We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over price/rated food & quality;surcharge for room service; staff customer service to be consistent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Plantation Bay Resort And Spa
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Lapu Lapu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 January 2013

Firstly, the lagoon & pools is what we enjoyed most. We are balikbayans, having to stay from diverse mostly high end hotels around Phil, I can definitely see the big difference. Hotels we stayed-Greenbelt parkplace;metrocentre penthouse suite;Boaracay Mandarin Island hotel; bayleaf intramuros hotel are far excellent.

Food-We have tried their dine in restaurants; the food is over priced & not of good quality. I have ordered a local filo food at kilmanjaro but the taste is not a filipino flavor. Being balikbayan Im very disappointed. The buffet brekky is the same.

Staff-some are friendly and some arent. One of the staff crew who drives the cart isnt friendly.he seems pissed all the time.

Room charge-we were charged for room service charge for cleaning. I advised the check out rep that our room wasnt cleaned. The rep just simply reply if we left the card in the slot its not going to be cleaned. In short, too bad you get charged anyway.there is no policy that i,ve read as such. I was expecting a client's courtesy at least..we didnt want to ruin our holiday here in phil so i just paid it.

Biased-the majority of holiday clients are koreans. My disapppointment is when we go for our dine in dinner with entertainment,it seems the koreans are greeted only in their language except for filo balikbayans & other foreigner.this should change because its too obvious...

Will I recommend or come back here for holiday??definitely not...Btw, I have given my written feedback to Plantation bay mactan.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank luvsnowy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EfrenPB_GM, General Manager at Plantation Bay Resort And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2013

Dear luvsnowy,

We’re sorry that you were unhappy with your stay, but are surprised that you never brought any of your concerns to our attention while you were here. All our outlets clearly show our Money-Back Guarantee: advise us before consuming more than 25% of the item, and there will be no charge for that dish. We understand that you finished all your dishes at the coffee shop without ever bringing any deficiency to our attention.

Plantation Bay does not charge its guests for their room to be cleaned and your belief that our service is biased is unfounded.

Thanks for sharing your views.


Sincerely,
Efren P. Belarmino
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,875)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

958 - 964 of 1,875 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2013

Stayed 5 days at Plantation Bay between Christmas 2012 and New Year's Eve.
Great layout and choice of pools. I have older kids so they were able to navigate independently but they did get bored easily. Not many water activites to attract teenagers, unless you go to the shoreline for paid activities and excursions. There is no long shoreline to take walks, unless it's only a 30 second walk you are looking for. There shoreline is jagged, snorkeling is offerred but have to go way before it's worth it.

Staff were pleasant and friendly enough. Could use more eye contact like the staff at upscale/5 star resorts and hotels where everyone, down to the gardner and servers who makes eye contact and greets the guests warmly. This was not consistent at Plantation Bay so can't say they really say they would merit a 4 or 5 star resort rating for service. Would suggest same for the resort manager, who I was able to identify from a recent newspaper article picture. He biked around alot but never once did I see him greet any of the guests.

Food was OK; the breakfast buffet was way overpriced for the Philippines. Wasn't worth the money with limited offerrings so ordered ala carte for breakfast. Would suggest offerring more ala carte items that aren't a meal, like just toast, just eggs, etc . without having to buy a whole entree.

Had a fun time but not worth a return trip. Boracay has a better beach. Palawan is on my plan for a next trip.

Room Tip: Stayed in lagoon room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GarFamIly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EfrenPB_GM, General Manager at Plantation Bay Resort And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2013

Dear GarFamIly,

We're glad you like our ambience and the whole family had a relaxing stay at Plantation Bay.

Most of our guests find our staff very friendly, helpful, and courteous. I would thus appreciate it if you could write me with more details about which staff failed to greet you, so that we can give them more training. My email address is gm@plantationbay.com. Please also note that in general at Plantation Bay we train our staff not to bother guests unnecessarily, or in any situation where the greeting would be a distraction to something the guest is doing.

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We wish you all the best in your future travels.


Sincerely,
Efren P. Belarmino
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013

We stayed at the Penthouse Suite. Amazing panoramic view from the living room windows where you can see almost the whole resort. The Suite has a master bedroom and a second floor two-bed bedroom. It sits on top of the Kilimanjaro restaurant. It's nice to find a fresh water swimming pool surrounded by the salt water lagoon. There are shuttles to take you around the resort. Staff service is great. They have a no-tipping policy. By the way, it will cost you 1,500 Pesos (cover charge) to bring food in from outside the resort.

Room Tip: For couples, there are beautiful rooms at the lagoon side where the porch has steps straight to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcoaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EfrenPB_GM, General Manager at Plantation Bay Resort And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2013

Dear jcoaro,

With its commanding views of the resort, our Penthouse Suite is the fitting choice for families like yours who prefer a spacious suite where parents and children can have their own rooms on separate floors.

When guests bring in large quantities of cooked food from their homes or from restaurants, we impose a charge which covers serving the food, providing tableware, and cleaning up the garbage and spillage left behind. Please note that we do not impose any charge for most snack foods or a small quantity of beverages.

Thank you for your kind review. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Plantation Bay soon.


Sincerely,
Efren P. Belarmino
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

Just spent over a week there with our three kids (10, 8, 4): fantastic experience. The pools are gigantic and diverse, so many things for the kids to do and play with. The two big slides are a bit rough (our girls had to help a lady find her denture in the pool which she lost during the ride - no joke!) so would not recommend to let kids younger than 5 to ride alone....
Different restaurants don't have large menus but every dish we ate was excellent. Especially the Palermo had some of the most delicious pastas ever had. Also the others (Fiji and Kilimanjaro) were really good and above expectations.
Another highlight is the diving, just from the hotel can take boat to close islands and do some nice coral reef dives, and literally from the beach there is a ave at 30m that goes about 20m deep. Visibility very good, water temperature 29C, easy go, it's worth it. Then there are other activities (climbing, archery, gym, game room (if it rains a day), bike renting, jet ski, etc. etc. all good material, good quality. The whole resort is very clean. The road that takes you to the bungalows is also a perfect 740m jogging track. The SPA is beautiful and the treatments of very high quality.
Overall one can clearly see the manager is running a tight ship with excellent attention to detail and most important, all staff was very forthcoming and genuinely caring. We have tried hard to think about what could be improved further and the "only" thing that comes to mind: the price for the breakfast buffet is too high, 30% lower would be justified, but then again, staying there, you are locked in and you pay for the convenience.
We clearly recommend the resort to families and thank the whole team there who made our holiday special.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to have quite a nice view over the lagoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunriseSki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EfrenPB_GM, General Manager at Plantation Bay Resort And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2013

Dear amreina,

Thanks for the glowing review of your one-week stay at Plantation Bay. We welcome many different kinds of travelers, but young families like yours are typically among our most appreciative guests. And those who stay for a week like you have the opportunity to really discover what sets us apart from other resorts.

We are happy that, throughout your stay, your children enjoyed our activities and leisure facilities, while you were free to relax and enjoy our spa. And thank you so much for the kind words about the food, which we really put a lot of effort into; it is great to see that well-travelled families like yourselves know what good food is about. (And though you didn't say so, we suspect your children must have liked our extra-rich, extra-creamy home-made ice cream!)


With kind regards,
Efren P. Belarmino
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013

My visit to this resort was long overdue, I have been wanting to spend a vacation at this property for the last 6 years , having made a reservation then having it cancelled due to unavoidable circumstance. Somehow i would end up at that other great place , the Shang Mactan twice. But yes, or should i say 'better late than never ". Stayed only 2 nights , with my family, availing the VIP package , wherein you would be brought directly to your room from a certain pick up point or airport , and a personal concierge would handle certain check in proceedings . I went around the resort (yes , i didn't avail of the vehicle or horse carriage service for the time being ), and it was to my observation that the rooms and suites offered at this resort, whether of any type at a particular location is still actually at a good vantage point from water activities and restaurants , so don't be that disappointed if you failed to get your preferred room. We stayed at the lagoon side room at the Nile hall ( water's edge rooms are usually fully booked ) , and i would say that I have no regrets with my other option . The room was spacious , with 2 huge beds (one however has a tweaking sound , which i decided not to brought up with them during that time ), a flat screen Lcd Tv which offer multiple channels , and a nice bathroom which has a separate shower enclosure and bath tub. They offered some complimentary sweet treats , and a mini ref (with some mini bar drinks ) for which you can stock on several items. Amenities offered in the resort include a game room , gym/ health center and the Mogambo spa which we tried. The spa service was really good (aside from the ambiance ), that my spouse had another one the following day . Lagoon type pools abound at many areas in the resort , (it was really fun ) , with my spouse and daughter enjoying the kayak activities. Be careful however, of the huge rock like figures beneath the lagoon pool because it can be slippery for many of the guests . Have tried the restaurants (except Fiji ), and enjoyed the food offered. Breakfast choices at Kilimanjaro Cafe changes with each day , which I liked. Don't forget to try the croissants at this coffeeshop , and the cheeseburger ( which is also available at the Savannah ). Think twice about ordering the caesar salad ( it will take 40 mins to prepare , as they claim ). Was able to watch the 2 dinner shows (need to reserve early in the day), wherein buffet is served, and a dance performance highlighting several cultures would be seen . I would later find out that the dancers were the regular staff members of the resort ( they are talented and goes to show how multi tasking they can be ). While service remains the main asset of this resort, can't help noticing how tired they were,yet trying their best to go with their tasks. One incident that can be humiliating for my part was when i asked the Korean front desk staff (not Nicole ) permission if i can take her picture ( I was hoping to emphasize that the resort even hired a foreign staff to deal with the large volume of korean tourists ), and she politely declined. The odd thing is that the male front desk staff behind her made a gesture that seem to insult me. Anyway I respect the privacy that they wanted. This is a purely Philippine owned resort that has gained international recognition (the other which is Discovery Shores Boracay ), and it sure made me proud being a witness to this heavenly place . Congratulations to the manager (Mr Belarmino ) who I have seen at the resort being with the staff and some special guests, for a job well done . Regarding comments by many reviewers that prices here are very expensive, yes I agree , but when I realize how hard the staff are working, with the 'No Tipping ' policy , i don't mind the high priced charges . This marks the last good quality resort i have stayed for year 2012, after Amanpulo, Hilton Hawaiian Village and Shangri-la Boracay , and I won't think twice about coming back .

Room Tip: Water's edge is best option, but lagoon side is a good alternative
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doctorfoxtrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EfrenPB_GM, General Manager at Plantation Bay Resort And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2013

Dear doctorfoxtrot,

We are very delighted to read a well-traveled kababayan's appreciation of and pride in Plantation Bay. Thank you for taking the time to share how you loved your spacious room and enjoyed your experience at the spa. A big thank you too for recommending our croissants and Powerhouse Burger and for lauding our talented staff and distinctive service.

Looking forward to welcoming you and your family back here soon.


Sincerely,
Efren P. Belarmino
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

If you are looking for a destination for your family, look no further. There is a wealth of things for your children to do, friendly and accommodating staff, great pool and outdoor areas with slides to keep them entertained for hours. The pool is clean, especially when considering the size, foliage around it and the warm environment and the option of the salt water pool would be much better for young sensitive skin. The rooms are clean and spacious, the airconditioning works well and the bathrooms are modern.

If you are looking for a relaxing, resort style holiday for a couple or with friends, look elsewhere. This place simply does not deliver on aspects appropriate for this market. Food, sleep quality and ability to chill by the pool (there are a limited number of deck chairs for the size of the pool area) aren't really up to scratch. We had 2 different rooms (through no fault of the establishment as our first preference was not available) and the beds in both were uncomfortably firm.

There is a fundamental design flaw in the design of a lagoon side room, whereby you cannot close or lock the back door as you go out it, so the ability to walk out of the lagoon and into your room is completely negated if you want to re-enter your room you have to go all the way around to the front- or leave your back door open.

The quality of food at the restaurants overall is poor. A noodle dish which was a chefs recommendation at Fiji and warned of spice yet tasted like children’s alphabet spaghetti from a tin. A wonton soup from Kilimanjaro was full of foul tasting lettuce, and pancakes ordered for breakfast on two of the days came to the table cold, however the flavour was nice and the consistency perfect. The pasta at Palermo fared better, the service and food was lovely (the crouquettes and crab stuffed ravioli were standouts). Palermo was the only restaurant that offered us a wine list (which desperately needs an update 3/6 whites should not be chardonnay or chardonnay blends).

We were surprised and delighted that there were actually fish etc to see on the little reef at the beachfront section of the hotel, but severely grossed out when presented with a snorkel filled with mould/algae to look more closely. The masks were fine.

We did visit the spa twice and were impressed by the professionalism and quality of the service. The treatment rooms were inviting and beautifully appointed.

Being Australian and paying through the nose for everything we did not find the prices at Plantation expensive, but we did theink they might be above market when we compared them with our next stay at the Radisson. At the spa-1hr massage at Plantation PHP2,000, Radisson 1,100. At the bar, Sam Miguel Plantation -Php 250 Radisson 100-150, Buffet was cheaper at the Radisson and about 6-7 times the size.

All in all, as I said if you have children and like to stay somewhere which has everything all under one roof this is absolutely somewhere you should consider.

And finally, Plantation Bay should be rightfully very proud of their staff, and congratulated on whatever training and development programs they have. We found them to be very pleasant and a great asset to their establishment

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shell_81_au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EfrenPB_GM, General Manager at Plantation Bay Resort And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2013

Dear shell_81_au,

We appreciate your high praise for the quality of our staff and service.

We are pleased to read that you liked your room and our various leisure activities, and that you were highly satisfied with your experience at our Spa.

We also appreciate your candid critique of your dining experience at our restaurants and will do our best to improve for your next visit.


Sincerely,
Efren P. Belarmino
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We have stayed in this hotel just before Christmas for one night and found this hotel not as luxurious as we thought it would be...We've stayed already before in many hotels around Philippines, we've been to Misibis Bay,so we know what luxury means.
First of all, we had trouble looking for beach towels..all the time the towels close to the pools were in the laundary and we couldnt use it.
Room was ok, we really liked bathroom and exit from the room right to the pool, however it was a bit slippery and scary at times..
We had dinner at a beachside restaurant that required previous booking because they had buffet,but nobody told us about it, so restaurant didnt want us to be sitted at first,but then managed to find one table...the thing is that the food wasnt that good, also the prefomance there was just average nothing to remember...and it costed for 4 of us around 200$,knowing prices in Philippines its just way too much..
It feels like you have to pay huge ammount for everything..water costs 200P if im not mistaken,when in the store out of this resort 50P. Also you cannot buy their water in their mini store, you have to go all the way to restaurant which is open and I had to go all around resort to look for the retaurant.So unconvinient.
Its alright to spend in Plantation one night or two, but not more, you will easily get bored and it will cost you a lot!

Room Tip: Better pick laguna view,so u can swim from your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank maybetomorrowwecan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EfrenPB_GM, General Manager at Plantation Bay Resort And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2013

Dear maybetomorrowwecan,

We are sorry you had to wait for your beach towels. The hotel was at or near 100% occupancy during the holidays and demand for towels was high.

During your one-day stay, you may not have had enough time to appreciate all the features of our resort. Many families from Europe and Asia stay 4-7 days and feel they still have not tried everything. When you come back next time, we believe you will find many more facilities and activities than you originally imagined.


Sincerely,
Efren P. Belarmino
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lapu Lapu
3.2 mi away
Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan
4 mi away
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
4.4 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort
2.4 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 43 in Mactan Island
730 reviews
5.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 92 in Cebu City
3,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plantation Bay Resort And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Bay Resort And Spa

Address: | Marigondon, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 Family Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#3 Spa Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#5 Business Hotel in Lapu Lapu
Price Range: £142 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Plantation Bay Resort And Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a resort in a class of its own. Set in 11 hectares of secluded grounds yet only one hour (when traffic is bad) from Cebu City, Plantation Bay offers one of the largest privately-owned waterways in the world, with the clean elegance of colonial-plantation architecture. Decompress from life’s pressures in the healing tranquility of an environment that truly feels “away from it all.” If you have ever spent time at a tropical plantation, you know what we mean. If not, come and discover a refreshingly different Flavor of Life. Whether you’re traveling for a family vacation or romantic getaway, for business or pleasure, this is far and away your best choice in the Philippines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Plantation Bay Resort And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation Bay Resort And Hotel Lapu Lapu
Plantation Bay Hotel
Plantation Bay Resort And Spa Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing