We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice resort for a short break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in Lapu Lapu
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Stayed here 2 nights in April. It is a beautiful resort overrun by koreans who are all rude. There are multiple beautiful pools but none if for adults only and are all full of kids. There seems to be preferential treatment for the koreans and these are probably the most rude, uncultured people I have encountered. The beack is very small, manmade and beautiful for a swim when the tide is high. The restaurant ( Cove) was ok. The charge te highest rate for seafood than most places in the world and the food was not palatable.
My room was beautiful and overlooked the pool. Breakfast buffett was great

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ralph_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,060)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

323 - 329 of 1,060 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2014

We live in Cebu City and Bluewater was a nice break for our family for a few days.
The kids loved the activities available for them at the kids club and the three swimming pools, shark viweing and the beach is great at both high and low tides. ( I didn't see so many sea urchins, as someone previously complained about, only in the channel out to sea).
We booked a spa poolside toom but upgraded to the beachside rooms, which was a good move and only P1,000.
As mentioned by others the staff are very nice, but we were dissapointed with the restaurant, we ordered room service one day and it took 1.5hrs to arrive and then not complete.
Yes they are very good at saying sorry, obviously the restaurant needs managing properly.

Room Tip: 138 right on the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katacove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We spent 4 days in Cebu and most of our time in the resort.

The location is very close to the airport, the hotel is very nice and clean.
We really liked the private beach!

I would like to particularly praise the staff, very nice and helpful!

The room design was very nice and comfortable

The different restaurants offer nice quality food and yummy fresh fruit juices.

We haven't try any activity offered by the hotel but there are plenty!

We had a 90min oil massage at the Amuma Spa, I strongly recommend it! The venue is so relaxing already and the therapists did a great job!

The only suggestion I would make to improve the service is that hotel staff should ask the taxi drivers to start the meter in front of them. Only one staff did so we had to "wrestle" with the taxi drivers for them to start the meter...otherwise, they wanted to charge us more.

We had a great time there and I would be happy to come back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

The place itself is very beautiful. Warm and friendly staff, lovely property.

First problem we encountered was that it took more than two hours for us to check into our room.
Once we got the room though it was very nice. Comfy beds, large space, great lighting. We liked that each room got their own outdoor table and chairs, the drying racks were a nice touch. Water temperature of the shower was erratic and the actual holder of the shower was loose, which meant you had to hold the shower head the entire time.

Second problem was the food. A lot of nice things - primarily their baked goods, pastries, bread (some of the best I've had). We had ordered sandwiches twice on different occasions, and both times the fries were stone cold (even when we specifically requested upon ordering that they make sure they're hot)
The seafood buffet at Allegro was not so great; the raw fish selections for grilling had an off putting smell, and the chopsuey they served had actually gone bad. The manager apologized and we ended up getting comped.

A lot of ups and downs with the food; if you must eat at the resort then stick with the pizzas - they're really good! Also they don't ban outside food or drink, so that's a huge plus for them. There's a store right outside of the resort property and an SM SaveMore that's a 5 minute walk from the place.

Staff were really friendly, helpful and accommodating. Grace from their main restaurant was fantastic. Everyone who passed by greeted us with a smile.

I'd probably stay here again just because the place is so nice, and I'd stock up on the breakfast buffet (which is actually really good) and have a pizza for dinner.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in the Garden Wing C complex. Best rooms they have, private and big plus the pool is g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pam2akai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

check in with 1 adult and 2 kids, the pools are great, kids enjoyed it very much, our room an amuma suite, was okay, the bathroom was nice, but the bed's hard, same camplaint as other review, why there is only 1 toothbrush in the room and the stone steps in the shower room:(
buffet breakfast was very gooodddd.....for me:) overall stay, was very nice will be back if i can catch promo for their rooms:)

Room Tip: choose amuma's side rooms, very quiet and exclusive...:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rlenong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

I will give a very good rating for this resort. We arrived there at already 10pm cause of the delayed cebupac flight from manila. What a blessing, since the hotel was fully booked, they upgraded our room from a spa suite to premier deluxe. The staff were accomodating, clean pools, nice beach, good buffet breakfast and free wifi. There were only few things that needs improvement like only 1toothbrush since the reservation was good for two persons, few lights during night time so it was dark outside and the food in thier restos were expensive. Try to dine at Maribago grill which is a few steps away from the resort. Over all, we enjoyed our stay and will recommend this resort.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PinkFebruary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Upon arrival at the airport, I already saw my name printed on a piece of paper and it feels great after a stressing flight that our airport pick up was early. My family of four were the only passengers and the driver was very friendly. The ride was a bit long going to the resort but frustrated to see lots of people at their reception. I lined up for check-in and when it's my turn, the receptionist told me that we have to wait to an hour for our room to be available. It's was 3pm and standard check in was 2pm and they are asking for another hour? I told the receptionist that my kids are tired and no more chair at the reception. Maybe she understood our situation and she let us stay at the pool bar and served us complimentary coffee and bread. Very sweet. The rooms are awesome. Spacious and clean with big beds. Even though we're near the pool, it's very quite at night and we have a good sleep. Tried their buffet breakfast and lunch and it was ok but not excellent. Better try buffets because their ala carte was a bit pricey. Overall, it was a great vacation experience for me and my kids.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ashly999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lapu Lapu
1.1 mi away
Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan
2.2 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
1.9 mi away
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 43 in Mactan Island
720 reviews
2.5 mi away
BE Resort, Mactan
BE Resort, Mactan
#12 of 32 in Lapu Lapu
496 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cebu White Sands Resort & Spa
Cebu White Sands Resort & Spa
#12 of 43 in Mactan Island
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort

Address: Buyong, Maribago, | Mactan Island, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#9 Spa Hotel in Lapu Lapu
Price Range: £68 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine the sweetness of doing nothing and the satisfaction of doing everything. It is an art you can discover and perfect at Bluewater Maribago, a lush 7-hectare tropical paradise of pure intimate pleasure. Here we put thought into every details of your stay, from the moment we greet you "Mabuhay" to the time we bid you "Farewell".Here, your options are countless: 158 well-appointed rooms, 110-meter beachfront of pristine sand, a private island, 3 lagoon-shaped swimming pools with waterfalls, children's playground, recreation and water sports center, full-service restaurants and bars and the pampering treatment of Amuma Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Book Philippines, Inc., Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maribago Bluewater Beach Hotel Lapu Lapu
Hotel Maribago Bluewater Beach
Maribago Bluewater Beach Resort
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing