We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place, Great people”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Plantation Bay Resort And Spa
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Lapu Lapu
Certificate of Excellence
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place, Great people”
Reviewed 29 December 2010

Notwithstanding a slight hiccup upon check-in (our room was not ready and front desk officer was going to put us in a temporary room while waiting for our room), I must say that our overall Plantation Bay experience was extremely satisfying and enjoyable. First of all, the people....contrary to what has been written on some blogs, we found the staff to be very friendly and helpful.... from the gentleman who manned the Plantation Bay counter at Mactan airport, to the duty manager named Angela (who efficiently resolved our check-in problem), to the restaurant attendants (especially Jacque, Weng and Bobby at Savanna), the Mogambo Spa staff (Hazel, Elaine, Kristine, Jen), the car driver (Lyndon), even the bibingka attendants (Roel and Vonn). We were so pleased with their level of service that we vowed to write a blog about them. It was amazing to see warm smiles from everyone we encounter. Even more so, since they weren't doing it for the anticipated tips (the resort has a strict no tipping policy).
The facilities are beautiful. We stayed in a one-bedroom suite at the Xanadu Lodge. The room was very spacious with a full living area (with a night bed) and a big bedroom with a king size bed. There is a large full bathroom and another powder room in the living area. We had a large patio literally a few steps from the large saltwater swimming lagoon. There is also a nice little island with a hammock. We spent a lot of time in the patio, just taking in the scenery and enjoying the nice breeze. The water in the lagoon was warm and comfortable. However, we really enjoyed swimming and lazing around in the whirlpool areas in the Kilimanjaro fresh water pool. The highlight of our stay was our spa treatment at the beautiful Mogambo spa, where they have three large jacuzzis (two with hot water) and a refreshing cold water pool and water fall area. The massage was heavenly.
Overall, probably one of the most relaxing and satisfying vacations we ever had. Highly recommend this, especially for families.

Stayed December 2010
Helpful?
1 Thank Rdkb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,752 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    869
    581
    159
    77
    66
See reviews for
833
402
39
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2010

So, this place is pretty big. In fact, they take you to your room in a golf cart. But it's not too big that you can't walk around, and in fact, it's a nice walk as the property is configured in a circular shape.

The best feature here is the water. They have several salt water lagoons, and most of the rooms look out onto them. Our room was a "water's edge" room, which allowed us direct access to the lagoon from our balcony, which was kinda cool. If you're looking for a quieter room, try one of the windward rooms that surround a little private fresh-water pool. There are three other fresh water pools as well. Lots of water activities such as slides and swim up bars. Great place to bring the kids too.

This trip was planned as a romantic get-a-way so that I could propose to my girlfriend. The hotel offers a "Romantic Rendezvous Package", which I highly recommend. For only $120 US extra, they assign you a private butler who arranges for some services at the times you specify. To begin, they will completely "romance" your room by adding candlelight, draw a bubble bath, and sprinkle rose petals on the bed and in the bubble bath (see pics). When you arrive at the room, the music of your choice is playing and candles are lit. They also provide a beautifully arranged dozen red roses, and sparkling wine and chocolates. At dinner, which we had scheduled out at Lover's Rock, a private rock overlooking the beach, they also have serenaders come and sing for you. It was really all very well done, and the butler was very discreet when contacting me. The only hitch for us was the weather, which precluded us from dining at Lover's Rock, so we were accommodated at the adjoining restaurant.

My only real complaint is transportation. This resort is located pretty far from the main town, but easy enough to get a taxi to take you. However, when you want to leave to go into town, they will not call a taxi for you. You are forced to either use their hotel car (at 3x the rate of a cab) or wait for a taxi to drop someone off and grab that cab. We opted for the latter, with not too long a wait.

Oh, one more thing....the Spa here is beautiful! I would highly recommend booking the spa package that included a special "zen designed" room and a massage for two every night. Once inside the spa area, it's very secluded and quiet, and has a three beautiful soaking areas that you can use, as well as a waterfall you can swim under. It's really awesome.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sleeper-Keeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2010

I'd highly recommend this place if you have young children, love scuba diving or just kicking back by the pool and enjoying massages. There is enough to do at the resort to keep all occupied the length of stay. We took advantage of the resorts' promotion received a hefty discount for staying 6 nights at the resort. The room we stayed in was a 2 bedroom suite and there were 3 adults and 1 child (16 mths old) travelling.

ACTIVITIES
Diving - The resort is perfectly nestled on the edge of Mactan facing the outlaying islands. If you are keen on diving, the aquasports shops located onsite will be able to provide you with all the equipment and services you need to complete multiple boat dives - to locations including Hilutungan Island Marine Santuary, stingray point and also to a wreck nearby. Each dive spot is about 20-30 mins away by boat.
Spa - When not diving, we spent most of the time at the spa - usually in the evenings while bub was asleep. Spa is open till 11pm in the evening so it was a perfect way for parents to have a nice relaxing dinner and massage. A babysitter is available on demand and costs a mere 200pesos an hour with the first 30 mins free.
For Kids - there is a children's activity centre onsite. admittedly, it's small and a little pokey and musty, but my son and the other kids there seemed to enjoy nonetheless. There is also a small open air playground and plenty of pools with shallow water for kids to play in.
Other stuff - a firing range (yes you heard right), USD20 buys your 7 bullets and you can choose from a small selection of pistols to shoot with.
Other other stuff - rocking climbing wall, tennis, games room, bikes and archery. There is also daily activities run on the resort for guests to participate in like fish feeding, crafts, henna tattoos etc.

FOOD
There are several restaurants and cafesto choose from, each with it's own theme (seafood, Italian/Spanish, fastfood, international cuisine). We tried each one in turn but found that the 'dinner buffet and show' which is held nightly was the best fun for all at around 990pesos per adult. A different show was put on each night eg, Grand Sahara, Hawaiian Luau, Filipino Fiesta etc My son loved the shows and dining outdoors.

All in all, we really loved our stay at the Plantation Bay Resort and look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dogsneaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
qld
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2010

This is a big resort with lots of visitors on packages from Korea (while we were there) and has a huge swiiming area around which it is centered.

Would suit a family who wanted their kids to have a safe swimming experience ( a really fun water slide) and has beautiful food, safe environment etc. Staff very friendly, very good language skills etc, but I would agree with another review in that they seem to have lotsof rules to follow. No minibar unless organised with reception etc, strict midday checkout even though the resort seemed only about 40% full. Lots of activities for a day or two. We liked the wall climbing, the archery and the slide which were free. Other activities like jet ski and parasailign are avilable but expensive.

We also liked the Phils culture night. Great food that night too.

It is expensive however...well the rates we paid were. I am not sure if better packages are available but we stayed in lagoon room and with meals it worked out to be at least double any other premium hotel in cebu. But would recommend it for a relaxing stay if dollars arent a problem.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank extralite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xiamen, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 October 2010

Great family resort. Busy with water sports and activities everyday. Friendly staff. Reasonably priced.

Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Westgard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2010

This is our 2nd time here and came back with friends.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
Iguasa room is beautiful. Huge common area between two rooms.
Dining options are great. Excellent Italian food at Palermo's. Great entertainment on Filipino Fiesta night.
Pool is one-of-a-kind. We played the decathlon. A must plus you get free beer.
Staff are very friendly and tips are not accepted.
No high rise hotel buildings.
No real beach swimming area since the pool is already salt water. The swim up bar in fresh water pool is fun.
Would definitely recommend. Especially to relax and get away from the city.
Unfortunately do not have Red Horse beer.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Milzner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
115 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2010

The rooms was comfortable and the ground are nice and spacious . The swimming pool is very nice and looks natural but it is not clean in many areas Service was disappointing . The staff was friendly but not very helpful since there seems to be many company policies invoked at all times which are only there to ruin the stay . What a pity ! For example , we had to go to the reception to call for a taxi since they would not accept to book for a taxi if we called from the room , this resulted in long waiting times , around 20-30 minutes each time to get a taxi . On the day of departure , we handed over the room as they could not give us an extra hour even though the hotel was not full , they left the luggage in the lobby the whole afternoon and didn't put in a locked room , not suprised they couldn't locate our luggage when we came back , they only apologized briefly when we told them this was not acceptable . We had some friends who come to visit us for lunch , they charged us 20 US $ per visitor eventhough we had lunch there , very surprised . There is for sure a problem with the hotel management .

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fab68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lapu Lapu
4.0 mi away
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
3.2 mi away
Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan
4.4 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort
2.4 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 41 in Mactan Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
5.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 87 in Cebu City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plantation Bay Resort And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Bay Resort And Spa

Property: Plantation Bay Resort And Spa
Address: | Marigondon, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#3 Spa Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#3 Family Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#5 Business Hotel in Lapu Lapu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Plantation Bay Resort And Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a resort in a class of its own. Set in 11 hectares of secluded grounds yet only one hour (when traffic is bad) from Cebu City, Plantation Bay offers one of the largest privately-owned waterways in the world, with the clean elegance of colonial-plantation architecture. Decompress from life’s pressures in the healing tranquility of an environment that truly feels “away from it all.” If you have ever spent time at a tropical plantation, you know what we mean. If not, come and discover a refreshingly different Flavor of Life. Whether you’re traveling for a family vacation or romantic getaway, for business or pleasure, this is far and away your best choice in the Philippines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plantation Bay Resort And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation Bay Resort And Hotel Lapu Lapu
Plantation Bay Hotel
Plantation Bay Resort And Spa Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing