We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Spa Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Plantation Bay Resort And Spa
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Lapu Lapu
Certificate of Excellence
singapore
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely Spa Experience”
Reviewed 11 December 2011

We booked a Spa package, so we stayed at the new Mogambo Spa Spring rooms, it was a great move! We were blown away when we enter the Mogambo Spa, we loved the Japanese garden and our hut was queitly tucked away, facing the beautiful Japanese garden. We these rooms are more private as they are away from the main pool areas which could be noisy. We love the hot springs and the massages. Staff are really helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Stay at Mogambo Spring if you prefer tranquility and privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poppy313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,787 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    887
    593
    161
    79
    67
See reviews for
857
406
39
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prince George, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

Had a relaxing week at the resort, Food was above expectations especially the Fiji restaurant and the Prawn Tempura. Rooms were clean, staff was helpful, upgraded to a room over the water so we could just jump in for a swim. Resort was well maintained except for the lagoon bottom which needs some paint. Not sure how it could be done without closing all or part of the pool and I guess that's why it hasn't been done but it needs to be addressed before it's get much worse.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rod_1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

This lovely hotel made us think a bit of Disneyland - they have built a man-made lagoon just a few metres off the coast and the water flows in and out as the tides change. The rooms are built in cluster around the lagoon and interspersed with slides and waterfalls, little nooks where you cans sit or grab a kayak and paddle.

It might sound a bit like a childrens' play park, but was really rather lovely and tastefully done. Rooms were pretty too, with nice colonial style furnishings. There are several bars and restaurants (some closed while we were there) and a spa and sports centre to the side. We only had one night so didn't try these out.

We really liked the place but wouldn't go back in high season as I think it would feel crowded.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mariek73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2011

Recently stayed on this resort... Place is very nice... Although the foul smell on the entrance and other areas of the resort ruined it.... Also staff are selectively friendly to their guests.... Noticed that they are only friendly to foreign ones.... It's upsetting that staff would only greet my partner and totally ignore me?!.... I mean, what is that about?!?!!.... Oh well... :(

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maui M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2011

Just got back from Cebu after originally booking at another hotel... WRONG MOVE! Going back to PB again for the 2nd time (1st time was 2 years ago), I really notice the huge positives of this place ! It has everything you need for a quick getaway with family/friends or even just like us, as a young couple. It's so big that it never feels crowded.
The resort is so big that you can make it into whatever kind of holiday you want. Big plus is the huge and scattered pools all around, both salted and fresh water pools.. Be careful with the lagoon floors but all in all, it's been quite well maintained. Another positive, The Spa is absolutely stunning and one of the more beautiful and relaxing spas i have seen. I think it's pretty reasonably priced as well for a resort spa.
Last time we came here, we felt food was very disappointing but this time we tried the Italian restaurant Palermo and absolutely loved it, we ate there for both our dinners... great atmosphere and value for money altho menu is rather limited. Stay away from the main cafe if you can... Another thing that put us off was the fake grey rocks but you learn to live with it amongst the other positives!
We're really glad we switched hotels midway to save our trip as we ended up having a lovely and relaxing time at Plantation Bay

PROS
A few freshwater pools, all very well maintained and plenty of chairs, not crowded at all
Huge resort with lots of activities, can go cycling around the area, great for jogging too
Beautiful and reasonably priced spa
Great Service from the staff
20 mins from Airport
Dont forget to try their mango/banana smoothies, perfect to drink under the sun!

CONS
Lagoon floors are a bit dangerous as a bit run down, and sometimes not filled up to the top Fake Greyrocks quite an eye sore but becomes acceptable 2nd time around!
Food - dont expect much, best is the Palermo
Room is nothing special but it's clean and decent size.

Million Dollar Question: Would I go back again? Definitely ! Hopefully once a year :)

Room Tip: All Poolside rooms only have twin beds so avoid booking those if you're a couple ! Otherwise al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sirk32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

I reviewed all the comments about this hotel while searching for the best place to stay in Cebu. I was kinda hesitant at first coz of the negative comments but still i decided to give it a try and it came out to be one of my best experience and i proved all the negative comments wrong..

People have complained about the prices since the resort is more expensive than the impoverished neighborhoods outside. You have to expect that. If you want cheap foods then stay on a cheap hotel in cebu and have yourself a cheap trip. Obviously the resort is for people who want to spend money and experience something luxurious.

People have complained that there's algae on the bottom of the lagoon. There was algae in few places and it does feel weird when you step on it but during my stay I saw them cleaning the biggest lagoon and they are maintaining it so well. If you let little things like that ruin your vacation than you have to go somewhere else.

Some people complained about the staff not being friendly enough. I found them overly friendly. Pass a worker anytime and you get a big smile and hello. Ask for room service and other stuff and they will always set your expectation on how long they can do it.

And some people complained about old and not-so-maintained rooms.. well, check it yourself.. what you see on their website is what you'll get..



...a very romantic place.. family friendly.. plus the complementary shuttle servise to and from the airport is great. just awesome place..

Room Tip: what you see on their website is what you'll get.. for couples i recommend the pool side rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lifeasweknewit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Allis, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

I just returned from a 3-day stay, having a river-edge room where i could walk out of my patio day and walk right into a sea water pool. It was an advantage of having a first floor room. The beach was nice after high tide (around 11 AM). Food was great. Nightly Theme dinners were very interesting and fun. So much to do on this 11.4 acre resort. If you go, don't forget the horse and carriage ride. No no tipping allowed!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: When I go back in April, I will ask for a first floor river's edge room. Please visit their web...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lapu Lapu
3.2 mi away
Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan
4.0 mi away
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
4.4 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort
2.4 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 42 in Mactan Island
685 reviews
5.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 89 in Cebu City
3,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plantation Bay Resort And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Bay Resort And Spa

Property: Plantation Bay Resort And Spa
Address: | Marigondon, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#3 Family Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#3 Spa Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#5 Business Hotel in Lapu Lapu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Plantation Bay Resort And Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a resort in a class of its own. Set in 11 hectares of secluded grounds yet only one hour (when traffic is bad) from Cebu City, Plantation Bay offers one of the largest privately-owned waterways in the world, with the clean elegance of colonial-plantation architecture. Decompress from life’s pressures in the healing tranquility of an environment that truly feels “away from it all.” If you have ever spent time at a tropical plantation, you know what we mean. If not, come and discover a refreshingly different Flavor of Life. Whether you’re traveling for a family vacation or romantic getaway, for business or pleasure, this is far and away your best choice in the Philippines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Plantation Bay Resort And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation Bay Resort And Hotel Lapu Lapu
Plantation Bay Hotel
Plantation Bay Resort And Spa Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing