We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice quiet place to stay.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Olango Bonita Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lapu Lapu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Olango Bonita Inn
Ranked #12 of 53 Lapu Lapu B&B and Inns
Perth Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A nice quiet place to stay.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Getting to and from is a little difficult, but once there very nice scenery, great staff very helpful, food was good. Swimming pool was very nice, snorkeling is great. No noise to drive you nuts, just chill out and enjoy, plenty of areas to relax and enjoy the day.

Room Tip: Choose if possible with a good a/c unit. Can be quiet humid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Keith7772013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    2
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
3
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hengelo, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

This is a good and relaxed place if you like nature.

There are some things you need to consider.
No internet around.
No swimmingpool
No 24/7 water suply.

There is water, just ask for it. The owners got some tips, so i hope they are willing to invest in for example wifi. very important for a traveler.

But the host was very nice, that counds too.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fairplay43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

This was a completely unexpected overnight stay that started as just an afternoon trip to Olango Island. I met Eric, the owner at the ferry port and learned about his guest house. He invited me to have a look before I headed back and I decided to stay. Eric took myself and another guest out for the evening and we had a really fun night with the locals and then met up with his wife Jenny.

The next morning we were up at 6.30am (not compulsory!!) and Jenny made us a lovely breakfast and then we headed for a walk across the mangroves, as it was low tide at that hour, to another island nearby. It was absolutely stunning and one of the best experiences of my whole 7 month round the world trip. I would recommend this to anyone, PLEASE GO, it's so stunning and amazing. We saw the locals picking cockles in the morning.

The guest house is absolutely lovely, for 500 pesos, plus 50 extra for breakfast, I had a double en suite room with air conditioning and fan and hot shower plus veranda! I'm not sure who put that there was no water but there absolutely was water when I was there in March!

Jenny and Eric could not be more friendly or better hosts. They will take you and show you the sights of the island. If you want an experience like no other and to see an unspoiled part of the Philippines, YOU MUST GO TO OLANGO ISLAND AND STAY AT OLANGO BONITA INN!!!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JulieM12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

It's a pretty, quite, little place. It DOES have a beach (one meter wide), It's quite.
It DOES NOT have running water, which means: no TOILET, no SHOWER, no functioning SINK. It depends on rain water collection, for water. And, it doesn't rain in the DRY season, when you go to the beach. So ... NEVER ANY WATER. Apparently, it's been that way since the day it opened.
There's no ELECTRICITY between 8 PM and 6 AM, when you're in the room, USING electricity. So, there's no LIGHTS, no TV and no AIR CONDITIONING. No fan either, so you WILL "sleep" on the porch, in a chair, being eaten by mosquitoes, rather than in the "sauna" that the room turns into all night.
BTW, no TOILET PAPER either.
There's a restaurant. But, no FOOD, and no nearby place to walk to. The owner, JenJen does NOT COOK, except for something she calls "chop suey" and, also, cheese rolls" (?). You have to order food for her to buy, way ahead of time. And, BTW, someone in your party will have to COOK the food for her, 'cause she won't cook it.
Oh, and there's nothing to DRINK (cokes, water, beer etc.) either. She sends one of the young girls hanging around to fetch cokes and beer (and, you better drink a LOT of beer, 'cause it only comes in liter bottles).
JenJen fills your "relaxing" time there with her lengthy explanations of why there's no water ("insolvable" plumbing problem, not lack of rain), no electricity (only happens at night, every now and then - yeah, right).
She, actually, thinks that she's doing a great job! BTW. she seemed to have no CONCEPT of someone calling to make a reservation (maybe I'm the only one who ever did).
The price would be OK, IF ANYTHING worked. The room shown in the video is probably the only functioning room. It's the one you'll get.
It's 800 P a night ($20 US). But, you'd pay almost anything to get out of there! But, there's no transportation out.
Lovely place to "relax" and get away from it all!

Room Tip: ALL areas of hotel get NO breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bbohannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lapu Lapu
3.5 mi away
Talima Beach Villas and Dive Resort
4.9 mi away
Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan
5.6 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
4.8 mi away
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort
4.7 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 41 in Mactan Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olango Bonita Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olango Bonita Inn

Property: Olango Bonita Inn
Address: Suba Subang, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Lapu Lapu
Also Known As:
Olango Bonita Inn Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing