We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for relaxation. Excellent service and amenities. Good value.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Lapu Lapu
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, GA, USA
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great for relaxation. Excellent service and amenities. Good value.”
Reviewed 21 May 2010

Hubby and I went there from May 10-16 and had a wonderful time. Staff and service were excellent. Grounds very well-maintained and felt airy. Our ocean-view room was nice and more spacious, compared to other rooms of the same type in hotels we've stayed at in the Carribean or the Mediterranean. Soft bed, high-thread count linens, spacious and very well-ventilated bathrooms made for a really comfortable stay.
Buffet breakfast at Tides was outstanding. Expect US prices in restaurants like Tea of Spring, Tides and Acqua. It is still inexpensive considering we spent $20/person (for a group of 5) for a fresh whole fish, and three other dishes, including drinks, tax and service charge! That's a good deal. Chef did a great job with the meals, never overseasoning and letting the fresh ingredient speak for itself.
If you want to save $$, you have the option to go out to Cebu island via the hotel's city shuttle (one way trip /person is about $2.50). The shuttle has drop off and pick up points at 2 major malls in Cebu where you can pick up food from restaurants or eat-in or do groceries. The malls are about 30 minutes from the resort. Tip-check if your room rate includes shuttle services.
Snorkelling was excellent. Fish come close to the shore and it's like swimming in an aquarium ten feet or so from the shore. Swim towards the pontoon for even more diverse aquatic life and corals. A word of caution: you may want to bring surf shoes as there are rocky areas to navigate. We did okay though we didn't bring any, so no major worries if u forget. Life vests are complimentary. Not sure about snorkel gear.
There's swimming pools, a game area (table tennis, billiards, badminton) near the main pool area, hammocks, a gym with free sauna, jacuzzi, steam room. Do check to see if your room rate includes free gym admission so there are no surprises on your bill.
We got 100% relaxation at the Mactan Shangri La and have only good things to say about the staff and the resort!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DupuisAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,180
    869
    239
    107
    70
See reviews for
1,566
847
90
354
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (642)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2010

Friendly staff, supportive on your needs, excellent food. Have been there 3times so far and will choose this place again. It is great to chill and relax

Stayed April 2010
Helpful?
1 Thank Markus_HKG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2010

This was such a great Beach Resort experience. We were blown away when first walking into the open air lobby, it was beautiful and had great views of the pools and ocean. Both stays we had ocean view rooms with balcony. Property is kept up very well. Spent endless days on the private beach and poolside, no need to get up for anything since the bar and food service comes right up to you. Great restaurant choices and great food. Service was excellent at the hotel. We didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lws2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 May 2010

Cebu is a beautiful spot, and if you plan to get away from the hotel to make the most of water sports and diving then this is probably as good a place as any. But for a 5 Star hotel I found it sincerely lacking in quality. Perhaps the rooms in tne new wing are better, but outside of that I'm being generous when I say they're VERY ordinary. They're small, cheaply decorated, and offer nothing I can't get in a good 3 Star hotel.

There was construction going on above our heads which we were never informed about. Our garden view mysteriously morphed into a fabulous view of the car park, there were several power cuts, and simple things like shower nozzles sprayed water everywhere.

There were some nice touches such as free breakfast for kids, but the prices for EVERYTHING are outrageous, not only for the Philippines but compared to anywhere else in Asia.

On the plus side, there's a nice kids club (again, charged for), the staff are exceptionally friendly, and the weather is superb. But overall I couldn't help feeling like I was getting 3 Star value for 5 Star prices. Unfortunately, in this area the alternatives are limited.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rupricht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2010

I have very fond memories of this place - it was a great little family vacation. Our baby couldn't really take advantage of all the great-looking kiddie facilities, but must be great for families with slightly older children. The spa was amazing - each treatment room was its own villa. The food at the restaurants was alright and the grounds were nicely landscaped. One of the nicest surprises was the beach, which was just beautiful, with some coral and little fish to see. It was great for snorkling.

The only thing I'd criticize about the hotel is the architecture - a lot of Shangri-la hotels have the same, big block architecture which I find kind of generic and boring. There are lot sof big empty walkways, both indoors and outdoors. That said, they made up for it with some nice landscaping. The pasta at the Italian restaurant was also pretty bad - I'd recommend going for the pizza. But the view, setting and friendly service more than made up for it.

All in all a very relaxing and pleasant stay at a beautiful resort!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank esheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tramore, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2010

I stayed in the Shangri-la Mactan back in April 2009 (i've procrastinated over writing this review for long enough, haha)

Me and my wife stayed here on our honeymoon after we got married in Iloilo a few days previous. I had done the booking through email and was dealling with a girl named Maricar in the reservations who I could not fault. She always replied promtply and answered all my questions. Because it was our honeymoon we ended up going for the room upgrade to an Ocean Club room in the Ocean Wing and added on transfers between airport and hotel return also. We also added on a couples spa treatment for ourselves (again it was our honeymoon so we wanted to treat ourselves).

When we arrived at Cebu airport and got to the baggage claim there was a hotel rep there alreday waiting for us so no problem finding him or our transfer. When we had our bags he took us outside and a hotel car pulled up beside side, no waiting. Both the rep and driver had good english and very friendly.

The drive from the airport to the hotel was short, 15-20mins, perhaps it might have been cheaper to just get a taxi at the airport (although comparing the cost of the hotel pick-up to taxis back in Ireland I still felt like I was saving money anyway).

Check-in went smoothly, we arrived at reception around 10am, hotel staff took our bags and we were taken imediately up to our room and did the check-in privately in our room, this is cause we were in the Ocean Club, and our bags arrived a few mins later.

The room was really nice, big king bed, very comfortable, nice and spacious and clean with a little sofa, table with fruit and another desk with stationary in the drawers (for the business traveller), TV wasn't a flat screen so a bit old maybe, to stay more modern they might consider upgrading those, but not a deal breaker. Bathroom was smaller than expected, not tiny small, there was still lots of space, just having been in two previous shangri-la's in Muscat & Abu Dhabi which both had large bothrooms with walk-in showers and seperate bath I was expecting the same here, but there was no walk-in shower. Wasn't a big deal to us and certainly didn't effect our stay but thought it best to mention as I know some people reading this might like to know what's there. All amienties you'd expect from a 5 star were there also so no worries if you forgot your own toothbrush or toiletries.

I should also mention that the view we had from the balconey of our room was fantasitic, full seaview.

Hotel staff were all friendly, room cleaning staff even greeted us by name on our first meeting without introduction when we passed them on the way to the elevator from our room. Either they quickly learn whose in which room or maybe they had extra heads up cause we were on Honeymoon?

Hotel grounds were huge, get a good walk in going round the place. two swimming pools both really nice. One of which was an infinity pool in front of the beach. Hotel has it's own private beach, not the biggest of beach, but it was nice and lots of fish just swimming around. I got a snorkle set and just floated in the water looking at all the different fish swimming past. The gym had a nice selection of equipment if you're looking to work out. There is a games room with a small arcade and pool tables aswell as free internet stations. Aswell as may other activities. The spa treatment we had was well worth it, very relaxing and the spa area has it's own private pool too. After treatment your also given a fruit platter and juices to help further cleanse the body.

We ate our first dinner at the Tea of Spring chinese restaurant which was nice... only thing though was there was no duck on the menu which I found odd for a chinese restaurant (and it's my favourite), but I had chicken instead which was still very good. 2nd night we had a buffet dinner at the Buko Bar which also had a cultural show on that night. You have to reserve a table to get a good view of the stage, we didn't as we were out in the city that day and weren't sure if we'd be back in time but we were. Even though I didn't reserve a table once I gave our room number we were given a table right in front of the stage... not sure if it was cause of the Ocean Club room...or maybe the honeymoon but it was really good either way. 3rd night we just took advantage of our Ocean Club status and ate in the Club Lounge free snacks and cakes for our dinner haha.

Being in the Ocean Club also gives you free drinks in the Ocean club lounge. This was good though I do think they should at least extend this to include at least one free drink with your dinner at any of the restaurants as you'll likely end up paying more for drinks than the food. Overall that is really the biggest bad thing I could say about the hotel...and the reason I marked "Value" down. You also get free use of non-motorised water equipment at the beach which is certainly handy.

For breakfast there's a few choices of restuarants I recommend the Acqua we had the best breakfasts there, even if you're in the Ocean Club with the private breakfast buffet in the Club Lounge, selection there is small compared to Acqua, lots of choice and great cooking.

While the hotel is a good 40mins from the centre of the city it still makes a good base if you're planning on going into the city for a tour. While there are other hotels nearby once you're in the grounds of the Shangri-la you wouldn't know it.

We really enjoyed our stay at Shangri-La Cebu and would certainly return if we go back to Cebu. Please check out attached pictures and you can also see some video of the hotel on my youtube account at MokongX3M under the "Holiday 2009" playlist.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mokong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Batangas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2010

Perfect for family vacation.. We booked two adjoining rooms because I had my 3 kids with me, ages 10, 6 and 10 months.. we even brought with us our nanny. The place had everything we needed.. beach, water sports activities, pool, indoor games for the kids, and a variety of restaurants. The hotel staff were pleasant and accommodating. They even helped us in traveling to and from the hotel and around Cebu island. Highly recommended to all who plans to go to Cebu with their family.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank collyscoffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lapu Lapu
0.9 mi away
Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan
0.3 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
1.9 mi away
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 87 in Cebu City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,106 reviews
1.6 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 41 in Mactan Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
2.9 mi away
Waterfront Airport Hotel and Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa

Property: Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
Address: Punta Engano Road, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#1 Business Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 Family Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 Spa Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lapu Lapu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 530
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked in lush tropical landscape and with a crystalline coastline, Shangri-La's Mactan Resort and Spa, Cebu is the premier, award-winning deluxe resort property in the Philippines. It has won acclaim from both domestic and international travelers for its spacious and well-appointed 530 guestrooms and suites, the variety of its dining, entertainment, sports and recreational activities offered in its paradise-like setting and as home to CHI, The Spa at Shangri-La, one of the largest spa villages in Asia.Nestled amidst 13 hectares of lush greenery, landscaped gardens and with a 350-meter white-sand beach, Shangri-La's Mactan Resort and Spa, Cebu is the quintessential modern-day paradise. It is an exciting refuge for nature lovers and a favorite among holidaymakers, as it combines rustic surroundings, modern conveniences and genuine Asian hospitality that are distinctly Shangri-La. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Mactan Resort And Spa
Shangri-La`s Mactan Hotel Lapu Lapu
Shangri Las Mactan Hotel
Shangri La Cebu
Shangri La Mactan
Shangri Las Mactan Lapu
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing