We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms, horrible location, poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Europa Basak Philippines
Ranked #42 of 57 Lapu Lapu B&B and Inns
Moalboal, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice rooms, horrible location, poor service”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

On arrival staff told me my room was cancelled as a mistake made in booking had them expecting me a day before, the room was resold to another guest, absolutely no attempt was made to contact me by phone or email. Ended up sharing another room with a friend, very inconvenient. They refused to issue a refund.

Rooms are nicely decorated and clean, no noise where we were in the back.

Location is horrible, very ugly and lots and lots of traffic, it took me 1.5 hours to travel 7 KM from the hotel the next day.

Staff whilst very nice seem to lack the knowledge and experience to run a hotel, the owner/manager was nowhere to be seen and made no attempt to discuss the problem with us.

I cannot recommend this place at all.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    11
    4
    11
    6
See reviews for
3
14
15
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We stayed for one night after flying into Mactan from boracay. The hotel is a short taxi ride from the airport. We paid php1,000 which was good value as the room was lovely. The room was very big, brand new, very clean with aircon, wifi, cable tv and a balcony. 
The staff were very friendly and helpful. The following morning we took a short tricycle ride to take the boat over to Cebu to continue our travels. 
Overall this is a great value hotel for a short stay before or after a flight.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joel19230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flanders, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed 4 March 2014

I had a perfect stay for a couple of days in this hotel i love the bed and good aircondition soo clean staffs so kind and helpfull and berinice coffee shop serve amazing burger....i will return in this hotel soon so afordable and clean..i can recommend you this hotel guyss

Thanks to the staff charlot and joel..

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank belgian36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Very good Service staff at Reception, Restaurant. Charlotte was great & so helpful. 2 minutes Walking distance to Gaisano Grand Mall where you can attend to all your daily needs. Blankets were a bit thin but good air-conditioning, balcony for smokers. You will be fined if they smell cigarettes smoke during check-out. Good selection of cable tv channels, comfortable bed. Steep stairs if you have a lot of heavy luggage will pose problems. Food at restaturant was good(it's small restaurant but serve good food) Fully booked for following day & i had to transfer to another hotel they referred me in a more remote area. Recommended for customers who appreciate staff friendliness but if you are extremely demanding on every aspect of the room amenities, bear in mind it's only 1000 pesos/night & it's a 3 star hotel near a mall. Do not compare this place with 5 star hotels costing 5 times the price..

Room Tip: Rooms facing the rear is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ddayrncm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

Reading the reviews I had much higher expectations, but upon arrival I was extremely disappointed. The only "newly renovated" part that I possibly saw was the reception area. The rooms are outdated, there were ants in the washroom, and the blankets were like a beach towel. The beds only had 1 sheet that comes off when you sleep, so you see the dirty mattress. We stayed here for 3 days, and they didn't clean the room or even change the garbage. I personally love staying in hotels, but I couldn't wait to check out of this one. There's not really any parking, and if you're taking a cab here from the airport, then I suggest you remember the address/nearby places because our cab drivers (we took 2 cars) had not even heard of the hotel--which I took as a bad sign. None of us (out of 8 people) were happy, and next time we will definitely pay for a nicer hotel with much more to offer in terms of amenities and location.The location is in the middle of local living, so there isn't much within walking distance.

If you don't really care where you're sleeping for a night or two, than this hotel is for you; if you want a clean bathroom with a nice bed and a good location, then I recommend the Shangrila, or the Marriott right beside the Ayala mall.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Joanna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lapu Lapu hotels

Lapu Lapu, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

The Hotel is located very close to Gaisano Grand mall, and is close to beaches, other malls, and a hop step and a jump from Mactan Shrine and the Airport. Once you have settled in to the hotel, get yourself used to the Trikes and Jeepney's and you will find that you can get around very cheaply and quickly.

The hotel has been refurbished, simple, plain and all in muted colours, its ideal for the family, and also the solo travellers. Most of the rooms consist of a queen size double bed, comfortable and new I have been told, so that there are no lumps or bumps here. They have a colour TV in each room, Toilet and shower in a separate room near the front door. All of the rooms in the front have been double glazed and therefore the sounds of traffic are very muted. I was there at Midday and it was reasonably quiet. However in saying that, if you want a quiet room, ask for the rooms at the rear of the hotel/

There is no restaurant here, but with Café Berenice next door, what else would you need ? Its a European style café, serving all day breakfast from 5.30 - 6.00 am until late, seven days a week, and like much in the PI you can have all the food and drinks delivered to the room !

The prices are clear, cheap and welcoming. With the current Tarrif, you could stay for a week or longer without hurting the bank !

The European owner and his wife work hard to make your stay here as pleasant and enjoyable as they can, and when they are not in the hotel, their small team of workers in the hotel will do the same.

Off street parking, pleasant location, Its a great stay and I am going to enjoy coming back to stay here.

Room Tip: Contact the hotel for their Promo Code for your booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ashley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

This hotel worthy of top 3 listing!!! Value price, clean, modern furnishing, excellent bathroom. One of the only hotel rooms which has triple pain windows and insulated doors. Furnished with excellent German made shower heater, combo safe, fridge and excellent cooling. The hotel management staff also review Trip Advisor as they now provide hotwater for tea and coffee. (no tea or coffee provided though) The commercial photos of the front of the hotel shows lush palm trees my photo shows trimmed down version. Small reception area with friendly staff. On bottom floor has excellent Pizza Shop "Albertos" budget price, very popular and tasty. Fantastic cafe "Berenice" located in same building. Look for my input on this cafe.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from main road on second floor. No elevators for 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank edinstk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lapu Lapu hotels
1.7 mi away
Dulcinea Hotel and Suites
Dulcinea Hotel and Suites
#13 of 31 in Lapu Lapu
113 reviews
1.1 mi away
Express Inn - Mactan Hotel
Express Inn - Mactan Hotel
#20 of 31 in Lapu Lapu
159 reviews
2.0 mi away
Goldberry Suites & Hotel
Goldberry Suites & Hotel
#10 of 31 in Lapu Lapu
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Lapu Lapu Cottages and Restaurant
0.9 mi away
MB's Garden Inn
MB's Garden Inn
#17 of 57 in Lapu Lapu
23 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel California
Hotel California
#11 of 57 in Lapu Lapu
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Europa Basak Philippines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europa Basak Philippines

Property: Hotel Europa Basak Philippines
Address: Basak Mactan Island, Lapu Lapu 6000, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Lapu Lapu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Europa Basak Philippines 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Europa Basak Philippines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Europa Basak Philippines Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing