, I called Cathay and found they had seats on an afternoon flight to Cebu. I called the Shangri-La, a hotel we have stayed in about 6 times since it opened in the early '90's to see if they had rooms and we were in luck. By 6:30, we were in our bathing suits and floating in a tranquil stretch of beautiful seawater with the stars overhead. A lovely dinner outside on the patio of the Italian restaurant followed and we all happily went back upstairs to our rooms, knowing it is the quick and the decisive that have the most fun!!

This is a hotel that is ideal for a family with small children and was one we took full advantage of when our 4 boys were little. There is a lovely baby pool situated right next to the exit of the waterslide and next to a grassy area with swings. Ideal when we had the competing demands of an 8 and 6 year old (sliders), a 4 year old and and 18 month old (baby poolers)-- by sitting back to back, we could keep an eye on them all and actually have a conversation. The beach is a lovely small spit of white white sand with tame fish who come for bread in the early morning. There has always been a nice kids' club, staffed by lovely kid friendly ladies. My boys never protested when we put them in their pajamas, ordered their meal to be delivered to the kids' club while we went off to a quiet. meal. The downside to the hotel was always the food and the fact it catered to large groups, but the upside was that it was less than a 3 hour flight from Hong Kong and a mere 15 minutes from the airport to the hotel. The restaurants have improved, we know the ropes and staked out shaded lounges on the beach by 8 am and the reef off the shore has been at least partially rejuvenated (wonderful snorkling) so those downsides have happily been rectified.

In recent years we had "graduated" to other locales with 4 teenaged boys. But I thought of this hotel again "in extremis" because it was close, easy and do-able for a weekend. So far it was a choice I will happily make again now that our tastes have gone from the merely convenient and clean to the finer points to vacationing in style. However, this is not a long stay vacation option with older kids -- we would go crazy if staying much longer as there is little if anything to do outside of the hotel.

The Shangri-La has a "club" arrangement to the hotel that has a seperate entrance and a lovely lounge. This made checking in a breeze -- we arrived and were whisked right up to our rooms to complete the formalities. We have, I think, one of the best rooms in the hotel -- a "panorama" club suite -- Room 7001 and the boys had the room next door 7003. The rooms are fine, but not top notch. The living room of the suite is oddly shaped and the furniture cheap and not all that comfortable. That goes for the mattress in the bedroom, which is way too hard. The bathroom has a nice big shower, a lovely sea view and L'Occitaine toiletries, but lacks a decent sized bath. The room smells badly of mildew. The boys room, however, did not. The suite has a double terrace that looks out to sea, which is lovely and the boys' connecting room also has a big terrace with comfortable chairs and a full seaview.

The service has been very very good in all areas of the hotel. It has been a lovely stay so far and well worth the price and the effort of getting here.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pfpedersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,692)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,629 - 2,635 of 3,692 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2009

Had the Panaroma suite for 6 nights and lved every moment of it. I would say the standard of service there was amazing, if not made by a few special people who would run to and fro across the beach to attend to yor everyneeds, thegreat but overpriced (for the philippines) CHI spa. I recommend taking a boat out to island hop, other then that, the suite had a great ocean view and huge balcony. Great location to the airport too and the resort has excellent security. I broght my gf there but had at least 30 friends around the place for an event as well. Great place for friends to chill but an even better mplace for couples to re-discover love. =)

Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
4  Thank BryanHuangPFS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2009

Hotel: Beautiful resort, incredibly beautiful. Oddly located, as you drive by shanty towns, and very poor villages, and then pull into the perfectly landscaped, no trash in site, resort exuding wealth and luxury. It is a stark contrast from what you see before pulling in. The resort grounds are breathtaking of tropical relaxation, and bright colors. The lobby is spacious and open to the outside. Service was excellent. There are basically 2 wings. The new Ocean wing which is newly updated, with indoor hallways that are air conditioned. We did not stay here, so that is as much as I can tell you. We stayed in the main wing, in which the hallways all surround the inner courtyard. Our room overlooked the ocean and the pool. Our room was spacious, clean, and a classy, modern, tiki beach theme. The bathroom was very spacious, with plush towels, and lavender smelling bath products. Large king size bed, pull out couch, desk, and small bar. The balcony had a table and chairs which were nice for watching the sun set. The beach is man made, and the sand is larger in grain, but very clean. There was a small man made peninsula with rocking chairs, and shaded by a large tree, which was great for watching the ocean, very peaceful. On the beach, there are complementary towels, activity hut with lots of things to do/rent: kayak, jet skis, snorkel, etc. There is also a bar with lunch, snack, and drink items to order. I got sick after drinking a milk shake, so beware if you have a sensitive stomach... Staff are everywhere and super friendly, but not intrusive. The other tourists at the hotel were mostly from Asia, or Australia.

Spa & Health club: We went to the Chi spa for a 1.5 hr. couple's massage. It cost roughly $200. The spa is beautiful and tranquil, very professional, and lovely environment, very Asian inspired. If you go early you are free to use the sauna, steam room, or vitality pool (tepid jacuzzi). We later learned that the health club inside the hotel has a heated jacuzzi, sauna, and massage rooms for much less, but you don't get the same environment. However, you may request a massage or other treatment, beach side in one of the beach side cabanas for a little more. There is a salon for beauty treatments in the health club as well.

Restaurants:There are about 4. A tea restaurant serving Chinese food (never ate there), Acqua serving Italian food (never ate there), a beach side seafood restaurant (never ate there), and a buffet restaurant (ate dinner and breakfast there). The international buffet was about 30$ per person, and had Indian food, korean food, Japanese food, fresh grilled meats, and a large dessert bar. The food was slightly over average, but nothing amazing in quality. The breakfast buffet had a lot of Asian food as well and also American style breakfasts, it cost about 20$ per person. It is indoor or outdoor, and drinks are not included. There is a nice view of the resort and pool.

Travel: It is about a 16 hour plane ride from California. Arrange for the hotel to pick you up at the airport. Remember it is a poor country, and with poverty comes crime. Some taxis will take you the "long way" to charge you more, or worse there have even been cases or taxis taking tourists elsewhere to rob them. Tip: if you do not have native friends or families with you, go with the hotel options of tours or shuttle bus.

There are 2 pools, a larger pool, with a kid section, a basketball hoop, a small waterfall. There is a second infinity pool, overlooking the ocean. There are new modern umbrellas and lounge chairs everywhere with staff waiting to serve you a towel or take your order. Often they would walk around with complementary fruit skewers. Great service. There is live music in the bar at night, and a cultural show several nights during a buffet dinner at an outside restaurant there. There is a convenient store where you can buy anything you may have forgotten, but it is expensive. We bought a small bottle of children's sunscreen for 18$!

Overall, this was one of the nicest resorts I have stayed at in terms of beauty, luxury, and service. However it was pricey. It reminded me of the resorts we visited in Maui, Hawaii, both in luxury and price. Most of the Cebu is very inexpensive, both in restaurants, tours and services, however this hotel was on the more expensive side.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank refinedreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2009

Lots of reviews on this place already, so I'll just give an update and tweaked info related to my experience:

Basic info- the resort is on mactanisland, which should be called resort island. There are tons of beach resorts here, but they are all enclosed areas as Mactan is surround by some poorer areas called barios.

Pros:
- Excellent grounds. Felt like we were in maui again.
- Nice rooms, but would be equitable to a marriott
- Chi Spa is awesome. 1.5 hour massages were awesome but pricey. Facilities there are top class
- Nice beach area with lots of activity options
- nice pools.
- Friendly staff
- Safe

Cons:
- Restaurants are blah and overpriced, as are the buffets. Make up for it in the ice creams.
- Everything is overpriced for what you get. Bring your own sunscreen unless you want to pay $15-30 for a tiny bottle. What a rip-off.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VacationsAreSoFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2009

Typical Shangri La. Go the extra mile and stay in the new wing with the sea view, its worth it. Staff, as always make the hotel, got a bit fed up of being "Sir" so I had my own badge made, huge amusement! Tips on eating, use the specialist restaurants, choose your dishes and you will be surprised how reasonable the prices are as opposed to the full buffet every night, along with a couple of glasses of the house red, which is more than acceptable. Vist the Spa and get a massage, they may only be little but boy do those girls have strong hands!
The diving school is also first class, with some of the dives only a 10 min boat ride away and quite good. Yes it was a long way, but we had a great time, and once again, all the staff are just so.
Mike and Tracey

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MikeandTracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2009

Me and my wife stayed here after spending a few days in Bohol.

We chose the Shangri-La becuase of its name and reputation. It's a nice place, and maintans the good image of the Shangri-La hotels, but...there's just something mssing. The grounds were nice, but the rooms were only okay. The Chinese dining was excellent, but the Italian dining was only so-so, and the breakfast wasn't good at all. Drinks by the pool were good, and the bartender was nice and friendly, but they were also very expensive.

There were a lot of "pros" with this hotel, but an almost equal number of "cons," and for that reason I just can't give this resort a positive review.

A "pro" that I do need to state is the hotel's Tour and Travel Desk. They were very helpful in getting me a PAL ticket, and arranging a day tour for me and my wife.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pvtryan12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2009

We wanted to book a short stay at the Shangri-la and called them for their rates.
We gave all the details for our 2 night stay, got the room rate/reservation and were told we would get a confirmation-email the next day. As it turned out, a non-authorized member of their staff had quoted us a prices for the booking. The price, they claimed, was too low and should be approx. 40% higher and anyway, we could not book for less then 3 nights (checking on trusted internet sites, any length of stay can be booked...)
Moreover, they would not offer a discount to make up for their mistake, even after admitting their error in an email, and also writing about the need for reviewing procedures and re-training their staff.
Definitely not the kind of approach I expect from a Shangri-La hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Service
11  Thank Gugliermo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lapu Lapu
0.9 mi away
Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan
0.3 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
6.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 92 in Cebu City
3,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort
1.6 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 43 in Mactan Island
723 reviews
8.6 mi away
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu
#3 of 92 in Cebu City
1,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa

Address: Punta Engano Road, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#1 Business Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 Spa Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 Family Hotel in Lapu Lapu
Price Range: £210 - £315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 530
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked in lush tropical landscape and with a crystalline coastline, Shangri-La's Mactan Resort and Spa, Cebu is the premier, award-winning deluxe resort property in the Philippines. It has won acclaim from both domestic and international travelers for its spacious and well-appointed 530 guestrooms and suites, the variety of its dining, entertainment, sports and recreational activities offered in its paradise-like setting and as home to CHI, The Spa at Shangri-La, one of the largest spa villages in Asia.Nestled amidst 13 hectares of lush greenery, landscaped gardens and with a 350-meter white-sand beach, Shangri-La's Mactan Resort and Spa, Cebu is the quintessential modern-day paradise. It is an exciting refuge for nature lovers and a favorite among holidaymakers, as it combines rustic surroundings, modern conveniences and genuine Asian hospitality that are distinctly Shangri-La. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Mactan Resort And Spa
Shangri-La`s Mactan Hotel Lapu Lapu
Shangri Las Mactan Hotel
Shangri La Cebu
Shangri La Mactan
Shangri Las Mactan Lapu
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing