We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the jewel in Mactan island” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Lapu Lapu
Certificate of Excellence
Cebu City, Philippines
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“One of the jewel in Mactan island”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Initially, I intended to check-in in this resort at the tail-end of summer to keep away from the crowd but our first day of June 1 was quite a disappointment with many guests and a corporate function making traffic in the reception area and the resort ground. We waited for quite some time to occupy the 3 rooms I reserved and made it at about 4:00 pm. However, sans the crowd, the resort is pretty much an oasis in itself in the middle of bustling Mactan island. It still has the vegetation and trees that give that natural feel. The three pools are spacious and cleanliness of the surrounding is maintained all the time. The three restaurants and bar towards the beach line exude that romantic feeling especially at night with food just right to the palate. The beach with a private island across is good enough for safe swimming with its clear water. When inside the premises of Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort you can get the feel of far away beach island atmosphere as long as the number of guests is limited and we experienced it on the following day of our stay when most of the guests had checked out.

Room Tip: If you want direct access to the pools the deluxe and amuma rooms are good. If you want nearer to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jerjamcal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    461
    154
    61
    52
See reviews for
348
267
42
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

My mom and I went there last June 7-9 (Saturday to Monday). We availed of the promo voucher from Dealgrocer with the Amuma Spa Suite as our room with free daily breakfast and one free lunch.

Our mistake was we expected too much from this resort. We expected to have a quiet relaxing vacation, only to experience quite the opposite.

Check in and check out process: No problem. Very easy. Staff was very accommodating and always cheerful.

Food was so-so. There was a lot of choices during the breakfast buffet but the quality of the food is so-so only. The pandesal they served were hard already (maybe leftover from the previous days?). Ensaimada was soft and yummy. Hot chocolate is really good. Lunch buffet, quality is so-so also. They open at 11:30am yet the food was still not warm.

First night was a disaster. The room next to ours was too noisy because of their child crying. Room doors were just made out of wood, so I think it's a big reason why we could everything outside. Sunday afternoon we decided to take a nap in the afternoon because we didn't have enough rest the night before. IT was also a disaster. Since the pool was right outside our room, the kids were too noisy. Screaming and shouting.

The lagoon pool was really nice. However, it is crowded with kids. Maybe the resort could have a different pool for those who really want to swim and another one for those who just want to play in the water.

The beach is not worth it. IF you are coming here because of the beach, I suggest you change your plan.

Note: The resort is full of Korean guests (families and those who brought their "ladies").

If you're into swimming in the pool and doesn't mind noisy kids and surroundings during night time, then this place is okay for you. Just bring your own food.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near the swimming pool if you don't like noisy kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank guo_mei_xin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

good hotel, friendly staff, good food, and nice pool
i went there 2 times, just during the Sinulog festival, is such an amazing carnival that peoples there are so happy and hence the traffic is so congested.
Hotel can't offer any help about transportation however, and they just ask me to get a taxi myself

Room Tip: don't go for those near the beach, no adding value
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peterbpcheung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

I took my wife & 2 small kids to BW Maribago for a short vacation this May and was pleasantly surprised with the facility and the service. I was tempering my expectations for this trip so as not to be disappointed since we took a Deal Grocer promo for a 3D/2N stay at an Amuma Spa suite. The kids really enjoyed the swimming pools plus the shark feeding attraction. Food was generally okay although a bit pricey. The rooms were spacious although the beddings need an upgrade. We enjoyed the clear waters of the beach, most of all. Overall, I would recommend this resort to families with small kids who want value for money.

Room Tip: Choose the Amuma Spa wing which is more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank galahadgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cebu City, Philippines
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Sooo long check in and check out... Rooms are soso what disappointed me most is the food both in Allegro and Cove restaurants.....will not renew my loyalty card it's not indulgence at all...all my friends didn't too

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EdS16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

I have been to Maribago resort twice since 2012, just visited two time, but I think it is the best place to enjoy and relax with reasonable price. Facilities are a little bit old but it doesn't matter, coz nice place to relax, feeling cozy. and moreover, staffs were kind and friendly. but in the shower room, water is somewhat salty so that is the only hard thing for me.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 연주최
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

Stayed here 2 nights in April. It is a beautiful resort overrun by koreans who are all rude. There are multiple beautiful pools but none if for adults only and are all full of kids. There seems to be preferential treatment for the koreans and these are probably the most rude, uncultured people I have encountered. The beack is very small, manmade and beautiful for a swim when the tide is high. The restaurant ( Cove) was ok. The charge te highest rate for seafood than most places in the world and the food was not palatable.
My room was beautiful and overlooked the pool. Breakfast buffett was great

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ralph_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lapu Lapu
2.2 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
1.1 mi away
Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan
1.9 mi away
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 41 in Mactan Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
2.6 mi away
Be Resorts - Mactan
Be Resorts - Mactan
#16 of 30 in Lapu Lapu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cebu White Sands at Maribago Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort

Property: Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort
Address: Buyong, Maribago, | Mactan Island, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#9 Spa Hotel in Lapu Lapu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine the sweetness of doing nothing and the satisfaction of doing everything. It is an art you can discover and perfect at Bluewater Maribago, a lush 7-hectare tropical paradise of pure intimate pleasure. Here we put thought into every details of your stay, from the moment we greet you "Mabuhay" to the time we bid you "Farewell".Here, your options are countless: 158 well-appointed rooms, 110-meter beachfront of pristine sand, a private island, 3 lagoon-shaped swimming pools with waterfalls, children's playground, recreation and water sports center, full-service restaurants and bars and the pampering treatment of Amuma Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maribago Bluewater Beach Hotel Lapu Lapu
Hotel Maribago Bluewater Beach
Maribago Bluewater Beach Resort
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing