We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maribago Blue Water Beach Resort Cebu Philippines”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in Lapu Lapu
Reviewed 28 November 2012

Royal Bungalow at the beach as most priced rooms was rather disappointing.
Very old and run down interior with filthy looking bathroom. Room 106
There was a Karaoke party right in front our terracce and impossible to go outside as the noise was unbearable. Dozens of people around our bungalow and the DJ music mix station right in front of our bed room window. People inches away from our window.
We requested to move and were allocated after some wrangling with the management to a voluntary downgrade but much better modern room. Still a touch of moldy bathroom fixtures but overall better if you decide to stay there. Room 141. White sand Beach is ok but swimming not possible. The seafood restaurant and the bar to chill out are ok . Its is ok and acceptable standard and some good interior design. Food in the italian or international restaurant mediocre and random standard. Some dishes are ok and others were just looking like vomit on a plate like the prawn and scallop or seafood Risotto :-( - . dont stay at room 103 or 104 if you have a choice , no view and you are looking at the wall of next room bungalow, dark as well.
Thats it and overall a sobering experience.
It was not possible to download any photos to the tripadvisor site which is a pitty but gave up after 10 attempts.

Room Tip: DeLuxe rooms modernized are better then the older rooms. Royal Bungalows are waste of money and need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hilaroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,070)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

420 - 426 of 1,070 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2012

Why do we continue to stay at Bluewater Resort. Many reasons Let me start by saying the staff is wonderful. From the driver to the Reception staff and the housekeeping personnel. But, by far the dining staff was the highlight of our stay. We were greeted and served by Karya for breakfast and Leo for dinner. They were very professional and very friendly.
Upon arrival we were taken to our room. We decided that it was too small and asked for a bigger room (140). The bellman called the front desk and we were given the bigger room. We had a water view which pleased us as did our past visits here. The room was very clean and very spacious.
The beach are was very nice. As was the pool.
Food was exceptional. Buffet breakfast every morning with plenty of different food to choose from. The banana bread was so tasty that we ordered 2 loaves to go. Nightly dinners were buffet also but had theme dinners. We enjoyed their seafood buffet with dancers for entertainment.
All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed our 4 day stay there and Bluewater Resort will likely be in our travel plans for April 2013.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
princesa013, New Media Marketing Officer at Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying with us for the 3rd time! We love how our guests keep coming back to us. That's why we always give them the best treatment we can offer. Filipino hospitality at its best.

Looking forward to your visit in 2013!

Warmest regards,

Bluewater Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

We stayed here for our honeymoon in Oct for 6 nights. To start off we arrived a little early for check in (1000am) and were told our room was not ready..fair enough 2pm comes and our room is still not ready,it was after 2.30 that we eventually checked in. Our room was in the Spa suite and i would highly recommend not to choose these rooms unless you want a sleepless holiday. Behind our room was a number of roosters that not only crowed in the morning they crowed for 24hrs a day non stop which was very annoying. There is also alot of Koreans/chinese/japanese tourists that stay here and get the cheap (red eye) flights that arrive in at 12am-2am that have no concept on how to be QUIET when checking in to the room right next door to us as this our of the morning!! Constantly laughing, talking very loud and then turning there music up and singing at 2am!! And the worse thing was that staff were with them whilst all this is going on and did not tell them to keep the noise down. This happened 3 times on our six night stay. There is also rocks all the way along outside of the rooms which is extremely noisy as they use golf buggies to drive on them to deliver luggage at all ours of the night. By the 5th night of no sleep we finally complained (i hate complaining but i had enough by this stage!) The ,manager was very nice and did offer us an upgrade but by this stage it was not worth the hassle of packing up all our luggage for one more night.

On a better note, the restaurant food was lovely but the buffet was very expensive. Ordering off the a la carte menu or the italian restaurant is a better option. The staff were lovely and the service was great.

The location is far away from everything, so there is not alot to do. Outside the resort is very third world..We spent most of our stay in the resort as we didnt feel safe/comfortable about straying to far. The massage place across the street is great and much cheaper than the resort.

All in all we found this stay disapointing...The resort and grounds were kept lovely and clean but the cons definately out weighed the Pro's, i would not recommend anyone to stay here from the experience we had. If you want to go to the phillipines look in to Borocay as we stayed there prior to this resort and had a great time!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sharna_Nick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012 via mobile

Stayed here as a couple for four nights.
Given welcome drinks on arrival and made to feel part of the family.
Stayed in a beach hut close to the beach. Which was of a good standard clean modern and very peaceful.
Hotel restaurants were of very good standard with exellent breakfast buffet.
This is a peaceful hotel spa which was relaxing. The seafood restuarant and bar were exellent. The staff being so friendly i felt like i had been coming here for years.
The beach although small was kept clean and tidy whilst we stayed here. I did not have any hassle with the staff pushing for teips and jetski. If anything i found them friendly and polite.
Well done maribago. Great resort and we will be back again.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Will812002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
princesa013, New Media Marketing Officer at Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for staying in our resort and taking time to write this review. Our people, indeed, are our brand. We make sure that our guests will feel at home when they stay with us. They are part of our family.

Spread the word!

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Warmest regards,

Bluewater Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

I stayed in the Amuma Spa Suite for 2 nights.

My room:
While the room is large with it's own veranda, it is in need of renovation in terms of decor, fixtures, linens and furniture. However, I believe the wing I stayed in is older and the resort has more modern rooms in other areas of the property. One wall of my room was done with capiz shell windows which lets the light in during the day and night. There are no blackout curtains, so don't choose this room if you need total darkness to sleep.

Layout
The resort consists of 2-story building clusters that are spread out on the property, so it doesn't feel crowded. The Amuma Spa Wing in particular is set away from the restaurants, main pool and guest rooms. It has its own pool and cafe, so you don't have to join the rest of the guests from the other clusters if you don't want to.

Staff
All of the staff I encountered were very helpful, courteous and efficient. My room was cleaned daily and I had no problem leaving valuables in plain sight. The restaurant staff were particularly friendly.

Food
My room came with buffet breakfast and dinner which admittedly didn't have a selection as varied as the large hotels, but were perfectly adequate. The theme nights they ran while I was there were All Steak and Italian night which both had pretty good choices.
The only thing I didn't like was the band that played during dinner which I thought was noisy/tacky. I would have appreciated if the band was set-up farther away from the diners.

Beach
Easily the weakest aspect of Maribago Bluewater. Generally speaking, the beaches in Mactan are nothing to call home about, especially if you've been to the better beaches in the Philippines (Boracay, Bohol, Palawan, etc.). Maribago's beach is very small and the waves are blocked by a large sandbar. I took one look at it and went back to the pool.

Massage
My room came with a free 15-minute "intro" massage which was so good that I ended up booking a full treatment.

In a nutshell:
I can recommend Maribago Bluewater to couples and solo travelers who want a quiet getaway to relax and don't want to stay in a high-rise hotel. It's not on the level of the Shangri-La Mactan, but it's notches above your run-of-the-mill beach resort. I enjoyed my stay because I was there to de-stress and enjoy the silence.

I don't recommend it to people who want to party and/or are looking for a stunning beach and lively beach scene.

Room Tip: The Premier Deluxe Rooms are newly renovated
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank vanilla_bean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
princesa013, New Media Marketing Officer at Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and giving time to give a critical review of our property. We will take into consideration the points of improvement that you have mentioned. Guest comments are very important to us as guest satisfaction is our top priority.

We look forward to welcoming you again in our resort.

Warmest regards,

Bluewater Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

The hotel is very pretty, there is a tropical garden on the premises, very nice swimming pools, great food and efficient staff. So if you’re a fan of staying in the hotel all the time, that’s something for you. However, the nearby “beach” is an area covered with concrete and 3 centimetres of sand and the “lagoon” is a smelly bay in which I dared not wet my feet. The area surrounding the hotel resembles a slum, and the hotel is guarded by armed security guards (it makes you wonder why).
So, even though the hotel is basically impeccable, I can’t recommend this place as a holiday destination.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trvlgrll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Bluewater is a nice resort with outstanding gardens, layout and location but facilities are getting a little worn out and tired. Holes and patches missing in pools, paint peeling from walls and ceilings in our room, doors don't close properly in shower room, bath room and front door (we stayed in a Amuma Spa room).

All Staff very friendly and helpful but are typically not very professional compared to standards set in a 1st world country.

Unfortunately, majority of guests are Korean or Japanese and they are very rude and think nothing of making lots of noise at night. They get cheap flights if they arrive at 2am in the morning and the resort think nothing of allowing newly arriving guests yelling and laughing to each other to wake you up as they check in to the the room next to you. This happened on out first night (12am) and when we complained, they did offer to move us but we decided to stay put, however, they still allowed it to happen again on our last night (2am).

Also, the resort is surrounded by Roosters in adjoining properties so you will be woken up at 4am or 5am every morning as they crow for hours.

Resort pushes on selling at every opportunity from not telling you they have fresh chilled filtered water for free while they sell you bottled water in all the restuarants up to a massage for 3000 Pesos when you can get one across the road for 350 pesos.
Buffet's are an amazing rip off at at least 1200 Pesos each when you can order ala carte for around 400 - 600 pesos.

All in all, a nice resort with great staff but just not worth the hassles and sleep deprivation.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lapu Lapu
1.1 mi away
Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan
1.9 mi away
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
2.2 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 43 in Mactan Island
730 reviews
2.5 mi away
BE Resort, Mactan
BE Resort, Mactan
#16 of 32 in Lapu Lapu
503 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cebu White Sands Resort & Spa
Cebu White Sands Resort & Spa
#12 of 43 in Mactan Island
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort

Address: Buyong, Maribago, | Mactan Island, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#9 Spa Hotel in Lapu Lapu
Price Range: £75 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine the sweetness of doing nothing and the satisfaction of doing everything. It is an art you can discover and perfect at Bluewater Maribago, a lush 7-hectare tropical paradise of pure intimate pleasure. Here we put thought into every details of your stay, from the moment we greet you "Mabuhay" to the time we bid you "Farewell".Here, your options are countless: 158 well-appointed rooms, 110-meter beachfront of pristine sand, a private island, 3 lagoon-shaped swimming pools with waterfalls, children's playground, recreation and water sports center, full-service restaurants and bars and the pampering treatment of Amuma Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Book Philippines, Inc., TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maribago Bluewater Beach Hotel Lapu Lapu
Hotel Maribago Bluewater Beach
Maribago Bluewater Beach Resort
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing