We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be better...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Plantation Bay Resort And Spa
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Lapu Lapu
Certificate of Excellence
Hangzhou, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Could be better...”
Reviewed 5 October 2012 via mobile

We have just finished our stay in this hotel (7 nights). Let start by the positive points: very kind staff, a lot of different pools and...
For the rest, many aspects must be improved to reach the rating of a 4/5 stars hotel: the lagoon (which is artificial!) is very durty, the beach towels are stained ( time to change them!), the staff is not competent (phone call during the night, very slow reaction when we needed a simple ombrella), the breakfast buffet is disappointing (for 24u$, you could expect at least a fresh orange juice), no possibility to have dinner close to the hotel. Overall, if you want to come to Philippines, you can probably find better deals in Boracay for example.

Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Lasad_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EfrenPB_GM, General Manager at Plantation Bay Resort And Spa, responded to this review, 10 October 2012
Dear Lasad_J,

Thank you for your kind comments about our facilities and staff, and for calling some lapses in service to our attention. We will do our best to improve for your next stay here.


Sincerely,
Efren P. Belarmino
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,787 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    887
    593
    161
    79
    67
See reviews for
857
406
39
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Samar Island, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

My family celebrated the birthday of one of our children in this wonderful place, we were not expecting that this place is really awesome. There is a beach with white sand, a swimming pool, a cozy hotel rooms where you can choose staying near the pool or near the gardens. The theme of this place is like a resort within a resort, you will not get tired of surprises. We had our money's worth. Our daughter's birthday was unforgettable and besides all the staff are friendly and more than accommodating. We asked a man who is working there about a spot we where about to go( the place is huge and you might get lost) he really went out of his way to show it to us. Thank you for the unforgettable stay definitely we will go back!

Room Tip: Choose the room near the pool you can swim even during night time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tessa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EfrenPB_GM, General Manager at Plantation Bay Resort And Spa, responded to this review, 4 October 2012
Dear Tessa B,

It is always nice to read about how our guests had an unforgettable stay at Plantation Bay. Thank you for sharing how the resort’s ambience and service became pleasant surprises and how your daughter had a memorable birthday celebration with us.


Sincerely,
Efren P. Belarmino
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cebu Island, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

There's something for everyone in this place! Other than swimming in the no. of pools they have, you could go wall climbing, shoot some arrows, golf, go biking, use the gym or play in their gameroom. All of these come free when you check in one of their rooms. The scenery was great which was perfect for our most favorite activity - picture taking.

It's a great place to relax also for the place was quite and serene. I think it was just me and my friends who were making the rackus over there. Thankfully, we did not receive any complaints. I'll definitely be back someday!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ysaik0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EfrenPB_GM, General Manager at Plantation Bay Resort And Spa, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
Dear ysaik0,

Thank you for the rave reviews about your visit to Plantation Bay. We're pleased that you enjoyed the many swimming pools and found the scenery perfect for picture taking.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future.


Sincerely,
Efren P. Belarmino
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cebu City, Cebu City, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Fantastic place to visit. Beautiful, exotic, but very expensive. Best to visit during day and stay elsewhere.

Stayed January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Zeus C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EfrenPB_GM, General Manager at Plantation Bay Resort And Spa, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
Dear Sean C,

We are glad that you realized your dream holiday in Plantation Bay. Our rates and sample prices are readily available on our website and comparable to or are even lower than other 5-star hotels in Cebu. When you visit us next time, please remind us of your comment about prices, so we can provide options on how to get the best value of money at Plantation Bay.


Sincerely,
Efren P. Belarmino
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makati
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Been here twice, the first time was around 13 years ago and it already blew my mind. During my second trip, I noticed some changes in the place, and I am happy to say that this place only improves with age.

The unique thing about Plantation bay is the way it is laid out like a small village rather than the typical hotel setup where everything is in a big enclosed building(s). Like most large resort hotels, they have multiple bars / restaurants, but because of its design, moving from one place to another feels like you are bar hopping around town but never having to leave the place.

the food is amazing and the views were stunning, but I think the best thing about this place is the service, everyone greets you with a smile and my favorite is their strict (and I mean strict) no tipping policy. No influence of tips ensures that everyone is treated the same way.

Plantation Bay can be quite a relaxing experience, it is like you are transported to a different place, a stark contrast to the hustle and bustle of Metro Cebu.

Room Tip: There are many room types available, from apartment type rooms to single detached bungalows, it real...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dok418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EfrenPB_GM, General Manager at Plantation Bay Resort And Spa, responded to this review, 23 September 2012
Dear dok418,

Thank you for the glowing review. We are pleased to learn that our food and service have won you over and that you are a fan of our no tipping policy. Plantation Bay does its best to make sure our guests need not go far to relax and have fun and we are happy that you had such an enjoyable experience during your recent stay.

Thanks again for the kind sentiments.


Sincerely,
Efren P. Belarmino
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012 via mobile

Very relaxing resort, facilities are great, people are friendly. We got the family room with two double deck, 1 queen sized bed, bean bags in front of the flat screen with playstation 3, a  dining table and a basket full of complimentary snacks what more can you ask for. There are plenty of activities in the resort, each member of the family will truly have a great time. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anyabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EfrenPB_GM, General Manager at Plantation Bay Resort And Spa, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Dear Anyabear,

We are pleased to know that you liked our family room and that your family members had a great time with our activities.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Plantation Bay Resort and Spa soon.


Sincerely,
Efren P. Belarmino
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davao City, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Pros:
- there's a lot of massive pools which my kid and I enjoyed a lot.
- the bicycle are free of charge and also the kalesa ride.
-great service.
-nice room, very clean. I liked also the bed, it's huge :-)
-the food are great but....

cons:
-expensive :-(

Room Tip: you should have a very thick wallet full of cash upon entering the premises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank the_traveller28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EfrenPB_GM, General Manager at Plantation Bay Resort And Spa, responded to this review, 14 September 2012
Dear the_traveller28,

More than almost any other hotel, Plantation Bay practices transparency in pricing. Prior to booking at the resort, guests can easily check the price of our rooms, typical food, and most services on our website. These prices are typically lower than those of our main competitors in Mactan Island.

For example, our club sandwich is about $8, which is admittedly more than a McDonald's hamburger but less than most upmarket hotels. There are several dishes in our coffee shop costing about $10 which are enough to feed 2-3. A typical massage treatment at Plantation Bay costs about $50, vs. $100 at a competing hotel in Mactan, and $200-300 at most 5-star resorts around the world. And so forth.

Thank you for sharing your views. We are glad that you and your children liked our food, activities, and service. When you book with us next time, please remind us of your comment about prices, so we can offer suggestions on how to get the best value for money at Plantation Bay.


Sincerely,
Efren P. Belarmino
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lapu Lapu
3.2 mi away
Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan
4.0 mi away
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
4.4 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort
2.4 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 42 in Mactan Island
685 reviews
5.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 89 in Cebu City
3,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plantation Bay Resort And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Bay Resort And Spa

Property: Plantation Bay Resort And Spa
Address: | Marigondon, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#3 Family Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#3 Spa Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#5 Business Hotel in Lapu Lapu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Plantation Bay Resort And Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a resort in a class of its own. Set in 11 hectares of secluded grounds yet only one hour (when traffic is bad) from Cebu City, Plantation Bay offers one of the largest privately-owned waterways in the world, with the clean elegance of colonial-plantation architecture. Decompress from life’s pressures in the healing tranquility of an environment that truly feels “away from it all.” If you have ever spent time at a tropical plantation, you know what we mean. If not, come and discover a refreshingly different Flavor of Life. Whether you’re traveling for a family vacation or romantic getaway, for business or pleasure, this is far and away your best choice in the Philippines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Plantation Bay Resort And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation Bay Resort And Hotel Lapu Lapu
Plantation Bay Hotel
Plantation Bay Resort And Spa Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing