We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Plantation Bay Resort And Spa
Nearby Hotels
Dee Guesthouse(Lapu Lapu)(Great Value!)
US$17
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$16
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$101
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$85
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$86
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$62
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dulcinea Hotel and Suites(Lapu Lapu)(Great Value!)
US$49
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$47
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Goldberry Suites & Hotel(Lapu Lapu)(Great Value!)
US$100
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$49
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eloisa Royal Suites(Lapu Lapu)(Great Value!)
US$52
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$48
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$58
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$28
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$315
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$293
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$323
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$296
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$345
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$306
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,971)
Filter reviews
1,971 results
Traveller rating
997
641
171
86
76
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
997
641
171
86
76
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno tipping policysalt waterwall climbingfiji restaurantlagoon sidesavannah grillmogambo springskilimanjaro cafefiring rangewater poolsman made lagoonlagoon view roomswim up barpaddle boardingpoolside roomgames roomday trippers
Filter
Updating list...
1,025 - 1,030 of 1,971 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2013

We stayed in this hotel with a group of 6 friends over Christmas, it is a nice resort and the lagoon, pool & waterslides are definitely the highlight. The swim up bar is also great. The only real downside is the bed's, they are so hard it feels like you are sleeping on concrete and hard to get a good nights sleep. For the price we paid for the room we would expect to be able to have a good nights rest on comfortable beds. wouldn't stay here again only for this reason.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maria F F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EfrenPB_GM, General Manager at Plantation Bay Resort And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2013

Dear Maria F F,

Thank you for your kind comments about our facilities and swim-up bar.

You are quite correct in describing our beds as firm, which corresponds with the preference of many of our guests. We only wish you had informed us while you were still here, so that we could have provided you an alternative room equipped with softer mattresses.

Thank you for sharing your review.


Sincerely,
Efren P. Belarmino
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

We stayed for 7 nights at the Plantation Bay Resort. If you are looking for a place to vacation where you don't have to leave the complex to have fun, try the Plantation Bay. We have two small kids (ages 9 and 5) and we really enjoyed our poolside room. Also, in close proximity are water slides and various alternate pools with fresh and salt water. Our children loved the "children’s activities" that were offered daily. Mr. "Ron" does a fantastic job keeping the kids entertained!
The staff throughout the resort are fantastic. They are always prompt and friendly. The no-tipping policy is very nice too. We had a great time and will most likely return. My wife and I both had massages at the spa and we were impressed by the facilities and quality of service.
If I had to complain about anything, it would be the food. The quality is fine, but the price is too high for some items. There is very little outside the complex, so the four restaurants at the Plantation Bay are really all there is.
Overall, we had a great time and didn't want to leave

Room Tip: If you have small kids, the poolside room is great! These pools are very close to the room patio and only 3 feet deep.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EfrenPB_GM, General Manager at Plantation Bay Resort And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2013

Dear Bill E,

Plantation Bay is popular among families because of our child-friendly facilities and activities. Thank you for affirming this by sharing how everyone in your family had a great time you didn't want to leave.

Thank you too for commending our prompt and friendly service and for appreciating the quality massage you had at the impressive Mogambo Springs.

We hope to see you and your family again soon.


Sincerely,
Efren P. Belarmino
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

Stayed only for a couple of nights. It wasn't enough. The room we had was very spacious, clean and just beside a fresh water pool. The resort is simply awesome. Really nice to bike around the place and then just jump into the salt water pools. Their no tipping policy is another plus. Really planning to go back there again....and again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bintRey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EfrenPB_GM, General Manager at Plantation Bay Resort And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2013

Dear bintRey,

We're happy that you liked your room and had fun biking around the resort and swimming in our pools. We are also glad that you appreciated our No-Tipping policy and enjoyed your stay so much you're already planning your return visits to Plantation Bay.

And thank you for sharing your photos. We look forward to welcoming you back here soon.


Sincerely,
Efren P. Belarmino
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

My wife and I have just spent our second vacation here, and are already planning trip number 3 in Easter. We are repeat visitors for a reason. The accomodation "Dune House" is stunning, staying in the same place twice gives you the feeling of "Being Home" The service all over the resort is exellent, and everyone is so pleased to help you. The food in all 4 restaurants is world class, cooked by the most amazing executive chef (Mario). The Palermo restaurant is top class serving top class food brought to you by fantastic staff.
We are eagerly awaiting easter, as we just cannot stop thinking about Plantation Bay. It's world class. Thank you Efren Balarimo for managing heaven on earth, you and your staff are the amazing................

Room Tip: Dune house is in a perfect location, not far from the beach, lobby and restaurants.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coachmanplymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EfrenPB_GM, General Manager at Plantation Bay Resort And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2013

Dear Coachmanplymouth,

It is always nice to read about returning guests like you having another enjoyable stay at Plantation Bay. A big thank you for recommending our stunning Dune House to TripAdvisor readers (almost all our rooms are in fact similarly appealing) and for rating our service excellent. Our chefs too appreciate your compliments and your kind sentiments have encouraged our staff to do even better at upholding our standards.

Looking forward to welcoming you back here this Easter.


Sincerely,
Efren P. Belarmino
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

My wife and 2 kids visited from Maryland USA and had a reunion with our families from Manila. We stayed in 4 separate suites that each opened into a porch with recliners, and several feet away was the lagoon. You can literally transition from sleeping to swimming just by walking a few steps! You can choose to swim in salt or fresh water pools, or go to the beach and surf or snorkel. For the first time we did tandem biking and archery. We even had time to do a bit of wall climbing. They have a firing range, but we stayed away from that activity. They have a game room where we played foosball and table tennis with visitors from Australia, Korea and Russia. The best part is the setting, wherein you have, for example, the Kilimanjaro restaurant seemingly floating on water. All these however come with a very hefty price tag. The meals are very expensive and are not included in the package. We went to the themed dinner that had a cost equivalent to about US$40 each, and were a bit disappointed as it didn't quite meet our expectation of great food and entertainment. This was nonetheless counterbalanced by the exceptional hospitality of the staff, led by the manager on duty during our stay named Carms. In summary, Plantation Bay is excellent but (understandably) expensive.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alvin12292012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EfrenPB_GM, General Manager at Plantation Bay Resort And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2012

Dear Alvin12292012,

It is a delight to know that you and your family had a memorable family reunion at Plantation Bay. We're glad too that you enjoyed our activities and met new friends. And a big thank you for the high praise on our "excellent setting and exceptional service".

We appreciate your well-balanced comment that, though some of our prices seemed high, this was understandable because of the quality offered. Actually, most of our charges are comparable to or lower than those of our main competitors in Cebu. You can easily verify this by checking our website, which provides extensive information on our prices for food, spa, and leisure activities.


Sincerely,
Efren P. Belarmino
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews