We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What? Only 16 out of 25?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Plantation Bay Resort And Spa
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Lapu Lapu
Certificate of Excellence
manila
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“What? Only 16 out of 25?”
Reviewed 30 April 2009

Brought my family to Plantation Bay recently and they just loved it. What was there to love?

First, the place itself. It was huge! As one person pointed out, it was like a beach resort that looks like a plantation, with the feel of an amusement park. Besides the swimming (which was pretty remarkable itself since you get to chose between numerous fresh and salt water pools, aside from the beach), there were a lot of other things to do (games for the kids, spa treatment for the missus- one of the best according to her, firing range for dad to name a few). So quite understandably, families with small kids like mine really take to a place like this.

Second, the service. I have never been to a hotel or resort that offers such excellent service. Everyone had their smiles on, asking what could they be of service to you. And it wasn't just the willingness, it was spot on (well, at least 95% of the time). This despite the "no tipping" policy.

But this place isn't perfect. For one, the place is expensive, particularly the food. I understand that quality comes at a price. But this shouldn't stop me from complaining about it.

Another complaint that popped up in previous comments is its isolated location. While this may be welcome for those who would want to be far from the madness outside the resort, I found it more of a hindrance, particularly when I wanted to go to town or eat out. Taxis are the only option outside of getting a private car c/o the resort to take you, and these taxis charge you a premium themselves, in spite of a working meter.

But complaints notwithstanding, this place would come highly recommended by myself. So much so that I wonder how good the other resorts ranked higher in Conde Nast Traveller's Top 25 Resorts in Asia really are. More travel is scheduled.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank i_dr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,801 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    892
    599
    162
    81
    67
See reviews for
863
411
39
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Corona, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2009

I would recommend this hotel to all my friends and relatives. I've been to different hotels in Cebu and this one would be far the best.. It's a village style place which gave me the feeling of being home. The lagoon, the pools, etc. were awesome. The service was excellent, friendly and warm..
Now the negative part. The flooring in our room was ugly. They could have done with better looking tiles. Also, I wish it were a little bit cheaper. Spending over $200 for a room a night was way too much.
I could spend this much at Trump Suites Tower ( which is one of my favorites in Vegas) but for 2 rooms ( when it's on a promotion :))
If you're the owner reading this, please, please make your rooms a little bit more affordable! I wanted to stay there for at least 2 weeks next time I visit.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GinaMos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2009

3 of my adult friends and I chose this resort from Tripadvisor, and we were not disappointed, ok - so it was a bit 'theme park' and we were a touch disappointed on arrival. But after we unpacked and threw ourselves in one of the amazing swimming pools, we soon relaxed.

The resort is excellently laid out, with a series of villas, rooms etc that surround some of the largest swimming pools I've ever seen. It’s a great family resort, with lots to do for all of the family. Our room literally opened up to the edge of one of the pools, which had the feel of a beach with sand and all. The actual beach was small, but quite well maintained.

Entertainment and dining was great. Each night offered different buffet-style beach parties with live singing, some may say a little tacky, and sometimes a bit loud - but we simply let our hair down and sang along. The restaurants were all very good, the best for us was Fiji - the food was excellent, and the staff incredibly friendly and accommodating.

The spa was quite pleasing with some nice treatments, not amazing but still enjoyable. Children were allowed in the spa on several occasions we were there, which turned it into an extension of the play pools, which made the experience a little non-relaxing.

Outside of the resort was not very pleasing, so we stayed inside and enjoyed the pools, water sports and other amenities and activities.

As always, as part of the discerning traveller's tapestry, there were some minor slip-ups here and there, but nothing that wasn’t fixed immediately.

However, all in all, it turned out to be a great place to - play in water all day, catch a great tan and eat excellent food.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ja5en
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hong kong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2009

This resort is great for a lazy and relaxing time.
Despite being completely artificial the lagoon and the shores around look good and allow for a great time of relaxation. A great point of the resort is the SPACE. Even during Easter week end (fully booked), you do not feel surrounded by a crowd.

Some things are disappointing though. The food is very pricy and its quality is average or below (prices of hong kong or even higher). A tip, go to ACABA aboutique hotel with a very good restaurant, or try PINO, a local and renowned restaurant in Cebu City.

A very bad note to report: the resort is pretty isolated: when requesting for a cab to the rtransportation desk, they really try to rip you off. The price for booking a car is 4 to 5 times the price of taxi-meter. Precise you want a taxi meter, not private car.

Overall, good resort to recommend for a quiet, relaxing time for couples and families (if you want fun and party, not the best place).

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vbz-hk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bermuda
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2009

We stayed 4 days at Plantation Bay and I found so over-priced for the quality of the hotel ..

The lagoon is an artificial Lagoon - so it did not worth to get a Lagoon Room (as it is just the same than having a room with a pool view ...

Also - there are a couple of units under construction and renovation .... so it is extremely loudy ...

This place was extremely quiet ... Restaurant / drinks are ok ... but it did not worth a 5 star hotel...Prices are up to 10 times of the local prices ....

this place might be good for family trip (2 days) or retired ...

The beach looks awful (not great sand ) and the snorkeling is not great also ...

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carole09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2009

This resort really intends to be a place where you stay to avail yourself of all the attractions on site, and they are very many. We were there to visit Cebu and the fish sanctuary in the Olango channel. As a result we were gone all day for both full days we were there. I did have a massage in the spa. This is a facility you should definitely visit if only to see its' quiet beauty.

In keeping with the resort concept, there are activities arranged at night, and we attended a brazilian night (of all things) that was actually fun.

The room was large with a colonial feel (high ceilings with fan, bamboo accents. All the amenities were there and the room overlooked one of the inside lagoons.

The restaurants are excellent and varied.

If you get a chance, do schedule an "island hopping" tour to the marine sanctuary and Nalusuan Island. The pump boat anchors just outside the sanctuary and you can snorkel in the clear water with more tropical fishes than you will see anywhere else.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liberty_George
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alberta
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2009

Absolutely enjoyed my stay here. Shuttle from the airport to the hotel was amazing, check-in was seemless. I love their no tip policy and lots of things to do in the resort. The resort is huge and it was fully occupied when we were there but it was not crowded at all.

  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank millet20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lapu Lapu
3.2 mi away
Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan
4.0 mi away
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
4.4 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort
2.4 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 42 in Mactan Island
698 reviews
5.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 90 in Cebu City
3,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plantation Bay Resort And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Bay Resort And Spa

Property: Plantation Bay Resort And Spa
Address: | Marigondon, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#3 Family Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#3 Spa Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#5 Business Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lapu Lapu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Plantation Bay Resort And Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a resort in a class of its own. Set in 11 hectares of secluded grounds yet only one hour (when traffic is bad) from Cebu City, Plantation Bay offers one of the largest privately-owned waterways in the world, with the clean elegance of colonial-plantation architecture. Decompress from life’s pressures in the healing tranquility of an environment that truly feels “away from it all.” If you have ever spent time at a tropical plantation, you know what we mean. If not, come and discover a refreshingly different Flavor of Life. Whether you’re traveling for a family vacation or romantic getaway, for business or pleasure, this is far and away your best choice in the Philippines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Plantation Bay Resort And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation Bay Resort And Hotel Lapu Lapu
Plantation Bay Hotel
Plantation Bay Resort And Spa Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing