We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Plantation Bay Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Green One Hotel(Lapu Lapu)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,955)
Filter reviews
1,955 results
Traveller rating
989
636
170
85
75
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
989
636
170
85
75
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno tipping policysalt waterwall climbingfiji restaurantlagoon sidesavannah grillmogambo springskilimanjaro cafefiring rangewater poolsman made lagoonlagoon view roomswim up barpaddle boardingpoolside roomgames roomday trippers
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,318 - 1,323 of 1,955 reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2008

Me and my family stayed here for 2 weeks just after christmas eve. During our arrival and couple of days after New Years Eve they had a dinner buffé, with different themes every night. This was absolutley great.

Plantation Bay was the best hotel/resort I've ever stayed at. The staff is over-friendly, a LOT to do at the resort. It is rather expensive yes, but defininetly worth your money.

My only negative thougt was the location, a very luxurious resort in a poor neighboorhood and an hour of taxi in to Cebu City.

About Cebu City, I had a really good time at the 2 big malls, Ayala and SM City. They have EVERYTHING and to a good price (mayby except electronics). I also enjoyed the casino at Waterfront Hotell.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank blejd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2008

WE stayed in Plantation bay for 2 nights and despite the price it was an excellent retreat and vacation hotel for us in Cebu.

The buffet breakfast was great since there was a lot of choices and the staff were very friendly and accomodating.

It also provides a lot of leisure activities like pool, computer, riding in horse drawn carriage, biking,sauna etc

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank betty l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2008

Horrible!!! It is a "all fake" resort!!! With a lot of bling bling and very noisy!!!!! You cannot sleep from the music outside and later you cannot sleep from the noisy neighbours - you can hear everything through the walls!!!!
The food was really horrible, we could not even eat what we ordered....and the breakfast is by far overpriced!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
The rooms are dated and not tasty or inviting at all!!!!
Therefore the rates are by far too high! We definetly don't know what people like about this resort!

  • Stayed: December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Hongkonglady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2007

Our stay at Plantation Bay was surely great, relaxing and delightful. It took all our worries/stress from work and our other day-to-day activities. My husband and I had a good time marveling at the beauty of the resort and we have once again achieved our goal of at least seeing an ‘out-of-ordinary’ place in a year.

Although the coaster that was suppose to fetch us at Mactan Airport had a problem with its radiator, the attendant was able to get for us a van right away to bring us to the resort. We were welcomed at the lobby by good-looking attendants. Coleen in particular attended to us in a very sweet and polite manner. She even gave us choices of room. We were booked to stay at a lagoon-view room. To our knowledge, that’s supposed to be on the second or third floor. But she said that they have lagoon-view rooms at the ground level that has better access to the lagoons, although the lagoon view rooms at the 2nd or 3rd floor has better view of the resort. We opted for the ground level lagoon view room, and indeed the Tahiti Room that we got was nice and strategically located. It’s near the salt water lagoons, the freshwater swimming pools, the restaurants (Savannah, Kilimanjaro and Palermo) and the Mogambo Springs (whose facilities we were able to use to the max; thanks to HSBC credit card), and we didn’t have to tire ourselves going up and down the stairs. J

The room where we stayed was well kept. We had a king-sized bed (which we really requested). We had complimentary bottles of water and small packs of dried mangoes everyday. The bath and toilet were clean and well designed. Hot and cold water was not a problem, although we can hear the noise of the water ripples in pipes whenever the occupants above us (2nd floor) use their own bath and toilet.

Plantation Bay also has a state-of-the-art gym facilities. What we’re so happy about is that my husband and I were able to do our workout even if we were out of town. There’s also a bike that you can borrow for an hour for free and for the succeeding, they charge P150 per hour. (Although, they’re not that strict on the 1-hour free policy.)

They have also mini jeeps that go around the resort on a regular basis. It can take you from one place to another, and yet again for free. They also have horse-drawn carriages (karitela) that can bring you around too. We had a nice ride with the coach driver, Mang Boy. He even took a picture of us with his horse. J

And yes, the no tipping policy is strictly followed. The attendants and the room boys really wouldn’t accept them. And even with this policy, they’re service is still excellent and well performed.

Mogambo Springs: The BEST. They have a sauna and steam room, cold and hot Jacuzzi pools. We used these facilities everyday. They usually have a cover charge of P300 per head to enjoy these facilities but since we’re HSBC cardholders, we were given unlimited use. My husband and I actually enjoyed the serene & tranquil moments. Ambiance is so relaxing compared to the noise you get to hear near the lagoons and pools. Massage was ordinary but the attendants were courteous as ever. It’s also pricey but you only get to experience it once-in-a-blue-moon anyway.

We also experienced doing the dive at one of the lagoons with the diving rock. A lot of foreigners were trying it (especially Koreans) so we decided to go for it. It was a thrill and it was fun. My husband gets to do it several times because he wants a picture-perfect photo taken. I did it once, just for the experience.

Plantation Bay at night is unruffled and quiet. When we were there on our last night, almost everyone was back to his or her rooms, I think. J The only noise we hear were coming from the nearby restaurants. A few people are swimming. My husband and I are so much enjoying relaxing on our sun-beds, delighting on the good life we were currently experiencing!

And lastly the food: It was good/delectable but so pricey. You really have to allow budget for this. Buffet breakfast at Kilimanjaro was almost P1,000.00 per head. But they do offer a wide range of selection. Everyday, they have different themes. Friday is Mexican, Saturday is Mediterranean, Sunday is Filipino, Other days, they have Chinese, etc.. What we tasted was the Mediterranean set and we liked it. There were lots of fruits!!! The hamburger and hotdog at Savannah Grill were also scrumptious. French fries were nicely cooked, but again, expensive. I advise that you bring/pack your own little “meriendas” but be discrete. They don’t check your luggages anyway. Pack also water and sodas if you wish, it is really expensive to buy a can of soda, almost P150 + service charge. We also tried Fiji restaurant. Their lobster and barbeque are the best. You would have to shelve out more money, but what the heck… It’s lip smacking! The only restau we weren’t able to try was Palermo. It’s Italian themed and it opens at evenings only.

Over all, Plantation Bay was worth our time, money and thought! We wouldn’t miss it for the world.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank dreamy_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2007

I have stayed at the Plantation Bay before, and it always comes through. This last trip was no exception.

My mom organized a family reunion at the Plantation Bay for 4 days and 3 nights last November 1 - 4, 2007. Everyone had a great time!

First, it is always a good idea to book way in advance; this way you get better rates. My mom had planned this 6 months ahead of time, and so she got really fabulous rates. It is also best to contact the hotel directly; they can arrange all manner of things to one's liking.

Since we were a large group, 38 people to be exact, the hotel got us our own bus for our airport transfers. I am sure that if other people had to share with us, they would have been deafened by the constant chatter.

Once we arrived, we waited just a short time before we were herded off to the electric trams to bring us and our luggage to our rooms. Most of the families were booked into 2-bedroom suites. You can't beat the comfort and huge, huge bathrooms. The younger set preferred to stay at rooms at the water's edge, where you can just step off your porch into the saltwater lagoon.

Our own immediate family stayed at the resort's equivalent of a Presidential Suite, called the Quantum Villas. It is composed of 4 separate suites arranged around a private pool and one's very own private function pavilion, which had its own bar, refrigerator, water dispenser, television, living room area, and a huge dining table. To arrange for a bartender/housekeeper, one needs only to call. It was very convenient for everyone to meet there and was a safe place to watch the younger children.

The resort has quite a lot of facilities. The resort gives every guest a guide to all these. There are all sorts of water sports available, and anyone can rent a bicycle and ride around the resort. For those who don't want to skip their exercise regimen, there's the gym, and the paths are pleasant to run.

The main, and best feature is the saltwater lagoon. Seawater is filtered and pumped into the man-made lagoon and one can enjoy being in a beach atmosphere without the inconveniences of a real beach, such as jellyfish (quite prevalent at this time of year), sea urchins lurking in the sand, and the slimy caress of seaweeds. If you're the type who doesn't like to rough it, this is the resort for you.

There is an actual beach but it is very small although picturesque when viewed from the dining area above it. Galapagos Beach is mainly enjoyed by foreigners.

The food is plentiful and savory; local dishes are a must-try.

Also, they have a very strict no-tipping policy. The service is very good although if you call for room service at noon, expect delays as this will be a peak time for them.

Nearby attractions include the Lapu-Lapu monument, and more important (for the shoppers of the family), the Sutukil area where there are local crafts (such as long strings of egg pearls) to be had at very low prices and the best fresh seafood restaurant around (Salo-Salo sa Sutukil). It is very casual, and you may be put off by the wet bathrooms but the food is excellent. Try steamed blue crabs, a ceviche of fish, and their adobong pusit (squid).

And don't forget to miss seeing Magellan's Cross at the Basilica of the Santo Nino, which is also where the oldest image of the Child Jesus resides, as it was originally brought from Spain more than 300 years ago.

Finish off a day's touring with dinner at the Lighthouse, located at the Metro Gaisano mall, where you can partake of roast suckling pig tender enough to be cut by a plate (very much in the Portuguese style).

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank miranjelica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews