We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ugly beach, overpriced food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Lapu Lapu
Certificate of Excellence
Zaandam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ugly beach, overpriced food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2007

I just returned from a 2 night stay at the resort, I was there with my family. We were very disappointed at how small the beach is and how green and dirty the water is. Local boatmen constantly call out to people at the beach offering them trips to other islands. They did not stop approaching my son every time he went to the beach to swim. The resort should not allow this! This is very annoying! One just wants to relax and not be HARASSED! So we opted to spend more time at the swimming pool.
The resort offers a buffet lunch everyday which is very expensive, the price of 5 star hotel buffets in the city. The a la cart menu is VERY limited and the portions very small.
There are so many mosquitoes in the resort, I have lived in many asian cities and have never seen so many mosquitoes in one place.
Service at the front desk is not very good, the ladies there are not very fluent in English.

I would definitely never go back to this resort and do not recommend it to others.

  • Liked — swimming pools
  • Disliked — food
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank gracieZaandam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

998 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    256
    471
    157
    61
    53
See reviews for
353
273
43
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Huron, MI
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2007

This property is wonderful. They have 3 swimming pools, a beach, a dive shop, a 24 hour gourmet restaurant, and pizza/pasta restaurant, a seafood restaurant, and several bars. The property is peppered with various native trees and plants and just looks wonderful. The garden pool has a circular water slide for the children and there is a swingset and treehouse for them to play in as well. Free bottled water is provided along with a buffet breakfast in the price of the resort. We enjoyed snorkeling, jet skiing, parasailing (they contract out the parasailing with Shangri-La). They have several places on the property to get massages, facials, pedicures, manicures and other services. They have a sauna, gift shop and separate small island for special occassions such as weddings and the like. You can bring guests in to go swimming for the entire day for 500 pesos (about 10 dollars). Most evenings we opted for the gourmet buffet dinner which had a huge variety of courses and desserts for about $20 USD. Everyone was extremely polite and courteous. Once inside the property everything you consume or partake in can be charged to the room with the exception of parasailing. This completely eliminates the need to worry about loosing or carrying cash while enjoying your day.

  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, Ca
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2007

My wife took me here for my birthday what a beautiful place. The lobby is very tropical ethnic filipina, round outdoor open air building. the service at check in was very smooth and everyone treated us respectfuly with a smile and generous greeting. The check in went very smooth.
We went to a new walk way they where still in construction building more rooms so we where able to stay in a new room. We stayed in a deluxe double queen room ($160), the room seemd to be much larger then your average room. Everything in the room was very clean and new. Worth double what we payed for the room. The bathroom was a very large zen feel. The bath tub was surrounded by a stone walk way surrounded by small stones, and the faucet in tub was in a style of a water fall along with the shower. The bed linens where very clean and very smooth. The bed was a very nice pillow top mattress that we melted in.
The resort was very beautiful tropical feel with many different ponds with fish including one large pond with 3 smaller white reef tip sharks. There where many very nice swimming pools i think 3 there may have been more i did not see all of the resort.
after the last pool it starts a long sand beach lined with private beach cottages. the beach has a volley ball area ,beach side giant chess board and many water activites. there is a dive center that can arrange dives and a activities center that can arrange island hopping, jetskis, parasailing, sea kayaks , and many other water activities. the beeach is very beautiful and very comfortable and relaxing. the only problem with the beach was the water. I think the water just flows into the bay and settles with pollution the seaweed is very slimy and the sand also is very slimy the only bad part of this resort.
I was not sure if there was two seperate restuarants but they where next to each other one indoors one out. The breakfast buffet was very good and had a wide variety of choices filipina food (fish, pork, and tropical juices), american ( waffles, pancake, omelette, and eggs cooked to order), and european (bread, danish and other pastries) choices and was inclusive.

  • Liked — the rooms
  • Disliked — the water
  • Stayed September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jessicanrichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2007

Safe (surrounded by a wall and gate, only guests and others authorized can enter), beautiful (everywhere you look everything is perfect), peaceful (quiet, sound of waterfalls), tasty (delicious food at all meals and snack bars), clean (no bugs or dust bunnies), luxurious (try the spa services), white beaches/clear water, amenities galor (we snorkelled, rode a ski-doo, played pool and pingpong, swam, etc.), close to shopping malls and airport, friendly (a smile and "hello, ma'am" from everyone), catering (mango shake brought to the pingpong table), comfortable (best bed I've every slept on in the world), cool (air-con in the room and some restaurants), uncrowded, secure (used the safety-deposit box), easy (charged everything to my room), relaxing (no hurries, no deadlines, great attitudes), helpful (calling taxis, packing breakfast for an early flight), "unboring" - so much to do, helpful (mailed my postcards for me), inexpensive. I can hardly say enough good things. I'm going back every year !

  • Liked — luxury
  • Disliked — pool was warm
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank KoalaShaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2007

First time in Philippines for me and although John has been to Cebu before, he has never stayed at this resort.
Arrived at 4am, 24/2,in Cebu, the hotel was kind enough to let us have an early check in at 5.30am even though we are booked for 24th & 25th night.
Impressed with the service as well as the polite and friendly staff, we are greeted and treated with courtesy everywhere we go.
We got the new wing,spacious room,2 double bed,huge bathroom,unfortunately,the bathtub is too standard size,would be great if the bathtub is bigger.
There's a few restaurants in this resort,unfortunately limited choices on the menu.Most disappointed with the Italian restaurant,almost all are vegetarian lasagne & pasta if you consider ham and cheese as vegetarian.
Food price was ok,about US$30 for a simple meal for 2 person.
However,if you were to go to the seafood restaurant by the beach,be prepared to pay US$100 for 2 large tiger prawns,2 dozens of scallops,1 garoupa and a plate of mixed vegetables.
Diving & snorkeling was ok,US$70 for 2 dives,no drinks or lunch provided, about 5 minutes away from the resort. Water was clear but not as many fishes as other trips that I've been.
We spend most of our stay at the beach and the pool.Oh yes, they have Spa & jacuzzi but jacuzzi usage is payable.There are a few pools in the resort.
Overall,had a relaxing time at the resort.The Resort is quite safe,armed guards at the gate,boring though as it is 15 mins away from nearest shopping centre.
By the way,just a note to all,we had a bowl of instant noodles(Ramen)with a few thin slices of meat,half a hard boiled egg and it is 200 pesos,this was at the waiting lounge of Cebu airport after we've gone thru the customs, would never go there again.

  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank snowmuncher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swindon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2006

Stayed here for 9 nights in nov/dec the weather was good. The hotel put us into the new rooms i.e area 3 which had a large bath /bathroom etc and we thought we has struck lucky......until the 7am building worked started!!!!!!
So unhappy i went straight to recepetion and after a bit of huffing and puffing they moved us to area 1 which is the original hotel (semi detached thatched bunglow) which are nearer the beach but are smaller than the original room.
We accepted this room (120) and it was much quiter.
The food and drink was cheap in the hotel and the sea food was great.
Taxi to cebu city should be no more that 300 peso.

Would go back again but only for 4 o5 days.

  • Liked — staff at the sea food resturant
  • Disliked — 1st room still had allot of building work going on!!!
  • Tips/Secrets — look at room before you check in
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Reg_Knight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macau
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2006

My Fiancee and I stayed at MBWR for 3 full days during Nov 06. The resort catered to everything we required and the extremely friendly staff were very obliging in welcoming home to Cebu my fiancee who had been away from the PI for almost 30 years.

Surprising and well received the transfer service with early check-in permitted even with our flight arrival at 3.25am.


Definately a place to recommend and we will return there for sure.

Glen & Millie,
FL. USA via Macau SAR

  • Liked — Affordable
  • Disliked — A little dated
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank grh&mcw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lapu Lapu
2.2 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
1.1 mi away
Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan
1.9 mi away
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 41 in Mactan Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
2.6 mi away
Be Resorts - Mactan
Be Resorts - Mactan
#14 of 30 in Lapu Lapu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cebu White Sands at Maribago Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort

Property: Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort
Address: Buyong, Maribago, | Mactan Island, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#9 Spa Hotel in Lapu Lapu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine the sweetness of doing nothing and the satisfaction of doing everything. It is an art you can discover and perfect at Bluewater Maribago, a lush 7-hectare tropical paradise of pure intimate pleasure. Here we put thought into every details of your stay, from the moment we greet you "Mabuhay" to the time we bid you "Farewell".Here, your options are countless: 158 well-appointed rooms, 110-meter beachfront of pristine sand, a private island, 3 lagoon-shaped swimming pools with waterfalls, children's playground, recreation and water sports center, full-service restaurants and bars and the pampering treatment of Amuma Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Travel Book Philippines, Inc., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maribago Bluewater Beach Hotel Lapu Lapu
Hotel Maribago Bluewater Beach
Maribago Bluewater Beach Resort
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing