We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the best resort in lapu lapu but a bit pricey for filipino standard” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Plantation Bay Resort And Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Plantation Bay Resort And Spa
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Lapu Lapu
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“the best resort in lapu lapu but a bit pricey for filipino standard”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2010

they have a free transfer airport to resort transfer so u dont need to worry how to get in the resort. i payed 210usd for each night i stayed for five nights last year which is the peak season for Sinulog festival which is on the 3rd week of januaryl, the resort was big, i feel like im gonna be lost if i walk without the map on my hand. when i arrived they gave me hot towel and politely welcomed me, after that they ask for the reservation number and my passport, there's lot of commotion going on prolly cause its peak season. there's no breakfast included which i think should be included since ill be staying for five day, its a big disappointment. anyway the resort looks amazing, its well organized, well kept and its really relaxing, they offered lots of recreational stuff so u wont get bored. the man made lagoon is really nice, i stayed on the lagoon side, the room was great..i love the bathtub even if i think its a bit small for me. i love their spa as well, u cant miss it when u stay here ive tried the dead sea mud wrap and their ultimate mogambo spring experience which is awesome i almost fall asleep while their massaging me.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iloveskittles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,678 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    826
    558
    153
    76
    65
See reviews for
797
386
39
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glen Mills, PA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2010

The boys had a great time, and this resort getaway in the middle of a business trip (for Mom) was perfect bribe to keep them smiling. Shooting range for boys over 14 and the water sports were fantastic.

Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Woodangme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2010

Travelled with wife and two little bambinos (2 yrs and 1 yr old), staff extremely friendly, we ate at luau and fiesta on the beach both were great but perhaps a tad pricey, we had breakfast in the room (american breakfast) and thought it was fair price, however their breakfast buffet (we did not have) seemed a tad too much (900 pesos = 23 us $). Overall the food was excellent.

If you have little kids or even babies they have butler service free of charge for washing bottles and babysitting (free first 30 minutes of the day) then very reasonably priced (200 pesos/hour, about 6 us $). Hotel has shuttle service to pick you up from your room if you like to take you anywhere around the complex or the front reception area. They have lots of activities for kids and older teens too. Lots of lagoon pools and fresh water pools.

My only beef with the place (small one) is that since you are so far away from anywhere else to eat you feel like you are in a tourist trap. Staff in front will help you get a taxi to go anywhere youwant but you may have to wait about 20 minutes, facility has car service but they are pricey, I recommend getting a taxi and settling on a price per hour. We settled on 300 pesos per hour (not sure if that was good or not but we were happy with the price, after all they have to make some money), we toured downtown and did some shopping as well as visited the Lapu Lapu and Magellan shrines. Turned out having a car was great for us with the kids to sleep.

Facility will do laundry for you but as you guesses it Very expensive!
We took a cab ride about 10 minutes down the road and were able to have our laundry done for us in one day for pennies compared to what the hotel charges.

Again even though this hotel charges a substantial sum, you get what you pay for. We definitely would come back again, we just will work more overtime before coming here so we can stay longer.

The spa was fantastic!!!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuckyToTravel44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2010

During our trip, my partner and I went to Manila for 3 nights as part of her business trip (stayed at Makati Shangri La), then went to Cebu and stayed at Plantation Bay for 2 nights, then one night back in Manila at the new Marriott Manila before returning home.

When we first arrived at Plantation Bay, we were wowed by the layout of the hotel: the sprawling lagoons in the center, with the various tropical resort themes across the different buildings scattered around the lagoon (names like Bahamas, Leblon, etc). The lobby was an open air pavilion, not as impressive as other resorts I've seen...though I heard there used to be a big aquarium-like structure in front that had to be removed because of kids accessing it.

Anyway, our check in was smooth, and in fact, our service was great throughout our stay. Minor, minor complaint is the staff that run the karaoke rooms also run the upstairs lounge and Savannah Grill, so they needed prodding to go us attention. Check out was no problem. One "this feels like some commercial" moment: my partner and I finished brunch at Kilimanjaro Cafe and before exiting, we paused for some moments as we saw the rain get heavier. A staff member ran over and gave us an umbrella. I think there was a sparkle in her smile as she handed it to us, too.

We did make use of the spa for 2 days. Body scrub, full body massage, pool side (large jacuzzi) massage. I would skip the pool side massage and just enjoy the hot pool. Actually there are several other small pools to dip. Unfortunately it was raining most of the time and this was the covered pool. Good service.

Yes, rain spoiled some activities (incl. a big luau by the beach), but it did not dampen our spirits--thanks to the great activities and service at Plantation Bay Resort!

Oh, location. I've been to Cebu a few times but only for very short stays. I've visited other resorts like Maribago and Shangri La, and been to the city of Cebu...I don't know if there's really a "best" location. So although it's not great that the Plantation Bay Resort is away from all these other places, and the beach is a bit small, it makes the most of the lagoons in that area (looks totally man made, but I guess it's "man altered"), and there doesn't seem to be an incredible location in Mactan/Cebu anyway (but I may be wrong).

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank omnivorousone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington state
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2009

One of my Favorite places to go vacation! I love this place and we always go back to Plantation bay and Shangri-La everytime we are in the P.I. Its is an amazing place to relax and have a great time. There are many pools...from salt water to fresh water that even have water slide big and small. You can even get a room with your own pool if you like!

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ac_filipino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luzon, Philippines
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2009

The resort is a very beautiful setting. The room is very beautiful also but there are some problems with this resort. Out of the ten days we stayed there 4 days we did not receive service. One day they came at 530pm we had been gone all day and was tired we just took towels. The water at the resort is not potable so you must rely on there bottled water. Many days we were not given enough to handle our needs. Hot water was not always available either. We did enjoy our stay all in all it is very beautiful. Staff was friendly and very accomodating. This is a place to go if your looking to relax. We spent most of our days out sightseeing. Great for couples looking to lounge at the many pools or lagoons.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank surviving_soul1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2009

what can i say, totally awesome stay!!!enjoyed every bit of it. the pools, the staff, loads of things to do for all the family. it's well worth every penny. just beautiful! didn't care weather it's articial. it's artificial and beautifully done!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladette74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lapu Lapu
4.1 mi away
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
4.4 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
3.2 mi away
Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort
2.4 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 41 in Mactan Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
5.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 87 in Cebu City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plantation Bay Resort And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Bay Resort And Spa

Property: Plantation Bay Resort And Spa
Address: | Marigondon, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#3 Family Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#3 Spa Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#5 Business Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lapu Lapu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Plantation Bay Resort And Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a resort in a class of its own. Set in 11 hectares of secluded grounds yet only one hour (when traffic is bad) from Cebu City, Plantation Bay offers one of the largest privately-owned waterways in the world, with the clean elegance of colonial-plantation architecture. Decompress from life’s pressures in the healing tranquility of an environment that truly feels “away from it all.” If you have ever spent time at a tropical plantation, you know what we mean. If not, come and discover a refreshingly different Flavor of Life. Whether you’re traveling for a family vacation or romantic getaway, for business or pleasure, this is far and away your best choice in the Philippines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Plantation Bay Resort And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation Bay Resort And Hotel Lapu Lapu
Plantation Bay Hotel
Plantation Bay Resort And Spa Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing