We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plastic rocks!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Plantation Bay Resort And Spa
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Lapu Lapu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 October 2009

The vast pool area is great for kids and adults but the whole resort is scattered with plastic rocks... it's such a let down, if only they'd been a bit more authentic.

It's a very relaxing resort, great for kids, although not on a par with other 5-star hotels. The restaurants are over priced as the food could be better.

Accommodation varies, check carefully which room you are in. Ours was great, nice decor overlooking the main lagoon, great decking outside. Others in my family were at another location where the pool was dirty and the rooms were gruby and smelled of smoke.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kanga26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,860)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,181 - 1,187 of 1,860 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2009

We stayed here for 2 nites.First nite we had a waters edge room which was $12000 pesos total but fantastic ...until they started draining the water at 5pm for the bi-weekly cleaning so a bit dissapointed as this was the whole reason we booked the waters edge room.Make sure that it has been recently cleaned as I went in the water just before they started draining it and got itchy and broke out in hives briefly.Water /bottom starts to turn green from algea,much nicer cleaned(blue color).Second nite we had to stay in a Lagoon View room(not much of a view) lagoon kind of stunk..Meals were all just ok.Drinks are more(150 pesos for a beer) at the swim up bar..but what the hec!Firing Range was awesome($6500 pesos for 14 rounds of handgun,7 rounds shotgun and 30 rounds of machine gun(highly recommend)

Rock waterfalls,features are all fake black rock...and they really look fake like styrofoam
Wireless didnt work in Lagoon View room so I had to walk a little way to Lobby

Total for 2 nites stay all in for food,drinks,firing range was about $45,000 pesos so be prepared..If you want to relax,have great service and pay alot..this is the place

Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
2  Thank like2travelplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2009

Staying at Plantation Bay was a memorable experience. We enjoyed being there, and made full use of the facilities. There's enough to do for everyone - quiet time, swimming, activities. And they have a great spa - I honestly think it was the best spa night I had. The food is good - menu is generally on the high side, but there are reasonable options. The seafood at Fiji grill was pretty good.
Aside from the service, amenities, and the overall first class resort experience, there were many little things that just made it worth the trip:
- the wait staff at the restaurant, who went out of her way to copy on a piece of paper the menu for the breakfast the next day, because I didn't know what was included in a Brazilian breakfast.
- the extremely accommodating staff all around who love taking your picture, and even suggest good spots.
- a nicely organized and meaningful mass, with a good choir.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeneManila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2009

With the exception of slow service at Kilimanjaro Kafe, we had a fantastic stay at Plantation Bay. Everyone was very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chingay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2009

Stayed here for 5 nights in april. What can we say. The staff were amazing, helpful and polite. We stayed in Havana 6, which was like an a 2 bedroomed apartment, with large outside veranda area. Very comfortable indeed. Kids loved the pools, we were there until sunset every night. The beach is small but fab. Great for snorkelling. We would go back in a minute.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dd115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2009

My friends and I decided to spend our vacation here despite its expensive rates. I must say our stay there was definitely worth our money. The staff was very courteous and they made sure our needs were attended to and taken care of. The place was very nice. There were lots of activities to do there aside from frolicking in the water. The only thing that put me off though, was that there were mosquitoes in the evening. I even got bit. Overall, the experience was awesome that I'm definitely going back there.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sabrina_Castro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2009

The hotel claims it's on a par with the likes of the Shangri-la Mactan due to it's price range, however, it's simply awful. On arrival we were looked down upon by "registration" literally with the child like chairs and patronising manor of the staff - who had the wrong dates for our stay despite them showing us the printing of our booking at their end and it being correct. We booked a poolside room and we were put by what I can only describe as a kids pool. 3ft deep. Pointless. The room was also booked as a double and stated clearly on the booking form, however the staff deemed at necessary to give us a twin with no explanation. We then tried to book a spa and it was completely full despite us arriving at the resort earlier than check in. The lagoons were disgustingly dirty and the pool was cold. We were given tokens for towels - 1 a day which we had to return at the end of the stay or we were fined. The internet connection was wireless however, the router had obviously crashed and wouldn't work. Luckily there was a power cut which must of reset it cause it started working the next day.

Quite simply put - I've stayed at Shangri-la and Plantation Bay on Mactan Island and they are both about the same price, yet the Shangri-la out performs in every league.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank dazzpauls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lapu Lapu
3.2 mi away
Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan
4.0 mi away
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
4.4 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort
5.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 92 in Cebu City
3,451 reviews
2.4 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 43 in Mactan Island
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plantation Bay Resort And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Bay Resort And Spa

Address: | Marigondon, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#3 Family Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#3 Spa Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#5 Business Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lapu Lapu
Price Range: £147 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Plantation Bay Resort And Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a resort in a class of its own. Set in 11 hectares of secluded grounds yet only one hour (when traffic is bad) from Cebu City, Plantation Bay offers one of the largest privately-owned waterways in the world, with the clean elegance of colonial-plantation architecture. Decompress from life’s pressures in the healing tranquility of an environment that truly feels “away from it all.” If you have ever spent time at a tropical plantation, you know what we mean. If not, come and discover a refreshingly different Flavor of Life. Whether you’re traveling for a family vacation or romantic getaway, for business or pleasure, this is far and away your best choice in the Philippines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Plantation Bay Resort And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation Bay Resort And Hotel Lapu Lapu
Plantation Bay Hotel
Plantation Bay Resort And Spa Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing