We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hard to find towels”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Plantation Bay Resort And Spa
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Lapu Lapu
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Hard to find towels”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

We have stayed in this hotel just before Christmas for one night and found this hotel not as luxurious as we thought it would be...We've stayed already before in many hotels around Philippines, we've been to Misibis Bay,so we know what luxury means.
First of all, we had trouble looking for beach towels..all the time the towels close to the pools were in the laundary and we couldnt use it.
Room was ok, we really liked bathroom and exit from the room right to the pool, however it was a bit slippery and scary at times..
We had dinner at a beachside restaurant that required previous booking because they had buffet,but nobody told us about it, so restaurant didnt want us to be sitted at first,but then managed to find one table...the thing is that the food wasnt that good, also the prefomance there was just average nothing to remember...and it costed for 4 of us around 200$,knowing prices in Philippines its just way too much..
It feels like you have to pay huge ammount for everything..water costs 200P if im not mistaken,when in the store out of this resort 50P. Also you cannot buy their water in their mini store, you have to go all the way to restaurant which is open and I had to go all around resort to look for the retaurant.So unconvinient.
Its alright to spend in Plantation one night or two, but not more, you will easily get bored and it will cost you a lot!

Room Tip: Better pick laguna view,so u can swim from your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maybetomorrowwecan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EfrenPB_GM, General Manager at Plantation Bay Resort And Spa, responded to this review, 15 January 2013
Dear maybetomorrowwecan,

We are sorry you had to wait for your beach towels. The hotel was at or near 100% occupancy during the holidays and demand for towels was high.

During your one-day stay, you may not have had enough time to appreciate all the features of our resort. Many families from Europe and Asia stay 4-7 days and feel they still have not tried everything. When you come back next time, we believe you will find many more facilities and activities than you originally imagined.


Sincerely,
Efren P. Belarmino
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,724 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    856
    570
    156
    76
    66
See reviews for
821
396
39
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

We stayed in this hotel with a group of 6 friends over Christmas, it is a nice resort and the lagoon, pool & waterslides are definitely the highlight. The swim up bar is also great. The only real downside is the bed's, they are so hard it feels like you are sleeping on concrete and hard to get a good nights sleep. For the price we paid for the room we would expect to be able to have a good nights rest on comfortable beds. wouldn't stay here again only for this reason.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria F F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EfrenPB_GM, General Manager at Plantation Bay Resort And Spa, responded to this review, 10 January 2013
Dear Maria F F,

Thank you for your kind comments about our facilities and swim-up bar.

You are quite correct in describing our beds as firm, which corresponds with the preference of many of our guests. We only wish you had informed us while you were still here, so that we could have provided you an alternative room equipped with softer mattresses.

Thank you for sharing your review.


Sincerely,
Efren P. Belarmino
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Korea via The USA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

We stayed for 7 nights at the Plantation Bay Resort. If you are looking for a place to vacation where you don't have to leave the complex to have fun, try the Plantation Bay. We have two small kids (ages 9 and 5) and we really enjoyed our poolside room. Also, in close proximity are water slides and various alternate pools with fresh and salt water. Our children loved the "children’s activities" that were offered daily. Mr. "Ron" does a fantastic job keeping the kids entertained!
The staff throughout the resort are fantastic. They are always prompt and friendly. The no-tipping policy is very nice too. We had a great time and will most likely return. My wife and I both had massages at the spa and we were impressed by the facilities and quality of service.
If I had to complain about anything, it would be the food. The quality is fine, but the price is too high for some items. There is very little outside the complex, so the four restaurants at the Plantation Bay are really all there is.
Overall, we had a great time and didn't want to leave

Room Tip: If you have small kids, the poolside room is great! These pools are very close to the room patio an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EfrenPB_GM, General Manager at Plantation Bay Resort And Spa, responded to this review, 10 January 2013
Dear Bill E,

Plantation Bay is popular among families because of our child-friendly facilities and activities. Thank you for affirming this by sharing how everyone in your family had a great time you didn't want to leave.

Thank you too for commending our prompt and friendly service and for appreciating the quality massage you had at the impressive Mogambo Springs.

We hope to see you and your family again soon.


Sincerely,
Efren P. Belarmino
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2012

Stayed only for a couple of nights. It wasn't enough. The room we had was very spacious, clean and just beside a fresh water pool. The resort is simply awesome. Really nice to bike around the place and then just jump into the salt water pools. Their no tipping policy is another plus. Really planning to go back there again....and again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bintRey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EfrenPB_GM, General Manager at Plantation Bay Resort And Spa, responded to this review, 7 January 2013
Dear bintRey,

We're happy that you liked your room and had fun biking around the resort and swimming in our pools. We are also glad that you appreciated our No-Tipping policy and enjoyed your stay so much you're already planning your return visits to Plantation Bay.

And thank you for sharing your photos. We look forward to welcoming you back here soon.


Sincerely,
Efren P. Belarmino
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2012

My wife and I have just spent our second vacation here, and are already planning trip number 3 in Easter. We are repeat visitors for a reason. The accomodation "Dune House" is stunning, staying in the same place twice gives you the feeling of "Being Home" The service all over the resort is exellent, and everyone is so pleased to help you. The food in all 4 restaurants is world class, cooked by the most amazing executive chef (Mario). The Palermo restaurant is top class serving top class food brought to you by fantastic staff.
We are eagerly awaiting easter, as we just cannot stop thinking about Plantation Bay. It's world class. Thank you Efren Balarimo for managing heaven on earth, you and your staff are the amazing................

Room Tip: Dune house is in a perfect location, not far from the beach, lobby and restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coachmanplymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EfrenPB_GM, General Manager at Plantation Bay Resort And Spa, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
Dear Coachmanplymouth,

It is always nice to read about returning guests like you having another enjoyable stay at Plantation Bay. A big thank you for recommending our stunning Dune House to TripAdvisor readers (almost all our rooms are in fact similarly appealing) and for rating our service excellent. Our chefs too appreciate your compliments and your kind sentiments have encouraged our staff to do even better at upholding our standards.

Looking forward to welcoming you back here this Easter.


Sincerely,
Efren P. Belarmino
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012

My wife and 2 kids visited from Maryland USA and had a reunion with our families from Manila. We stayed in 4 separate suites that each opened into a porch with recliners, and several feet away was the lagoon. You can literally transition from sleeping to swimming just by walking a few steps! You can choose to swim in salt or fresh water pools, or go to the beach and surf or snorkel. For the first time we did tandem biking and archery. We even had time to do a bit of wall climbing. They have a firing range, but we stayed away from that activity. They have a game room where we played foosball and table tennis with visitors from Australia, Korea and Russia. The best part is the setting, wherein you have, for example, the Kilimanjaro restaurant seemingly floating on water. All these however come with a very hefty price tag. The meals are very expensive and are not included in the package. We went to the themed dinner that had a cost equivalent to about US$40 each, and were a bit disappointed as it didn't quite meet our expectation of great food and entertainment. This was nonetheless counterbalanced by the exceptional hospitality of the staff, led by the manager on duty during our stay named Carms. In summary, Plantation Bay is excellent but (understandably) expensive.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alvin12292012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EfrenPB_GM, General Manager at Plantation Bay Resort And Spa, responded to this review, 31 December 2012
Dear Alvin12292012,

It is a delight to know that you and your family had a memorable family reunion at Plantation Bay. We're glad too that you enjoyed our activities and met new friends. And a big thank you for the high praise on our "excellent setting and exceptional service".

We appreciate your well-balanced comment that, though some of our prices seemed high, this was understandable because of the quality offered. Actually, most of our charges are comparable to or lower than those of our main competitors in Cebu. You can easily verify this by checking our website, which provides extensive information on our prices for food, spa, and leisure activities.


Sincerely,
Efren P. Belarmino
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilovediving
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2012

We took a 2-bedroom suite for 8 nights. Here's my opinion.

Room:
The 2-bedroom suite was huge. I loved the open concept of the suite. King-sized 4-poster bed, ceiling fan or a/c, flat-screen tv with lots of movie channels and a mini-bar in each room. The bathrooms were huge. His and hers sinks, separate commode, shower area and a bathtub. Each bedroom opened to a balcony with 2 loungers. In the hall, coffee/tea making facilities were available. There was a sink and a commode in the living room at a corner of the suite. A round dining table and 6 chairs were provided and when I say open-concept, it means besides the entrance to your suite, there are no other doors as the hall and dining area opened to a long balcony. Bed was comfy enough with fluffy pillows. The suite and bathroom were clean.

Getting around:
As the resort is huge, there are always trams driven by staff around the resort. You can stop them at any one time and hitch a ride to your destination. Say you want to get to the other side of the resort at a particular restaurant, no problem, just stick out your thumb and they will stop for you.

Activities:
Where to start. There are a couple of salt-water lagoons and a fresh-water pool with slides for the kids and a swim-up bar for the adults. You could rent kayaks at the salt-water lagoons for a fee or laze/swim around the lagoon. Hammocks are scattered around the lagoon. I understand there are some complaints about the slimy lagoons. You have to understand this is a salt-water lagoon and the 'slime' is actually algae. This is natural in salt-water and it's not dirty. If you are concerned, then you should wear a pair of booties and swim.

The 2 concerns that I had. One - there are a couple of largish rocks jutting out from certain parts of the lagoon and I had a couple of accidental sharp grazes but nothing serious. I then noticed that if you look at the bottom and see different coloured rocks, then be a bit careful as there will be a difference in height to the lagoon or there are man-made rocks in that area.

My second concern was that the longest slide at one of the lagoon is not safe, and I hope the GM if you are reading this, please do something about this as my family had bruises and bumped our backs when we used the slide for the first time. I had a pretty bad graze and blue-black on both my elbows coming down that long slide at the salt-water lagoon. The ending of that long slide should be in deeper water and not shallow water. As you are going down at that speed, and when you get off that slide at the end, you should be splashing into a deeper pool. Please try it for yourself and note the results, I guarantee everyone who doesn't know will definitely hurt their backs. We did not complain about this as we considerered it a small matter. We wised-up to the danger and the second time we tried the slide, we sat upright and we were fine.

Games room:
My kids loved the games room and were there everyday. There are snooker tables, a table-tennis table, darts, arcade games, table football, and a little room for playing wii games. All games are free until 6pm. The wii games are chargeable at all times for a small fee. There was another fun game where you stand against your opponent and try to hit your counter into your opponent's 'net', I don't know the name of this particular game. Everything was in good condition. You could also borrow the books there to read. Cycling is free for the first hour.

Outdoor activities:
There is a firing range using real weapons. You get to take back the target at the end of the shoot. It's a proper firing range with plexi-glass between you and the target, ear muffs and goggles. The glass will slide open when you are ready to shoot. Rock climbing and archery are free. There is also a tennis court and a couple of swings for the toddlers.

Horse-drawn cart:
There are 2 horse-drawn carts in the resort which gives free ride to all guests. The kids will love this. They are stationed at a particular spot at the resort and the horse will ride a round and come back to the same spot.

Beach activities:
There is a diving centre and sports centre near the beach. Now, the beach is a short small stretch of sand I reckon about 200 metres from one end to the other. Parasols and deck chairs are provided and there is a jetty leading out to the deeper part of the beach. Get some bread from the staff and your kids can feed the fish. A couple of resident fishes are there like sargeant majors, goatfish and tiny reef fishes. Lifevests are given free of charge for guests and you can rent snorkelling gear from them. There are loads of beach/water/sea sports activities all at a cost and I must say I found the costs way too expensive. Some examples, banana boat, jet-ski and parasailing, island hopping.

We did a full-day diving at Moalboal. It's a tedious trip. 3-hour car ride to the other side of the island going through the mountain and a 3-hour car ride back to the resort. We left the resort at 6am and returned only at 7.30pm. We also did a dive at the house-reef at Plantation Bay. There is a drop-off just off the resort. I reckon the night dive would be fantastic. Regretted not doing one.

Food: There are 4 restaurants. I must say that the cost is actually not that expensive. If you step into a resort such like this, you don't expect to pay low prices for food. All resorts/hotels would have a certain pricing you would expect in your mind. To us, the food pricing was reasonable and what you would expect at a resort such as this. Of course you could get dirt-cheap food at the roadstall vendors while risking a tummy-ache. Yes drinks were charged 3 times more but which resort doesn't mark up prices for drinks. If you like, stock up on drinks at the many supermarkets located outside the resort and place them in your minibar. We ate out a couple of nights, there are a couple of decent eateries 10 mins ride out of the resort.

They also had a buffet dinner every single night, each night with a different theme, on one of the man-made beaches. What's great about is that the dinner comes with a show and we managed to catch one of the shows while we were passing through. The theme of the show would go with the theme of the dinner. We thought the performers were great and professional. It was entertaining to see them dancing and singing.

Spa:
The spa was fantastic but pricey. Totally soothing and relaxing and the masseurs were good. Once you sign up for your treatment, you'll be able to use the 2 hot and 2 cold spas located within their premises.

Shops:
There are 2 shops within the resort selling all you need for a beach holiday. They also sold toiletries, t-shirts and souvenirs.

Other activities arranged by the resort:
I liked the fact that they bothered to think of something to do for the guests. There are 3-4 activities each day that the resort arranged free for its guests. Get the list from the reception counter. All activites are within the resort.

Free clinic:
That's right folks, you heard me right. There is a free clinic located within the resort. Call the clinic and they will arrange for a cart to pick you up at your doorstep straight to the clinic. The doc will be around and medication on-site will be free. If they don't carry the medication, they will arrange for the medicine to be delivered to your room with a small delivery fee. Of course you would have to pay for the medication that is specially ordered from the outside pharmacy. Just a side-note: The doc is off on Sunday, only the nurse will be in.

The kids had an awesome fun time and I didn't want to leave in the end. I would come back here again as the resort is crazy huge and there are so many activites to keep you and your kids occupied, even indoors (thank you Cartoon Network).

Lastly, thanks to all the warm friendly staff at the resort!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ilovediving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EfrenPB_GM, General Manager at Plantation Bay Resort And Spa, responded to this review, 23 December 2012
Dear ilovediving,

We especially appreciate sincere critiques and praise from well-traveled guests like you. We're delighted that you loved your suite, your children had a great time, and our friendly staff made your stay most comfortable. We're also glad that you enjoyed the shows at our theme dinners; by the way, did you know that almost all the dancers are regular staff members of the hotel?

Plantation Bay does its best to come up with enjoyable (and mostly free or reasonably-priced) activities and facilities for our guests and we're glad that you appreciated them and took the time to really explore the resort.

Thank you too for specifically mentioning other hotel services like the 24-hour free medical assistance.

We have taken note of your comments regarding our giant slide and the rocks in the lagoon. Appropriate measures will be undertaken to address these concerns.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back here soon.


Sincerely,
Efren P. Belarmino
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lapu Lapu
4.0 mi away
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
3.2 mi away
Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan
4.4 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort
2.4 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 41 in Mactan Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
5.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 87 in Cebu City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plantation Bay Resort And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Bay Resort And Spa

Property: Plantation Bay Resort And Spa
Address: | Marigondon, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#3 Spa Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#3 Family Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#5 Business Hotel in Lapu Lapu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Plantation Bay Resort And Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a resort in a class of its own. Set in 11 hectares of secluded grounds yet only one hour (when traffic is bad) from Cebu City, Plantation Bay offers one of the largest privately-owned waterways in the world, with the clean elegance of colonial-plantation architecture. Decompress from life’s pressures in the healing tranquility of an environment that truly feels “away from it all.” If you have ever spent time at a tropical plantation, you know what we mean. If not, come and discover a refreshingly different Flavor of Life. Whether you’re traveling for a family vacation or romantic getaway, for business or pleasure, this is far and away your best choice in the Philippines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plantation Bay Resort And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation Bay Resort And Hotel Lapu Lapu
Plantation Bay Hotel
Plantation Bay Resort And Spa Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing