We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Middle of nowhere...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Plantation Bay Resort And Spa
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Lapu Lapu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Our overall experience at Platation Bay Resort was great. I'll start off by the negatives first..

The Bad...

1. Breakfast buffet was way too expensive at 900 pesos per person. Children are half the price but the buffet was not worth the price. On the good side though, they do change their breakfast buffet daily so you have different choices. Ex: Mexican, Chinese, American, Filipino breakfast days. So, if you could dish out the money, it could be good.

2. Being in Mactan Island, this resort had no beach. It claims it has a beach but we were disappointed in the SMALL patch of sand they considered beach. So, if your looking for beach front, this is not it.

3. The beds are super hard! We had 2 queen beds and I dreaded going to sleep every night because of the quality of the bed. Too firm for me.

4. Location of the resort is in the middle of nowhere. Can't walk out for dinner, go shopping or take a stroll. Your stuck there unless you plan for tours or call in advance for taxis.

The Good:

1. Friendliness of the staff is awesome. They have a no tipping policy and the staff is more than happy to please their visitors. Always greeting with a friendly smile and very helpful and knowledgeable.

2. The pools are awesome! We really enjoyed the main pool with the smaller water slide for the kids. It has a nice pool bar in the middle of the resort. They have nice water features like caves and other hidden water features. The have a huge water slide, however, that was closed during our stay there.

3. The spa is amazing and very well priced. They offer many types of services and are not ridiculously priced.

4. The rooms are big and the bathroom was even bigger.

5. Overall, the resort had tons of activities to do. Many restaurants, kayaking, bike-riding (free), gym, kids play centers, rock wall climbing, and even a diving rock. Many of these activities are free or for a small fee.

6. They also have free wi-fi throughout the resort and free airport shuttle pick up/drop off.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Asia-Traveler2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,899)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,119 - 1,125 of 1,899 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2011

The Plantation Bay is a mixed bag. We are a family of 4, traveling with children and we stayed there last week and overall happy with the experience, but you will not have that "value for money" feeling

The good aspects:
(1) Contrary to what I read in several reviews, the staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful. They have a 'no tipping' policy and everyone of them did their roles with a smile

(2) Our little daughter came down with a very bad cold, cough and fever the day we landed there and the change in weather only made her condition worse. When we called to check for a doctor, they actually had a clinic in the premises and a nurse came over within minutes, checked her out and even left the thermometer in the room so that we could monitor her temperature. We were able to consult the doctor next day and expected that we'd be hit with a big bill, but was pleasantly surprised to find it not charged. When her cough condition became worse, they sent out a nebulizer equipment to the room that enabled us to treat her when needed. But for this extraordinary assistance, our vacation would have been traumatic

(3) The lagoons are artificial, yes - but the waters are clean and because of their big size, they are not crowded and you can have your space and enjoy the sun and sand

(4) The rooms are large and spacious and clean and contrary to other reviews, again we had no issues with any fixtures or with availability of hot water, etc.

The aspects that we did not like:

(1) The resort is away from the main route and so you have very little choice of eating outside, specially breakfast. At 950 pesos per person, its one very expensive breakfast and the limited variety leaves you feeling ripped off, but there is nothing that you can do about it

(2) The beach is almost non-existent. So if you are going here to experience the surf, then prepare to be disappointed

(3) The options for day tours and sightseeing are not very clear and if you are looking for suggestions, guidance is limited. Besides, the hotel offered rates are quite expensive. Since we were traveling with children and did not want too many surprises, we opted for the shortest tour option, which still burned a hole in my pocket

In summary, nice place, good service, no beach, quite pricey!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pbp0411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

When we first got there we were greeted by an open hotel lobby which was a bit dated but accommodating. They had a Korean desk assistant which I think would be a big help for Koreans visiting this resort. The man-made lagoon was huge. It was big enough to kayak in. Considering it a pool, it has to be the biggest pool I've ever seen in a hotel (I haven't gone to that hotel in Chile). It was quite impressive and a sight to behold but the rooms were dated and didn't have a wardrobe to put our clothes in and this was a let down. The food was quite expensive considering it being in the Philippines. The spa was average and nothing can be at par with CHI spa in Shangrila Mactan. The beach was a let down too as it was rocky and not kind you would want to see in a tropical paradise like the Philippines. Overall this is still a good Hotel and I would recommend it if you are looking for fun rather than a luxurious relaxing getaway.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tiger J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Stayed for 6 nights at Plantation Bay.
Firstly, the staff are brilliant, hard to find fault and they definitely helped make what is an average hotel a better experience. They are accommodating, cheerful and always able to help. The level of spoken English was excellent too, top marks all round.
The hotel in general is dated. I am sure when it opened in 1996 it was outstanding, but I am not sure how many renovations have been carried out since. If you have been fortunate to stay in other 5* hotels in Asia you would definitely find it below par.
The rooms are comfortable but not spectacular and the bathrooms not great, very weak showers and old towels. No bathrobes. We asked for a baby cot which was provided, but the mattress so thin our baby wouldn't sleep in it at all, it was really uncomfortable.
Restaurants are average at best, Fiji restaurant was the best. Breakfast buffet good with a wide variety. It would have been nice to see more local dishes and fresh fish. The entertainment buffets looked ok but we did not go to any.
The spa was relaxing, but the bed very hard for a 1.5 hour facial.
Plenty of space at the pools so you don't feel cramped which was good, but the salt water pools feel very slimy underfoot as no sand in them.
The children's facilities were a real let down. Having looked on the Internet before I thought we would have a playroom and playground for our little one. In reality the playground was very run down with only one Little Tikes slide/ swing set which looked ancient. The indoor playroom was dark and damp and not at all welcoming, we stayed less then 10 minutes. A bright and welcoming kids club with childcare would have made all the difference. It was really disappointing and we felt that the website had totally oversold these facilities. Sure, we could have got a babysitter for the afternoon and had some time off, but the realty is that there would have been nothing for the sitter to do with our child except sit in our room! The sheer volume of water everywhere means you need to be super vigilant too.
Overall, an average trip. We would come back to Cebu but would probably try another hotel. It's a shame because I feel bad for the outstanding staff.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DicksinHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

"If you want a room with a wardrobe you will have to pay extra". This is what I was told by the Duty Manager. This was better than the earlier suggestion from the front desk to hang my clothes outside.
As I was paying USD160 per night I did not think that a wardrobe was beyond expectations of a hotel room. What I had, for 2 people, was a rail in the bathroom with 4 coat hangers. They did provide an extra 5 plastic hangers. There were no drawers for clothes, in the room, which meant that we lived out of a suitcase on the floor.

To the credit of the hotel they had alowed us to check in early on our arrival at 5.00a.m.
I had stayed here 1 month before and quite enjoyed it but was obviously then in a room with a wardrobe, because I liked it enough to return.

Room Tip: Ground floor lagoon room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank legendifs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

We stayed here with our two children for 4 nights. We used the babysitting service a few times and they were fantastic. Dinner buffet was ok, i have had better before. Breakfast buffet was delicious but expensive compared to other hotels (900 php). Bottle washing and sterilisation for baby bottles was free, free bottles of drinking water are delivered whenever you need them. Rooms are spacious and bathrooms are awesome. We had a room right in front of the lagoon, it was great as we could swim while the kids had a sleep inside. Only problem was the resort room verandahs were tiled, making it very slippery when wet. Their beach towel system is also a bit silly. Nice and quiet at night time, and there is so much to do here that you really dont need to leave the resort. Sure they charge you for almost everything, but so does the shangri la's and they have more expensive hotel rooms. Plantation is much better value for money and much more family orientated.
I noticed they have a tarot card reader there - that could be fun, but i never got the chance to have a reading.
We will definately return here.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sarah1606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

The location is very far from the airport inspite the fact that it's just in the same island. Airport representative was lousy as we have to look for him and waited for several minutes. The view of the resort was nice although we were quite disappointed with the room we got. Quite old and not as per the pictures on their website. Not really a 5 star resort I should say compared to the Shangri-la. Room rates are just way too expensive for the type of rooms they have. food and beverage as well as transportation to the city is just too much. They charge you in everything even in snorkling gadgets. The beach is quite disappointing with rocks and weeds floating. Overall it was just an okay 4-days stay. Not impressive.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Renjie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lapu Lapu
3.2 mi away
Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan
4 mi away
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
4.4 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort
2.4 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 43 in Mactan Island
742 reviews
5.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 92 in Cebu City
3,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plantation Bay Resort And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Bay Resort And Spa

Address: | Marigondon, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 Family Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#3 Spa Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#5 Business Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lapu Lapu
Price Range: £136 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Plantation Bay Resort And Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a resort in a class of its own. Set in 11 hectares of secluded grounds yet only one hour (when traffic is bad) from Cebu City, Plantation Bay offers one of the largest privately-owned waterways in the world, with the clean elegance of colonial-plantation architecture. Decompress from life’s pressures in the healing tranquility of an environment that truly feels “away from it all.” If you have ever spent time at a tropical plantation, you know what we mean. If not, come and discover a refreshingly different Flavor of Life. Whether you’re traveling for a family vacation or romantic getaway, for business or pleasure, this is far and away your best choice in the Philippines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Plantation Bay Resort And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation Bay Resort And Hotel Lapu Lapu
Plantation Bay Hotel
Plantation Bay Resort And Spa Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing