We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Plantation Bay Resort And Spa
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Lapu Lapu
Certificate of Excellence
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great vacation”
Reviewed 4 March 2012

The rooms are super clean, and worth every cent you pay for the hotel. The kids loved the Kilimanjaro pool since the water was a little warm. Very nice place, very quiet... nice for bonding time with family.

My only issue with this hotel is the the food is priced like a 5-star hotel but the taste is not as fantastic.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chiquiabad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,766 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    874
    586
    160
    79
    67
See reviews for
843
405
39
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

great hotel great location nice people definitely coming back here again

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeanKosmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garden Grove, California, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Road going to the resort is bad. However, the resort is awesome. Very nice and simple buildings line across the resort boundary area with lagoons warm enough to do the swimming anytime during day and even at night. Although food is quite expensive but the taste is good. The weather is warm and humid even in the month of February, but does not bother me at all. Price of hotel room is quite expensive, but seemingly not bad when you have the dollar with you. I might be back again someday...

Room Tip: Second floor rooms with the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ozzie Jun A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

I've been in this hotel by recommendation... the hotel has a good landscape. You will enjoy walking around and taking pictures. We've taken a pool side room which is a good and wise choice for me aside from the fact that it's price is lower than any other rooms you will also feel more private and i guess equally comfortable like any other rooms. The hotel is far from the city so plan your transportation ahead of time if you want to go around Cebu. There are restaurants inside the hotel but make sure that you have some bucks since it is a little expensive and definitely not for a "budget" holiday getaway in short you must be willing to spend. I can rate their food taste to 7, 1 is the lowest and 10 is the highest. For me, 2-3 night stay is enough for you to enjoy the place and take advantage of their facilities. They will be kind enough to grant your late check out request if there's no full occupancy. Overall i can rate this hotel with 8...

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank POTPOT_PUTUT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Various, UK, Aus, NZ, HK
Level Contributor
127 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

This resort in Cebu is probably excellent for some people – but don’t be fooled by the (quite smart) marketing on their website – it’s not for everyone. My husband summed it up best “basically” he said, “this place is the modern Butlins” (the UK holiday camp of the 50’s and 60’s – much loved by families and the butt of much humour otherwise).
So who might like this resort? Well – families. There is a lot to do here and kids are clearly well catered for. Anyone who has never stayed at a better resort. It’s actually not bad, but if you previously stayed at the Shangri-La Mactan and were looking for something “the same but cheaper” – forget it. This place is NOT the Shangri-La. The staff try hard, but it does lack the elegance and attention to detail of that fine resort.
The website says “some people just can’t get over the artificiality of the lagoons”. Well, I could get over that – I liked the lagoons actually – I just couldn’t get over the artificiality of everything else. The “Italian” restaurant that only had 8 pasta dishes on the menu (and NOTHING else) – all done on a nice plastic laminated menu card. (Hint – plastic lamination does NOT give the ambiance you were trying for).
It’s the little things that let it down the most. The annoying signage everywhere telling you what you can and can’t do. The “conditioning shampoo” rather than separate shampoo and conditioner. The laminated plastic coupons for pool towels and the lack of normal towels in the bathroom. The lack of water pressure in the bathrooms.
On the whole though, the rooms are nice and I liked the 4-poster bed. I also liked the wifi and broadband in the room and around the resort – one of the reasons for choosing it as I’ve had to work a fair bit while here. We splashed out on a “lagoon-side” room – because the website said we would be able to jump from our balcony into the lagoon. Well – almost. Our room had a “fishing pond” right in front of it so no jumping in the lagoon, and the lagoon was just far enough away to not want to leave the door open while swimming. And the balcony door did not lock from the outside (another small but very annoying detail) so in order to go swimming you have to go out the BACK of the unit, walk around the building, then jump in the lagoon and reverse the process to come out. Not exactly the way the website implies.
Now for the activities. This was a key reason for choosing this resort – NOT because we have kids but because my husband and I are active people. We like cycling, climbing, watersports and wanted to try out some new stuff (e.g. archery) while we were here. Except it’s not really as described. The archery is one bow which you queue up for and shoot 5 arrows. Nice enough – but a little lame. The climbing wall was interesting – 3 routes – but the ropes looked quite old and I’m not exactly a lightly built Asian chick, so I didn’t really want to put all my weight on them (we are both mountaineers – we know the ins and outs of ropes). The snorkeling from the beach was pretty disappointing – a few bits of coral and a few fish – nothing spectacular and we could not go out very far. But the MOST irritating thing was the bike hire. “One hour free per day” included in your room rate … what it does NOT say is 1) the bikes are TERRIBLE and 2) they won’t allow you to leave the hotel. That’s right – use your hour going 10,000 times around the couple-hundred metre circuit inside the hotel and nothing else. We wanted to explore the local villages (what the hell else would one hire a bike for?) but no. So that was really irritating. Ended up walking around outside, but it’s too hot to walk far. Cycling has a built-in fan!
There are several restaurants in the resort and the website goes on about the “great cuisine”. Again – no. It also says “we don’t include breakfast so you can choose exactly what to eat and pay for” . Again – NO. The a-la-carte choices on the breakfast menu were American (eggs+bacon etc) or continental or pancakes. (Another laminated menu card). No real set of choices to build your own. The cereals consisted entirely of sweet sugary apologies for cereal – even the “fibre-one” was covered in sugar – not a single healthy choice among them. It was “cereal OR yoghurt” which was useless for me – being lactose intolerant the only thing I can put on my cereal is yoghurt. So – we boycotted breakfast the rest of the stay.
Lunch in the main restaurant was fine – that did actually have a few choices – and the food was perfectly decent. Lunch in the Savanna Grill was clearly aimed at kids – but the chilli wasn’t bad. Struggled to find any rice to go with it though! The limitations of the Italian (on top of it not opening for lunch) already noted above. Didn’t try Fiji – we are not fish people.
On balance the place had potential but it just missed the mark. We were looking for something stylish, up-market but with some activities. It didn’t really manage any of those.

Room Tip: Lagoon-side rooms are mostly lagoon-side but ask NOT to be in Valhalla if you really want to be righ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank fairhsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Stayed here for a few nights with my Hubby and had the Spa Indulgence package. Overall, we were happy with the accommodation and the spa facilities especially the massage that came with the package. The really good thing was we were expecting just one Aromatherapy massage session (for couples) for the entire stay and we were pleasantly surprised when we found out that the package comes with a massage session for everyday that you stay! Awesome - we were in heaven :) If you buy this package you will be staying at Mogambo Springs which is like a quaint little Japanese village in the resort and this is where all the spa facilities are. The accommodation here is for couples only. Upon arriving at Mogambo Springs - you are welcomed with leis, tropical drinks and a gift basket and shown to your room, they then ask you when you would like your Seaweed Salt bath prepared as this comes with the package as well.
I found the food to be average and expensive but the Kilimanjaro restaurant has good views and nice ambience plus service was very good. We almost tried the Savannah Grill but the unhealthy food choices and the high prices did not really appeal to us. We had room service for breakfast once and it was not too bad and had a light breakfast at Palermo restaurant, coffee here is very good.
Gym facilities were good - not excellent but better than most hotels.
Forget the beach if you're in this resort as there's hardly any. The lagoon pool is the main feature of this resort.

Room Tip: The Spa Indulgence package can only be purchased direct from the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FITCHICK711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

the resort itself was excellent, but restaurants and services can be improve, a bit pricey but its all good :P

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank almond_dejavu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lapu Lapu
3.2 mi away
Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan
4.0 mi away
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
4.4 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort
2.4 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 41 in Mactan Island
676 reviews
5.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 87 in Cebu City
3,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plantation Bay Resort And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Bay Resort And Spa

Property: Plantation Bay Resort And Spa
Address: | Marigondon, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#3 Spa Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#3 Family Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#5 Business Hotel in Lapu Lapu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Plantation Bay Resort And Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a resort in a class of its own. Set in 11 hectares of secluded grounds yet only one hour (when traffic is bad) from Cebu City, Plantation Bay offers one of the largest privately-owned waterways in the world, with the clean elegance of colonial-plantation architecture. Decompress from life’s pressures in the healing tranquility of an environment that truly feels “away from it all.” If you have ever spent time at a tropical plantation, you know what we mean. If not, come and discover a refreshingly different Flavor of Life. Whether you’re traveling for a family vacation or romantic getaway, for business or pleasure, this is far and away your best choice in the Philippines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Plantation Bay Resort And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation Bay Resort And Hotel Lapu Lapu
Plantation Bay Hotel
Plantation Bay Resort And Spa Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing