We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sun kissed Haven!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Lapu Lapu
Certificate of Excellence
Port Moresby,PNG
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sun kissed Haven!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2010

This beautiful Resort is a testament to the ShangriLa name! My family and I thoroughly enjoyed the service especially at the beach and poolside. The Ocean wing and Club Lounge staff were always courteous and helpful. The Adventure zone was just perfect for my 2 sons! and again the staff were very caring and entertaining! I'd especially like to mention the Ocean Club Lounge Manager who managed to salvage our flight plans and the rest of our holidays! Thank you so much!
This Resort is perfect for families travelling with young children and for Adults looking for a relaxing sun soaked trip! Anything you could ever want is fully represented here!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulinepng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,102
    835
    228
    106
    67
See reviews for
1,495
820
87
346
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (623)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, Virginia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2010

Great place, very relaxing... food are excellent....

Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank lovelyrose1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
211 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2010

Visiting this hotel outside of the school holidays the resort had low occupancy and was a fantastic place to relax. With a beautiful beach with white coral sand and crystal clear water where colourful tropical fish swim up to the water's edge this hotel is a little piece of paradise. That said it didn't get off to a perfect start. We booked one of their family suites which are to be found in the Ocean Wing on the ground floor. Travelling with a teenager and a child aged 10 this seemed to be the best arrangement avoiding having to book two rooms, however when we entered the room it smelt damp, however we made allowances due to being in the tropics. When during the night I could feel that the sheets were actually damp the next morning I went to reception and asked to change rooms. A member of staff escorted me to a new family suite room and having opened the door and recognising immediately that this smelt damp upgraded us to an Executive room adding two single beds to the room. This room was absolutely delightful with wonderful views over the sea, a large, very comfortable double bed and an excellent modern bathroom. The holiday took off from there.

All of the staff were very friendly and thoughtful throughout our whole stay. This experience started with the professional way we were greeted at the airport (only a short distance away) all the way through when we dropped at the airport on our return. The staff could not do enough for you.

The resort is very child friendly with not only dedicated swimming pools with slides and water canons but also faciilities for the children to play in to escape the heat of the day. Again the staff in the children's play facility were extremely friendly and professional.

With a good choice of restaurants and bars there is really no reason to leave the resort. The food quality was good - particularly in the Italian restaurant where the chef is absolutely superb. I can honestly say that I have never had such an excellent risotto outside of Italy. Both my wife and I liked it so much that we had it two night's running.

I would highly recommend this hotel for families who want to have a relaxing time in a corner of paradise.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
131 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2010

Everyone said Shangrila is the best hotel in Cebu and I have no doubt on that. Because you do not have many options to choose in Cebu. Service is great and all the staffs are friendly and helpful. I chose there because of their great kids facilities like Kids Club, Ezone. But there are people everywhere and they allowed school tour to enter Adventure Zone which caused more kids to access those kids facilities. You can never have chance to get a chair next to the pool side or beach area. The sand quality is ok but too much seaweeds in there. The food quality in all restaurants just average but overprice. We were stayed at Ocean Wing Family room in the first night and then we requested move to suite for remaining days. The family room located in ground floor which is no view, dark and so many mosquitos. My kids kept on saying don't like this room. (You know what I meant!!!!!!!) Horrible things happened in the first night that made us decided to change room immediately. Don't want to mention the details but have to believe my kids's comment on room from nowon. My husband and kids all love Thailand more than Cebu. This is the second time I came to Cebu and I think it would be the last. One word for this hotel"CROWD"!!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HongKongTrojan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2010

I treated my parents in the Panorama Suite and it was brilliant! A bit pricey but if you are willing to pay, then the service is worth it. Fantastic view from the Panorama Suite. The staff were all very friendly and went out of their way to make us happy. In the Executive Lounge, the selection was quite good and if they did not have what you asked for, they would make it for you. They just would not give "No" as an aswer.

Beach was beautiful, and the seafood restaurant was excellent. My parents really enjoyed their stay and that made it all worth it for me!

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alpal78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2010

We had a 3 night 4 days trip to this wounderful hotel and plan to go again soon. We stay at the ocean wing and enjoy the ocean club free buffet for breackfast. Realy nice and quiet. Than the beach landscaping is just fantastic and the reef with colorful fishes is very neat and fun for the little one. The white sand is soft and clean and the facilities at the beach are grate. The pools are fantastic and the service is outstanding. The restaurants are nice the Italian food is just average but the vietnamese restaurant is fantastic. There are many activities for the childrens and the cot and highchair are first quality. Very children freindly with a special family beach where we could run and play witout disturbing the once on honeymoon.

Is a greate place and we will definetly come again.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VictoriaM6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA, USA
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2010

Hubby and I went there from May 10-16 and had a wonderful time. Staff and service were excellent. Grounds very well-maintained and felt airy. Our ocean-view room was nice and more spacious, compared to other rooms of the same type in hotels we've stayed at in the Carribean or the Mediterranean. Soft bed, high-thread count linens, spacious and very well-ventilated bathrooms made for a really comfortable stay.
Buffet breakfast at Tides was outstanding. Expect US prices in restaurants like Tea of Spring, Tides and Acqua. It is still inexpensive considering we spent $20/person (for a group of 5) for a fresh whole fish, and three other dishes, including drinks, tax and service charge! That's a good deal. Chef did a great job with the meals, never overseasoning and letting the fresh ingredient speak for itself.
If you want to save $$, you have the option to go out to Cebu island via the hotel's city shuttle (one way trip /person is about $2.50). The shuttle has drop off and pick up points at 2 major malls in Cebu where you can pick up food from restaurants or eat-in or do groceries. The malls are about 30 minutes from the resort. Tip-check if your room rate includes shuttle services.
Snorkelling was excellent. Fish come close to the shore and it's like swimming in an aquarium ten feet or so from the shore. Swim towards the pontoon for even more diverse aquatic life and corals. A word of caution: you may want to bring surf shoes as there are rocky areas to navigate. We did okay though we didn't bring any, so no major worries if u forget. Life vests are complimentary. Not sure about snorkel gear.
There's swimming pools, a game area (table tennis, billiards, badminton) near the main pool area, hammocks, a gym with free sauna, jacuzzi, steam room. Do check to see if your room rate includes free gym admission so there are no surprises on your bill.
We got 100% relaxation at the Mactan Shangri La and have only good things to say about the staff and the resort!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DupuisAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lapu Lapu
0.3 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
0.9 mi away
Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan
1.9 mi away
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 87 in Cebu City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,991 reviews
1.6 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 41 in Mactan Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
2.9 mi away
Waterfront Airport Hotel and Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa

Property: Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
Address: Punta Engano Road, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#1 Business Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 Family Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 Spa Hotel in Lapu Lapu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 530
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked in lush tropical landscape and with a crystalline coastline, Shangri-La's Mactan Resort and Spa, Cebu is the premier, award-winning deluxe resort property in the Philippines. It has won acclaim from both domestic and international travelers for its spacious and well-appointed 530 guestrooms and suites, the variety of its dining, entertainment, sports and recreational activities offered in its paradise-like setting and as home to CHI, The Spa at Shangri-La, one of the largest spa villages in Asia.Nestled amidst 13 hectares of lush greenery, landscaped gardens and with a 350-meter white-sand beach, Shangri-La's Mactan Resort and Spa, Cebu is the quintessential modern-day paradise. It is an exciting refuge for nature lovers and a favorite among holidaymakers, as it combines rustic surroundings, modern conveniences and genuine Asian hospitality that are distinctly Shangri-La. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Mactan Hotel Lapu Lapu
Shangri-La`s Mactan Resort And Spa
Shangri Las Mactan Hotel
Shangri La Cebu
Shangri La Mactan
Shangri Las Mactan Lapu
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing