We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Water, Water and More Water”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Plantation Bay Resort And Spa
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Lapu Lapu
Certificate of Excellence
West Allis, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Water, Water and More Water”
Reviewed 17 November 2011

I just returned from a 3-day stay, having a river-edge room where i could walk out of my patio day and walk right into a sea water pool. It was an advantage of having a first floor room. The beach was nice after high tide (around 11 AM). Food was great. Nightly Theme dinners were very interesting and fun. So much to do on this 11.4 acre resort. If you go, don't forget the horse and carriage ride. No no tipping allowed!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: When I go back in April, I will ask for a first floor river's edge room. Please visit their web...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,786 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    886
    593
    161
    79
    67
See reviews for
856
406
39
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2011

My partner and I visited this place for 3 days. When we arrived the place seemed really nice, great lobby and nice rooms. Our room was not ready so we went for a bite to eat - this is where the dissapointment began. Claims of the best burger in the world! And onion rings to rival burger king were pure rubbish. All food was overpriced rubbish. Then we took a walk around to see what the resort had to offer, which was quite alot but for a stupidly heavy price. E.g 30 mins jetski - 2500 pesos. The lagoon looks good from a distance, on closer inspection it was dirty and slimey. They seem to want to rip people off with everything, a ride to near mall using hotel transport was 275 pesos.... Our taxi trip back was 80 pesos. Now i understand a hotel will always be more, but to 3times more is just pure daylight robbery. The staff were very rude to my filipino partner from check in to check out. Overall was let down by the resort in everyway apart from the nice room.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S7eve_083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manila
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

Such a beautiful place. Feels like you're in paradise. You really get privacy, even with the resort fully booked because it's such a big place. We were given a lagoon side room at the Yucatan house which was a very good location. The room is spacious, beds are comfortable, and the bathroom feels luxurious. There is a balcony right outside the room where the lagoon is just a few steps away, and you feel like you have your own piece of paradise. If you are looking for a place to relax and forget all your worries, this is the place to be.

The best thing about this resort is the excellent service provided by just about everyone who's part of the staff. Everyone is smiling and happy to be of service to the guests. Their pride in their work shines through. We are especially happy with the service of front desk officer Lily, who was very accommodating and thoughtful when we arrived. Also Jyn of Palermo restaurant, who was very friendly and helpful to us.

Food is very expensive in the resort. It's difficult to go out and eat because very few taxis come by. So basically, you're left with not much choice when it comes to food. The food though is good. At Palermo, there was a jazz singer who had a lovely voice and we very much enjoyed listening to her.

My husband and I wanted so much to try the spa. Unfortunately, when we called at 7 pm, the spa was already fully booked until closing time. So my advice, if you want to book the spa service, especially if there is a high occupancy rate at the resort, is to book as early as you can.

The Yucatan house is right in front of the Game Room so our kids enjoyed playing there.

The negatives - I wasn't comfortable letting my kids swim at the saltwater lagoons because the floor was very slippery. There were also some sharp protrusions on the floor. My husband hurt his foot swimming in the lagoon.

It was difficult to get beach towels!! The resort has a system where you cannot bring out your room towels. You're supposed to claim your beach towel from the towel stations on a daily basis. However, towels were always running out and we were only able to get towels on our second day!! And out of the 7 of us, only 2 people were able to get towels!!

The other negative is that if you're staying in a lagoon side room, and someone is occupying the lagoon view room above you, the footsteps of people on the second floor will keep you awake all night.

Room Tip: choose a room that's close to the lagoon. It feels more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank happy_mommytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makati, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Our Plantation Bay experience started at the Mactan Cebu International Airport. Upon arrival we were led by the airport rep to a private waiting lounge while he called the driver. We thought it would be a shuttle bus so we were surprised when a private car was requested and took us to the resort. It was about 25-30 mins to the resort. Upon arrival at Plantation Bay, the resident manager greeted me by name and asked one of her front desk associates to personally assist us for check-in. I got the most pleasant surprise when she told me that they were giving us an upgrade from a water's edge room to a 1-bedroom suite (Xanadu Lodge). We walked to our suite (even if shuttle buggies are available) and were really pleased with the lay-out, the amenities, and the view from the room! It was just fabulous. Everywhere you look is a photo opportunity. The resort I think was 80 percent full that weekend but it never really felt cramped as it had a huge area for walking and swimming. Food is quite expensive but then, you're in a 5-star resort and the level of service was just outstanding. The breakfast buffet at PhP 950 nett was quite pricey but it was a generous spread. The no-tipping policy was also appreciated as guests felt that the service was sincere without the expectation of something in return. There are so many activities to do - wall-climbing, swimming, snorkeling, Zumba, a gym, there's also a game room, and of course the beautiful Mogambo Springs Spa. All in all, I would say that Plantation Bay is up there as one of the best resorts in the Philippines. Can't wait to plan our next stay there!

Room Tip: Get a water's edge room or the 1-bedroom suite if you have the budget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cmpfigueroa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Me and my family stayed at plantation bay for my sister's wedding. We only stayed here for 2 nights and one of those is my sister's wedding day. Definitely not enough to enjoy the entire resort!! It is by far the largest resort I have ever been and stayed at.

They provide lots of activities to keep you busy and enjoy your holiday and company even more. I personally love biking around the resort. They provide complete and great facilities for families.

The staff of plantation bay are great, the service they provide is impeccable. We did have some minor issues which the management promptly addressed.

We would also like to thank plantation bay for making my sister's wedding a memorable one, we can't thank you enough for that !!!

I would definitely like to go back as the time I was there was simply not enough.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shoann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

We have recently returned from a wonderful wedding holiday in Plantation Bay Mactan. We remember this resort from our first visit last 2010 to look for wedding reception venues. My then fiance's words were "this is it!!!". We did not get the chance to stay at the hotel at the time because of the very limited days that we have in Cebu. But we had to try something and we chose to do a dive at the resort's reef. It was fantastic and Dario, the DM was very helpful.

After more than a year of waiting for the wedding holiday, we arrived on the 22nd Sept. and stayed for 2 weeks, We have also invited guests to stay at the hotel as part of their holiday. All of us have no bad reviews of the hotel as it has been fantastic from the very start until the end. There are very minor flaws but we didn't loose a sleep over it and if you alert the resort with a complain, they will be head over heels, bending backwards and forwards for a remdey.

Our check in was smooth, friendly and no-fuss! We arrived early and we were surprised that the room was already waiting for us!

Breakfast was phenomenal! Because we are a long staying guests, our breakfast was complimentary and it was totally out of this world! One will surely await what the next morning will bring as it was a themed breakfast everyday.

The restaurants are not cheap but you will definitely get what you pay for! Good food and excellent service! Palermo's tapas and pastas are to die for (especially the crabmeat ravioli) and Fiji's seafood cuisine are absolutely fantastic... you will want to go back over and over again!!!! Kilimanjaro's power house burger is definitely a must!!!! Filipino Fiesta night is a must watch and the generous spread of the buffet will surely satisfy Filipino food lovers.

The rooms are well appointed and always kep clean. We were very fortunate to have the lagoon view room with an extended balcony which was handy during the wedding preparation. Our view of the lagoon and the Peninsula beach was truly amazing.

You would not want to go out of the hotel because everything was there! We did not even get the chance to try all the activities because swimming, socilaizing, sun bathing was already enough....

Our wedding reception was absolutely perfect! It was everything we had hoped for. Andrea Arroyo, our coordinator was fabulous and was always there to help us! All of our guests were very impressed on the venue itself. We did not have to spend a lot of money for any other decoration as the Peninsula beach with all of its coconut trees, fairy lights and layout was enough.

Mogambo spa should not be missed! Our experiences were phenomenal! All the girls were pleasant, friendly and very caring.

The no tipping policy is great! We know that everyone's smile and service were genuine. We did not feel obligated to leave some money. There was one time when one of our friend purposedley left his change after paying and was hurrying to leave. The waitress ran after him to give him his change... that was so unreal!

We had a private tansfer to the airport and the hotel was so generous to give us a complimentary late check out. We also received a complimentary chocolates and gifts from the GM and a private sunset cruise!!! It was awesome!!!!

All of the staff have been good to us and we are grateful for your smiles and friendliness, but a few ones that stood out are: Andrea from Sales, Jenny and Glaze of Kilimanjaro Cafe and Mars, the swim up bar bartender. We also love Toni, our very cute and sweet butler and we are still intrigued with the very sweet and friendly voices of the operators: Rica, PJ and Mary Ann.

We really want to plan another visit and if only we are not attending another destination wedding next year in Greece, we will surely be in PB.

Keep it up Plantation Bay's team! You are doing a really great job... we miss every single thing, even the cranky parrot at the lobby.

Room Tip: Lagoon View room on the CH building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gavin_lorraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalian, China
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Our overall experience at Platation Bay Resort was great. I'll start off by the negatives first..

The Bad...

1. Breakfast buffet was way too expensive at 900 pesos per person. Children are half the price but the buffet was not worth the price. On the good side though, they do change their breakfast buffet daily so you have different choices. Ex: Mexican, Chinese, American, Filipino breakfast days. So, if you could dish out the money, it could be good.

2. Being in Mactan Island, this resort had no beach. It claims it has a beach but we were disappointed in the SMALL patch of sand they considered beach. So, if your looking for beach front, this is not it.

3. The beds are super hard! We had 2 queen beds and I dreaded going to sleep every night because of the quality of the bed. Too firm for me.

4. Location of the resort is in the middle of nowhere. Can't walk out for dinner, go shopping or take a stroll. Your stuck there unless you plan for tours or call in advance for taxis.

The Good:

1. Friendliness of the staff is awesome. They have a no tipping policy and the staff is more than happy to please their visitors. Always greeting with a friendly smile and very helpful and knowledgeable.

2. The pools are awesome! We really enjoyed the main pool with the smaller water slide for the kids. It has a nice pool bar in the middle of the resort. They have nice water features like caves and other hidden water features. The have a huge water slide, however, that was closed during our stay there.

3. The spa is amazing and very well priced. They offer many types of services and are not ridiculously priced.

4. The rooms are big and the bathroom was even bigger.

5. Overall, the resort had tons of activities to do. Many restaurants, kayaking, bike-riding (free), gym, kids play centers, rock wall climbing, and even a diving rock. Many of these activities are free or for a small fee.

6. They also have free wi-fi throughout the resort and free airport shuttle pick up/drop off.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Asia-Traveler2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lapu Lapu
3.2 mi away
Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan
4.0 mi away
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
4.4 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort
2.4 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 42 in Mactan Island
684 reviews
5.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 89 in Cebu City
3,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plantation Bay Resort And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Bay Resort And Spa

Property: Plantation Bay Resort And Spa
Address: | Marigondon, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#3 Spa Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#3 Family Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#5 Business Hotel in Lapu Lapu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Plantation Bay Resort And Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a resort in a class of its own. Set in 11 hectares of secluded grounds yet only one hour (when traffic is bad) from Cebu City, Plantation Bay offers one of the largest privately-owned waterways in the world, with the clean elegance of colonial-plantation architecture. Decompress from life’s pressures in the healing tranquility of an environment that truly feels “away from it all.” If you have ever spent time at a tropical plantation, you know what we mean. If not, come and discover a refreshingly different Flavor of Life. Whether you’re traveling for a family vacation or romantic getaway, for business or pleasure, this is far and away your best choice in the Philippines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Plantation Bay Resort And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation Bay Resort And Hotel Lapu Lapu
Plantation Bay Hotel
Plantation Bay Resort And Spa Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing