We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Even An Infamous Resort Such As This Cannot Withstand The Test Of Time” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Plantation Bay Resort And Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Plantation Bay Resort And Spa
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Lapu Lapu
Certificate of Excellence
Cebu City, Philippines
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Even An Infamous Resort Such As This Cannot Withstand The Test Of Time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

FIRST IMPRESSION: I was amaze of the scale and beauty of their artificial lagoons. They have two larger-than-life lagoons with a white sand island in the middle. It would be hard not to be amaze with those and add the countless of smaller lagoons and pool then a one day exploration will never be enough to cover those. However, they really can't have it all because the interior design overall just doesn't shout luxury. They opt for a native ambience so it is understandable to not be too flashy with the furnishing but they forget to be classy as well that is necessary for the resort of their calibre. Some furniture update would do them good to catch up with the growing trend of the modern world. The ceiling painting in Kilimanjaro Kafe looks cheap. It seems they forgot to update the furnishing they have frozen in time over two decades ago.

CLEANLINESS: The resort is spotless no matter how huge it is they made an effort to keep it in a tip toe shape even the humongous lagoons and white sand island.

LOCATION: If solitary and privacy is what you are searching for then this resort is ideal for you. It is very far from the crowded city. Good for diving and snorkeling because it is facing the Olango Wildlife Sanctuary but just don't set an expectation from its real coastline because it may disappoint you.

ROOMS: Spacious, complete with the necessary amenities and depending on the accommodation type you avail for you are given your own free WiFi and relieves you of the stress of sharing it with other guests.

SERVICE: The staff is quick to respond to your needs if you phone them. Everyone is hospitable to give you a warm smile and greeting when you encounter them outside on a stroll.

VALUE: It is expensive as expected from a five star resort but you will get the worth of your money. The cheapest room they have costs $160+ / Php7000+ (Poolside Room) and day tour packages costs around $44+ / Php2000 per person. They have loads of activity on their facility that will keep you entertain all throughout your stay.

FOOD: They have four available restaurants each caters to a specific cuisine but if you opt for a native Filipino delicacies then Kilimanjaro Kafe is a good choice because that's where we dine most. The variety in the menu is good enough not to bore your taste buds but some dish lacks a distance taste that will associate it to the restaurant. They need a signature dish that only they offer. Pochero & Pancit Canton is recommendable.

Read my in-depth review in http://thebisdakexplorer.blogspot.com/

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BisdakExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plantation_Bay_GM, General Manager at Plantation Bay Resort And Spa, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear BisdakExplorer,

Thank you for specifically mentioning that you found Plantation Bay spotless and its staff friendly and prompt.

The architectural style of the resort is “plantation”, with decorative motifs borrowed from the US Deep South, Caribbean, and Filipino plantations. The result is a very pleasing, relaxed ambience that appeals equally to couples, families with children (especially 3 and 4-generation families), and business-persons tired of the usual high-rises. While we constantly refurbish the resort, we are careful to maintain its theme. Plantation Bay doesn’t feel like a hotel; it feels like a friendly village, or a rich friend’s estate.

Thank you for your review, especially for sharing your beautiful photos with us.


Sincerely,
Nenette G. Castillon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,682 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    829
    558
    154
    76
    65
See reviews for
798
387
39
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

I had a great stay in Plantation Bay. Lots of activities in the resort, nice beach and pool. My only complain would be that they do not include breakfast in the hotel price so you have to pay it separately. overall it was a nice and relaxing stay

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lorenzo l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plantation_Bay_GM, General Manager at Plantation Bay Resort And Spa, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear lorenzo l,

Thank you for your review.

We're happy to know that you appreciated our various leisure activities and swimming facilities and that you and your family had a memorable stay at Plantation Bay.

We are now offering a special breakfast package to our guests. For only $30++ per day per room, every occupant of our regular rooms will enjoy a full breakfast buffet, up to 3 adults, or 2 adults + 2 children. We hope that like most recent guests, you will find this a good value for your money.


Sincerely,
Nenette G. Castillon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

"Where everyday is an adventure". I have just returned from another wonderful stay in Plantation Bay, Cebu and I have nothing but good words to say! Definitely one of the best resorts I've been to. The place is wonderful, the staff are seamless, food is extraordinary and the overall experience is unforgettable. Spent a whole day in Mogambo Springs (The Spa in PB) and I felt rejuvenated. PB is now my favorite "home away from home". (RM - Tahiti 07 (Oct '13), Nile 22 (March '14))

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plantation_Bay_GM, General Manager at Plantation Bay Resort And Spa, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear MackyroniMD,

We are happy that you had an enjoyable second visit to Plantation Bay.

Thank you for the high praise and for sharing your love of our good food and the wide array of activities we have for everyone to enjoy. And a big Thank you! for highlighting our spa and staff in your review.

We look forward to welcoming you back to your home in Cebu soon.


Sincerely,
Nenette G. Castillon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Plantation Bay in Cebu made my first time visit there with family very memorable. The place is like a small subdivision with pools and beaches, spa, and packed with so many recreational facilities that you'd hardly know where to start.

First thing one will notice is the remarkable customer service. They have a "no tipping" policy since we were told that all their workers are paid very well so much so that they are happy and able enough not to need tips. I've never had a time when I would encounter a staff who didn't greet and serve us so courteously, this hotel truly lived up to the expectation of exceptional service.

I loved the design concept of this resort too. Of course once cannot exactly replace a real beautiful beach, but the man-made beach/pools were still fun to swim in and made for a very pretty layout over-all.

I also absolutely LOVED their spa. It had many different kind of hot and cold pools, I made sure to try each and every one of them.

My family and I also enjoyed the many recreational activities the resort provided. I was able to borrow a bike and drove around the entire resort, after which, my family and I enjoyed archery and wall-climbing. The resort also had a library, a billiard pool and many others I could not remember now. They also had a big play place for my then 4 year old nephew who enjoyed the place.

The resort also had many different restaurants that you could choose from. The only downside is they're charged a bit higher and we weren't that happy with the taste (the lobster wasn't cooked so well). That's our only regret though and we wished we could have gone out to eat restaurants in the city that charged less but were more delicious.

Other than that though, I had an extremely great time :)

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ubechan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plantation_Bay_GM, General Manager at Plantation Bay Resort And Spa, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear ubechan,

We are happy to note that you and your family had an enjoyable time bonding over our activities. Moreover, that you appreciated our service and spa facilities.

We recently included stand up paddleboard races, yoga, gondola rides, and mermaid lessons in our activities. By the time you come back for your next visit, we hope there will be something new and exciting for you and your family to enjoy!


Sincerely,
Nenette G. Castillon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

This resort is fantastic, small enough to walk the whole place on foot & big enough to house all the accommodations & facilities. The lagoon is well maintained and beautiful, enjoyed the activities available in the lagoon. Food were excellent from the 4 restaurants, but our favorites were breakfast/lunch at Kilimanjaro & dinner at Palermo. Tried Scuba Discovery & Para-Sailing at Aqua Sports, went shooting at the Shooting Range and taught my children how to play pool & darts at the Gym & GameRoom. Throughout our stay, all the resort staff were always friendly & helpful. My 8 years old son gave a 5 Stars for this resort & said he wants to come back again, and we couldn't agree with him more. Thank you Plantation Bay for making our holiday a very pleasant one.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bhslee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plantation_Bay_GM, General Manager at Plantation Bay Resort And Spa, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear bhslee,

It's nice going through your photos and reading about your enjoyable holiday at Plantation Bay.

Considering that you stayed here an entire week, it is good to know that during all this time you and your children never ran out of things to do. We do our best to make sure our guests need not go far to enjoy and have fun and we're happy that you appreciated our efforts and took the time to really explore the resort.

Thank you for the positive review. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.


Sincerely,
Nenette G. Castillon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Went on a stay-cation as couple. Extremely impressed with level of service of staff, prompt with requests and always polite with genuine smiles and greetings. The strict no-tip service is especially refreshing and surprising! Very family-friendly, for kids big and small.

Facilities plentiful and most included with resort price - gym, pools, lagoons, archery range, games room, plenty to keep oneself occupied. Didn't manage to try the spa but on a walk-around inspection the facilities seemed good. Kids have extra facilities available to them such as "beach side" activities and free single kayaks and life vests.

Rooms tastefully appointed with rustic charm and extremely large space available. Rooms surprisingly clean and fresh despite size and location of resort! Balcony spacious and good for entertaining guests. Water pressure (a large issue in the Philippines) not an issue at all. Lagoons clear and large, spectacular during sunsets and feel is of a cheerful resort. Majority of visitors at time we stayed Japanese and Korean family and small groups, non-obtrusive and generally pleasant.

Dining options on-par with international cuisine. Tried all dining options apart from Savannah Grill & Lounge and the open-air buffet and happy with quality and value of all. Fruit shakes refreshing and large. Portions all large and designed for sharing. Fresh buko (young coconut) cold and refreshing on lagoon-side chairs.

Trip arranged via the front desk about 4 hours drive from the resort for whale shark diving/snorkeling was extremely well organised with staff provided from the resort to accompany. Great value with inclusions of bus ride, personal set-up area, shark snorkeling with equipment provided by the resort, and generous lunch, with stop-overs at historic churches on the way back. We just added-on an underwater camera service on-site which was excellent with well over 150 photos taken for approx. PHP2000.

Major downside is location not ideal for traveling outside the resort, as it is away from the main city and also out of the way of major taxi routes (in fact many will request extra payment given the problems with finding customers in the area afterwards). The resort service is considerably more expensive than regular meter taxis. However, most would spend the majority of time inside the resort enjoying all the facilities. Also, air-conditioning unit would often leak due to high humidity in the room, and would take time to cool the whole room down given size.

Would gladly pay a visit back. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: rooms on the sides have larger balconies lagoon view rooms upstairs but still a short walk to the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DrBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plantation_Bay_GM, General Manager at Plantation Bay Resort And Spa, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear DrBK,

We frequently welcome guests from Australia and like you, they appreciate Plantation Bay's ambience, rooms, and various leisure facilities and activities.

Thank you for the kind words about our food, which we really put a lot of effort into; it is great to see that well-traveled couples like yourselves know what good food is about.

Thanks again for the high praise and for recommending the resort to our TripAdvisor readers. We look forward to welcoming you back here soon.


Sincerely,
Nenette G. Castillon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

The resort is splendid. From the time we arrive to the time that we finally are leaving the place, the staff are wonderful and accomodating to all our needs. The pool are magnificent and we really enjoyed it especially my son. The dinner buffet was also a treat with the lechon and all. The free coupons we got also are worth it for we made it a point to use them in all their restaurants there. The food is nice and the serving is pretty generous. Overall our stay in this resort is relaxing and luxurious.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcia Monina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plantation_Bay_GM, General Manager at Plantation Bay Resort And Spa, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Marcia Monina A,

We're delighted to know that you appreciated our swimming and dining facilities and that while here, you got to try Cebu's famous lechon.

Like you, many guests appreciate that Plantation Bay’s annual Summer Frolix Promo comes with Gift Certificates for our restaurants and spa. We're happy that you took advantage of this special offer, and hope that we will see you again this summer.


Sincerely,
Nenette G. Castillon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lapu Lapu
4.1 mi away
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
4.4 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
3.2 mi away
Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort
2.4 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 41 in Mactan Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
5.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 87 in Cebu City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plantation Bay Resort And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Bay Resort And Spa

Property: Plantation Bay Resort And Spa
Address: | Marigondon, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#3 Family Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#3 Spa Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#5 Business Hotel in Lapu Lapu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Plantation Bay Resort And Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a resort in a class of its own. Set in 11 hectares of secluded grounds yet only one hour (when traffic is bad) from Cebu City, Plantation Bay offers one of the largest privately-owned waterways in the world, with the clean elegance of colonial-plantation architecture. Decompress from life’s pressures in the healing tranquility of an environment that truly feels “away from it all.” If you have ever spent time at a tropical plantation, you know what we mean. If not, come and discover a refreshingly different Flavor of Life. Whether you’re traveling for a family vacation or romantic getaway, for business or pleasure, this is far and away your best choice in the Philippines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Plantation Bay Resort And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation Bay Resort And Hotel Lapu Lapu
Plantation Bay Hotel
Plantation Bay Resort And Spa Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing